This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by J from California

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Amazing trip of a lifetime!

Kenya and 1 other country between 3 Oct 2019 and 16 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is my second Expert Africa safari and it could not have been any better. All expectations were met, the camps excellent, the access to animals for viewing beyond dreams.

Richard is incredibly knowledgeable, extremely helpful and 100% committed to planning a perfect trip. I never felt pressured to select certain camps, just really enjoyed working with Richard and letting him suggest an itinerary based on what we wanted to see and experience! He was diligent in finding camps for our group of 6 and arranging the trip in order to visit different areas with a wide variety of wildlife.

The first hand knowledge of the EA staff cannot be surpassed. A top notch company!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Fantastic Camp and Staff"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"This camp is situated in a very accessible area for prime wildlife viewing. The conservancy experience is an uncrowded area with great access to multiple species.

We following 5 lions defending their territory for most of a morning under the most beautiful sky with patches of clouds and stunning landscape. Our guide, Peter, was incredibly knowledgeable about everything we were seeing. the camp staff lead by Louise and Andrew are warm, friendly and happy to help with anything you might need.

The food was absolutely delicious!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Perfect location with delightful staff"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"This camp could hardly be any better. It is situated in prime animal viewing area and is very well laid out. The staff provides an amazing amount of comfort, delicious food and fantastic guiding.

This camp exceeded my expectations in every way. The animal viewing was beyond my imagination. Not only were there several early morning sightings of hyena's feeding , but also large lion prides feeding. and crossing the plains on their way back home.

Spent most of one day following the famous 5 cheetah boys. Just amazing! Lots of animals to see and not crowded, at all. Be sure to visit the Maa Trust which supports the local community with various projects including beautiful beadwork by local women."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Great location with excellent guide"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"This camp is located in a great viewing area. Our guide, Kaneal, was extremely knowledgeable and lots of fun to be with. An absolute professional in every way. We saw the wildebeest river crossing, hippos and crocodiles battling in the river, numerous sightings of lions, leopard and cheetah.

The camp is comfortable, staff is helpful and the food was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Group of six in Botswana

Botswana between 4 Oct 2017 and 12 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was an extremely successful trip to Botswana! We were all so thrilled with the camps and game we saw.

The service and attention to detail in planning was such a breeze with the help of Richard Ball.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You are doing a great job! Thank you!"

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Baines' Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This camp is beyond fantastic! The landscape was stunning. We could not have asked for a better experience and are already imagining a return trip will have to include another stop at Baines Camp.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food and accommodations were tops. Our guide, Fred, was so genuinely enthusiastic about everything we saw on the game drives. He was incredibly knowledgeable about all of the flora and fauna. He seems to really enjoy his guests and his job. I can't say enough about the attention to detail from Fred and the staff.

Great camp!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vurumba adventure"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"The landscape here is breathtaking. This small island has a peaceful quality not found as often at other camps.

The game drives were fantastic although we kept having to ask our guide to stop when we saw animals/birds that he had not noticed or did not think worth stopping for. He seemed distracted and often engaged in conversation with the preserve inspector that accompanied us on every game drive. Although it was clear we were an older group of guests, we had to ask for a step and help getting in and out of the vehicle nearly every time.

The staff and accommodations were first rate. An intimate camp with gorgeous views and lots to see. The water tours are stunning in terms of the colors of grasses, reeds and water reflections. Also big skies with fabulous sunsets."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Savute Safari Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"Although this camp was a bit more populated than others we visited, this camp offered sights we had not seen closer to the Delta.

The game drives were great and Baba was an excellent guide. He was always thinking about positioning us for the best photograph of whatever we were seeing. A very pleasant guide with a great sense of humor.

The food and staff were great. Rooms were very nicely appointed and very pleasant.

The staff was very helpful as we had to deal with an unexpected emergency at home. They were a great help with internet and emergency phone calls. Thank you!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team