This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana
Kanana

Reviews of Kanana

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanana and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kanana.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sitatunga

75% success

White Rhino

75% success

Buffalo

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Ms C
Wiltshire

"Another very well run camp at Kanana"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"This was another excellent camp: run by Mark and Georgi, we really enjoyed it. Our room was large and comfortable, and the common areas of a good standard. The food was a highlight, the best of the three camps we visited, although all were good.

Our guide Kenny was great - very knowledgable and willing to find what we were interested in - including stopping a game drive to take us out on the boat to see Pels fishing owl, when it had been spotted. Water trips were very good, especially to the heronry.

We were there on Botswana independence day, so we were treated to the national anthem (twice! - second time with us singing from a sheet!), a wonderful dinner, and a moving speech by Aubrey (another guide) on his pride in his country. A good mix of game, birds, lovely camp, great people." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Great water based activities at Kanana"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"The water based activities were the highlight here. We visited the heronry twice. There were large numbers of egrets, storks and pelicans. We also went fishing and watched a fish eagle catch fish. Our guide was very helpful in trying to meet our wishes in respect of the water based activities.

The land based game viewing was not so good as the wildlife was fairly scarce. As the brochure had pointed this out we were not disappointed.

The staff sang to us on two of the three nights we were there which was lovely." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Kanana - a gem in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Kanana provided an excellent mixture of land and water based outings in the Okavango Delta region of Botswana. We were able to go on a short walking safari and enjoyed the boat ride to the heronry and excursions in the mokoros.

From the welcome choir onwards, the staff were attentive and knowledgeable and made every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

The tents were large, comfortable and well spaced. The food was varied, plentiful and well presented. It was nice that the guides had dinner with the guests.

One of the sundowners was interrupted by two lionesses! Fantastic!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Quebec

"great safari at Kanana"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"great guiding, fishing at sunset was fun, everything was perfect. Mark, the manager, is a very nice person and does a great job." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Lincolnshire

"Great time at Kanana"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2013
"Kanana has been the second camp we stayed in after our arrival in Botswana. Being in the Okavango delta, Kanana is completely different from the area we were coming from (the Makgadikgadi Pans). This means that we have managed to see different animals, birds and plants. On our drive from the air strip to the camp we have seen elephants, an hippo, monkeys and impalas and on our first game drive in the afternoon we spotted giraffes, kudus, warthogs and many different kind of antelopes. Kenny, our guide, was very nice and friendly. He was very prepared and helped us identifying birds and trees.

The managers Mark and Georgie made us feel very welcome, as did all the rest of the staff. Again, the food was really nice and plenty of treats. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. We have fully enjoyed our activities including the trip on the mokoro during which we saw many birds( amongst which the bird eagles, different kingfishers, African darters, jacanas, herons, storkes, etc), otters and hippos, while floating amongst all the lovely water lilies and other aquatic plants. Then on the way back to the camp, on board of a small motorised boat, we came across elephants bathing themselves and eating papyrus. That was great!

We went out again on the small boat with a guide called Ono. He took us to the herons ring. Unfortunately it was a bit early for the season (they are expected later in June /July) but we could still appreciate the beauty of the place. Ono showed us a pelican colony and we got quite close to some hippos which were very funny and interesting to watch while they yawned, dived in the water and got upset with each other trying to defend their territory. The highlight of the afternoon boat trip was spotting a sitatunga (a water antelope) which apparently is very shy and quite difficult to spot. Even Ono was quite excited when we saw it.

We went out for a night drive but we only saw some impalas, one elephant and a bush baby (or rather the eyes of a bush baby watching us). We have been told that at the moment is a bit too cold for the animal (being still winter there) and they do not come out much at night. Nevertheless we still liked it. At night, from our cabin, we could hear thousand of those minuscule frogs but also hippos and elephants. It was very exciting knowing that those large animals were just outside the camp...

The morning we left we had the camp to ourselves as all the other guests had gone out. The table for breakfast was set in front of the lagoon so that we could have the amazing view all to ourselves! After that our guide Kenny walked us to the air strip and on the way he explained all about animal tracks and behaviours and we talked about the traditions of local people. When we arrived at the air strip we found another guide waiting with our bags and we were ready to jump on a plane to go to our next camp. We really had a great time in Kanana!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr R
London

"Kanana, close encounter city."

3 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2013
"Another warm welcome on landing and another great mini-safari on the way back to Kanana Camp. Our guide Maipaa was a gentle giant for whom nothing was too much trouble. Likewise our host/manager Mark and his wife and all of the staff were great.

Kanana has lots of potential for those wishing water activities with both motor boats and mokoro available, and fishing trips a great way to spend an afternoon. The game here was a little less than other camps that we visited but we did see less spotted genet here which we saw nowhere else as well as Cape hunting dogs and hyenas and many more species as well as great birds including lots of wood hoopoes.

One night we were woken by noises outside our tent (the tents at Kanana are very spacious and comfortable) and on opening the sliding doors we found a mother elephant with her calf browsing on the foliage hanging over our deck area. We watched them for about 10 minutes before they wandered off. The next day we heard them foraging nearby during the morning and then in the afternoon during siesta time they came along to the communal lounge/BBQ area and walked straight across by the fire pit. Just to be so close to them was amazing.

A short trip by mokoro took us to an island where we were able to have a beautiful hour or so walking with Maipaa, by far the best way to see the wildlife and gain a better understanding of the flora in the area.

Definitely the lap of luxury in the most beautiful surroundings. Fully recommend." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & family
Sussex

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2012
"Like its sister camp Shinde, Kanana provided an excellent experience for 2 nights.

The camp is extremely comfortable, and a communal area with views over the water is a good touch. Service and food was generally very good - though we had one meal which was definitely below the normal standard.

The Kanana concession has a lot of wetland areas, so in December this was a good choice with a good mix of driving, boat trips and mokoro activities available. During the floods it might be harder to drive around the concession. Game was abundant, including large herds of elephant passing through the area, and wildcat during a night drive. The quality of the guiding was very good.

One point to note is that for some reason Kanana are using an older set of vehicles than other camps we stayed (including Shinde). These are less comfortable, give a bumpier ride, and have less visibility (because the seats are higher and the canopy more obstructive). Upgrading the vehicles would definitely improve the overall experience.

Kanana was a great choice as a complement to Shinde camp, with a very different concession, different game, but still excellent standard of accommodation and service." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr S
Surrey

"Kanana at xmas"

4 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2012
"Kanana is a little more modern than the other camps I visited, and by that I mean that the wood looked a little newer but overall the set out are all similar. On arrival from the airstrip Amos, my guide, had an ice cold flannel and a cool drink waiting. While on the drive in we managed to spot a jackal and 3 cubs out playing in the mid-day sun. Arriving at the camp I am greeted by six staff members singing a traditional song, very nice but I feel a bit awkward with all the fuss.

This is a small concession but don't let that fool you, there are animals aplenty here. So many giraffe and elephants and there are cats here as well. The first afternoon drive and at the far end of the concession there are bush fires, sounds dramatic but are not dangerous and travel at what looked like an inch an hour. This is where we find our first leopard within 40 feet of the fires sitting on a log watching the world go by.

Kanana also does proper night drives, going out after the evening meal for a few hours. We managed to see a few lions and a selection of the smaller animals so well worth doing. Then your morning wakeup is accompanied with a tray of fresh coffee (or tea) before it's off on another safari drive. I also went on the boat safari which was great, very relaxing and you get close to the hippos. We saw a baby croc but it's the heronry that will amaze you. Perched on small islands of thick bushes are perched hundreds of juvenile birds from storks to herons which don't fear the boat at all. This allows you to get within 10 feet and experience an amazing sight so close.

I was there for xmas day and our evening meal was out in the bush. We drove out about 15 minutes to an area filled with kerosine lamps on the trees, a near full moon and stars I never normally see and the sounds of wild animals all around. The staff sing for us before yet another fantastic meal in the bush and a few to many red wines.

Overall a great place to stay, very friendly and lots to do and nothing was to much trouble." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"Quite a good camp."

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Please see separate email and attachment." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W & W
Cornwall

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2012
"Fantastic camp in a breathtaking position. The tents were spacious and comfortable and we had a bathroom door - yeh!

The staff were superb and worked tirelessly from before dawn untll late into the night to make sure that we enjoyed every minute. The bush walk with our guide, Andrew, was great fun and the night drive was amazing. We loved the mokoro ride and our trips out to the heronry.

I would like to thank Mark and all his team for an unforgettable few days and would wholeheartedly recommend this camp to anyone wanting to experience the delta." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 66
95%
66 reviews of Kanana by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
16
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa