This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

93% success

Cheetah

21% success

Wild dog

46% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Sitatunga

25% success

White Rhino

23% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Sable antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Mokoro heaven plus lions in the camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"We loved Kanana. The location gives a fantastic experience of the permanent water and flooded landscape, and so much more too. This was our favourite camp of the trip, although in part this could be down to the European couple we shared a vehicle with.

Although it isn't the smallest of camps it had a wonderful atmosphere with a lot of laughter and all of the staff know the guests by name. The staff were enormously friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble, even dealing with more awkward guests. Coffee served with wake-up call. Singing before dinner one evening seemed spontaneous and fun with more and more of the staff, including guides, joining in.

The water-based activities were excellent. We took a motor boat to reach the mokoros, stopping en route to watch an elephant slowly crossing the deep channel with only the top half of his head and the tip of his trunk above the water. All around were malachite and pied kingfishers,African fish eagles and coucals. The trip in the mokoro was incredibly peaceful with thousands of water lilies all around and reeds decorated with jewel-like Angolan reed frogs. This was followed by a walk on a large island with plenty of game to watch before returning by mokoro and motor boat. We also had a longer motor boat trip to enjoy the sunset on the water after visiting a large heronry and also seeing the elusive sitatunga.

We were pleasantly surprised at the amount there was to see on game drives. There were plenty of wonderfully relaxed elephants, reed bucks, red lechwe, greater kudu, zebras and giraffes, also great views of a leopard and late in the afternoon a group of lions. The next morning the lions were in camp watching from a distance as we met for breakfast. Our guide patiently waited for them to start to move so we were able to follow in the vehicle as the three sub adults played on fallen trees in the morning light.

The tent was comfortable with a nice deck over-looking the reeds...a great spot to bird watch. Our guide was excellent and joined the guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On two out of the three nights we missed sundowners as we were too busy watching wildlife...in my opinion the correct priority!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Bertie
UK

"Amazing"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"Kanana is a very well appointed lodge set on a lagoon with Hippos and frogs serenading at night.

The staff here are outstanding and will accommodate groups so that there is no conflict of interest amongst viewing priorities. All the guides are extremely knowledgeable and professional.

Tents are very comfortable with electricity and very nice showers. The game viewing was superb we stalked a 4 lions hunting and a leopard.

Simon, our guide, was happy to just sit and observe the animals so that we could really soak up the atmosphere. Amazing. We loved Kanana and would love to go back.

We have been to Botswana before but this lodge was far and above our favourite." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Kanana review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"From our Welcoming from the singing staff to the personal goodbyes this was an exceptional unforgettable experience. The location right on the water was perfect for bird life and wandering hippos and elephants.

At Arrival we were assigned a guide, as were others, that was with us for our entire four days. These Guides, along with Management, shared our meals at the one table.

The food was served hot at the table and was varied and delicious. Three days of our four we had surprises. We had an amazing picnic, Staff entertained us with singing and dancing and we had a large group Sun Downer. Our twice daily tours both on the water and game drives were fantastic.

We were most fortunate to have Robbie as our Guide. He is exceptionally knowledgeable about African wildlife. His tracking skills were phenomenal and recognized by all. He is the epitome of a professional and caring Guide." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss J
Aylesbury

"A brilliant first safari experience."

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"We loved our stay at Kanana . It was our first safari experience and lived up to all our expectations. A very special camp in a beautiful location.

We were made feel welcome from the moment we arrived by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The camp created a very 'family like atmosphere'. Every member of staff wanted to ensure we had a perfect stay ... and we did. We were even entertained one evening by the staff singing and dancing for us before our evening meal, - lovely! The activities we enjoyed were varied, game drives and water activities.

We also took advantage of the sleep out deck, a night under the stars is not to be missed. We heard lions calling in the night - quite close, and the sunrise in the morning was beautiful. The guides impressed us with their knowledge, we learned such a lot. At all times they showed sensitivity to the environment and wildlife as well as ensuring our safety at all times. We saw an abundance of wildlife each day.

The accommodation was great, and the food excellent. A truly wonderful experience.

We were only there 3 days, but at the end of our stay we felt we were leaving good friends." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
Hertfordshire

"Kanana Review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"Really lovely camp with lovely communal areas. Lots of inexperienced managers which showed in the service. Service staff were good.

The managers were really annoying and never left you alone. We didn't like the fact that they tried to make you sit in certain places for pre dinner drinks and tea. They didn't make best use of the great communal spaces and always had one big dining table in the back of the lodge for all meals.

Our room (no.7) was right by a generator which was switched on at 4.30am waking u as it was quite noisy. They should consider solar panels.

We were assigned to Chacjos as a guide but only actually had him for one activity. We didn't think he was very good. He didn't inspire any confidence that he knew the best areas for wildlife and he didn't explain anything eg when he was looking at tracks so it made us feel that he was just driving around randomly.

Wildlife viewing was terrible compared to the other camps but this was what we were expecting so wasn't an issue. The scenery is lovely and the boat and mokoro trips very relaxing. The boat and mokoro trips and really good and heronry is excellent.

When we asked for certain things (a private dinner and an early start taking breakfast to the heronry) the staff were excellent and accommodated everything we wanted to do.

Little things let the camp down e.g guides forgetting the keys for the boat two days running so we had to go back to camp for them and our driver taking us to the airstrip turning up 20 minutes late so that we were in a massive rush and had to take our own baggage from the rooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Kanana Review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"The best aspect of this camp was its location - being in the middle of the Delta it had the best combination of water based and land based activities of all the camps we visited. The cruise to the Heronry and the Makoro trip were particularly memorable. On the land based side we had an excellent leopard siting.

The rooms, food and general facilities were all good.

I've marked them down slightly on service due to an unimpressive response when my wife stepped on a scorpion. Although the camp manager stayed calm (unlike my wife) they were totally unprepared for this, had to phone a doctor in Maun for advice on what to do and had no suitable medication on-hand. Fortunately, the sting was non-venomous. A further negative on the service was that the organisation of getting us and the other couple we were sharing the game vehicle with to the airstrip on the day we left was quite poor.

We were there for 2 nights, as advised by Expert Africa, and I think this was just about enough time for us to experience most of what they had to offer." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Nick Foster
UK

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We were extremely pleased with the Kanana lodge and it's associated activities. Simon, our guide, was very good.

The highlight of the visit for us were the two visits to the heronry." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
York

"Absolutely fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2016
"We loved our stay at Kanana, and having had 2 nights, wished we'd booked for slightly longer. Friendly family atmosphere with stunning chalets and shared areas. Very good food - particularly the salads! Staff were a particular highlight. Camp staff were highly accommodating, friendly and seemed to want to do everything possible to make our stay. Guides were knowledgeable and tailored activities to suit our interests.

Whilst it is correct to say that big game is less dense in this region, we still saw all the main draws (except leopard!) in addition to a very wide range of birdlife. We enjoyed the variety of game drives and water based activities, and sundowners on the water were magical. The walking safari following different tracks and identifying the smaller fauna and flora was also a highlight." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Tring

"Lovely Lodge and staff"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2016
"Lovely lodge. Really good staff.

Owner guide could have said more but was very brave where he took us.

Food was OK.

Saw lion male eating catch and one day baby elephant. Loved it.

Beautiful vista of impalas in the mist." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T
Chester

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"whilst nothing to complain about the camp was a bit too contrived / too 'corporate' / not traditional enough for our liking. that said, we were well looked after and there was nothing to fault.

the most disappointing aspect was the low water levels that made the water-based activities less 'special' than they might have been" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 77
95%
77 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
19
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (224 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (101 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (87 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (81 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and simple, but comfortable, Shinde Footsteps focuses on walking safaris as well as game drives; it also runs a special children's programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (48 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


96% (19 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (12 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa