This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

93% success

Leopard

93% success

Cheetah

86% success

Wild dog

71% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

93% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Roan antelope

15% success

White Rhino

15% success

Eland

8% success

Sable antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
PA

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2024
"This was a planned return to Chitabe Lediba as we visited in 2015.

We returned because we loved the small, intimate feeling of the camp, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, and yet again we had a fantastic guide, Zac.

We had amazing animal sitings and observed incredible behaviors. Our daughter and 9 year old grandson accompanied us and Zac was great with our grandson who was captivated by all he saw.

After much tracking we found Super Mom Cheetah's 4 grown offspring. Pure magic!!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2023
"A very nice camp with comfortable chalets built on raised platforms and spread out along a waterhole and connected by a boardwalk. The tents are kind of close together, but privacy screens are strategically placed. Tents are very spacious with double-vanity sinks, seating indoors and on the large porch facing the waterhole. Everything is well maintained. The ceiling and floor fans helped with the hot weather in the afternoons. There were plenty of universal and other electrical outlets for charging electronics located on a large desk and even a hair dryer. We were cautioned to lock our door because baboons can be a problem. The camp is unfenced, so we had to be escorted to our tent at night and from our tent early in the morning. We could walk unaccompanied during the day, but cautioned to watch for animals where the boardwalk drops to ground level so animals can move through camp.

Chitabe Lediba sits adjacent to is Chitabe camp, which is its larger, sister camp, but you would never know it’s there. Lediba means lagoon and camp sits along a grassy waterhole. The water level was very low but there was still enough water to attract a constant parade of animals.

The food was really excellent as was service. All meals were served buffet style with lots of choices. We appreciated the buffet because we could moderate the size of our meals (haha). We also appreciated that management and the guides dined with us. There was only one other party (of three) in camp at the time and we all shared a large table. Dining was outdoors or in an open-air dining room. High tea before the afternoon game drive offered cold drinks as well as savory and sweet options plus fruit. The dining, lounge and bar area are very comfortable and had just been redecorated. One enjoyable evening we gathered around the camp fire before dinner.

Game viewing was excellent, in spite of very warm temperatures (102°F) at the end of October. One evening we got caught in a fierce thunder and lightening storm with heavy winds and rain. Lightening started a grass fire nearby. We persevered that evening with Zak, an excellent guide, who found a cheetah mom and her five cubs who all looked about as disgusted with the weather as we were. Other game highlights included painted wolves (wild dogs), many, many lions, elephants, zebras and even a leopard, and a family of hyenas with very tiny cubs in their den. Oh, and there there was a honey badger early one evening. Game along the Gomoti River is really outstanding. It is green and the water attracts large numbers of game and birds. We saw very few other safari vehicles.

Zak took us on a walking safari that was so interesting. As always, these walks are about the small things: plants, seeds, animal tracks, insects, but we also had a thrilling sighting of two large bull elephants.

The landscape is varied with dry grasses, red grass, large termite mounts, a variety of shrubs and trees along with some permanent waterways. Chitabe Lediba is an interesting camp and we will definitely visit again." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 10n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs A.
Henley

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2023
"The rooms were great and a nice touch having hot water bottles in the bed!

The games drives were amazing, so many animals and great to see a couple of kills with different animals interacting with each other. The guide was the best we had in Botswana, he had worked at the camp for 23 years and was very knowledgeable on animals as well as birds and got really close to the animals, but made us feel safe.

I would highly recommend staying at this camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"We had previously stayed at the main Chitabe lodge but it was fully booked hence staying at Lediba. We were a little bit concerned that Lediba wouldn't meet our previous experience at the main lodge but this wasn't an issue at all and we would be more than happy to stay at either lodge in the future. If anything the outlook from Lediba is a bit better than the main lodge.

The rooms and lodge are excellent and it is very difficult to identify anything that could be done better. All the rooms have wi-fi but it doesn't work in the communal areas which was different to the other lodges we visited but, in our view, a better way of doing it. The food and service were also excellent.

The area is very well stocked with game and has a lovely variety of habitats from watery around the lodge and near to the Gomoti River to very dry and arid. The only disappointment was that we didn't see the wild dogs on this visit as they had abandoned their den under pressure from lions and the replacement den had yet to be located, we saw lots of tracks but no dogs. We had great sightings of the other predators, particularly Lions but also Cheetah and Leopard.

Overall a great start to our trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"The game viewing here was astounding.

We saw two leopards apparently courting within 30 minutes of landing. Lion cubs, Cheetah with cubs and a kill, wild dogs and pups at their den, giraffe and elephants everywhere, amazing!.

Our guide "Duke' was hugely experienced and great company. The food was generally excellent although main courses at dinner weren't as good as at CK. The staff were again very friendly and attentive.

Our one disappointment at CL was that we had booked adjoining rooms so that our children could reach us if worried (same request for all three camps). It turned out that we had adjacent rooms without connection. As we couldn't leave the rooms at night we each had to sleep with a child. There were adjoined rooms but another family was in those." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"Wonderful Camp, accommodation, guide and staff excellent.

All Game Drives exciting with many sightings.

Our fourth visit to this Camp and would return again." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

C & K
RI

"Chitabe Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"We saw so many animals here! Within 40 minutes of when we arrived, we were watching 6 cheetahs sitting on a termite mound.

We had a terrific, very knowledgeable guide, Tank. The accommodations were great and set off away from the others so it felt very private. There is internet access, although it is slow at peak times. The walkways and tents are elevated, so there is no concern about animals crossing your path.

We followed a group of African wild dogs when they attacked an impala. We saw a very pregnant lioness, and young impalas running and kicking up their hind legs. Thousands of frogs make an incredible symphony that sounds like small metal drums. We were closely following a male lion when he began to roar. We also saw a civit and a genet.

Note: it gets cold when it is dark in the evening and mornings in May. Bring warm clothing, including knit hats and gloves." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Toronto

"Excellent Game Viewing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2021
"This is a wonderful camp with very good game viewing. We saw many predators and as we love animal behaviour we could follow their "stories" drive after drive.

The staff at the camp were so warm and friendly that after our two nights there we felt they were our friends. Our guide was very experienced and knowledgeable.

It is a fairly dry area with excellent plains for easy game viewing and there were few periods when we weren't watching animals. On the eastern side there is a very long and very wet area incredibly rich with plains animals as far as the eye can see.

It was very hot in the afternoons and the shared small pool had comfortable chairs and a huge shady area which was greatly appreciated." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs M & F
New Jersey

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2021
"The overall experience here was superb - game drives were exceptional and our guide "Duke" managed to provide the most memorable game drive ever - spotting three prides of lions (one just after they took a cape buffalo and were finishing their meal) - and overall spectacular drives along the river." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J.
Washington DC

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2021
"Our stay at Chitabe Lediba was an amazing start to our 10 day safari. The first night was incredible to hear lions calling on both sides of the camp, baboons on high alert all night barking, herd of buffalo and elephants marching through the flood plain surrounding the camp.

Room was very nice and comfortable despite morning temps in low to mid-40's in late June. Food was amazing and lots of variety. There was plenty of food and they never ran out (like one of our camps). They brought us lunch and prepared a hot meal in the bush one afternoon too.

Best part of this camp is the game. The first morning, our guide followed tracks of lions right out of the camp and found them within 10 minutes (9 total). We stayed with them for nearly 1 1/2 hours as they hunted. We saw them nearly catch an impala but just missed. What a way to start a safari. We easily found cheetah, lions, (including males), wild dogs out and at their den (18 total), hyena and their little ones out of the den, side striped and back striped jackels, elephants, hippo, civet, porcupine, many birds, and on and on. Goodman was our guide and he was amazing. He taught us so much and would recommend him to anyone staying at Chitabe Lediba." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 87
97%
87 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
76
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (224 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (101 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (81 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (77 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and simple, but comfortable, Shinde Footsteps focuses on walking safaris as well as game drives; it also runs a special children's programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (48 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


96% (19 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (13 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Newsletter background

Stay in the know with Expert Africa

Join our newsletter. Get the latest on new camps and lodges, insights from our team, uplifting conservation stories and more...

A few more details and you're subscribed

Thanks!

Look out for your confirmation email and exciting updates in your inbox.

Take a look at our previous Bush Telegraph newsletters.
Africa