This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp
Stanley's Camp

Reviews of Stanley's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Stanley's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Stanley's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Stanley's Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Great shame there was no water in Delta. Enjoyed the game drives but the highlight was seeing the eles, Jabu and Marula.

Had such a wonderful morning with them we went back again next day!!! Staff were great and so helpful" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Woking

"Boyds at Stanleys"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2015
"The camp itself was absolutely fine, although not as impressive as Shinde, but there were far fewer animal sightings. The terrain was lovely, and service as good as anywhere. The highlight, of course, was walking with Doug and Sandy's three elephants, which was absolutely marvellous. One of the best experiences we've ever had, it was moving, thought-provoking and beautiful.

We couldn't do the boat experience as they ran out of petrol, and also had to share our jeep with another party at one point. This didn't diminish our enjoyment at all, but perhaps is a reflection of slightly poor management." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr B
Canada

"Elephants at Stanley's camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2015
"Lovely setting, the rooms are not as private as some of the other camps as they are closer together.

Highlight definitely the morning with the elephant walk, and an evening ride in a mokoro. Wildlife limited however had a great time watching a breeding herd of elephants. The staff and managers were friendly and very helpful, with a great sense of humour, we had a great time. The meals were excellent with varied foods.

The gift shop was the best of the entire trip and it was a pity I was only half way thorough." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Canada

"Stanley's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"This was the last camp of our visit to Africa and somehow we managed to save the best for last. We arrived at the camp after arriving in a bush plane, driving 50 minutes through sand roads and water which sometimes came into the vehicle. Apparently, the water was coming down from Angola from the rains in December. We were treated to songs from the staff which was so beautiful. The very friendly managers of the camp were Jake and Shelley and they were always there to help with anything and just to chat.

That evening a hyena came around the camp smelling the food for dinner; he is a regular visitor. The next morning we left the camp and there were 14 wild dogs just in the driveway. We followed them for a bit and then they disappeared into the bush. A rare sighting. Our guides were T.T. and Colin and they were quite knowledgeable about the animals and birds. They spotted leopard tracks and we followed him for a while; such a magnificent animal; another unusual sighting during the day.

In the evening while we were at dinner, the ladies came into the room and turned on the bed warmers. Ahh. One evening we went for a ride on a mokoru, with a guide poling the canoe along the waterways among the tall reeds. Very peaceful and relaxing. We stopped for a light snack and went back to the camp for dinner. The food again was exceptional as it has been in each camp. There was a small shop which sold locally made products which in turn goes back into the community.

The highlight of our visit to this camp was our Elephant Experience which is run by Doug and Sandi Groves. They have taken care of three elephants for the past 25 years and these are booked through a private tour operator. It is a not- for- profit organization which brings awareness for the elephant and humans. We walked with the elephants and took pictures of them with us. A delicious lunch was arranged by Stanley's Camp while we were there in the bush. Our last night there was spent with a special dinner and the very thoughtful Shelley and Jake. We listened to the hyenas and elephants bellowing in the bush. A fabulous camp and we would certainly return." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"great elephant experience at Stanley's"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"The great highlight at Stanley's is, of course, the elephant experience and should not on any account be missed. Here, you have the opportunity to walk and interact with three semi-wild elephants, and a more humbling and moving encounter is hard to imagine. One feels the ennobling sentience of these great animals - while being uplifted and inspired the contrasting emotion is that of sadness at the way we treat our fellow beings. The poaching and culling of elephants are two sides of the same coin and, in my view, present humanity in a very poor light indeed.

Stanley's Camp is a very well run and pleasant spot to spend a few days and great sightings are possible. On our final day, a pack of wild dogs passed through the camp while we were relaxing yards away in our tent. The same pack was later viewed by those visitors who had had the good sense to go out on the afternoon drive. Having not expected to see any such thing at Stanley's, the irony was accentuated by the fact that this was the first and only occasion we had taken time out from the punishing safari routine. It just goes to show that anything can happen at any time. While furious at the missed opportunity, the humour of the situation was not lost on us." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"Stanley's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"A very friendly and welcoming camp which was ideal for our first 2 nights. We enjoyed the choir at the camp. We also liked the attention to detail in particularly the decoration of the beds by our housekeeper.

The elephant experience was wonderful and we learnt a lot about elephant behaviour.

It was especially nice to see a pack of wild dogs on one of our game drives." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"A reasonable start to our trip."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"The elephant experience was very good, though it became a bit gimmicky towards the end." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family M
Phoenix

"Stanley's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"The Stanley's Choir greeted us in song upon arrival. The first afternoon we heard crunching sounds outside and discovered a warthog foraging right off our deck. We were enchanted. Our family couldn't decide if this was our favorite camp or the next one, Sandibe -- they both stand out in terms of luxury. Our guide, Kot, was so knowledgeable and mostly self-taught!! about all the surrounds, animal habits and even the night sky. The night game drive allowed us to see the glowing eyes of a bushbaby.

The Elephant Experience with Doug & Sandi Groves is a must for elephant lovers. We learned so much about the ellies, and this added to our enjoyment in subsequent elephant viewings at other camps. Our daughters (ages 13 & 11) treasure their photos with Jabu, Marula and Thembi." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms H
Ealing

"Stanley's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Great camp - nice layout and rooms, and amazing food. Woken up by a large bull elephant right outside our tent on the first morning.

The Grey Matters elephant experience was slighly disappointing. The animals were graet, but the whole experience was a bit of a cross between a circus act and a well-meaning lecture." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottershaw

"Stanley's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"At home again in this luxury camp. From the moment I arrived my every need was catered for. Being a single traveller I felt extra care was provided, especially by Lebo who treated me like a special friend. It was a perfect end to my trip to spend time here. Again the food is second to none and every single member of staff afforded the highest possible service, friendly, courteous and professional at all times.

The game drives were very good but compared to Meno A Kwena and the Northern Botswana mobile safari there was less game to see. The vehicle was the least comfortable and the terrain extremely bumpy! None the less my guide Ike (who even though suffering with a really bad cold) did his best to seek out the game.

The best part of this stay was the Grey Matter, Elephant Experience. Whatever my expectations of this were they were multipled 1000 fold. Doug Groves is one of the most incredible people I have ever met, he is the fourth elephant. His knowledge and love for these beautiful creatures is breath taking. If like me you feel an affinity with these astounding animals then make sure you include the experience when you book." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 15
92%
15 reviews of Stanley's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa