This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J.
victoria

"Fantastic stay at Kwara"

5 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"This was by far the best camp experience I have had.

The staff, facilities and food were all excellent.

The animal viewing was incredible and the skill and knowledge of Johnson and Eric (our guide and tracker) were outstanding." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms A and Mr W
Calgary

"Beautiful, smart remodel"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2019
"What a beautiful, newly finished camp. The rooms were heavenly. The mosquito netting over the ceiling fan gave us our first complete sleep. Having 2 separate pool areas, along with big common areas with views gave you the feeling you were the only ones in camp. Looking out across the grassy field to see elephants every day was magical, even though I was to find out that this area is normally completely under water. The last 2 years of drought have taken their toll.

I have to confess to being disappointed at the amount of game. Perhaps it is that our expectations were so high after chatting with guests that had just come from Kwara at the previous camp, or perhaps it was just a misalignment with our guide. But we found he would just drive around......only stopping at animals if we asked. And even then, he would "come in hot", meaning, he would 90 percent of the time scare them away, unless it was something he considered worthy. (leaving us to photograph the backsides of animals). He did not show the same consideration for angle, and position, and lighting as the other 2 guides as well.

At the time, I figured I would just "go with the flow", and was more forward with requests to stop as the days went. But now home, and after reflection, I wished I had approached the camp manager to request someone else more aligned with our expectations. He was great fun, and we had many laughs. I would actually enjoy spending time with him......but I wouldn't have him for a guide again.

Don't miss the river boat cruise. It was so picturesque, peaceful, and informative. (our guide actually shined here) Management was excellent. Charlie was present, attentive, and professional, and Cecilia was bubbly and helpful. I found the food good and plentiful, and you never had to ask for a top up on your wine glass.

While we were there, the CEO of Kwando was there with many travel agency representatives in advance of a convention on Botswana tourism in Kasane. We had the absolute pleasure of meeting Sally-Anne from Expert Africa, with whom we had exchanged a couple of emails prior to the trip. It 100% confirmed in my mind that we made the right decision in choosing Expert Africa to coordinate the trip, even though we are from Canada. Their knowledge, and experience is unmatched, and everything flowed very smoothly." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs S
Essex

"A Palace in the Bush"

6 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Our return visit after 6 years and boy hasn't she transformed into something else from the dark stilted tents of Little Kwara to the palatial bright cabins of the new Kwara Camp. The camp now covers the area that both of the original camps used to, the lounge, bar and dining areas are huge. The camp has an excellent policy of restricting vehicles to 4 people per game drives. As we were staying for 6 nights we shared with a mix of other guests or had the vehicle to ourselves, our first drive was with an incredibly toxic couple but fortunately they were gone the next day.

We loved the pairing of both tracker and guide at both Kwando Lagoon and Little Kwara when we travelled to Botswana in 2013 which was one of the many reasons why we chose to return to Kwara again. We were with head guide Dave and tracker J.D. (Justice) whose knowledge, patience and dedication rustled up some magnificent and unique sightings for us. We had magnificent cheetah sightings both with the Kwara regular male 'Special' and an interloper. We were also patient enough to wait for Special to take down a reedbuck on our last day. The camp was flexible enough to hold lunch for us until we returned to camp .

A 24 strong pack of wild dogs came through camp and killed a young kudu on the edge of camp, it was all over in 20 minutes. There was plenty of lion activity, we went out on a late drive one evening and witnessed two outside males make a bid for a large pride of females and cubs. The pride fled, we followed and the concession was filled with roars for hours to come. We also had regular encounters with a large male leopard that was cool as a cucumber with vehicles." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Hinckley

"Great Kwara Safar"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"An absolutely lovely camp, only recently reopened after refurbishment, what a superb job they have done.

The tents were spacious, gorgeous and well equipped including charging points for all electronics. The safaris were great, driving and guiding by Tuelo and spotting by Cee, just them and us in the vehicle. Saw plenty of Elephants and Leopards. On one mazing morning we went to one of the wetter area's, amazing to see so many Maribou Storks and Fish Eagles. On previous safari's we have been lucky to see one or two Fish Eagles, now we were seeing six or seven in a single tree.

The staff at the camp were attentive and excellent in every respect. Private dinner on our balcony, celebrating our anniversary." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr F
Dalston

"Great location but not much wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Luxurious en-suite tent with plunge pool nearby.
Friendly staff at the camp.
Expert guide and spotter.
During our stay here we saw the lowest concentrations and least variety of wildlife on our trip.
Morning and afternoon game drives were long, which made brunch a relaxed affair but left very little time before dinner.
The highlights were a boat trip along the waterways of the Okavango Delta and a walking safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr&Mrs B
Wensleydale

"New Kwara camp an excellent start to Botswana"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"Kwara was our first lodge in the Okavango Delta. It had only opened at the beginning go the month and everything was immaculate and well designed. The camp was very quiet, only 2 other guests the first night and 6 the following night.

We landed at the airstrip after the afternoon game drive had started, but, after ascertaining we wanted to join the drive, the driver, drove about 10 mins to locate Pax, our guide and Mike the tracker. We saw a cheetah within another 10 minutes, a male lion, herds of elephants, zebras, giraffe and various antelope. The subsequent game drives were productive with wildlife viewings, although the wild dogs were elusive. Bird life was plentiful and we enjoyed sitting by the water watching birds. Pax was very knowledgeable, but less forthcoming with information than some guides. We were very fortunate that we were the only guests in the vehicle for 2 of the drives.

The staff were all very pleasant and food excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"game viewing excellent.

Rooms showing signs of age but still clean and comfortable." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Coventry

"Our annual adventure in Africa 5th leg"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2018
"Now starting to feel tired after all of the early starts and coffee round the fire at 5-30am especially after listening to the Hyenas all night. Starting to get a bit repetitive now but again staff, food and accommodation were all great.. Also shared the lodge with some really nice people. Gie and Gomes were our guide and tracker and helped us see Leopard, side stripped jackal, two different Cheetahs and an animal I never thought that I would see, a Sitatunga when we went on a boat trip. I was buzzing for hours. Even had a few rum and coles to celebrate." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Run down, magnificent wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2018
"Rather run down and staff appeared tired.

Fantastic safaris, we saw so many animals and birds.

Saw a Baboon steal a jar of peanut butter, so funny." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P
Eastleigh

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2017
"I canot speak highly enough about this camp and the staff. The facilities are precisely what they say they are and provide that perfect setting for a full on safari experience while providing necessary comfort and relaxation. The actual safari drives are out of this world with plenty of action. The whole set up is perfect and would I go back, definitely tomorrow!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa