This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs P.S. from Baldock

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Dream first safari

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 13 Sep 2018 and 28 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was amazing. I am glad that we had 3 nights in both camps in Serengeti. Camps were great fun and driving in open sided vehicles a definite bonus. 4 in a jeep seemed an ideal number.

We saw more animals than we could have hoped for, including 2 leopards up trees. We were disappointed not to have tour of slave museum which had been main reason for going to Stonetown.

Matemwe Lodge at the end was perfect although it was only about half full so would have been even better with a few more guests around in the evening. I could have done with 5 days there!"

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"convenient for one night stopover if early mo"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"We had to wait while they prepared rooms for air crew who had arrived after us."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Machweo

Machweo

"lovely place to relax before going to camps."

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Nice rooms and lovely restaurant area.

Pool area quite small but adequate for short stay.

Woken by very loud call to prayer from nearby mosque which could be an issue if you were staying for several nights."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
The Highlands

The Highlands

"Modern tent accommodation of high standard"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Tents were of a standard expected in a top hotel.

Pleasant staff and good food and drink. Quite long transfers but interesting countryside.

Long drive to crater for game drive but it gave opportunity to see Masai villages en route."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"good first experience"

16 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

We saw lots of different animals in a single day.

Being in an enclosed vehicle gave less field of vision than being in an open sided one.

It was a long day due to the drive from our accommodation to the crater, but this did allow us to see lots of Masai village life along the way.
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Best safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"It has the perfect balance of authentic camping and high level of creature comforts.

It has an informal atmosphere but the service was excellent.

There was a good number of guests allowing for lively company in the evenings. The staff and guests all mixed in together."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"camp in lion country"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"It has a calm atmosphere even though it has its own pride of 25 lions.

The all female staff were charming and broke into exuberant singing and dancing on several occasions.

Accommodation was very comfortable and reflected some feminine influence.

There were plenty of opportunities to observe large herds of animals in the wide open spaces."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

"atmospheric hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"An atmospheric hotel with amazing views from top floor restaurant.

Room had unusual decor and a great view across rooftops to the sea.

Staff were pleasant and helpful but it did not have the amenities of modern hotel....the washroom was on the 3rd floor and we could not get a cup of tea served in the afternoon even though there were numerous landings with the odd table and chairs set up.

There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"perfect place to relax"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"A truly beautiful place to relax and unwind.

Lodges were fabulous set on the edge of the sea so you could be quite private or go to one of the several communal areas which were tastefully arranged throughout the lush gardens. It was small enough to get around easily yet big enough to provide a variety of spots to read or sunbathe. Staff were delightful and there was a good number of activities on offer.

The beach is public but there was hardly anyone else on it. There is a lot of seaweed but you soon get used to it.

When the tide comes in at night the crashing waves are very loud!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

"superficial over view"

24 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

It was a good way to understand the layout and history of the place.

It did not include any visits to museums but the guide gave plenty of information.

We were disappointed not to be taken into the slave museum as we has specifically asked for our tour to be focused on the slave trade when we booked our holiday months beforehand.
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team