This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M & Mr D from Germany

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

22

Excursions taken

3

Zambia May 2022 trip

Zambia between 19 May 2022 and 4 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was amazing !

The whole itinerary was tailor made to our needs and interests. It really couldn't have been any better.

Thanks a lot Lucy :)"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 21 May 2022
"This was our second stay at Tafika and we enjoyed it as much as during our first stay. Tafika is a beautiful little camp of just 6 reed and thatch chalets. It is one of the last remaining owner-run camps in the South Luangwa valley which in fact makes a huge difference. The owner family makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and undertakes any effort to make your stay as memorable as possible.

The camp itself is managed at a very high standard, but kept deliberately simple to allow an authentic bush experience. The camp still offers all amenities needed (at least for those that get along without air-conditioning or a pool). The camp is entirely unfenced. During our stay elephants stopped by for a visit, and we heard lions roaring at night. The cuisine is top-notch both in respect of food quality and diversity paying great attention to dietary requests.

Despite slightly fewer sightings this time in June (compared to our last stay in October), we still had excellent game drives with our guide Bryan during our 4 nights stay. A great plus of the camp is its remote location in the northern sector of the park that guarantees an exclusive and far more rewarding safari experience than the typical walkie talkie style safari in the busy central sector of the park.

We also strongly recommend the village visit that is offered by the camp. The nearby airstrip and the camps own airplane is a further advantage making logistics easy."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2022
"Our 3 night stay at Shoebill Islands Camp was triggered by a fascinating National Geographic documentary over the Bangweulu Wetlands. Our main focus was of course the unique and spectacular Shoebill, but we also wanted to experience the land where the water meets the sky. We were able to land at the close-by airstrip which had dried out sufficiently by end of May. From there it was a 1.5h boat transfer to the camp.

The camp itself is rather simple and could need a little of work to freshen up, but we understand that the necessary funding has been provided by African Parks. The entire staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was basic but tasty, and considering the remoteness actually rather good (also the options for vegetarians). The guide and the boat crew knew the birdlife and the little channels very well. In particular the boat paddlers worked tirelessly from sunrise to sunset to ensure that we get to see a Shoebill. It showed that the bird is rather shy and sometimes simply prefers hiding in the reed. While looking for the bird, we passed little fishing villages and narrow channels which when opened to a lagoon covered by hundreds of water lilies. So the rides were very pleasant and interesting even without a Shoebill sighting.

We also had an afternoon drive in drier area of the Bangweulu Wetlands. This area is home of thousands of Black Lechwe, some Zebras and a handful of recently reintroduced Cheetahs. Seeing such large herds of Black Lechwe in the sunset was incredible. The evening turned epic, when a Cheetah brought down a Black Lechwe at close distance from our vehicle. Just unbelievable !

We finally also had a Shoebill sighting. It was a formerly tame one, but at least very photogenic and well performing. So we went home with some lovely Shoebill pics: portrait, walking, nesting, eating Catfish and even flying.

Having said that Shoebill might not be the most comfortable and stylish camp in the world but it takes you to another world. Its a hidden gem in a wilderness area that few know about and even fewer visit. It's probably rather an experience for people head-over-heels in love with Africa."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Chindeni

Chindeni

"Chindeni review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Chindeni is a gem in the tranquil south of the South Luangwa NP. The camp is overlooking a beautiful lagoon and offers breath-taking views of the Chindeni Hills as a backdrop. The views from the huge deck are particularly spectacular during sunrise and sunset.

The large and luxurious tents are so inviting that you probably won’t want to leave in the morning if there wouldn’t be the prolific wildlife surrounding the camp. We heard lions calling every night. Mr. Alec Zulu was a very experienced guide. We had a very high number of leopard and lion sightings during our 2 night stay, some even with a kill.

The friendly and attentive camp staff looked after every need, and the food was just outstanding. The bush lunch organized by the team was a wonderful surprise. One of the many things we really like about Chindeni is that it is one of the few camps without Wi-Fi even if this might not suit everyone. The nearby Kapamba airstrip is another plus in combination with other camps (i.e. in our case Lower Zambezi)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"Potato Bush Camp did exceed our expectation.

Getting to the camp with the camp’s own Beechcraft plane made us feel like Royals. The camp's excellent location on the Zambezi river allows great views over the river. The tented rooms are spacious and well equipped with a very welcoming private dip pool on the terrace. It should be noted that compared to picture gallery on the camp's website, the tents actually are much nicer and way more charming.

The staff were warm and friendly and exceptional in every way. It was great seeing a women in a manager position. The quality and selection of food & beverages was superb, and the lunch organized on a sandbank in the river a lovely surprise. Same for the candle-light dinner organized in the bush !

The activities offered by the camp are brilliant. Each party gets its private game vehicle, and the canoe trip on the Chifungulu channel is strongly recommended."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Mar 2022 trip

Botswana between 19 Mar 2022 and 29 Mar 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Exceptional. It was our 5th time in Botswana, but our first visit in March.

It is a beautiful time of the year for those who do not arrive with a shopping list of what they expect to see. It’s a very rewarding season for those who simply enjoy what mother nature has to provide to them while being on safari as well as those that love Botswana’s incredible beauty."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2022
"This was our 3rd stay at Shinde, which tells it all. It is a adorable little intimate camp situated at a permanent lagoon which allows an authentic safari experience.

Every possible comfort is being catered for. Each tent offers all luxury needed and further allows splendid views across the Delta. The staff is always there, fun to chat with and makes you feel at home from the very first moment.

The Shinde concession is huge, so you will not get any vehicle traffic. Special thanks to the legendary Mr Bee for his excellent guiding. Spotted three leopards in just one day (morning, evening, night) and this despite the high grass during March.

Hope to be back soon. Shinde and K&D will simply never disappoint."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

"Little Sable review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2022
"We spent 2 nights at Little Sable previously known as Jackal & Hide under the former Pangolin Management.

The camp is overlooking a large plain which during our stay in March was filled with water. We were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the new tents, the pool and the look out area. Our guide Molls did a terrific job navigating us through high grass and high water levels.

Spotted a leopard, lions with cubs, and an African wildcat. Food was good, but not outstanding, while the wine & beverage selection deserves improvement. Compared to our previous visit, we felt that the camp lost some of its charm under its current management. Also expect some vehicle traffic as Natural Selection operates a number of sister camps in this area."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2022
"Lucy our agent recommended this camp to us. Initially we were slightly skeptical because the camp is not located in a private concession. But it showed that this was not a downside at all. We had a truly exceptional three night stay at Khwai Leadwood during the green season in March.

The camp clearly stands out compared to other camps in the same area. On our arrival, we were warmly greeted with a welcome song. The whole staff was very friendly and we had a fun time chatting at the fire place. The tents are luxurious and very generously seized. The camp is further beautifully designed in contemporary African chic. The wooden deck and fire place overlooks a large lagoon. Harry the camp’s pet hippo joined regularly for breakfast and dinner.

The food quality and wine selection was exceptional and clearly outstanding. We loved the dinner special arranged at the Boma. Our guide Mr Banda made sure that we had the best time on safari and that we go home with the best pictures. An extra plus of the camp is its location allowing easy access to both the Khwai concession and the Moremi game reserve. In addition, the camp offers rewarding night drives.

After having already stayed at their sister property Somalisa in Zimbabwe previously, we can now definitely say that ABC will never disappoint in any of its camps. Clearly recommend their camps, and already look forward including their properties in future itineraries."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Apr 2021 trip

Tanzania between 30 Apr 2021 and 14 May 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"Travelling during Covid is challenging. It therefore felt good to have a knowledgeable and up to date partner like Expert Africa aside to plan and make this trip happen.

Glad we did the Serengeti during Covid as the destination would have certainly felt too busy in a regular year. May is further a lovely time to visit. Nature is lush and green, flowers in bloom, and there are many little ones amongst the herds. Rain was no problem at all as rainfalls did either occur at night or did hardly last for more than half an hour before the sun came through again.

The morning mist and the cloudy skies added a special atmosphere, while the bush babies kept us warm at night.

The itinerary was well balanced and met all our expectations ! Thank you Jessica :)

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, just perfect. Thank you so much again !!!"

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Katambuga House

Katambuga House

"Katambuga House review"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2021
"Perfect place to stay the first or last night.

Conveniently located between Arusha and JRO.

We also loved the place for its tranquil garden setting and the great hospitality of the staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2021
"A tented camp as it couldn‘t be any better: unbelievable welcoming, attentive and friendly staff that made every day of our stay feel very special.

The camp itself offers lovely views from various open decks. The tents are very comfortable and offer all luxury needed.

We loved the place for its outdorsiness (unfenced, located in a rather remote area of Tarangire) as well as its authenticity. Special thanks to Chef Burka who surprised us with a wonderful candle light dinner full of local delights.

Thank you very much to the whole team for this experience !"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2021
"We choose this camp primarily for its location, right on top of the crater rim with one of the closest access to the Ngorongoro crater.

In this respect the camp did clearly meet all our expectations. Welcome by a local Massai was further very warm and friendly, and our tent felt spacious and comfortable.

Management yet definitely needs improvement. We were in particular very unhappy with the cleanliness of the facilities (dirty tablecloth on each and every table for breakfast and dinner despite being the only guests since a couple of days) as well as the poor quality of food."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

4 May 2021 • All-day excursion

May is probably not the best time to visit Lake Manyara NP.

The lake shores are all flooded, and as expected the flamingos were gone.

The park is yet still very pretty to visit during that time of the year due to its forest, as well as its birds and monkeys.
Average
The Highlands

The Highlands

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2021
"Definitely a unique place to stay in the Ngorongoro NP at 2700m above sea level. The architecture and views are just amazing.

The camp is nicely located away from the crowds, and therefore ideal for those looking for more than just the normal Ngorongoro safari. The camp offers various cultural activities (suspended during Covid), as well as highly recommended guided hikes to the Empakaai and Olomoti crater.

The staff was very friendly and food was very good too.

Compared to other Asilia properties visited, the Covid 19 protocol was probably handled a little less strictly."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

5 May 2021 • All-day excursion

A truly amazing experience. This place felt like garden eden.

Once more a solid proof that travelling during Covid becomes a plus in areas which in normal times tend to attract too many visitors. In the early morning hours, we were basically the only car down in the crater and spotted a lovely pride of lions with cups.

The scenery during May was very special with mist rolling over the crater rim and the crater floor being covered by an endless field of golden Bidens flowers.

We were further lucky to get to see the Rhinos grassing between a herd of zebras with some elephants passing in a distance.
Excellent
Olmoti Crater walk

Olmoti Crater walk

"Empakaai Crater walk review"

6 May 2021 • All-day excursion

Excellent opportunity to stretch legs after some long days on safari.

The drive to Empakaai is further very scenic and allows on clear days views till Lake Natron.

Both ranger and the Maasai guide were very well organized upfront by The Highlands.
Good
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2021
"A charming little camp that is entirely run by women (staff, guide, guard and management) which adds a special touch and feel. The camp is in every respect run very professionally with each team member contributing lots of care and love to the warm atmosphere of the camp.

We felt at home from the very first minute and were looked after so well during our entire stay. A great benefit of the camp is its location near the Moru Kopjes which also means away from the crowds of the busier park sections. During our stay in May, the difficult road conditions did unfortunately not allow driving to the Kopjes, but our guide and driver Neema did a terrific job showing us herds of zebras, buffalos and wildebeest, lions in trees, bat ear foxes, leopard and many other in other scenic areas of the park.

The camp itself is very well maintained and the spacious tents offer all luxury needed for a classic safari experience.

We also like to highlight that Dunia was further best in class with respect to the Company‘s Covid protocol. Thank you Ladies!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2021
"An amazing camp that scores with its interior design. Clearly very distinctish from a classic camp.

The suites are huge dome tents established over a permanent structure equipped with an outdoor bath tube, a spacious indoor bath room, minibar, yoga mats (???) and an outside deck. The stylish dining room opens to an outside deck overlooking the boma and the nearby water hole. Library, spa and pool are adjacent.

The camp might feel slightly over the top for those looking for a more outdoorsy and classic safari experience. But we still loved the camp for its rather remote location, the excellent guiding and the frequent cat sightings including servals, cheetahs, lions (with little cubs) and a rather shy leopard.

Our guide Khalid had an incredible eye sight and did a terrific job navigating through a difficult terrain. Special thanks as well to Yussef and his rescue team who spared no efforts to pull us out of the mud whenever needed :) thank you to the whole Namiri Team as well for pampering us so well during our stay!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2020 trip

Namibia between 28 Nov 2020 and 7 Dec 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Expert Africa for yet another fabulous trip to Africa during Covid-19 times!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel - Review"

1 night Arrived 28 Nov 2020
"Stylish boutique hotel perfectly located in Klein Windhoek with restaurants in walking distance"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2020
"Just amazing!

The Hoanib valley is clearly one of the best kept secrets in Namibia. Worth spending three nights !

Also possible to drive to the Camp with your own 4x4 vehicle and being escorted over to their sister camp Shipwreck Lodge at the Skeleton Coast."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Dec 2020
"Newly refurbished, friendly staff, and very well maintained.

Overall a very good value option for a one night stay in the Palmwag area.

Own fuel station is an extra plus."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

"Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2020
"Just amazing both with respect to design & landscape.

Very friendly and highly committed staff.

Recommend to stay 2 nights at minimum to benefit from all activities offered."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2020
"Always worth a stay. It was our 2nd visit there and we did not regret it.

The camp is built within impressive rock formations - which offer a great view during a sundowner.

Some of Namibia’s best rock art gravings can be visited nearby at Twyfelfontein."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2020
"Highly recommend this lodge.

The lodge is located directly ar the foot of the Spitzkoppe mountain which for its shape is also called the Matterhorn of Namibia. Rock formations are as impressive as those of Mowani Mountain Camp and the staff is highly committed to make your stay special.

The area is not as busy as the one around Mowani which might be considered as a plus.The camp is located a bit off the main tourist route, but still in a good reach when travelling from Windhoek to Swakopmund or vice versa or when travelling from Damaraland down to Namib Naukluft NP.

One just need to be aware that this lodge is more about landscape rather than game viewing."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia during Covid 19 times

Zambia between 25 Sep 2020 and 10 Oct 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are extremely pleased to confirm that travelling under COVID is not only possible, but in fact 200% worth-while with Expert Africa one's side ! Travelling during Covid might require a bit flexibility, but it definitely pays-off in many ways:
- Supporting conservation, lodges & locals
- Experiencing parks/camps in a very exclusive & distinguished manner
- Being pampered & appreciated
- Getting a bit of distance from the news at home

We also like to emphasize that all camps did make a tremendous effort to make our stay as convenient and as safe as possible. This included wearing face masks, using sanitizers, respecting social distancing, 24h room vacancy prior to new guests arriving, 10 day staff quarantine prior service. So all together not any different of what you would expect at home in order to feel safe !."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2020
"Musekese was absolutely stunning ! Both with respect to people, accommodation, location and sightings. So glad, we decided to combine it with South Luangwa. The tented chalets are brand new and combine well luxury with the traditional Out-of Africa fealing.
Phil is a great host and our guide Gilbert was one of the best guides we ever had: 6 leopards in only 3 days what could you ask more ! We spotted further a large pride of lions, puku, impala, bush pigs, Lichtenstein hartebeest, sable, kudu, duiker, Defassa waterbuck, scrub hare, mongoose, warthogs, zebra, baboons, hippo, crocs, velvet monkeys, monitor lizard, and came across a huge herd of elephants for sundowner.as well as bush babies, serval and genets at night, and birds of course 😊"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2020
"Tafika was a real highlight. From the moment we arrived, it really felt like visiting friends & family. The hospitality of the Coppinger family was amazing. The camp has been completely refurbished recently and looked top-notch. We loved the fact that it integrated so well into the natural habitat using all local materials. The hides for the carmine bee-eaters and the elephants were much fun too – great for photographers. Our guide Makupa was reading the bush like the bible ! We spotted 8 leopards of which some up in trees 😊. In addition to other game seen on other safaris, we spotted for the first time the Thornicroft giraffe, the bushy tail & white tail mongoose, civets and many many genets ! The area is absolutely stunning – we loved it for its remoteness. Basically there was only one vehicle besides ours out in the area. What a luxury !"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2020
"What a treat to stay at Robin’s House ! We were looked after so well and the kitchen & house-keeping crew pampered us from early morning till dawn. They even prepared a brunch in the bush just for the two of us - what a lovely surprise and for sure our earliest G&T ever 😊 Thank you so much Michael, Chico, Daniel and Perry !
The wildlife in the Mfuwe area was during our stay slightly less active than at Nsefu, but maybe it only felt like it after being on safari for already quite a while. We also felt that compared to Nsfeu the area might attract a little bit more traffic due to the higher number of lodges and self-drivers. But of course now due to Covid, it was not busy at all. Amongst the usual *stuff”, we spotted 4 leopards, a very photogenic porcupine and as the highlight of our stay even an aardvark – still can’t believe it ! Now only an aardwolf and a pangolin is left on our list of rare sightings."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team