This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

202 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

80% success

Wild dog

76% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

96% success

Hippo

96% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Buffalo

77% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Sitatunga

10% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 202
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L.
Gordon

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2022
"Of our month long trip to Africa, Kwara Camp was our favourite. Set in a vast private concession in the northern Okavango Delta, it had such a great variety of ecosystems to explore. The camp is set on an island and the whole concession was only shared with one other camp.

Game drives are expertly run by a passionate guide and tracker who had no set timetable for returning to camp if sightings were abundant. One morning we were out for six hours because it was so eventful. There is a maximum of four guests in a vehicle and we were lucky to be the only two in ours for our entire four night stay. From wild dog puppies, lions including cubs, leopard and cheetah, we had all our wildlife hopes met. Shout out to George and Luke.

Our accommodation was a spacious and luxurious 'safari tent' raised above the ground with a private balcony and amazing views of the lagoon. The sounds at night were magical.

The staff and food matched the high standard of this camp along with the relaxed, friendly and authentic atmosphere.
We would not hesitate to return to this camp again." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Andy & Karen
Malvern

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2022
"The third of our Kwando camps and this is the place to finish your stay in the Delta.
Undoubtedly the best appointed camp we have ever stayed in, the rooms are the definition of safari luxury, capacious with superb interiors and with bath, indoor and outdoor showers. Each overlooking the lagoon, the 'tents' are serviced by two swimming pools at either end of the camp. We have never looked forward to going back to our tent so much! The food was amazing - hats off to the chefs - and there was no shortage of eating opportunities.
This luxury is worthless however without superb staff and service, and these guys really do knock it out of the park. From the managers Charles and Tom down through every member of staff they understand the importance of personal, friendly but spot on service. Thanks to everyone of you for making our time in camp so special.
Our guide Shime and tracker Luke are a first class team and worked exceptionally hard to find what we wanted to see and to spend time with it. Their knowledge and skills are fantastic, knowing when tracking needs to be replaced by patience for an unforgettable wildlife experience.
The environment here is stunning, but also offers its own challenges at times of flood. Crossing the marshy areas to switch islands and track game is not always possible, and sightings through the long grass are sometimes a challenge. But we were treated to some very special wildlife sightings that we will never forget so it was absolutely worth the 4 nights we spent here." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Kwara Camp review Great mix of land & water"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Our first visit to this camp. Very impressed . Good location overlooking a lagoon.

Excellent spacious and well furnished rooms.

Excellent guiding by George who tried so hard to find cheetah for us.

Saw wide range of wildlife, including great sightings of owls and serval at night, honey badger, steenbok, reedbuck etc.." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs and Mrs C.
London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2022
"The suites at Kwara are outstandingly large and luxurious with a lovely view of the lagoon in the distance. We personally didn't feel the need to be in such luxury as you spend so little time in your room and we found the other 2 camps we visited to be more in keeping with their environment.

The guide and the tracker were excellent and we saw a greater numbers of game here than the other 2 camps and followed 12 wild dogs. We were woken at 5.30 am each day in order to have breakfast round the camp fire whereas the other 2 camps allowed you an extra half hour in bed with breakfast taken later on the game drive which we preferred.

The staff were very willing but seemed a little inexperienced. Food was buffet style and good but not up the standard of the other 2 camps. We particularly enjoyed a boat trip on the surrounding waters.

On departure the managers gave us the wrong departure time for our Mack flight which meant that we missed it. However, we admired their honesty in admitting their mistake and they did arrange an alternative flight on a 4 seater which was an adventure in itself." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms B
Arizona

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2022
"Upscale camp. Huge safari tent rooms.

Elephants surrounded our tent on the first couple of days. Staff were very helpful and nice. Beautiful location.

Big emphasis from this camp is to see the big predators almost to the exclusion of watching other wildlife. Guide did adjust his tours to try to meet our goals.

Food was excellent and there was always a lot of it." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss K
Kent

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 May 2022
"Kwara remains Kwando's flagship camp and standards are still extremely high. Game is present in the camp at most times. Other than the birds that you might ordinarily expect to see, I saw several elephants at 'close' quarters, hippos, a warthog family, banded mongoose, impala, red lechwe, kudu and of course the camp troop of baboons." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

C & K
RI

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2022
"There were abundant animals around the camp: hippos, baboons, elephants and impala. In fact the first evening we were walking back to our tent with the guide and came upon a large bull elephant on our path. We just stopped, stood silently until our guide clapped his hands loudly three times, and the elephant ambled off.

Everyone there was very hospitable and helpful. There is no internet. However, when the rules for getting back into South Africa were changed because of Covid, the manager sent emails for us to figure out how we would get the required QR code we would need.

An unusual experience was taking an outdoor shower with a baboon watching me! We watched a jackal eating remains of an impala. One evening when we were driving back to the camp, we saw an aardwolf and a serval. The sunsets are amazing!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P M & family
UK

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2022
"We really enjoyed our experience at this camp - in particular the guiding on the game drives was exceptional. Having a tracker on the front of the vehicle really makes a difference. In one half hour period we saw wild dogs hunting, lions on an impala kill and an angry herd of elephants chasing off the lions.

The staff at the lodge were excellent and looked after us really well. Whilst this camp isn’t as well appointed as a typical Wilderness Safaris camp, it hit the mark for us and the focus on wildlife was excellent.

The lack of wi-if was a good thing from our perspective although probably not for others.

The camp was quiet when we first arrived but got busier during our stay and we enjoyed the communal dining experiences and breakfast around the fire." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2022
"As mentioned elsewhere, this was our fourth trip to Botswana, and we have made it a tradition to come to one of the Kwando Safaris camps in the Kwara Concession last, and as before, we enjoyed every minute of our stay (except for one little detail, see below).

The reason for coming here repeatedly is just due to the fact that during our first visit, we saw a cheetah successfully hunting a reedbuck and, on the same day, a pack of wild dogs making a kill right in front of our the camp. These are once-in-a-lifetime experiences that are hard to duplicate. Not that the other wildlife sightings we had here gave us any reason for complaints. Quite the contrary, during that same first visit we saw a mating dance of saddle-billed storks, we saw elephants crossing the rivers during a boat cruise in the Moremi GR, and we saw lions making faces. Subsequent visits to this camp were similarly spectacular: In 2018 we saw a young female leopard posing for us in a tree (we saw her again last October), and we enjoyed, for the first time, seeing a couple of lions mating (a spectacle we will never forget).

So, how did this camp stack up against the others and previous visits? In a nutshell, we were in seventh heaven, once again, despite the fact that the season was not optimal, according to all the guidebooks. We encountered elephant herds with babies (no such thing in the other camps), we saw plenty of herbivores (except cape buffalo and rhinos), and to top it all off, we met Mr. Special again, an 8-9 year old cheetah that we followed for hours on two consecutive days. On the second day we saw him scanning the neighborhood for a breakfast and plotting his next moves, but unfortunately, we missed witnessing him making the kill. We met him again a few moments after, and saw him having breakfast.

The following day was just as dazzling insofar as we ran into the resident pack of wild dogs which frolicked around a waterhole with splashing water and all that.

The food and the amenities of this camp were as phenomenal as during past visits." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Mind-blowingly brilliant!"

4 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2022
"We'd stayed at Little Kwara 8 years ago and were astonished and delighted by the upgrade.

Each room was breathtaking, the staff were exemplary and the game drives were full of animals, birds and very special experiences - we even saw a cheetah kill.

We loved the rule of only 3 vehicles at one sighting, even if it meant we left to allow another in. This is so much better for the wildlife and we felt this made a difference to how many sightings we had. Everyone at the camp worked tirelessly to give us the very best experience.

We can't wait to go back!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 202
93%
202 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
143
52
4
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (126 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (94 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (73 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (66 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (58 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (36 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (33 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa