This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

222 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 50 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

65% success

Cheetah

76% success

Wild dog

80% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

98% success

Hippo

98% success

Spotted Hyena

85% success

Buffalo

79% success

Sable antelope

27% success

Sitatunga

18% success

Roan antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 222
Duration
Arrival date
Meryl
USA

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 May 2023
"This camp was spectacular. The staff was incredible and the accommodations were also amazing. Food was excellent too. Charles was particularly great to interact with as the manager. Our guide Taps and tracker Cee were so great to be with. They were so knowledgeable and even got us to see an active lion kill which we will never forget. Having the camp on the delta was a unique experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

michael and susan
us

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 May 2023
"Kwara is a gem of a camp.

This was our third visit to Kwara and it was the highlight of our trip. It is extremely well run and very pleasant. It is our happy place in the okavango. I cannot say enough good things about it.

The tent cabins are beautiful . The entire staff is lovely. ( especially Charles who is one of the managers). The guides and trackers do a great job and the location is superior being half marsh and grassland and half drier mopane and acacia scrub.

I truly believe it is the best lodge in the delta." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Party of 4
Islington

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2023
"Huge thanks to everyone at Kwara Camp, especially Taps, Eric and Poster, for their excellent guiding and spotting and generous hospitality.

In addition to the sightings of mammals recorded below, we saw an African Wild Cat, an African Civet, a Lesser Bushbaby, Springhares, Side-striped and Black-backed Jackals, Red Lechwes and Tsessebes." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
London

"Kwara Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2023
"Kwara is a recently renovated, stylish and comfortable camp in a lovely location. Visiting the Okavango I thought would be the highlight of my trip, however it proved to be the most disappointing with few animal sighting.

As beautiful as the terrain was, it was mostly empty, with the occasional small group of herbivors.

The guides were very keen to find predators and radioed each other to inform their findings. We had a number of Lion sightings (mostly asleep ) and only a male Cheetah on the last day.

We heard the grunts of a Leopard in the early morning with a furious response of Baboon alarm calls. However, we didn't manage to locate the Leopard or the Baboons as they proved to rather shy.

There was a great variety of birds but not in large numbers. Being a wetland, I was hoping to come across large flocks of water birds like Yellow Bill Storks, Open Bill Storks, Egrets etc, which I've seen in the Lower Zambezi NP or South Luangwa NP at the end of the wet season, but it wasn't to be.

There were neither any Crocs or Hippo sighting at close range, or out of the water, as there were no sandbanks to bask on. We knew they were there but frustratingly out of sight.

Night drives were disappointing with only two owl sighting in five nights and nothing else.

We had some very close sightings of a couple of young bull Elephants that came into camp to pick up Marula plums that had fallen during the night. They seemed relaxed despite us being only two to three metres away." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sitatunga

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2022
"Kwara is in a great location close to a very large waterhole, so there was plenty of wildlife to see from the deck of our tent. Seeing a herd of red lechwe running past, we expected to see lions or dogs in pursuit - instead they were being chased by two warthog piglets.

Our tent was very spacious, well-furnished and very comfortable. Round-the-clock electricity was very welcome.

The wildlife was amazing: a tremendous variety of antelopes, all the bigs cats (and the tiny one too), a large pack of wild dogs, hyenas, elephants, giraffes, a honey badger. For the first time, we saw a side-striped jackal in addition to the usual black backs." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2022
"We had stayed at Kwara / Little Kwara on three previous safaris but not for over ten years. The camp has been completely rebuilt since our last visit and is now exceptionally well-appointed. Our room was vast and very comfortable, with a large deck overlooking the lagoon. We had very close encounters while outside our room with various animals including a family of warthogs, a troop of baboons and a herd of red lechwe.

The staff were friendly and efficient, but perhaps a little too prescriptive about keeping to a strict timetable for game drives and meal times. The food was excellent.

We had several remarkable wildlife experiences at Kwara, including Wild dog hunts (by a very large pack of 29 dogs) on two successive days, around and even through the camp. We also had an extended sighting of a leopard near the camp, and witnessed the migration of an elephant herd (or herds) several hundred strong, which was an awesome spectacle.

We mostly did game drives but did go on a boat trip through the channels to the Gcodikwe heronry, which was another remarkable experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Longton

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Very disappointed. Relief managers had no enthusiasm and did bare minimum as did staff.

Our guide was a relief guide who did bare minimum and we were constantly told how many minutes we were allowed before excursions!

The camp was not as clean or inviting like other camps. Room was huge and beautiful view. However the shower head needed repair, and a chair and lightbulbs needed replacing. This was sorted when pointed out but not immediately. General manager and assistant appeared second day to entertain perspective travel agents.

The camp was run very differently in her presence. It was my birthday also and they did make a fuss with beautiful cake and gift. The camp changed on her departure. We pointed this out to Kwando representative at Maun airport.

Very disappointed." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs Z
Saratoga

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Enjoyed the variety here from the usual Jeep rides.

Had a great experience on the canoe, and then the boat ride at sunset. We even went fishing and the guys caught some fish. Lots of fun.

Enjoyed our stay here very much." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J & J
York

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"The camp we enjoyed most. We had met Elizabeth, camp manager, at Lagoon
She is a star.
Our guide Vasco and tracker Justice were excellent. We loved observing their tracking skills and learning more about all aspects of the area" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Trish & Peter
Nairn

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"The overall condition of the camp was excellent. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. It was maintained this way throughout our stay. Despite being worried about laundering silk, the staff took on board what I told them about it’s care (treat like cotton) and it was all perfect.

The food was excellent. A great selection and all very tasty. I loved the fresh made hot porridge cooked on the fire each morning. I was introduced to African Blue cheese and think it is better than Stilton.

The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. It was like meeting and being with old friends. It’s very impressive how they remember everyone’s name when they have guests moving in and out every few days.

Our guide was Stanley and our Tracker was KT. They were amazing in their ability and efforts to find the wildlife. It took a little while to get across that we (and the other guests in our vehicle) were interested in stopping to photograph birds but we got there in the end. We have these two to thank for our only sighting of a Cheetah. I will forever see Stanley at the end of the airstrip runway tying to ensure that the Elephant crossing the runway, causing our aircraft to execute a missed approach, was alone.

Leaving this camp was like leaving family and home. We all hugged at the airstrip. A truly wonderful start to our holiday.

The Little Extras that were appreciated at this camp:
Cold towels and a welcoming drink on all arrivals at camp.
The personalised bottle for water which KT regularly filled for us without us asking.
Good sanitation care from our guides.
Four public toilets at centre camp with separate male/female.
The decorative towels on the bed on arrival.
The bedtime stories about animals, left on our bed for two nights.
The pretty beaded animals left on our pillows on the last night. These will adorn our Christmas tree as a memento of our visit." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 222
93%
222 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
160
54
4
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (76 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and simple, but comfortable, Shinde Footsteps focuses on walking safaris as well as game drives; it also runs a special children's programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (47 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (17 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa