This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

241 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 63 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

93% success

Wild dog

64% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

98% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Buffalo

87% success

Spotted Hyena

85% success

Wildebeest

26% success

Eland

8% success

Roan antelope

6% success

Aardvark

4% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 241
Duration
Arrival date
Seema
USA

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2024
"A lovely camp situated in a quiet corner of the busy central area of the South Luangwa, with boat access for a quick river crossing to enter the national park. Our room here was the largest by far of any of the camps, with a sit out overlooking the river and outdoor showers. Sarel, our host, and staff were great and so was the guiding.

The vehicle density in this part of the park is high, especially around the dogs and big cats, although our guide Sebastian Jr, understanding our reluctance to be a part of the sighting frenzy, did his best to keep us away from other vehicles as much as possible.

Our highlight at Nkwali was a large buffalo herd at a watering hole with the sun setting behind them, as well as the large numbers of amazing birds we saw in our two days." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Nkwali review"

5 nights Arrived 17 May 2024
"Nkwali always seems the most lively of the camps as, in our experience, it usually has full occupancy. This is enhanced by the addition of elephants visiting the lagoon next to the dining area!

We were delighted that Sebastian (junior) was our guide for our stay of five days. His knowledge of wildlife is impressive and he is always kind, courteous and patient. We were pleased to see lions mating and Pel’s fishing owls in the daylight.

The food was great. We especially enjoyed our brunch in the bush.

Special thanks go to Kiki and Sorel for making our stay so enjoyable. Also praise to the two boatmen, Benson and Samuel, who skillfully negotiated the river crossings each day. And thanks again to Wilson for more great spotting.

We were pleased to meet Rob, the Operations Director, and enjoyed hearing about how RPS develop and train the staff, enabling those who show potential to develop new skills and eventually become guides and managers. We made one important suggestion. We hope it can be properly considered and implemented in the not too distant future." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss P
London

"Nkwali review"

7 nights Arrived 5 May 2024
"This was my seventh visit to Nkwali, and it's starting to feel like my second home. As a solo traveler, I really appreciate the friendly atmosphere, gathering at the bar for drinks before dinner and communal meals.

RPS really go the extra mile for their guests. I was a little disappointed that due to the dry conditions, the wild dog pack that usually frequent the central section of the park had been able to go walkabout up to the far north of the park (Mupamadzi). But Kiki made a special effort to liaise with ZCP (Carnivore researchers) to obtain information on the locations of monitored packs and, along with another couple keen to see dogs, we departed extra early in the afternoon to try to locate a different pack north of the central area. After one failed attempt, the next day the pack had moved even further north but Kiki dispatched a vehicle after lunch to locate them and sit with them for us until we arrived. This was really appreciated by myself and the other guests, who had never seen wild dogs after several safaris and were very, very happy.

As I was staying a week, I was also able to do an all day drive to the north of the park, and when I left to Tafika, the transfer went all the way up to the Tafika crossing rather than the more boring, easier option of going via Mfuwe and the Milyoti gate. Another couple arriving at Tafika from Nkwali a few days later had also come this way.

My guide, John, was excellent and I really enjoyed his guiding.

I noted a few improvements RPS have been making by replacing the bench seats in the vehicles with individual "bucket seats" and providing options for evening meals.

Although the dogs were largely absent, I had some great leopard and lion sightings, especially one morning spent with the "big pride". The park looks particularly beautiful at this time of year- it has been a dry year so grass wasn't too high but the scenery still looked lush and green." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2024
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2024
"Everyone at nkwali made you very welcome and they went out of the way to make sure you had a good time" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Richard/Mary
England

"Nkwali review"

12 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2023
"We have been to South Luangwa ten times before. Always staying at RPS. Surely that speaks for itself!

We have spent over this period over 100 days at RPS camps. See IT's Monday 9 January 2024 which mu husband wrote and photographed.

We do not count the animals. Sadly you do not ask about the birds which were very good yet again.

They are also part of the experience. If you just do the animals you will have long stretches of NOT seeing anything.

Also the trees and flowers are so very interesting but again you ignore them Why?" See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

J & J
York

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2023
"Camp was in a great location and our guide was excellent.

Despite taking all sensible precautions, we were both badly bitten on faces and body whilst asleep (more than 20 each on our faces)
This did not endear us to the camp." See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms A
Calgary

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2023
"Nkwali Camp was the last 2 nights in 14. And close to the airport to go home. It had the only pool of the trip, but is located in the central sector, so I was expecting very busy sightings. I was wrong.

The sightings, were largely just us. Me and Obi. Again, somehow, I wound up with a private guide/truck. I applaud the way RPS dealt with the family of 7, and I. We each wound up with a private safari.

Our sightings, were our own. We had to "sing for our supper". We found the vultures, that lead us to the carcass, that lead us to the lions. This is SO rewarding. And after, the debacle of filming crews, I found that the central sector, was very shy of vehicular traffic. (contrary to what I was expecting). It was very refreshing, to again, have sightings to oneself.

A big bull elephant was in camp (well, most of the time lol). So we needed to be escorted. The yellow baboons, decided on the last afternoon, that when we were all distracted by the elephant at the watering hole by the pool, that this was a good time to raid the chalets. Thankfully, I had heard the warnings, and placed my meds in the safe. This still didn't save me from embarrassment. The little jokers, pushed everything off the shelves, went through the first zipper on my backpack (my ipad, and charging cords were pulled out and strewn), they stole a can of Peaceful Sleep, and.............yup. Took a pair of my quick-dry underwear that were hanging to dry. I had an escort to try to find them that afternoon, the can of spray, and my knickers......but no such luck.

Again, having even terrible wi-fi, was welcome by me (and my family). It's nice to be able to tell folks you are okay. But I also love the digital detox in-between. This worked out perfectly.

I loved this camp. I know, you can look at the whole list, and wonder how I can love each camp, but I really think I could spend extended time here. I enjoyed the pontoon ride into the game park each morning. I enjoyed the drums to welcome the day, and to welcome the evening. So special. The staff was amazing. And the location within the busy central sector was situated such that you could avoid traffic. Love, Love, Love" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M and D
Brockenhurst

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2023
"Great camp with excellent guiding. We had a great sighting of the wild dogs on Day 1 and excellent Leopard sightings throughout.

Meals were very good with lunches being the highlight.

Service was exceptional." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Andover

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2023
"Our fourth visit to Nkwali which shows how much we like this camp. With very good guides who share their knowledge of the wildlife in a manner that isn’t just a quote from their guide training manuals but from their own enthusiasm for the wildlife. This applies to the other Robin Pope Safari camps, too.

What is nice about their camps is that each one is different in style giving the visitor another aspect of how to enjoy a safari. Food is always good and when the opportunity arises they enjoy giving their guests a bush breakfast when you all gather together to appreciate a late breakfast out in the open.

That we plan to return again says how much we like this and their other camps." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 241
96%
241 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
202
34
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (323 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (215 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (193 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (153 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (120 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (94 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (70 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (55 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (2 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently in the final stages of an extensive rebuild, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2024.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa