This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira

Reviews of Olakira Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olakira Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Olakira Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

87% success

Cheetah

70% success

Wild dog

11% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

96% success

Spotted Hyena

96% success

Buffalo

92% success

Hippo

92% success

Eland

80% success

Roan antelope

42% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Oryx

31% success

Striped Hyena

21% success

Aardvark

7% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
Brydon
UK

"Olakira review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2024
"Where do I start … it was an extraordinary stay within nature … was amazed at facilities in such a remote location … staff were superb" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K.
Nice

"the wildebeest migration!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2023
"One of our main reasons for visiting Tanzania was to witness the wildebeest migration. Our stay at the fabulous Olakira camp made this happen! the camp itself is just what you would expect of a bush camp. Great tent accommodation, good food, and excellent staff. But it was our guide, daniel, who brought it all together.

We witnessed several crossings...an unforgettable experience. the masses of wildebeest, the sounds, and the excitement as they would begin to move. wow!

We saw lots of other game and birds while at Olakira. what a fabulous place!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr/Mrs F
Texas

"Olakira review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"Again, we really liked our guide, Hotibu.

He was perfect for David especially as he gave a lot of detailed scientific information about the animals, their behaviors, the Serengeti as well as the birds and plants.

He was very hard working to make sure we saw the important things." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 9n in Tanzania; 4n in South Africa; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mrs L.
Austin

"Olakira review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2023
"Our experience at Olakira was our favorite part of our trip. Even though we also had a chance to see the gorillas in Rwanda and stay at Giraffe Manor in Kenya. Olakira left an indelible mark in our hearts.

The camp itself is amazing. The spacious and well appointed tents seem to blend into the surroundings.The staff members each went out of their way to make our experience magical.

We were lucky enough to get Daniel as our guide and I honestly feel like we lucked into the very best guide in the Serengeti. We saw 3 large wildebeest crossings, herds of elephants, lions, cheetahs, hyenas, gazelle, giraffes, a leopard, hippos, topi, oryax,waterbucks, eland, crocodiles, impala, cape buffalo & others I might have left out.

Just the number of animals we saw up close was shocking. The sights will be etched in our memory forever!

We can't thank the staff at Olakira enough for such a wonderful experience. It made such a impression on us that I would love the chance to stay with them during birthing season of the wildebeest when Olakira moves south." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

J2
VA

"Olakira review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2023
"Olakira is easily 5-stars: the people are friendly, food outstanding, safaris are amazing, room was comfortable (and amongst the herds of wildebeests)." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Rusty Hudak
Stow, OH

"Olakira review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2023
"Our second time at Olikira, the facility and staff are really something special. Our guide Daniel deserves a special mention too. He was very knowledgeable, personable, and had a great sense of humor. All six in our party were big fans of Olikira, Daniel, and our waiter / bartender, Sadick.

Oh, and the animal variety and quantity are second to nowhere." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Olakira review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2022
"We returned to Olakira after 5 years and due to circumstances beyond Asilias control, the camp is now further away from the river than previously. It takes a bit longer to get down to the river now. The camp itself has undergone a few changes but retains a more traditional camp feel, with the tents being more 'tenty' than our previous two camps, albeit with wooden floors. I wasnt sure I didnt kinda miss the 'two bucket' shower system. Sadly it had a tendency to rain at night so we didnt risk moving the bed for the new Stargazer option !

Sundowner and evening meals are deliberately a more communal activity here, and we loved the opportunity to get to really learn about the other guests over dinner. Food was again good quality and plentiful. Conversations were animated and great fun. Definitely a more camp like vibe.

Our manager Zainab looked after us well and the staff were as attentive as ever.

One of the chief attractions of Olakira is arriving at the time of the River crossings, but you are hostages to the thought processes of Wildebeest !. Early rains had resulted in considerable herd movements and we arrived knowing that many thousands had crossed in the fortnight before. Fortunately we had seen a good crossing the last time we were there, and as the numbers crossing had dwindled, we decided that rather than the necessary sitting and waiting that is required to view these crossings, we'd spend more time on game drives and if we caught one so be it. As it happened there were only a small number of small crossings during our stay. Luck of the draw.

Other wildlife sightings were however plentiful in terms of herds, lions and birdlife. We got to watch a very young male leopard for half an hour on the evening of our arrival. Last time we'd seen a fair few leopards, this time we saw many more lions instead. It was a recurring theme that we had completely different experiences than our previous safari, and that in essence is the beauty of it." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms F
California, USA

"Olakira review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"We had an outstanding experience at Olakira. We saw 3 crossings and so much more. Our guide, Lenga, was an amazing tracker and all around excellent guide and extraordinary photographer, who helped me every step of the way with my new camera.

The tent was comfortable, spacious, and clean and the Olakira staff spoiled us terribly." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Olakira review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"That was one of our favorite camps. Nice rooms, nice staff and good food. There was nothing to complain." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms E.
London

"Olakira review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2022
"A more basic camp, but with many attractive features.

Staff were keen and attentive but were notable less experienced than those elsewhere.

Our guide Juma was good fun and worked hard for us" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 72
96%
72 reviews of Olakira Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
60
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


96% (62 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (55 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


94% (52 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


98% (42 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (37 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


92% (24 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


91% (15 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


92% (13 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (12 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


98% (11 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (8 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (7 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


97% (6 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (5 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


85% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


100% (1 review)
Olmara Camp

Olmara Camp

With just eight guest tents, including two family tents and three signature stargazer tents, Olmara is a simple, family-friendly camp with a wonderfully attentive team. The camp captures an authentic bush experience, welcoming travellers of every kind.


100% (1 review)
Esirai Migration Camp

Esirai Migration Camp

A season migration camp, with only 8 tents and 1 family tent and plenty of character. Esirai is ideally placed for excellent wildlife and enjoys a simplistic and comfortable under-canvas experience.


80% (1 review)
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa