This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

Reviews: Lake Manyara Safari

Below are independent comments from 43 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 43
Date
Mr DG
New Hampshire

"Lake Manyara Safari - An Interesting Small Park"

Based at Escarpment Luxury Lodge on 11 Dec 2022
"Lake Manyara is an interesting small park with a variety of habitats, including the lake shoreline, dense forest-like areas, plains, and scrubland, with the Rift Valley escarpment in the background. We did not see many other safari vehicles while we were there, which gave us a sense of being in a wilderness. This also meant that we could spend a lot of time watching the wildlife interact with each other without being disturbed.

While we saw a more limited range of wildlife here than during our safaris in the Maasai Mara, Ngorongoro Crater, or the Serengeti, we greatly enjoyed observing the species that we saw. We spent a lot of time closely observing three species. We followed a large family of elephants for some time. The family included large adults, "teenagers", and very young elephants. At times, the elephants were so close to our vehicle (they were very close to the road) that I could have touched them if I had reached my arm through the vehicle's window. It was fun to follow them watching them eat leaves on trees and interacting with each other.

We also spent a lot of time following a large troop of baboons, something that we probably would not have done in other parks. The troop included a wide age-range, including babies on their mother's backs, "teens", and male and female adults. They were very entertaining to watch - the teens climbing trees and swinging on branches, the females grooming the males, the babies cavorting.

We also watched a variety of monkeys - vervet and blue - playing in trees and drinking from a stream. They were fun to watch.

We also saw lions, zebras, giraffes, and a variety of antelope species, including impala, bush buck, and dik-dik.

We enjoyed the day very much - it was more "relaxed" game viewing than I expected, as we took lots of time to just observe wildlife "doing their thing"." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs C
Leyburn

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Plantation Lodge on 4 Nov 2022
"Very sadly this Park has been severely affected by nearby road building and no longer matches the description in guide books or your information. The lake is now badly silted up, so no flamingos and has led to flooding which has damaged the shoreline too. The park is over run by baboons so all the bird life has disappeared.

Martin was keen to tell us before we headed to the Park that it would not be as we expected and wildlife viewings would be difficult. he also asked us to pass these comments on to persuade tour operators to amend their comments about the Park.

We had a good couple of hours in the Park and saw more than we had expected due to Martin's comments, he was surprised too but a couple of hours is all you need. it is not a full day experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr & Mrs G
St. Louis

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 6 Oct 2022
"We were very impressed with our safari at Lake Manyara! We had low expectations going in and didn't really expect to see much other than elephants and baboons.

Wow, were we surprised!! We didn't just see elephants, we saw them up close! I mean to the point where you could reach out and touch them. It was incredible. We also saw lion in a tree practically overhanging the road and hippo in the water.

Further down the path we saw another lion on a kill. It was really interesting to see how the landscapes changed as you drove. In one area it would be barren and dry and then a short few blocks later there would be dense vegetation and foliage as a result of underground springs! It was beautiful!

That being said, if you can only choose between Tarangire and Lake Manyara - we would recommend Tarangire to see more wildlife. Especially near the water sources at Tarangire. Manyara was very busy and only has one road in and out of the park which can cause traffic jams when there is an animal sighting near the road.

There were times at Tarangire where we were the only vehicle on a sighting and it would be hours in between seeing other vehicles which gave us a more private feel to our safari." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mike & Janette
UK

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 24 Aug 2022
"Sadly Lake Manyara has been very badly affected by the changing climate, which has resulted in flooding and many dead trees.

It has also been damaged by the actions of the local farmers, leading to agricultural run off silting the lake and polluting nitrates.

It also is much more commercial than Oliver’s Camp, which is where we came from, and was a disappointment.

I wouldn’t recommend it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Simona
London

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at The Highlands on 24 Jul 2022
"An elephant come pretty much next to our car, it was really exciting.

Also, interesting birds and lots of monkeys." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J.
Los Angeles

"Lake Manyara"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 7 Jun 2022
"We did a short drive through Lake Manyara and saw little wildlife (mostly baboons), but it was interesting to see the different landscape and hear about the lake." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs A.
Oregon

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 3 Oct 2021
"We actually had relatively low expectations based on reading other reviews. We were stunned by the amount of wildlife we saw.

Had we not gone on to see Ngorongoro and Serengti we would have still checked off many of the animals we hoped to see including elephant, lion, buffalo, klipspringer, baboon, monkey, giraffe, bushbuck, and a variety of birds. Many of them up close!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J.
Atlantic Beach

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge on 21 Jul 2021
"We liked this safari for its immersive experience, with the tight roads were you would suddenly see wildlife.

Was able to see the lions in the trees and lion cubs up close." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A.
Trento

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 4 Jun 2021
"I would call it ‘trash Lake’ Manyara.

The road through the forest arrives in the lake and it is not possible to go on because of high level of water.

In the shore and shallow waters, a multitude of plastic and trash of all kinds, plus troops of baboons, the only sighting." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 4 May 2021
"May is probably not the best time to visit Lake Manyara NP.

The lake shores are all flooded, and as expected the flamingos were gone.

The park is yet still very pretty to visit during that time of the year due to its forest, as well as its birds and monkeys." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Showing 1-10 of 43
87%
43 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
25
9
7
2
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team