This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro


3°6’3.8"S 35°31’0.0"E

Reviews of Entamanu Ngorongoro

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Entamanu Ngorongoro and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Entamanu Ngorongoro.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

86% success

Eland

67% success

Striped Hyena

36% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2023
"We were pleased to get to Entamanu after the drive from Tarangire and be welcomed into our next home for 2 nights by the team there.

We had been expecting tents but the accommodation had been recently changed to wooden cabins. These were stylish and comforatble .... and quiet. The communal lounge and dining area is still a semi solid structure so the wind was much more audible there.

As this is another Nomad property, some of it felt familiar (friendly faces, great food and service) but the location and design was a contrast to Kuro. Nevertheless we were very content with our choice. The meals were good. The camp manager was around to speak to guests at meal times.

We had a day to explore the crater and it was nice that Felix our guide from Kuro remained with us and we again benefitted from his extensive knowledge. Making an early start in the morning meant we were ahead of the crowds and we were rewarded with lion sighting almost as soon as we reached the crater floor. As well as the wildlife, we were taken with the scenery and changing terrain and landscapes. The picnic breakfast beside a lake, was delightful." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

R&G from Seattle
USA

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review - a hidden gem!"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2023
"Entamanu completely took us by surprise. At the time of our booking this was a tented facility that looked very nice but rustic. By the time we arrived they'd renovated much of the lodge and to our great delight the rooms were some of the best we found in both Kenya and Tanzania. At night the crater rim is quite windy and cold but the rooms were so comfortable, the modern fireplaces so warm and the views so spectacular that we enjoyed the benefits of life on the crater without the drawbacks. The common areas are still tended and blow a bit in the wind but the staff do a great job of keeping it warm and comfortable inside.

It's a reasonable drive from the entry to the crater, meaning we were able to be one of the first cars entering the park when it opened. This made a big difference as the early part of the day had some of the best - and least crowded - moments in Ngorongoro. The driver we had was simply world class; every detail was thought of in advance, his knowledge of the crater was limitless, and what must have been a long and exhausting day and drive for him were handled with ease.

The lodge itself puts you in short distance to Masaai villages and other experiences of note, but the crater is a highlight and not to be missed. It's also worth noting that Entamanu has a few surprises up its sleeves; our final dinner was authentic local cuisine and some of the best food of the trip, even though they don't heavily advertise or promote their dining. And the management and staff took excellent care of us from the moment of arrival until departure. For anyone visiting the crater this is a place I'd easily recommend, particularly given their recent upgrades." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 8n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Jamie B
Palo Alto

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2023
"Okay, so I knew I would to write this and I'm not fond of writing bad reviews, but to be fair, this was least favorite camp. I don't think it's all on Nomad, it's more about the location than anything, but also it's about the service and rooms and management.

I won't get too into....I'll just say that it felt like a camp in transitional phase, which it is. They are in the process of updating the main area, which desperately needs to be updated with a stone structure of some sort. Right now it's a tent. And if you didn't know this, Ngorongoro camps located on the rim are exceptionally windy camps.

I was moved from a tent to one of their newer private bandas, which was a good thing, but even these rooms are less than inspiring when compared to the other camps I stayed at.

On the plus side- The food was very good, and the small Masai Village experience was pretty cool and did not feel exploitive." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr DG
New Hampshire

"Entamanu Ngorongoro- a fabulous place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2022
"Everything about our stay at Entamanu Ngorongoro was fabulous. It was just such a wonderful experience. My wife and I have stayed at many lodges/camps in Kenya and Tanzania (and I have stayed at many in South Africa and Mozambique) and this is one of the best.

The location definitely sets the tone for the whole experience. The camp is located on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater at the end of a long, rough road. As a result, it has an isolated feeling to it. The views over the rim of the crater, with the mountains on the far side of the crater, are spectacular, especially at sunrise. Our tent was sited such that you felt that you were in your private wilderness, with only views over the crater. This feeling of being in your own wilderness was reinforced one morning when a giraffe walked in front of our tent, not more than 20 to 30 meters away from us. How awesome!

The tent itself was spacious, tastefully furnished, and very comfortable. A portable gas heater and hot water bottles placed between the sheets (amazingly, they were still warm in the morning) were very welcome as it became quite chilly at night due to the 7,500 feet elevation of the crater. Even though the Expert Africa web site indicated that the crater rim would be cold at night, we were surprised by how cold we felt, especially because it already was winter when we left home.

The lounge and dining areas also were comfortably furnished - we especially liked the local art displayed throughout - with fireplaces in each room. The lounge/living room was very inviting with comfortable couches, the art on the walls, and the warmth emanating from the fireplace.

The tables in the dining area were comfortably spaced, reflecting the challenges created by Covid. The food was excellent at all of our meals - a selection of very interesting, healthy salads at lunch and a choice of excellent entrees at dinner. I was especially pleased that the chef prepared tasty options - including bread products - to accommodate my need for a gluten-free diet.

Staff throughout the camp - the wait staff at dinner, the people assigned to clean our tent, and the security guards - all went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The manager set the tone by greeting us every morning as we set off on our activity and greeting us when we returned, He also joined us for a few minutes every night as we sat in the lounge with a pre-dinner drink.

Finally, the activities offered in addition to the game drives were excellent. We went on a 12 kilometer round trip walk to the crater rim - accompanied by a Maasai guide and an armed park ranger - which provided an opportunity for exercise and to see the local flora and the view over the crater. An added bonus during the walk was a chance encounter with three Maasai men who were returning a large group of cattle to their village and four giraffes who walked within 60 to 70 meters of us. We also took a 6 kilometer walk one-way (we drove back in a safari vehicle) to a local Maasai village where relatives of the camp's Maasai guide lived. We greatly enjoyed learning about the Maasai culture and their traditions. Their welcoming dance was fun to watch.

The Maasia guide - Kiseka - was especially helpful during both of our walks with him. He brought a walking stick for my wife, who was unaccustomed to walking on uneven terrain, pointed out very interesting facts about many of the plants that we saw, explained aspects of the Maasai culture, and described how he had become a guide. We greatly enjoyed talking with him." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
St. Louis

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"Entamanu was a beautiful camp set on the ridge of the crater! The staff were amazing! They were incredibly kind, attentive, and accommodating. The rooms were incredible. They were appointed with king beds, a sitting area, heated room, a separate bathroom with vanity, hot running water at both shower and vanity, proper toilet, and closet area to store your baggage.

The food was amazing! We were incredibly impressed by how delicious every single meal we had at Entamanu was. Just spectacular!

From the entrance gate of the crater to the camp it was an hour and 15 minute drive on bumpy dusty roads, so be prepared. We would do it again and it's totally worth it! Also, the only drawback we could see with the whole camp was the soft-sided tent. It's very windy on the ridge of the crater so the tent is pretty noisy at night because it's flapping quite a bit in the wind.

That being said, the staff let us know that this season they are replacing all of the tents with hard-sided walls so that will fix the problem of having trouble sleeping due to the noise. Honestly, if you just wear ear plugs (which the camp provides) it wasn't bad at all. There were a few guests complaining about it, but we didn't find it to be as big of an issue as they made it seem.

WiFi was available, but only at the communal tent." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Nick & Kate
Sussex

" Very nice, BUT, with a major caveat"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2022
"Stunning views over the crater, giraffes wandering through the camp, friendly and helpful staff, nice food, convivial pre-dinner drinks in one of two drawing rooms, both with cosy log fires, and a nice setting, with a pleasant self-guided birding walk possible around the camp. The decor in the main tent is restrained and has a slightly French feel. Dining is at separate tables, and the food is good.

The lodge is reached via an unmade road, taking about half an hour. Although some have complained about this, this is part of the safari experience, and we saw ostriches mating, and zebra and giraffe on the journey. The access road comes out right by the descent road into the crater, meaning we were the first vehicle down on the crater floor (a 15 minute descent on a paved road, rather different from our 2 hour descent on a bumpy track when we last visited in the 80s!). The ascending road for your return is about an hour away from the access road to the lodge, so about 90 minutes to get back after the safari.

The canvas tent rooms were well-equipped, lovely bed, a heater and hot water bottles at night to keep you warm, attractively designed. The room had a nice Verandah overlooking the crater, but this wasn’t that important - for the reason given below. Be aware there are no shower caps and there is no hair dryer. Morning coffee is brought to your room for your early wake up call.

And so, the caveat - we stayed two nights here. The first night was very windy, and the tent flapped, banged and crashed like a ship in a terrible Atlantic storm, all day and all night, seriously disrupting our sleep (it was the main talking point in our shared vehicle the next morning). This is not just a minor inconvenience, nor is it a romantic selling-point. It was quite miserable being in the room, and far too cold and windy to sit outside. However, the second night was much calmer, and we slept well. The wind does, nonetheless, howl around the camp and makes it unappealing to sit, or even stand, outside to look over the crater." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs A.
Brisbane

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"Staff, food, dining, guides, sightings all amazing.

Cold, windy, noisy tents at night.

45-60 minute bumpy drive to and from crater - not good for people with joint issues." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"Entamanu was a nice camp on the crater rim that was quite far from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area (about 1.5 hours from the gate, if I remember correctly). Similar to other Nomad camps, there are individual tents and a main tent area where you can relax, have a drink, and is also where meals are served. As with other Nomad camps, the staff, service, and food were top-notch. When we were there, our group was the only one at camp so we had it all to ourselves.

Because this is a permanent camp, showers were normal showers (not bucket) though regulating the water temperature was a bit of a challenge with them. The tents were spacious and comfortable and you can charge electronics from inside your own tent instead of the main area like at the Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp. It gets really windy at camp, especially at night, so it does get loud. Luckily, the camp provides some very effective earplugs that helped us sleep through the night. Hot water bottles were provided each night in case you get cold.

During our time there, we did a boma walk to a local Maasai village where we learned a lot about the Maasai and their culture. After the walk, the staff took us to an area to enjoy a beautiful sunset with drinks before dinner. We had a very sweet and kind guide during our time at Entamanu and Kuro named Rowland. He was very knowledgeable about all the wildlife in the two areas and had many jokes. Personality-wise, it was quite the contrast to our guide at the Serengeti Safari Camp where Mussa, our guide there, was more of a cowboy compared to Rowland who was more a stickler for rules :)

Standard Nomad wake-up calls are provided here which include some morning drinks at the time of your choosing. For the game drive, the descent road into the crater is close to camp, however, it was closed for construction when we were there. The ascent road was instead used for descents during the morning hours but that road was far from camp (~1 hour away). We definitely saw a lot more safari vehicles around when compared to the Serengeti but given the enclosed nature of the crater, I suppose that was to be expected.

This camp has a small gift shop where profits get donated to Nomad's projects. Prices are a bit higher than outside camp so if you're sensitive to that, I'd recommend making a stop in Arusha if possible at some point on your trip where you can get similar souvenirs for much cheaper (unless it's Nomad-branded gear you're after).

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Entamanu and it was a well-run camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Entamanu Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"I last visited Ngorongoro 46 years ago and it was wonderful to see the environment, flora and fauna still in superb condition. The only thing is the popularity today of the area making for a crowded experience. However, my wife for whom this was a first visit didn't think the number of vehicles too obtrusive when we were down in the crater. We found the driver/guides very responsible in their behaviour.

Superb situation of the camp with the views over the crater and easy access to the entry gate (we were first in each morning at 0615 and really enjoyed the quiet early mornings in the crater before the 'hordes' arrived!). Only problem was the windy location with the tent constantly flapping that made relaxation and sleeping problematic. Otherwise, the tent itself was excellent. Nomad staff were really good (as noted earlier).

We had two days tremendous game viewing with Sammy our knowledgeable and astute guide, and we also appreciated our discussions around his views as a Maasai. Some great sightings of a lion pride and a rhino, and also a hyena kill." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B.
Basel

"Amazing place and service"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"We loved Entamanu.
We loved the location as we are so closed to the road to get in the park, it was the best place.
The service was amazing and all the staff were great.
I particularly liked the family tent which was very special.
The only issue is that we didn't sleep. The reason is the wind which makes the tent flaps move and even the beds were shaking.
Even though we loved loved the camp and the food, we would probably not come back for this reason." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
95%
21 reviews of Entamanu Ngorongoro by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


94% (44 reviews)
Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (35 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


90% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (16 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (11 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa