This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare
Mma Dinare

Reviews of Mma Dinare

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mma Dinare and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2023, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mma Dinare.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Edinburgh

"Mma Dinare review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2023
"I do not have time to write an overview. However I was VERY pleased with ALL 3 of Kwando's camps and would recommend them to anyone." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Mma Dinare review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2023
"Mma Dinare was new to Expert Africa but we were very glad we stayed here. The tent was excellent, spacious and comfortable, with a shady veranda, overlooking the river channel. The bed had mosquito nets put down at night, although we weren’t aware of these pests at this time of year. The whole camp appeared to be connected by safe and raised board walks, which were very much appreciated. Excellent food and friendly staff. Coffee with the wake up call was a definite plus.

For the first time on this trip we spent almost an hour watching a wild dog pack, still around their den, with about 17 puppies. Other highlights include a coalition of four cheetah brothers, a young leopard posing on a log until we and it were warned off by its mother, and a splendid mokoro trip. The latter provided a relaxing contrast to days of game drives and many opportunities to see birdlife. Thanks to Kane, our guide, and tracker Sam." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

RHKB
Truckee, CA

"Mma Dinare review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2023
"Great location looking out over water where we saw zebra, elephants, hippo, and lots of birds from both our tent and from the common area.

The game drives were excellent with leopard, lion, elephant, giraffe, wild dog, jackal, and many bird sightings.

We secretly hoped to see bat-eared foxes and we did, twice!

Cheetah had been seen the previous day and our guides made their best effort to track them, but we missed them. Still, good for others to know that possibility exists.

We would return to this camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr D.
Stillwater

"Mma Dinare review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2023
"This was a close second in the overall lodging, safari, and wildlife experiences enjoyed in the delta (and all during the trip, actually).

The facilities were great (though a half-notch down from Sable Alley), services excellent, guides were super, and wildlife experiences varied and plentiful. We stayed more on established vehicle paths, with less crashing through the brush to get the best sightings, as at Sable Alley, with fewer long experiences in one amazing spot while up close and personal with lions and leopards, but a greater variety of wildlife was encountered while at Mma Dinare and one long encounter with wild dogs was amazing.

An sunset ride in a mokoro on the Gomoti River was a special treat." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

9 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Hoong
Malaysia

"Mma Dinare review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2023
"We had an excellent holiday. Mma Dinare was excellent and well run. Staff were hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed our game drives with Grass and Play. We saw lions, leopards, giraffes, zebras, hippos, elephants, wildebeast, impalas, and even the wild dogs. Food was great and plentiful. Would happily come back if ever we had a chance to." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Mma Dinare review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"We've been to other Kwando camps and Mma Dinare was of a similar standard.

The staff and facilities were excellent and seemed to be maintained well. The location, because it was further from the river/water was not quite as exciting but it was still very good. We preferred previous arrangements where the Guide ate with us, whereas here it was the manager.

Our guide was really excellent and his style of explaining and "teaching" was really good - he encouraged us to workout what we were seeing [especially birds] rather than just telling us.

He responded to our wishes about what we wanted to see rather than decide or assume what it was we wanted." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Mma Dinare review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"Our guide, Alcho, and our tracker Sam, provided an excellent service and memorable game drives. They were both very knowledgeable, especially about birds. We particularly liked the way in which Alcho encouraged us to think about what we were seeing.

We experienced a wide range of wildlife in a variety of settings on our game drives.

Overall, comparing the standard of Mma Dinare to other Kwando lodges we have visited, it fell short. A few personal touches were lacking, such as providing everyone with a water bottle." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Happy Campers
Perth

"Marvellous Mma Dinare"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2022
"The wildlife sightings are great (June 2022) - wide variety, plentiful animals and birds, variety of habitat.

Our tracker "TT" and guide "Grass" worked very well together, did an excellent job of tracking and finding the animals, and explained their habits in detail. The staff as a whole are cheerful and very welcoming. The comfortable accommodation has an amazing outlook over a shallow bend in the Gomoti River - we saw lots of elephants and hippos from our balcony and also from the lounge/dining area.

The hippo grunts provided an early morning wakeup ahead of the delivery of freshly brewed coffee to our safari tent/cabin (much appreciated on cold, early morning starts!).

The highlight was seeing 3 leopards (a female and 2 potential male suitors, we were told) chased up trees by a prowling lioness, with chacma baboons sounding alarm calls." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dan & Annie
Windhoek

"Mma Dinare review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2021
"The lodge was really beautiful - we saw elephants and hippos and warthogs and impalas and more from the deck of our chalet. Just lovely.

Staff was very kind and helpful and the guides were great - we saw tons of lions!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
98%
9 reviews of Mma Dinare by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (218 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (137 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (86 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (68 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa