This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro
Lemala Ngorongoro

Reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lemala Ngorongoro and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lemala Ngorongoro.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Dr C
Newmarket

"Eden"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2020
"Stunning; canopies of acacia, flowering bushes, shades of green surround and envelope this camp.

When I think of Lemala I think luxury, and the Ngorongoro site lives up to Lemala’s standards. The rooms have a rustic elegance to them and the gas heaters certainly help dispel the damp and cold as you snuggle for a comfortable sleep. We lost power in the morning but Lemala was ready with elegant candelabras and soft LEDs at breakfast.

As always the staff was attentive, helpful and kind. The food was expertly prepared and the presentation quite remarkable for a tented camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

9 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Cambridge

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"A great and novel experience. The staff made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. A bonus was my birthday celebration which was a lovely touch.

The proximity to the crater makes this location hard to beat." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof W
Queensland

"Atmospheric safari camp at Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2019
"Peaceful tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater. While not actually blessed with views to the crater floor, the camp has impressive vistas across the rainforest canopy that encircles the crater.

The tents are well appointed, with reasonably plush interiors and plenty of blankets and hot water bottles for the chillier-than-expected temperatures. The staff were very friendly and wickedly generous with drinks - be careful with the gin and tonics! Communal dining can be hit and miss, but we were fortunate to have entertaining companions for both nights of our stay - basically it was a well-lubricated dinner party with excellent catering and wonderful new friends.

The camp is close to the Lemala gate, so a quick early morning getaway is easy to beat the crowds to the crater floor.

Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A.
new york

"Excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Excellent everything - location, camp, staff, food" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr S
Burke

"They treat you well"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"We chose this camp for its great location. It is the only camp that gives you a decent shot at getting down to the crater before the crowds arrive.
But we were also very pleased by the courteous and helpful and efficient staff. We were greeted when we arrived and they all gathered to bid us farewell when we left. During our stay, their service was great, including the talking shower.

We needed packed breakfast at 6AM, and they cheerfully obliged.

Dinner was communal. and fixed course. The food was well prepared." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The D family
Essex

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"Lemala camp is ideally based for early access to the crater, however it is in among the trees offering no views of the beautiful surrounding area and was very cold at night during our 2 night stay.

The staff were very kind and helpful and the food was good." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"A cosy stay at Lemala Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2015
"Although a more basic camp, we were thoroughly relaxed at the Lemala Ngorongoro tented camp. The staff were extremely welcoming and it is in a great position for early access to the crater.

The bucket showers (talking showers!) were great fun and arrived promptly when requested. The tent was very well equipped and cosy, with a heater for the cold evenings, hot water bottles and a flask of hot water for tea. The food was good but spicy - typical of local food. Wildlife visited the camp during the night, so the Masai guards escorted us after dark.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"A warm welcome on top of the cool crater"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"Even we are within the national park where animals could roam around. We felt very safe as there are massai guide around. At night, they will escort us from the tent to the main tent.

In September, the temperature is already cool in the morning and at night. The presence of heating Inside the tent plus the hot water bottle they put Under our duvet kept us nicely warm. Not to forget to mention is the food which is great.

On the negative side, I requested vegetarian meal for the trip and the camp is not aware of it. However, the next day, they has already take note and presented my vegetarian option discreetly." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"jump off for the Crater"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2015
"Wonderful place to stay when spending most of your time in the Crater. Common tent was dark but we only used it for breakfast and dinner.

Excellent service and great campfire circle in the eves. No view since it is in an acacia forest but you will not be there much in daylight." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 28
86%
28 reviews of Lemala Ngorongoro by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
10
0
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa