This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sitatunga

75% success

White Rhino

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Great Experience in the Okavango Delta"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2015
"We were greeted with singing and dancing on arrival at Kanana, and the emphasis on service never diminished during our stay. The meals were excellent and, on a couple of occasions, served remotely under the stars.

The tented chalets, set on elevated wooden platforms, are spacious and very comfortable. Views out across the water from the front veranda of our chalet are superb. The reception/dining area, built around a strangler fig, is open and inviting. And sunsets are postcard perfect.

Kanana staff set up a sleeping platform overlooking a seasonal marsh where we were fortunate enough to be able to spend one night, with only mosquito netting separating us from the stars. This much adventure may not be for everyone, but for our family it was delightful.

Activities at Kanana were varied and the guiding was exceptional. Our game drives were very good, observing elephant, giraffe, lechwe, tsessebe, impala, chacma baboon, vervet monkey, African hawk eagle, wattled crane... and most memorable, a lioness suckling two cubs! In addition to game drives, we enjoyed a combination mokoro and walking safari, a morning walking safari (honey badger!), boating safaris through the grass and reed waterways out to a pelican rookery (elephant, hippos, crocodile, otters!, pelicans, storks, kingfishers, African jacana...), and an afternoon of fishing (bream, tilapia, catfish, and African pike highlighted by an African fish eagle making a catch near our boat).

We enjoyed ourselves immensely at Kanana and give it our highest recommendation.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Milwaukee

"Excellent water camp"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2015
"Great water based camp. Lots of activities! Friendliest staff at any camp we stayed at and went out of their way to make us feel at home. It was our anniversary here and they sang to us and made us a cake plus a private dinner (all a surprise to us!)" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Somerset

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2014
"Excellent service,friendly staff. Views from the chalets somewhat restricted but no real problem.

Good and aware guides. Food fine." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Yorkshire

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Please see my joint comments about both lodges on previous page - haven't time to redo" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs H
Canada

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2014
"Kanana Camp is in another league entirely. It's luxurious in every way. The tents are terrific, the bathrooms (with their glassed in shower stalls), the appointments, the dinners - all of it was over the top.

Our guide, Amos, had a great "been there, done that, seen it all" personality. We all enjoyed getting to know him and he has a wealth of knowledge to share. The Kanana system, with a guide but no spotter, worked, but especially on the night drive we took it was perhaps not as efficient as using a spotter.

The water based activities at Kanana are wonderful. We did a mokoro trip, a great motor boat excursion and also went fishing. The delta is so beautiful from the vantage point of the water that we certainly could have happily done lots more of those activities. We also went on a very interesting walk with Amos.

The managers, Viv, Glenn and Tobogo were very friendly and helpful - and the staff were great. Our only niggle about the staff is that they were perhaps a bit too attentive. Every time we came to the common areas, went to pour ourselves a drink, sat down to have a look at a reference book or just to relax, somebody was there to engage us in conversation, to pour the drink for us, to look for a way to help. Perhaps there are some who want that kind of service. We would have preferred them to be just a little bit less "there" all the time.

Two staff people who made our time very special were Owner (the female Owner - although the male Owner was great too) and Priscilla. They are both friendly, articulate and sharp young women. They had the self-confidence and charm to joke and talk with us in an authentic and natural way - even to tease us and poke fun. It was a real pleasure to get to know them - however briefly.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms C
Vancouver

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2014
"Accommodation was very good. Not as luxurious as Kwando but better than Kwara and totally comfortable.
Food was best of the three camps.
Staff was very accommodating and enthusiastic.
Sometimes the staff were too solicitous i.e. wanting to be so helpful that they did not leave one with any space and it could be a bit claustrophobic - but that is but a small criticism in the context of being very well treated." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr G
Cape Town

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2014
"Every wish and whim was attended to by the personal touch of the camp managers! Nothing was too much for them.

Really enjoyed the activities, and especially singing and dancing into our dinner with the entire staff.

Although the camp managers were outstanding in their professionalism, service and commitment, we missed having the whole camp staffed by local people (management was South African).

Amos our guide and respected elder was superb - we felt privileged to be in the bush with him.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B Dorset
UK

"Excellent when combined with the other camps"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"No big cats but the water environment was very interesting. We had seen a lot of big cats so it did not matter to us however if someone was expecting to see big cats they might be disappointed.

Very attentive, friendly staff who did everything possible to make our stay a success." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Middlesex

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"This camp was the best for service and those little touches that make a memorable holiday. A bit disappointed in game drives as not much around apart from antelope but water based activities were most enjoyable.

Went to camp to see heronry specifically and it was well worth seeing. Quieter camp and a very good way to end our holiday. Staff very attentive and arranged special locations for our meals, which was a nice gesture." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Kanana Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"Kanana has excellent staff and guides, they treated us incredibly well and wanted for nothing. The camp is well laid out and both communal areas and tents are up there with the best of them.

The only down side was the location as at the end of the season the waterways are often too shallow to navigate and limits what they can do." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 66
95%
66 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
16
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa