This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

Reviews: Lake Manyara Safari

Below are independent comments from 40 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 40
Date
Mike & Janette
UK

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 24 Aug 2022
"Sadly Lake Manyara has been very badly affected by the changing climate, which has resulted in flooding and many dead trees.

It has also been damaged by the actions of the local farmers, leading to agricultural run off silting the lake and polluting nitrates.

It also is much more commercial than Oliver’s Camp, which is where we came from, and was a disappointment.

I wouldn’t recommend it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Simona
London

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at The Highlands on 24 Jul 2022
"An elephant come pretty much next to our car, it was really exciting.

Also, interesting birds and lots of monkeys." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J.
Los Angeles

"Lake Manyara"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 7 Jun 2022
"We did a short drive through Lake Manyara and saw little wildlife (mostly baboons), but it was interesting to see the different landscape and hear about the lake." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs A.
Oregon

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 3 Oct 2021
"We actually had relatively low expectations based on reading other reviews. We were stunned by the amount of wildlife we saw.

Had we not gone on to see Ngorongoro and Serengti we would have still checked off many of the animals we hoped to see including elephant, lion, buffalo, klipspringer, baboon, monkey, giraffe, bushbuck, and a variety of birds. Many of them up close!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J.
Atlantic Beach

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge on 21 Jul 2021
"We liked this safari for its immersive experience, with the tight roads were you would suddenly see wildlife.

Was able to see the lions in the trees and lion cubs up close." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A.
Trento

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 4 Jun 2021
"I would call it ‘trash Lake’ Manyara.

The road through the forest arrives in the lake and it is not possible to go on because of high level of water.

In the shore and shallow waters, a multitude of plastic and trash of all kinds, plus troops of baboons, the only sighting." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 4 May 2021
"May is probably not the best time to visit Lake Manyara NP.

The lake shores are all flooded, and as expected the flamingos were gone.

The park is yet still very pretty to visit during that time of the year due to its forest, as well as its birds and monkeys." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mandolin
Surrey

"We didn't stay here"

15 Nov 2020
"we didn't stay here" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Giovanni
Biot

"Warm-up safari with some nice sightseeing"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 17 Oct 2020
"Lake Manyara park is not really comparable to Ngorongoro or Serengeti, but it is ok to visit the first day, just to warm-up. Also the view on the lake is beautiful, and we saw many lions." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
KS
Currie

"Small Park but lots to see"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 12 Nov 2019
"This park was well-frequented and being small felt over-crowded." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 40
87%
40 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
23
9
6
2
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team