This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Baines' Camp
Baines' Camp
Baines' Camp
Baines' Camp
Baines' Camp
Baines' Camp

Reviews of Baines' Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Baines' Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Baines' Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K.
Gravesend

"Fabulous Baines "

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"Flight from Kasane all on time and excellent drive to camp - camp welcome wonderful all staff there to welcome us - intro to camp excellent bk showed us our suite and explained everything well - food and drinks excellent great choice every day - breakfast afternoon tea and dinner - service excellent - afternoon tea cakes were amazing

Safari drives were excellent - guide Fred was very knowledgeable and made sure we had plenty of opportunities to sit and watch the wildlife - excellent at tracking

Walking with elephants exprience is a must - an extremely informative emotional time - and clearly demonstrates the bond between Doug and Sandi - very moving

Baines camp felt you were very much part of the community- location felt nicely secluded and very private - rarely came across any other trucks on the drives

You need to appreciate all the wildlife and it’s not all about the big five" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

J & R
Canada

"Baines' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"Baines Camp was the most rustic of our trip. We knew that beforehand and were not disappointed by anything. As always staff were great (although a little confused at times). As rustic as Baines is they managed to provide the best meals of the trip and the cleanest best maintained pool we have seen at any camp. Their menu was very similar to Chief's with hot breakfast options as well as three options for most meals. Compared to other camps Baines suffered a little with the view from the rooms. We looked out at 6ft high reeds and with this our view was very limited. This also meant that afternoons were very limited.

Other guests seemed to really enjoy the starlight bed & bath options although we didn't try either. Our guide was Max who in comparison to other guides seemed very slow and methodical but with a great eye. Max found two leopards at great distance that I wouldn't have seen if they were fluorescent orange. Sightings were good but few." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
J
California

"Baines' Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This camp is beyond fantastic! The landscape was stunning. We could not have asked for a better experience and are already imagining a return trip will have to include another stop at Baines Camp.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food and accommodations were tops. Our guide, Fred, was so genuinely enthusiastic about everything we saw on the game drives. He was incredibly knowledgeable about all of the flora and fauna. He seems to really enjoy his guests and his job. I can't say enough about the attention to detail from Fred and the staff.

Great camp!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Facilities were very good - they even supplied slippers, hair dryers and dressing robes.

The safety briefing was very thorough and our guide was excellent.

Mel, the locum manager was brilliant, especially as I had a bad reaction to my malaria tablets - she got me back on track straight away. She was very "on the ball" and made sure everything ran smoothly.

We arranged an Elephant Experience for them here - and they commented:

So worth doing. A magical experience I would recommend to anyone with a love of elephants.

At no time did we feel in any way threatened by these huge animals. To be able to actually get up close and touch them was a rare privilege" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2015
"Pretty setting and although the ride from the airstrip is quite long, it's a great experience with deep water and animal sightings.

Enjoyed the elephant encounter but could be shorter (some of the history was repeated) and a little over the top in the "performance " area. We were in a very large group which added to the time.

Highlights: Guides (Professor Ice and Fred), Singers/Entertainment, Genet sighting, free wifi, Dion(manager)

Lows: very small beds, isolated from rest of group on our first night and ate alone. Seems to cater more to honeymooners." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms B & Ms L
New York

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"Baines was unique in many ways. We were greeted at tea with irresistible pastries and a quick tour before we were encouraged to move out in search of three young lions...

Our guide was like a Motswana Crocodile Dundee- he even wore a croc rimmed hat! The lions were spotted and we watched them curiously, waiting, still and silent as the sun sank and we realized that a huge heard of Wildebeest were being rounded up for the kill. A few hundred stunned looking eyes were staring out at us and suddenly the entire herd took off, full speed past us in unison. Two of the three young lions chased all but three wildebeest, who stood motionless, dumfounded, as though processing their imminent future as the lions' supper. But the lions didn't partake. They plopped down to relax in the grass- apparently it was just a practice run...

The dinners were superb, under the stars by the the water's edge. Steve, the chef was charming and let me believe that they forgot that I didn't eat meat until he presented me with the most delicious vegetarian meal I can ever remember. I would go all the way back just to have that dinner again!

Tiny, the manager has a giant personality, and by the end of only two days there, I felt that we were friends. I did not get the chance to say goodbye or exchange contact information, but if I knew of a way I would...

Baines was the only camp that had bungalows instead of tents, but they still felt like part of the wild. and the presence of wild animals precluded walking unescorted on the boardwalks after dark. The rooms are lovely and the decks outside are spectacular. If offered the chance to sleep out under the stars, do not hesitate- these were the most amazing nights surrounded by infinite stars, feeling like floating in the heavens but with the bushbabies scurrying nearby, while falling asleep to the lions' call and the leopard's saw like sounds not far off in the night... Steps were slushing by in the water surrounding the deck, but whose? These were the two most wonderful night's sleep I shall never forget...

The elephant excursion, an add on option at Baines, left a permanent impression. I always knew that elephants are intelligent, with long memories and that they are known to mourn their young. I did had not previously experienced the depth of their understanding and elephantality- this was not anthropomorphic. They were unique beings in their own right. Three elephants had been orphaned and were taken care of by an American couple who were knowledgeable and had a connection with the elephants that was like family. I was concerned that the interactions would be like circus tricks, and the elephants did perfectly respond to verbal commands, but they were clearly there voluntarily mostly it seemed for the oranges, treats and affection. They could wander off at will. They were free, but appeared to enjoy the attentions and, of course, showing off.

We were encouraged to walk with an elephant, trunk in hand. I walked with Jabu, the greatest of the three, and when I though that t I should let someone else have a turn and let go of his trunk, he held on to my hand and we kept walking. He liked me- and the feeling was mutual. It was clear when they were amused. They even smiled, and when one wanted the lime light you'd know it. They are able to speak at a wavelength that we are unable to perceive, but they understand us. They are magical, intelligent, magnificent animals, original, with a depth of emotion that was unmistakable and endearing." See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D
Parker

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2014
"Baines Camp is beautiful with post card perfect setting and the tents connected by a raised walkway with lots of water all around. The staff was excellent and friendly and the guide, Fred, was outstanding and he made the game drives worthwhile with has narratives. The game drives needed Fred because there were almost no animals.

There were memorable touches at this camp. Returning to our tent the first night after dark following the evening game drive we discovered two tubs were on our deck filled with water and bubbles 4 feet high. My first ever bubble bath. The second night we slept out on the deck in our beds and under the stars. These were wonderful touches.

On the other hand the tents are good but not great--better than Kwara but not as large or as nice as Labala. There is no comfortable place to sit inside the tent. Baines clearly tries to provide a high level of service with touches of luxury." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P & Ms G
Antigua

"A Lovely Camp and great Elephant Experience"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2013
"Baines Camp was absolutely lovely. It felt really luxurious with a beautiful, calm over-water setting. Great staff. Very comfortable rooms, and the woman who took care of our room Galesita (I think I've spelled it right) was amazing. My friend had a bubble bath under the stars on our front porch. Again, the food was delicious, the atmosphere very relaxing. The staff rather than singing as we arrived (which I always find a little embarrassing) put on a show on barbecue night. It was a very good show. Great singing, and then wonderful dancing and clowns. Really excellent dancing and clowns!

Their gift shop items were on display in the 'hall' which was great, and very tempting.

The only thing I found scary was driving through so much water, we always made it through unscathed, but I was a nervous passenger. When asked, they also provided tea for the non-drinkers at sundowners. We really enjoyed Baines Camp.

We really came for the elephant experience, and that was absolutely incredible. To be that close to three lovely elephants, to see how rough their skin was, how long their eyelashes, and to walk hand in trunk down the road with an elephant was an experience never to be forgotten. Doug and Sandy were great, kind, knowledgeable, great teachers and dedicated to their elephants." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr R
London

"Baines Camp, real elephant experience"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2013
"On landing at the airstrip we were met by several landcruisers as there were several groups arriving together. The drive to camp took almost an hour but only because we were effectively enjoying our first game drive. It was great.

At camp we were greeted enthusiastically by the managers and staff, provided with a nice refreshing drink, introduced to our guide, July by name and then shown to our room by our housekeeper. The camp itself was just about everything we expected, a very comfortable room with private deck looking out over the delta and all mod cons.

That afternoon , after tea and snacks we were taken by July on our first drive. Just him and we two, it was fantastic. We stayed out until after dark and saw a leopard walking along the road in the light from July's searchlamp, two giant eagle owls and lots of other animals. Magical Back at camp we were given a very good dinner and as much to drink as we wished, and enjoyed the communal dining with our fellow guests.

And so it went on for 3 days. We went out on a motor boat (not a mokoro) for one afternoon and the remainder of the activities were by landcruiser. July always asked us what WE wanted to do or see and was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of his native country and the delta in particular.

The highlight of the whole trip was definitely on our first morning when we went on the Walking with Elephants experience. To get so close to such huge but gentle elephants was a humbling experience. It was very easy to believe that they are very intelligent and gentle. Looking up close into the eye of any of them you can "see their intelligence". Doug, their american "carer" was brilliant, a good mix of scientific knowledge and twenty plus years of anecdotes. Definitely among the top few experiences of my whole 60 years. Having an elephant put its trunk around you is really something very special.

Overall the camp was excellent. All of the staff were genuinely friendly and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I would recommend Baines for anyone visiting the delta, and definitely to book the optional elephant experience which is definitely a one-off." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms C
Ruislip

"Baines' Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2013
"There should be a super excellent category for Baines Camp. It was superb.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation was excellent, we slept out under the stars each night and on our return from the afternoon drive on the last day bubble baths with bubbly wine had been set up for us. We could not fault it.

On top of which the guide was the best. Marvellous sense of humour, very knowledgeable, and giving us a talk on termite hills while the plane waiting to take us away was sitting on the runway will remain with me for a long time.

This was also the camp with the largest selection of activities - mokoro, speed boat ride, walking with elephants, bush walk plus usual game drives. This was by far the best camp on the trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
92%
17 reviews of Baines' Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa