This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

45 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

63% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

14% success

Elephant

75% success

Buffalo

63% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

63% success

Hippo

50% success

Eland

38% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Spotted Hyena

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 45
Duration
Arrival date
Gina Dai
NYC

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2023
"The property was beautiful and we had the best time with the staff.

They were so kind to take us out for a walk around and into the village!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr C
Vic Aust.

"Plantation Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2023
"Everything about Plantation Lodge was exceptional: friendly smiling service on arrival and throughout, quality of food and wine were fabulous.

We were upgraded to a suite, due to our friends being there just a few weeks prior - we do love an upgrade!

Shoes being cleaned at the end of a dusty day of walking was a special touch appreciated.

Emmanuel looked after us from beginning to end - he was brilliant.

Renata is a very special lady and we wish her a fabulous and exciting future in Tanzania." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zambia; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

FR
Australia

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2023
"I absolutely loved Plantation Lodge and was only sorry that I only had one night there instead of two due to the flight postponement. The grounds were superb, the rooms comfortable and the dinner and breakfast wonderful, as were the staff. If I ever go back (to see the crater) I will definitely stay at least 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"Beautiful setting in lovely grounds and calm."

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2023
"Our lodge was a mini apartment well appointed and set out. The wood fire was set for us every night so very warm. A good set menu with good food but not much variety. Staff wonderful and very friendly and accommodating. Renata who owns Plantation was very welcoming and helpful in understanding the development of the lodge. Zubeda also a lovely person and made the bar very welcoming." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Food:
Good
Mrs C
Leyburn

"Plantation Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2022
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at the lodge, we were looked after by Catherine who would bring breakfast and lunch to our suite, sort out anything we needed and served dinner at night in the restaurant.

we could choose what we wanted to eat rather than needing to be dictated to by menus.

Lovely and spacious suite with a dining area as well as sitting room and 2 terraces so that you could catch to sun during the day.

The grounds are lovely and a good contrast to a safari lodge.

Very peaceful and relaxing place." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania; 3n in Seychelles; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Laura
Vienna

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"What a gem!!! The suite was beautiful and enormous, with a wraparound terrace. We had a lovely tour of the grounds by the head gardener - the food was terrific - even if you aren't going to the crater, this hotel is a place to stay!! So peaceful!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

B & C
London

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2022
"We spent two nights here as a base for our tours and safaris. It is a nice location with very comfortable rooms (including drinking water from the taps - the only place we stayed at that had this).

We did not use the swimming pool as the weather was not great, but it looked very nice.

The wildlife refers to our sightings during our safari in the Ngorongoro crater." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
Switzerland

"Beautiful lodge, spacious and green"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2020
"Beautiful personal room which was spacious, and great to return to after a long day. Beautiful garden and grounds of the property. Possibility to relax at the pool, and facilities were spread out. Food was great. Service was mixed with sometimes excellent service, but sometimes awkward." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2020
"The old world charm of Plantation Lodge cannot be matched.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well organized for a short stay.

Staff is attentive and helpful and the food is very good." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Gorgeous!"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"A beautiful property and nice break from safari camps. Rooms were beautiful and the gardens were lovely.

Unfortunately we did not arrive until almost dinner time and left after breakfast so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it much." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 45
94%
45 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (43 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


87% (36 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (25 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


96% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (11 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (5 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa