This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira
Olakira

Reviews of Olakira Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olakira Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Olakira Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

78% success

Cheetah

80% success

Wild dog

29% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

90% success

Elephant

90% success

Hippo

80% success

Eland

71% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

14% success

Striped Hyena

14% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs JJ
Tanzania

"Olakira Mara - Ndutu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"The staff were extremely friendly and made me feel comfortable and welcome as a single traveller. The food was very good and because it was Valentine's day while I was there we were given champagne. We all ate together under canvas at one long table which is especially good if you are travelling alone.

My tent was comfortable and very clean and spacious. It was a lovely surprise to find a hot bottle in my bed after dinner. I had not brought any warm clothes with me and so it was a nice touch that the camp supplied blankets in the jeeps to keep warm. It was chilly in the mornings and evenings.

The camp tried very hard to meet the needs of each individual traveller, not always easy when people have different interests and levels of stamina." See all these reviews: 2n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Dar es Salaam

"Such a memorable stay at Olakira Mara"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2016
"Olakira was a personal favourite!

The staff here are wonderful, the food is great and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The tented camps are extremely authentic and a hot water bottle in the bed is a lovely touch!

Plus a fantastic view of the sunrise. We had a brilliant time." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Great staff and animals at Olakira."

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"Simple vibrant camp with super welcoming and friendly staff. Wonderful animal sightings including 3 crossings, female leopard with week old cubs, cheetah and lion cubs. Nathan was very informative about animal behaviour and excellent at finding animals.

For a temporary camp it had everything you could expect from a permanent camp. The food was very good although as a temporary camp lighting in the tent was not very good. Hot water for wahing could have been provided in thermos flasks as we had at Rekaro camp, another Asilea camp but in Kenya.

We have never had hot water bottles in bed before when on safari!" See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Surrey

"Enjoyable stay at Olakira Mara-Ndutu"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"A camp with a superb location overlooking the Mara river. Again the service was excellent, the food extremely good and again they tried to feed me too much. The staff were excellent and tried to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Olee the guide was particularly good and also had a wide knowledge of the game. I was sorry to leave the place. My only adverse comment is that the tent lighting was a bit inadequate compared with the other camps." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A lovely tented camp in the right place"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2015
"We only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed our short stay" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Texas

"Authentic safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"We loved our stay at Olakira.

The tent was spacious and hot bucket showers were never an issue because the entire staff was top notch. Delicious food, and drinks were spent with the other guests which made socializing about the days adventures a blast.

Guides were wonderful and extremely educated. Keep in mind that a safari jeep is normally shared with other travelers so cross your fingers your mesh well, if not, open a beer and enjoy the drive." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Flaunden

"Fascinating migration at Olakira, S Serengeti"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"Friendly and attentive Asilia staff with good food. Tent was not as clean as with the two Lemala camps we had been to previously and the lack of wooden flooring made this more noticeable. Some bathroom glitches were quickly sorted out by the staff. Nevertheless, taken as a whole, we had a great experience in the heart of the bush here. We enjoyed our community dining in the evening and banter with other guests.

The main reason to come at this time of year is for the migration which was fascinating, although most of the wildebeest were males and birthing was taking place elsewhere in the Serengeti which we did not witness, which was a shame. Plenty of predators in evidence - 42 lion, 13 cheetah and an unusual sighting of 7 African wild dog. We were amazed at the variation of habitats in this area of the Southern Serengeti which made for a great safari.

Ayoub, our superb guide for the previous 4 nights as well, continued to work hard at making sure we saw everything we could have wished for and enhanced the whole experience. We were so sorry to waive him goodbye at the airstrip for our onward travel - he had become a friend over the course of the week." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hockley

"Lovely situation, but tents tired and old."

3 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2015
"On arrival we were made very welcome by the staff. Our tent was spacious and had all the basic requirements.

Unfortunately the bucket shower did not work properly and the water barely dribbled out of the shower head. The staff tried to fix it and said to try the shower again. Sadly on trying to turn on the water the whole shower head and pipes fell down just missing my head. It took 48 hours for the staff to get the shower fixed and then was only sorted because my husband told them what was wrong! The staff then managed to replace the hose and shower head and finally we could shower on our 3rd day.

On our second night it poured with rain and the next morning everything was very damp, including our clothes and bedding. Fortunately the sun shone and things dried out.
Over all we feel, that although it was a mobile camp, the tents need replacing, and showers improved and in general an upgrade to all facilities.
The food was good and drinks plentiful.

Our game drives were excellent and we enjoyed a couple of bush breakfasts and our guide, Ebenezer, was knowledgeable and found the thousands of wildebeests that we had wanted to see. We also saw lots of hyenas, vultures, plains animal and lions. I was going to mark Ndutu Camp as poor, however the food was good, and the service at breakfast and dinner was great." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Bill & Mila
Madrid

"Olakira Mara - Ndutu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"We compared with Dunia and noticed not quite so well run. Food was good and staff were friendly.

Guide here was provided by the camp and was a bit disappointing. He could have been a lot more communicative and paid a bit more attention to our interests.

Why did we always share truck with 3 others? (No problems with them personally). Others seemed to have truck/guide to themselves. We did however see 3 river crossings - 2 in front of the camp (see below)." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Australia

"Olakira Mara - Ndutu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Great fun - best tent I've ever slept in. The communal dinners in the mess tent and the drinks round the fire are a great way to meet other travellers. This differentiated this camp from the &Beyond lodges. It's amazing what the cooks can do in the middle of the bush, you don't get much better in downtown Melbourne!

And again, our guide Nathan deserves special mention - polite, educated and fun. Nothing was too much trouble for him." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 59
96%
59 reviews of Olakira Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (9 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa