This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge
Plantation Lodge

Reviews of Plantation Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Plantation Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Plantation Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Switzerland

"Beautiful lodge, spacious and green"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2020
"Beautiful personal room which was spacious, and great to return to after a long day. Beautiful garden and grounds of the property. Possibility to relax at the pool, and facilities were spread out. Food was great. Service was mixed with sometimes excellent service, but sometimes awkward." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2020
"The old world charm of Plantation Lodge cannot be matched.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well organized for a short stay.

Staff is attentive and helpful and the food is very good." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Gorgeous!"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"A beautiful property and nice break from safari camps. Rooms were beautiful and the gardens were lovely.

Unfortunately we did not arrive until almost dinner time and left after breakfast so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it much." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D.
Cambridge

"Wow"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"One night was not enough!

This place is beautiful. Very high quality accommodation, food and facilities. We wished we had realised it was so good we could have stayed longer.

Perhaps Expert Africa should stress the excellence of this lodge more highly." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Sublime place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"Plantation Lodge is a beautiful, beautiful place with great service and extraordinary food. The rooms are spaced out over a fairly large area.

There are little sitting areas and places to relax spread across the grounds. Beautiful veranda, lots of interesting plants, trees and birds throughout. The food is truly extraordinary — the best food we've ever had in Africa.

Our only complaint was with the shower, which was anemic and had a tendency to die down to a trickle periodically." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Peaceful, beautiful gardens"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2018
"We were very fortunate to be given the Zanzibar suite. Huge room.
Nice pool and gardens, it was good for a change of pace and to relax a little.
Food good. Room had a kettle so we could make our own tea." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr P
Altrincham

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This was proposed by Expert Africa as a great base for visiting the crater. We spent two nights here. To be honest we didnt look too closely at the details trusting Olivia to have made a good choice. Crikey. An amazing choice.

I'm sure we could have stayed somewhere less well set up, but having been here I'm not sure I'd want to. Simply amazing. Beautiful grounds, a lovely 'room' (Full suite would be closer). Staff were great and the restaurant is excellent. Met up again with a Swiss family who had been at Olivers on night 2. Far removed from the camp experience, but a very very pleasant interlude.

Trip to the Crater was relatively short allowing an early entrance and allowed us all day in there. An incredible place to visit. Hippos, lions, elephants and the usual plethora of antelope/beests. Watched lions tracking a group of buffalo, but in fact the only 'kill' we saw was a wart hog killed by hyenas (grisly but part of the experience) and the bird life was also amazing. Rhinos too far way to see from our vehicle (this is pretty much the norm apparently), but were able to spot a couple (specs admittedly) from the viewing area.

Geologically incredible place to visit, and fascinating to see a burnt out caldera, having been in an active one (Yellowstone) some years ago." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family W
USA

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2017
"Fantastic food.

Lovely grounds." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Maggie
Australia

"A very good hotel in a beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C
Dar es Salaam

"Plantation Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2016
"Plantation Lodge was our least favourite stop-off.

The setting is nice, the rooms are clean and the veranda is a good place for a gin & tonic at the end of a long day. However, the food was extremely disappointing and the dining area and main areas on the whole lack any atmosphere. I think they could do a lot more with this place." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 38
93%
38 reviews of Plantation Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
8
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa