This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands
The Highlands

Reviews of The Highlands

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Highlands and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Highlands.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

38% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

89% success

Hippo

89% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

78% success

Black Rhino

43% success

Eland

38% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"The Highlands review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"It was my wish to visit this lodge, but we didn't like it too much.
First: It is a very long ride from the airstrip to the camp (2 1/2 hour). The roads are very bad.
Second: We were not lucky and had a lot of rain. It was very cold in the rooms. They had a fireplace, that put the room to a nice temperature, but later on the fire went off in the night, so it was very cold (3 degrees celsius in the morning). Of course they told us, that we can phone someone, to put the fire on again, but we think that it is not very nice to get someone out to our room, just for lighting the fire again.
Third: Some of the staff couldn't speak Englisch very well, so it was sometimes difficult to understand what they said.
Fourth: Our guide was more than a driver. He just took us to the places we wanted to go and then there was not much more he did for us. We made the hiking to the Empakaai and to the waterfalls, but he never went with us. We saw other guides who did so. The drive in the crater was ok.
At least the visit of the Massai village wasn't so nice. It was about 60 Dollars we have to pay for and we stayed there one hour, just walking around a little. At the end there were a lot of women presenting their stuff and we were told before, that we have to bring a little money for buying something. The prices weren't small, one little plate, where you can put your wineglass on, was 10 Dollars." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms E.
London

"The Highlands review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"We loved the modern feel to the place. Staff and food were great. Our guide Emmanuel was well informed and personable.

It gets very cold there even with a fire in the room. The staff did there best and even ordered an electric blanket for my husband.

We would have liked the option for longer hikes (around the lake in the crater)." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Simona
London

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"This was a fantastic lodge. The location is amazing, the staff really friendly, the rooms super-comfortable.

It can get cold at night and early morning, so dress up!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs A.
Oregon

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2021
"This is a truly unique and magical place.

The staff and service were amazing, the accommodation exceeded our expectations and views were beautiful.

The food was very good and we loved having a drink at the cool bar tent before dinner.

We also enjoyed the educational walk with a Masai guide from the camp to a nearby Masai village. We really felt like part of the family that lived there." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms T.
Costa Mesa, CA

"The Highlands review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2021
"Property is gorgeous. Staff is excellent. Room was great, though it definitely got warm in the late afternoon - staff brought us a fan which helped along with keeping the door open.

We enjoyed the separate bar area (very cozy!) and drinks before dinner. Also really appreciated that the chef confirmed the menu for the day and was able to adjust to preferences.

My only issue is it was way too much food every time! Appreciated the variety but two meats and six sides for two people is just too much and felt wasteful.

I really enjoyed the Olmoti hike - the view from the top is just stunning. It is difficult though - steep and there’s hardly a path. Having the Maasai and ranger guides definitely helped!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2021
"Definitely a unique place to stay in the Ngorongoro NP at 2700m above sea level. The architecture and views are just amazing.

The camp is nicely located away from the crowds, and therefore ideal for those looking for more than just the normal Ngorongoro safari. The camp offers various cultural activities (suspended during Covid), as well as highly recommended guided hikes to the Empakaai and Olomoti crater.

The staff was very friendly and food was very good too.

Compared to other Asilia properties visited, the Covid 19 protocol was probably handled a little less strictly." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs A
East Lothian

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Very professional camp. Warm welcoming and the service, food and wine all excellent. The tents had wood burning stoves to keep them warm and the views from the terrace were stunning.

The best part of the visit was the hike up to the mini caldera with a Masai warrior, guide from the Highlands and Asilia guide. Lovely hike and beautiful views.

The worst part of the visit was the journey to and fro Highlands. It took about two and half hours from the airport. The first half was fine but after the viewing area for the Ngorongoro Crater we turned off onto an extremely bumpy, dusty track that wound it's way round the caldera and then eventually up to Highlands. While Highlands was lovely we did not feel it was worth the journey." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Trish
Pauanui NZ

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"My stay of 2 nights was superb in every way down to the manager lending me a pair of her shoes (my luggage was lost but arrived the next day) so I was able to continue my day out with Adam on safari.

The accommodation was fabulous I was in a honeymoon suite with spa. Very spoilt by all including a fire going all night and a hotwater bottle inn my bed.
Very cosy considering I was on my own!!

The surprise lunch amongst the zebras was beautifully cooked by the chef and myself and two other guests loved it.

A big Thank you to all at The Highlands for a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve Steph
New York

"Amazing time at the Highlands"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Our stay at Highlands was one of the best trips we have had. The team at Highlands were hospitable and made an effort to get to know us over our 3 day stay. The food was great and we had a great visit to a Maasai village. The crater was stunning and lives up to its status as a world heritage site!

To points others have raised - the ride is not for the faint of heart and is quite bumpy. However, we managed it without problem." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs P.S.
Baldock

"Modern tent accommodation of high standard"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Tents were of a standard expected in a top hotel.

Pleasant staff and good food and drink. Quite long transfers but interesting countryside.

Long drive to crater for game drive but it gave opportunity to see Masai villages en route." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
91%
21 reviews of The Highlands by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (40 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (40 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (32 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


95% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


96% (9 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa