This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

189 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

93% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

93% success

Spotted Hyena

93% success

Sable antelope

21% success

Sitatunga

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 189
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Calgary

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2021
"Kwara. A completely different feel to the last camp, but no less loved. Kwara is smart. Classic. Stylish. Classy. Refined. The perfect place to end a safari trip in my opinion. A great compliment to the whole Kwando portfolio.

I had 4 glorious days here. The food is a step up. The wine is a step up. The concession is, again, amazing. My guide, Shime, and tracker SB, were amazing. I couldn't believe some of the sightings. And these sightings were even more exclusive than usual. 2 different wild dog packs. One night, one pack trying to target a zebra foal, and having 30 adult zebras come to the rescue.

Another sighting, lionesses stalking a warthog for a half an hour, only to have one of the young cubs run out and trigger an early breakaway, ruining the hunt. What an exciting experience.

Charles, the manager, is the perfect fit to this camp. His people skills were in full evidence with the emergence of the Omicron variant, and the stress this added to all travellers. My hat is off to him, in helping us all.

Kwara is a must-do in my opinion. The perfect luxurious end to whichever start. I'll be back time and time again." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2021
"Kwara was very luxurious, with tents well spaced, so private and quiet.

Wildlife was all around, with encounters with giraffe, impala and wild dogs on our actual doorstep.

The guide and tracker were very well informed and keen to share their knowledge, enabling us to better understand the environment of The Delta and to see its wildlife. We had some wonderful sightings of five lionesses and their cubs of varying ages, one day squabbling over a small kill, and then an unsuccessful hunt. And the next day, sleeping and satiated having taken down three adult zebra overnight and guarding two of the carcasses for later!

The highlight has to be wild dogs hunting impala through the camp past us on the path, then watching a successful hunt from the breakfast campfire as they stampeded the Lechwe back and forth, into and around the lake!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Gibblewhites
Newark

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2021
"This newly furbished camp had every mod con - even a bath! The facilities are outstanding and beautifully clean - even USB ports to charge your tablets etc. However no WIFI. This was not a problem for us, but if I was still running my business it would have troubled me.

The camp are very meticulous with hygiene even taking our temperature every day.

The game is incredible. We saw so much and once again our guides were fabulous. My only comment would be the state of their tracks - if you suffer with a bad back - they are incredibly bumpy!

Our hi-light was seeing the wild dogs with their pups - we sat watching their behaviour for a couple of hours and it was incredible." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
St Albans

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2021
"Kwara camp is lovely. Our "tented" accommodation was more like a small house than a tent: very comfortable. It was very hot when we were at Kwara so the pool was a very welcome addition to help cool down. The (discreet) outside showers were also a nice feature.

There is no wifi or mobile/cell coverage. I had been concerned that this would be a problem but in fact ended up really enjoying the ability to detox from our "always on" connected lives.

The staff were very keen to help and could not do enough for us. Our guide Dave and tracker George were very knowledgeable and went out of their way to find us great game to see and let us know about life in the bush.

The mekoro and boat trips are great additional activities and should not be missed." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Kwara Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2021
"Activities ranged from not good to brilliant. We stayed here the longest time so saw a lot more animals.

Radio contact was quite intrusive in our opinion. Encouraging cars to race from one end of the area to another.

We made it clear we are interested in everything big and small our previous camp drivers took this on board. Shared a car a few times with a couple on their first safari. Driver didn’t stop or slow down enough or talk about animals or surroundings for long periods. We feel that if this had been out first safari camp we certainly wouldn’t be determined to return." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2021
"This was our third visit to the Kwara Concession, and we don’t regret it for one second.

A special touch of this camp is that they actually assigned the two guys to us that we had the pleasure of having as our guides twice before: Big Tom and ATee. And this time they even gave us a “private” safari, even though we hadn’t booked one. Anyway, these two are outstanding, they always went the “extra mile” in providing us the best angles and perspectives without even having to ask.

I realize that I gave the other two camps mostly 5 stars, and if I had the chance I would rank this camp’s rooms and activities with 5+ or 6 stars. The degree of luxury provided was more than we need. For example, the rooms were at least 1.5 if not 2 times larger than anything we had encountered before. And it continues to amaze us how, in the middle of the bush, they can cook such delicious lunches and 4-course dinners.

Anyhow, on to the more important aspects. Our first afternoon activity was hard to beat in terms of highlights. First there was a lioness with her one cub, and they put on quite a show for us. This was followed by a pack of wild dogs who were busy feeding on a reedbuck they stole from a leopard. We watched them for about an hour or so, until not much was left of the animal. To conclude the first day, after sunset we met a leopard “Splashgirl” at a waterhole, and it was particularly nice as we had seen her before in 2018.

In the same context I’d like to mention that we saw a male cheetah we also encountered in 2018 and a lion coalition called the “Zulu boys” that we saw for the first time in 2016!!! Back then they were like 3 or 4 years old, and now, according to our guides, they were having issues with a bunch of challengers.

On our last morning drive, shortly before we had to leave for the airstrip, we encountered a female cheetah with her two cubs who were posing for us on a termite mound.

Another memorable sighting was a tsessebe antelope with her young and another calf that she was babysitting.

I can’t praise this camp enough for the sheer variety and quality of sightings, so much so that we are planning to come back here next year." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms C
Montana

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2021
"We spent 3 nights at Kwara Camp, and that was just about right. Two nights wouldn't have been long enough. The rooms were fabulous, as was the food.

The game drives were wonderful, but I would highly recommend taking the boat ride to the heron/stork rookeries as well. One of my traveling companions fished with the guide and tracker, while my birder companion and I enjoyed the rookery from the roof of the boat. The bream caught by the fisherman was served at dinner that evening.

Our guide and tracker at Kwara were wonderful. I was especially pleased at their knowledge of birds as well as animals." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2021
"Beautifully refurbished camp. We had a great guide and tracker, everyone was warm and welcoming, and did everything to make our stay memorable. Covid 19 protocols well in place." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr J.
victoria

"Fantastic stay at Kwara"

5 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"This was by far the best camp experience I have had.

The staff, facilities and food were all excellent.

The animal viewing was incredible and the skill and knowledge of Johnson and Eric (our guide and tracker) were outstanding." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms A
Calgary

"Beautiful, smart remodel"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2019
"What a beautiful, newly finished camp. The rooms were heavenly. The mosquito netting over the ceiling fan gave us our first complete sleep. Having 2 separate pool areas, along with big common areas with views gave you the feeling you were the only ones in camp. Looking out across the grassy field to see elephants every day was magical, even though I was to find out that this area is normally completely under water. The last 2 years of drought have taken their toll.

I have to confess to being disappointed at the amount of game. Perhaps it is that our expectations were so high after chatting with guests that had just come from Kwara at the previous camp, or perhaps it was just a misalignment with our guide. But we found he would just drive around......only stopping at animals if we asked. And even then, he would "come in hot", meaning, he would 90 percent of the time scare them away, unless it was something he considered worthy. (leaving us to photograph the backsides of animals). He did not show the same consideration for angle, and position, and lighting as the other 2 guides as well.

At the time, I figured I would just "go with the flow", and was more forward with requests to stop as the days went. But now home, and after reflection, I wished I had approached the camp manager to request someone else more aligned with our expectations. He was great fun, and we had many laughs. I would actually enjoy spending time with him......but I wouldn't have him for a guide again.

Don't miss the river boat cruise. It was so picturesque, peaceful, and informative. (our guide actually shined here) Management was excellent. Charlie was present, attentive, and professional, and Cecilia was bubbly and helpful. I found the food good and plentiful, and you never had to ask for a top up on your wine glass.

While we were there, the CEO of Kwando was there with many travel agency representatives in advance of a convention on Botswana tourism in Kasane. We had the absolute pleasure of meeting Sally-Anne from Expert Africa, with whom we had exchanged a couple of emails prior to the trip. It 100% confirmed in my mind that we made the right decision in choosing Expert Africa to coordinate the trip, even though we are from Canada. Their knowledge, and experience is unmatched, and everything flowed very smoothly." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 189
93%
189 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
51
4
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (124 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (88 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (80 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (69 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (42 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa