This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

91% success

Cheetah

82% success

Wild dog

73% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Roan antelope

20% success

White Rhino

20% success

Eland

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"We had previously stayed at the main Chitabe lodge but it was fully booked hence staying at Lediba. We were a little bit concerned that Lediba wouldn't meet our previous experience at the main lodge but this wasn't an issue at all and we would be more than happy to stay at either lodge in the future. If anything the outlook from Lediba is a bit better than the main lodge.

The rooms and lodge are excellent and it is very difficult to identify anything that could be done better. All the rooms have wi-fi but it doesn't work in the communal areas which was different to the other lodges we visited but, in our view, a better way of doing it. The food and service were also excellent.

The area is very well stocked with game and has a lovely variety of habitats from watery around the lodge and near to the Gomoti River to very dry and arid. The only disappointment was that we didn't see the wild dogs on this visit as they had abandoned their den under pressure from lions and the replacement den had yet to be located, we saw lots of tracks but no dogs. We had great sightings of the other predators, particularly Lions but also Cheetah and Leopard.

Overall a great start to our trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"Wonderful Camp, accommodation, guide and staff excellent.

All Game Drives exciting with many sightings.

Our fourth visit to this Camp and would return again." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"The game viewing here was astounding.

We saw two leopards apparently courting within 30 minutes of landing. Lion cubs, Cheetah with cubs and a kill, wild dogs and pups at their den, giraffe and elephants everywhere, amazing!.

Our guide "Duke' was hugely experienced and great company. The food was generally excellent although main courses at dinner weren't as good as at CK. The staff were again very friendly and attentive.

Our one disappointment at CL was that we had booked adjoining rooms so that our children could reach us if worried (same request for all three camps). It turned out that we had adjacent rooms without connection. As we couldn't leave the rooms at night we each had to sleep with a child. There were adjoined rooms but another family was in those." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

C & K
RI

"Chitabe Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"We saw so many animals here! Within 40 minutes of when we arrived, we were watching 6 cheetahs sitting on a termite mound.

We had a terrific, very knowledgeable guide, Tank. The accommodations were great and set off away from the others so it felt very private. There is internet access, although it is slow at peak times. The walkways and tents are elevated, so there is no concern about animals crossing your path.

We followed a group of African wild dogs when they attacked an impala. We saw a very pregnant lioness, and young impalas running and kicking up their hind legs. Thousands of frogs make an incredible symphony that sounds like small metal drums. We were closely following a male lion when he began to roar. We also saw a civit and a genet.

Note: it gets cold when it is dark in the evening and mornings in May. Bring warm clothing, including knit hats and gloves." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Toronto

"Excellent Game Viewing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2021
"This is a wonderful camp with very good game viewing. We saw many predators and as we love animal behaviour we could follow their "stories" drive after drive.

The staff at the camp were so warm and friendly that after our two nights there we felt they were our friends. Our guide was very experienced and knowledgeable.

It is a fairly dry area with excellent plains for easy game viewing and there were few periods when we weren't watching animals. On the eastern side there is a very long and very wet area incredibly rich with plains animals as far as the eye can see.

It was very hot in the afternoons and the shared small pool had comfortable chairs and a huge shady area which was greatly appreciated." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs M & F
New Jersey

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2021
"The overall experience here was superb - game drives were exceptional and our guide "Duke" managed to provide the most memorable game drive ever - spotting three prides of lions (one just after they took a cape buffalo and were finishing their meal) - and overall spectacular drives along the river." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J.
Washington DC

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2021
"Our stay at Chitabe Lediba was an amazing start to our 10 day safari. The first night was incredible to hear lions calling on both sides of the camp, baboons on high alert all night barking, herd of buffalo and elephants marching through the flood plain surrounding the camp.

Room was very nice and comfortable despite morning temps in low to mid-40's in late June. Food was amazing and lots of variety. There was plenty of food and they never ran out (like one of our camps). They brought us lunch and prepared a hot meal in the bush one afternoon too.

Best part of this camp is the game. The first morning, our guide followed tracks of lions right out of the camp and found them within 10 minutes (9 total). We stayed with them for nearly 1 1/2 hours as they hunted. We saw them nearly catch an impala but just missed. What a way to start a safari. We easily found cheetah, lions, (including males), wild dogs out and at their den (18 total), hyena and their little ones out of the den, side striped and back striped jackels, elephants, hippo, civet, porcupine, many birds, and on and on. Goodman was our guide and he was amazing. He taught us so much and would recommend him to anyone staying at Chitabe Lediba." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Hinckley

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"An absolutely sublime stay, the camp was fabulous, the staff were lovely and looked after our every need. The tents were excellent, superbly fitted out, with all the recharging facilities you could need.

The game drives were out of this world, just us and Ebbs, nothing was too much trouble. As there was only us, we with Ebbs decided what we wanted to do and look for. Highlights included tracking a leopard, by Ebbs watching the environment, and the barman/camp photographer Jay, hearing a vervet monkeys alarm call, triangulating from the monkey to find a mother leopard, as if this was not enough, later in almost darkness they found the cub.

Could things get better, oh yes, on the final morning, we were so fortunate to be present, when they found a lioness, with three 6 week old cubs, that no one had seen before. The Chitabe area operates a strict policy of maximum 3 vehicles at a sighting, only once did this occur, most of the time there is just one vehicle and with the first siting of the lioness and her cubs only one vehicle was allowed, we were lucky enough to get 35-40 minutes, before moving on. The morning continued with another large lion pride, and 3 White Rhino's. Absolutely fabulous, so a massive thanks to Ebs and Jay.

Thanks also to the camp staff for the anniversary cake, a superb stay, thanks to all." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"The most complete Safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"The Chitabe Lodge was the highlight of our 4 week trip to Africa. We wished that we had spent more time there, as two days were not enough. A rhino sighting was on our wish list and our excellent guide, Dennis, made it happen because of his excellent tracking skills, on the last morning before heading to the airport.

The lodge has been adversely affected by the drought so that the water is several hundred meters away instead of in front of the lodge. We had an idea of how spectacular the view could have been when we drove over the rustic wooden bridge leading away from the lodge.

The staff were wonderful, efficient and personable. It was pleasing to see that all the management team were Botswana natives and most were from the region surrounding the camp, it was clear that the camp was benefitting the local economy. The facilities at the camp were excellent but would be enhanced with WiFi serve in the tents and solar heating of the outdoor pool. These additions would be most appreciated by guests spending 3 or more days at the lodge, for a two day stay we were so busy that we did not have time to miss the amenities." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs M
So. California

"Loved this lodge. The staff are incredible."

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"The staff is exceptionally warm and caring. They know your name. They are friendly. Our safari guide "OD" was incredible. He had a great sense of humor and he knew exactly where to find the animals. In fact, he managed to find a leopard in a tree with its dead impala hanging over a branch, simply by looking at a bird perched on a tree limb!

The food at this lodge was plentiful. Some meals were better than others. This is because the chef rotated with every meal. (Our only recommendation for improvement would be to use one of the more excellent chefs consistently, instead of rotating.) We loved dining at the long table with everyone. We also loved the private dinner on our last night.

Our room #1 was over the top beautiful, with a view of the water. Warning to some: There is no internet, except for emergencies. Personally, we loved being off the grid for a few days! If we are lucky enough to return to Botswana, we would return to OD and Chitabe Lediba. This year was VERY dry due to the drought, and it would be nice to see the area under more "normal" conditions." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 84
97%
84 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
73
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (202 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (127 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (94 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (74 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (66 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (59 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (36 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa