This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro


3°6’3.8"S 35°31’0.0"E

Reviews of Entamanu Ngorongoro

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Entamanu Ngorongoro and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Entamanu Ngorongoro.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Striped Hyena

67% success

Eland

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"I last visited Ngorongoro 46 years ago and it was wonderful to see the environment, flora and fauna still in superb condition. The only thing is the popularity today of the area making for a crowded experience. However, my wife for whom this was a first visit didn't think the number of vehicles too obtrusive when we were down in the crater. We found the driver/guides very responsible in their behaviour.

Superb situation of the camp with the views over the crater and easy access to the entry gate (we were first in each morning at 0615 and really enjoyed the quiet early mornings in the crater before the 'hordes' arrived!). Only problem was the windy location with the tent constantly flapping that made relaxation and sleeping problematic. Otherwise, the tent itself was excellent. Nomad staff were really good (as noted earlier).

We had two days tremendous game viewing with Sammy our knowledgeable and astute guide, and we also appreciated our discussions around his views as a Maasai. Some great sightings of a lion pride and a rhino, and also a hyena kill." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B.
Basel

"Amazing place and service"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"We loved Entamanu.
We loved the location as we are so closed to the road to get in the park, it was the best place.
The service was amazing and all the staff were great.
I particularly liked the family tent which was very special.
The only issue is that we didn't sleep. The reason is the wind which makes the tent flaps move and even the beds were shaking.
Even though we loved loved the camp and the food, we would probably not come back for this reason." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The C family
Surrey

"Entamanu Ngorongoro"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"Great Location - Close to the decent road. We were the first down into the Crater each day. Quite important as it can get crowded down there.

Mohammed the Manager was great, very welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, a class act. We had met him before 5 years earlier when he was our Guide in Katavi, and he remembered us.

We were lucky enough to spend our last night in one of new, permanent wooden rooms. They are “contemporary safari”, fully insulated, with log burners, great views and great lighting and very quiet. ( No flapping tent noise)" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr. A
Canada

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2019
"Staff were very kind and helpful." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"Great camp, lovely and helpful staff, excellent food. Positioned back from the crater rim it has lovely views, great accommodation. The only drawback is a bumpy and long trip back from the crater at the end of the day." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

6 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs P
London

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Takes a bit of getting to, particularly the final bumpy hour and a half around the crater rim but worth it when you get there.

Large comfortable rooms with great view. Friendly and efficiently run with plenty of activities offered.

Lovely food in a communal dining setting." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs C & C
Hove

"Entamanu review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2017
"Beautiful setting. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The hot water bottle is such a good touch. Not too cold.

I wonder if it might be a good idea to have some games to entertain yourself with between game drives.

The walking safari was great-good length-good scenery and saw a perspective you don't from the car.

Dinner was delicious...lots of food.

There was an uncomfortable questions about giving feedback on the place during dinner which we were happy to do but briefly and then more and more questions came and eventually you think OK they aren't being polite they really do want feedback. Then when any negative comments were made this wasn't taken well.

Probably made some faux pas along the way-which caused offence-but the only negative thing we said was about the number of tour agents at the place and the booking procedure is quite un-transparent ie you need a tour operator. (sorry)

This is a great place to stay...close to the crater...going down really early does pay off!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"A great introduction to safari in Tanzania"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"Brilliant location near the entrance to the Crater which enabled us to be the first car in the morning. The tents were very comfortable ( the hot water bottles were magic at night ), the staff very friendly and helpful and our guide ( Felix ) was excellent. Food was good and the bar service excellent. Dining with the open fires was very welcome.

We enjoyed the journey to Empimnau crater to see the masses of Flamingo ( despite the long drive it was great countryside and gave a real feel for the nomadic grazing ).

The climb down to the lake is steep but worthwhile when you get close to the thousands of Flamingo which line the lake shores." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Sarnia

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"The camp was beautiful and the staff were very accommodating. Once again, our vegan diets were very well accommodated.

The only negative for me was the dust. We travelled to Entamanu near the end of the dry season. The dust going to and from the crater each day was almost unbearable for me. In fact I took a whole day off from game drives as I could not tolerate the long, dusty ride.

It was very windy when we were at Entamanu and we were awake a lot in the tent as our tent flapped constantly in the wind. Perhaps this location, if it is often windy, should have a more permanent structure, rather than the tents." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Edina

"Extraordinary experience !"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"What a place! Perfect location, incredibly friendly and efficient service, burning fireplaces at night, great attention to detail (warm waterbottles in bed!), super tasty design, and out of this world views...

The safari trips from the lodge were great, excellent guide who did all possible to fulfill all our wishes... We simply loved this place !

Special mention for Mohammed, the lodge manager and the perfect host.." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
97%
13 reviews of Entamanu Ngorongoro by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa