This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

203 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

90% success

Wild dog

63% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

97% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

97% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

79% success

Wildebeest

23% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Aardvark

4% success

Eland

4% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 203
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Badenweiler

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2020
"What a treat to stay at Robin’s House ! We were looked after so well and the kitchen & house-keeping crew pampered us from early morning till dawn. They even prepared a brunch in the bush just for the two of us - what a lovely surprise and for sure our earliest G&T ever 😊 Thank you so much Michael, Chico, Daniel and Perry !
The wildlife in the Mfuwe area was during our stay slightly less active than at Nsefu, but maybe it only felt like it after being on safari for already quite a while. We also felt that compared to Nsfeu the area might attract a little bit more traffic due to the higher number of lodges and self-drivers. But of course now due to Covid, it was not busy at all. Amongst the usual *stuff”, we spotted 4 leopards, a very photogenic porcupine and as the highlight of our stay even an aardvark – still can’t believe it ! Now only an aardwolf and a pangolin is left on our list of rare sightings." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Good safari at Nkwali "

4 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2020
"Off the boat from Nsefu and straight into viewing a female leopard who had walked past Braston as he waited on the river bank for us. The viewings, especially of leopards, were exceptional on this second visit to Nkwali. We also saw the other pack of wild dogs.

We had a shared car for these last days which was ok but curtailed the photography somewhat. Service in camp improved because the camp host was called away to look after luangwa house so Kiki stepped in. He was excellent in sorting out the changed arrangements for getting home and printed off the new flight details for us, which was a god send in the bedlam at Johannesburg.

The only problem was the room. We were in room 5 and the mattress was infested with bugs so we were bitten to death each night. If we had stayed we would have asked to move back to 6, but the holiday was, sadly, ended prematurely because of covid19." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Sweden

"Unextected long stay at Nkwali "

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2020
"3 nights in the Nkwali camp (all this as Pumulani Malawi was cancelled due to Coronavirus)
Best room/house during our entire stay in Zambia
Food very well presented - mostly also very tasty

Guiding excellent (Nyambi) both walking and by road
Total 7 nights too many, seen the same roads and game too many times (not intended though due to Malawi cancelling)
Excellent support with rebooking trip
Night guard not always present (walked in the camp during evenings alone)" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Great safari at Nkwali "

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2020
"We were in room 6 which is large, spacious and set away from the main hub. Good view of the river, plenty of birds and our own monitor lizard on the river bank outside. The food was excellent and the new chef-Chico- was a delight.

We were incredibly fortunate to have Braston as our guide. He was a great birder and also good at positioning the car for photography. We saw lions, with cubs, one of the wild dog packs, and loads of elephants, hippos, hyenas etc. The birding was terrific. We chose to visit at this time of year to enjoy the green season. The river was still high, although it had gone down from the peak of the floods. We enjoyed setting off on our twice daily safaris by boat and it was interesting to explore this different part of the park.

The only niggle was that the photography bean bag that we had requested before leaving the uk was not available and the camp host seemed unable (and rather unwilling) to get one. We felt the request was brushed off. In the end we asked Braston and he turned two up immediately, so it was not clear why the camp host had prevaricated." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K.
Middlesex

"A great return to Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"It's been five years since we last stayed and Nkwali and it was as great as ever. The camp suffered from power cuts during our 2 night stay, exacerbated by the backup generator being out of action but the camp looked lovely with all the lanterns and solar lights.

This trip we were given a huge room with an enormous sofa so we had plenty of room for the tree frogs that shared the bathroom with us. The steps down to the river have been upgraded to concrete which makes it much easier to get to and from the boat. The pool was a welcome respite from the heat and it was lovely watching Humphrey the hippo enjoying the waterhole. This trip the elephants weren't coming to the waterhole as often, but we had many close encounters with them in the park.

Pias was our guide for our short stay. During the transfer to Tena Tena, we were fortunate enough to encounter a pack of 11 wild dogs. One of the dogs had found a discarded plastic bottle (slapped wrist for whoever was so thoughtless) and refused to share with the others. Unlike watching lions during the day when you are waiting for one of them to even roll over, the dogs are so much more active. We loved watching them and actually got to see a second pack that evening - fortunate indeed! If the number of sighting of giraffes we had are anything to go by, the population in the park is healthy.

Kiki was a marvellous host for our all too short stay. Despite the brevity of our stay, we still saw 56 different species of animals which is pretty amazing." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

9 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr S.
Melvin Village

"Nkwali Camp - Unbelievable start to safari"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"Sept 29+30: Well organized pickup at Mfewe airport then 40 minute drive to Nkwali Camp in time for dinner at 8pm. Delicious food, lovely accommodations, dinners served by small lagoon where resident hippo sleeps or chomps on vegetation. Baboons and monkeys wander around as well as mongoose families and all sorts of birds.

Small pool overlooking the lagoon was perfect. Rooms are beautiful with an open air feel to the bathroom area, which was well stocked with amenities, insect repellent and bug spray. Breakfast served overlooking a bend in the Luangwa River where hippos lounge in the water and elephants can be seen crossing over.

My first game drive greatly exceeded my expectations - lion pride resting under tree after kill, hyenas and vultures at the kill, pack of wild dogs resting after their kill, plus large herd of water buffalo crossing the road, elephants, giraffes, zebras, warthogs, impalas, puku, crocodiles, hippos. Spectacular!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Nkwali Review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"How nice to return to Nkwali (visit No.5) and to be greeted by Kiki and so many familiar faces. We were expertly guided by Perry and Wilson, our spotter, was as wonderful as ever at locating wildlife!

We particularly liked our palatial room at the camp and the river views. It was well worth spending time in the afternoons by the lagoon and watching Humphrey the hippo and all the other visiting animals, retiles and birds.

Thanks to everyone on the staff for making this such an enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Devon

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"Great staff, food, room and location, tho' the latter not as breathtaking as Nsefu. Enjoyed a walk with guide Prius, who an encyclopedic knowledge of all things bush. Our young guide, Perry, was great company and it was good to transfer between camps with him by a 4 hour game drive.

The camp Manager, 'Keke' was a delightful worldly man.

Still short of coat hangers!

Re. Wildlife Survey:

Waterbuck - 5 sightings
Leopard - 4 different individuals sighted
Lion - 12 individuals
Wild Dog - One sighting of a pack of 13 active individuals
Highlight - At dusk two lions up one tree and a leopard up another, both in clear sight at the same time and just 60m apart." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms L & Mr A
London

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"I think the only sadness is being so close to the entrance of the park there are quite a few other vehicles around, however, the Robin Pope guides adhere to only 4 vehicles near any sighting, sadly other don't in particular the self drive" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2019
"A friendly, welcoming camp easily accessible from the airport (should you have a later flight) - being just outside the park is not a drawback. The short boat ride across the river afforded additional photo opportunities.

Obi was an excellent guide and a fount of knowledge who helped us see so much." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 203
96%
203 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
166
33
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa