This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sitatunga

75% success

White Rhino

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"This camp was very dry with active fires in the area and lots of previously burned landscape.

Makoro activities were limited and no fishing which I had hoped to do here.

Otherwise it was great!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"We stayed here for two nights following our private mobile safari. The plane collected us from Moremi and we ended up going to Pom Pom camp because there had been rain the night before and Kanana Lodge runway was closed. From Pom Pom camp we thought we would be driven to Kanana but there was a helicopter waiting for us, so we felt very special. One of the staff met us at the Kanana runway and took us to the lodge. On arrival we were met by the rest of the staff with a welcome song. We entered the main building and one of the managers showed us around and told us what was on offer. We then had lunch, which was very tasty and three courses to choose from. Following that we went to our room, which was very spacious and comfortable. It had a lovely veranda with a view across the marsh, where there was an elephant munching at the greenery in the distance. There was a bit of a smell in the room and bathroom but once reported they soon sorted it out.

On our first night we had a private table, which was very romantic, although the other people staying there were good company at the other meal times. There is a turn down service which is usually done while you are out on your afternoon activity when they leave a decanter with sherry for you to enjoy before dinner. Prior to dinner everyone assembles around the fire pit and has drinks. We found this made it nice and sociable.

Our mobile safari guide in Moremi (Andrew) had managed this lodge previously and had told us to ask to get out on the water if we could, as that would be a good contrast to the land based stuff we had done with him. We therefore did both the mokoro and motor boat trip up to the Heronry. The very proficient mokoro poler (I have forgotten his name ? Chester) has been there for many years and he was very informative and always cheerful. The day we went to the Heronry the water was particularly low and the two guys had to get out and push the boats to get them through. One of the guys who was new got a bit scared as he spotted a baby croc on a rock ahead of him when he was in the water. Chester just laughed saying it wouldn’t hurt and its mother would not be around as she will have gone to deeper water until it got dark. Chester also pointed out the sitatunga antelope in the distance, then we saw one right next to us on the way back. I know these are quite elusive so we were lucky to see two.The heronry is amazing with so many birds there all nesting in the same trees and bushes, pelicans, marabou storks, herons, ibis and egrets. It was quite deafening with the young squawking to be fed. We also enjoyed the mokoro ride, which is very peaceful making it easier to get close to both birds and animals.

Bonolo our guide was very knowledgeable about both birds and animals. We saw a Pel’s fishing owl as well as a giant eagle owl. We also followed a pride of lions with cubs. On the second day we saw them stalking a red lechwe but it managed to escape when the male lion spooked it. We were lucky enough to have Bonolo to ourselves so we were able to concentrate on our interests. We also saw a white rhino too. While we were there we witnessed a sun halo, something that none of the staff had seen before. Pretty amazing.

We really enjoyed our stay at Kanana and I would definitely recommend it." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sitatunga

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs & Mr N
Australia

"Kanana Gives a Warm Welcome"

4 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Loved our 4 nights at this camp. Beautiful view from the lounge area over the lily filled channel. Exploring by Mokoro was such a peaceful way to enjoy this and gave a different perspective than from the higher boats. T man was a great boat guide & fishing companion for my husband. On the game drives we went out with Owner who was a very knowledgable and catered to guests particular interests. A leopard was number 1 on our list. Happily Owner found 1 on our last afternoon game drive. She was sleeping on a very visible branch. We & the other couple in the jeep wanted to hang around to see whether she would wake up. Owner happily obliged and we had our sundowners sitting below in the jeep. The leopard woke about half an hour in, came down & walked right past our jeep before stalking a nearby goose. A perfect encounter with no other cars around. We also enjoy birds and Owner was always helpful in spotting & naming them. There is such a good variety of activities & game at Kanana. As well as leopard, we saw lion, elephant, hippo, rhino, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, many antelope including Red Lechwe and many birds. The heronry is unique and the walking safari fun. Being a private reserve there were only 2 or 3 vehicles at major game sightings. Often it was just 1.

Tent was spacious & comfortable with an old school safari feel. Lovely outlook over the water from the front verandah. No shortage of hot water. Housekeeping did a great job.

Staff at Kanana were warm & attentive. They really did seem to enjoy welcoming guests with song. There was a wonderful sense of camaradarie among them. This atmosphere made dining at the shared table even more convivial. Independence Day happened while we were there which was another occasion for dancing & singing & a cake bake off. Food was good & plentiful. Included wines were of a good standard.

A couple of things to note:
There is 1 computer in the lounge that guests can use. Speed and connection was adequate. There isn't WiFi or any mobile phone connectivity. So a local SIM is of no use. I mention this because like us, there are probably many potential guests who need to attend to some work while away. If that is the case you need to know the extent of internet availability. The computer served our purpose well and it wasn't heavily used.

If you are wanting imported wine or champagne for a special occasion, you will need to order & pay for this in advance. I misunderstood and thought that there was a (small) stock of premium wine & champagne which we could order & purchase onsite if the mood took us. This wan't a big deal for us but it might be for others with a special celebration happening.

We thoroughly enjoyed our Kanana stay. It was as we imagined the Okavango delta to be. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Safari at Kanana"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2018
"The guide we had was fantastic - so knowledgeable and engaging. Having been in the industry for a long time showed. He set a standard for the rest of the trip.

We arrived at Kanana at the time that the afternoon game rides started, so there was a somewhat hurried welcome and then off we went. We got back at dinner time so there was no time to change or shower." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mossy 1940
UK

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"Whilst Kanana was pleasant, it did not measure up to Machaba. The staff were good but not nearly as good as Machaba. It just seemed to be trying to be 'up-market' on the cheap. Our guide was 'Owner' who was very good." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Beautiful camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2018
"We had a lovely time here, and really enjoyed the opportunity to do some walking. Every day we saw Perl's Fishing Owl - just fantastic.

The tents are amazing; almost Tardis-like, in the sense of looking normal-sized from the outside, but feeling enormous once you are inside. The range of animals was perhaps not as great here as in other camps on our trip, but there is still masses to see.

The camp felt a little bit bigger and busier than the other ones on our trip, with lots of people coming and going. That was fine and we talked to lots of interesting people." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms V
USA

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2018
"Most comfortable jeep of our trip! Only 2 rows of seats, each with padded arm rests that raise and lower and can be used as camera rests, and lots of leg room.

Very good guide, and welcoming friendly staff.

All meals are family style at fixed times, which requires the guide to be very mindful of how long it takes to return, regardless of the viewing opportunities. I would prefer to have flexibillity in dining times, particularly dinner (8pm is a bit late for us)." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Stefan
Memphis

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"the highlight was the mokoro trip to the heronry..unbelievable
once again great service, very attentive" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CL
Alberta

"Outstanding Property, Guides and activities"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2017
"This place really touched our hearts.

Our guide "Doctor" was responsible for a truly exceptional safari experience. He is extremely knowledgeable, always has a smile and wants to ensure you have a memorable trip. We are already talking about returning in two years. An absolute "must do" is the heronry. We are not bird people but after visiting this special place you feel very privileged to have had the opportunity to view first-hand.

Food here is delicious and varied.

Accommodation is lovely." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Mokoro heaven plus lions in the camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"We loved Kanana. The location gives a fantastic experience of the permanent water and flooded landscape, and so much more too. This was our favourite camp of the trip, although in part this could be down to the European couple we shared a vehicle with.

Although it isn't the smallest of camps it had a wonderful atmosphere with a lot of laughter and all of the staff know the guests by name. The staff were enormously friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble, even dealing with more awkward guests. Coffee served with wake-up call. Singing before dinner one evening seemed spontaneous and fun with more and more of the staff, including guides, joining in.

The water-based activities were excellent. We took a motor boat to reach the mokoros, stopping en route to watch an elephant slowly crossing the deep channel with only the top half of his head and the tip of his trunk above the water. All around were malachite and pied kingfishers,African fish eagles and coucals. The trip in the mokoro was incredibly peaceful with thousands of water lilies all around and reeds decorated with jewel-like Angolan reed frogs. This was followed by a walk on a large island with plenty of game to watch before returning by mokoro and motor boat. We also had a longer motor boat trip to enjoy the sunset on the water after visiting a large heronry and also seeing the elusive sitatunga.

We were pleasantly surprised at the amount there was to see on game drives. There were plenty of wonderfully relaxed elephants, reed bucks, red lechwe, greater kudu, zebras and giraffes, also great views of a leopard and late in the afternoon a group of lions. The next morning the lions were in camp watching from a distance as we met for breakfast. Our guide patiently waited for them to start to move so we were able to follow in the vehicle as the three sub adults played on fallen trees in the morning light.

The tent was comfortable with a nice deck over-looking the reeds...a great spot to bird watch. Our guide was excellent and joined the guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On two out of the three nights we missed sundowners as we were too busy watching wildlife...in my opinion the correct priority!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 66
95%
66 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
16
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa