This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands

Reviews of The Highlands

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Highlands and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Highlands.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

67% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

75% success

Elephant

75% success

Hippo

75% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Eland

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
East Lothian

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Very professional camp. Warm welcoming and the service, food and wine all excellent. The tents had wood burning stoves to keep them warm and the views from the terrace were stunning.

The best part of the visit was the hike up to the mini caldera with a Masai warrior, guide from the Highlands and Asilia guide. Lovely hike and beautiful views.

The worst part of the visit was the journey to and fro Highlands. It took about two and half hours from the airport. The first half was fine but after the viewing area for the Ngorongoro Crater we turned off onto an extremely bumpy, dusty track that wound it's way round the caldera and then eventually up to Highlands. While Highlands was lovely we did not feel it was worth the journey." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Trish
Pauanui NZ

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"My stay of 2 nights was superb in every way down to the manager lending me a pair of her shoes (my luggage was lost but arrived the next day) so I was able to continue my day out with Adam on safari.

The accommodation was fabulous I was in a honeymoon suite with spa. Very spoilt by all including a fire going all night and a hotwater bottle inn my bed.
Very cosy considering I was on my own!!

The surprise lunch amongst the zebras was beautifully cooked by the chef and myself and two other guests loved it.

A big Thank you to all at The Highlands for a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve Steph
New York

"Amazing time at the Highlands"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Our stay at Highlands was one of the best trips we have had. The team at Highlands were hospitable and made an effort to get to know us over our 3 day stay. The food was great and we had a great visit to a Maasai village. The crater was stunning and lives up to its status as a world heritage site!

To points others have raised - the ride is not for the faint of heart and is quite bumpy. However, we managed it without problem." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs P.S.
Baldock

"Modern tent accommodation of high standard"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Tents were of a standard expected in a top hotel.

Pleasant staff and good food and drink. Quite long transfers but interesting countryside.

Long drive to crater for game drive but it gave opportunity to see Masai villages en route." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Sao Paulo

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"excellent installations, service attentive and organized
all our programming for activities was done and performed
staff very good. Peti very nice and our guide Simon excellent. Even William, the guide for the hikings very good
the lunch at ngorongoro reserve awsome" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Magic in the mountains"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2018
"Another excellent Asilia Camp. Cooler and high altitude. Tents were truly special, superb bathroom, beds, and view.
Good deck to enjoy afternoon sun.
Again excellent food and wine.
We enjoyed the visit to the Maasai village plus the two walks, first to Empakaai Crater Hike, (large lake), then to Olmatic Crater, where we walked to a waterfall.
It was so good to walk after all the safaris. Still the bumpy roads to get there." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H&S
Dublin

"Bumby ride, excellent views"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"Long bumpy ride from the gate entrance to the accommodation, last leg of the road up to the Highlands could use a touch up

Excellent location, wonderful food.

Some minor issues with malfunctioning hot water pump, hard to light the open fire. Quite steep on the slopes so hard work if you're Senior (or out of shape) walking back up to the restaurant.

Masai interaction was very interesting but perhaps a bit "forced" and touristy, a more casual approach with smaller groups might promote more interaction. But still very memorable.

The guide we had here (Festo) wasn't as knowledgeable as the guides in Little Olivers and frankly perhaps a bit junior for a 5 star resort. Nice guy but didn't seem to have as deep of a network with the guides on the radio, leaving him out of the loop of the spotting chatter on the radio. I had to go and fetch him in the workers office 10min after our agreed morning departure, not very impressive.

Lovely to see so many locals and Masai enrolled in the workforce, a detail we found particularly nice with Asilia (same was true for little olivers).

Overall a lovely stay in a spectacular location but a lot of jeep hours stacked up at the end." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Spectacular scenery at the Highlands"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"The Highlands is located in spectacular countryside with stunning views (at least from our dome which was nearest the communal area) .We spent four nights here (three full days) which was just right for the activities offered.

The accommodation is pretty luxurious and comfortable. The rooms do cool down at night but we didn't find them as cold in the morning as some have commented. The camp is nearly a hour's drive from the Ngorongoro crater entrance so an early start and a full day out with packed lunch is necessary. We expected the crater to be chocker with jeeps but it was relatively quiet.

On the other hand the half day hikes out to Olmoti and Empakai offer something a bit different - an opportunity to stretch your legs, tremendous views and hardly a tourist in sight. A degree of fitness is required though! The Masai village visit is also very interesting as it's quite natural and not a peep show like most tourists see. Asilia are involved with the local community and school. There were only a handful of other guests at the camp during our stay. Lunches were good but dinner (we're vegetarian) was very much a hit and miss affair." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Providence

"The Highlands at Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2017
"This new camp was fabulous! Clearly, the drive to the crater, and then to the Highlands, was long and bumpy. But upon our arrival, we knew that this facility and location made the trip worthwhile.

The facilities, including the "guest rooms," were spectacular. The food was a step above the other locations (especially the lunches).

The "activities" here were remarkable. Our day in the crater was amazing! We then hiked into the crater, also very exciting, and visited a Massei village. Just driving through the "countryside" was also so very interesting." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & C
Atlanta

"The Highlands at Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"The Highlands was a breathtakingly beautiful lodge. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome, comfortable. The rooms were incredibly comfortable with hot showers, coffee delivered every morning, fire place, and hot water bottles to keep things warm. The food was delicious (even the picnic meals!) - by far the best food we had on our trip. Eggs benedict on Christmas Eve morning while overlooking Olmoti crater from the deck was particularly nice.

The service was outstanding - everyone on staff was so kind and knowledgeable. We had a great time.

One of the afternoons we walked down to a Masai boma. This was incredibly interesting, but we did feel a little bit uncomfortable navigating negotiations with the Masai when purchasing their handicrafts. We were given the impression before hand that negotiation was customary, but it quickly became apparent that this was not the case. It would have been helpful to be a little more prepared for these interactions.

We loved hiking Olmoti and Empaki craters - this was a nice change of pace from sitting in a safari vehicle." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 15
93%
15 reviews of The Highlands by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa