This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge
Kapani Lodge

Reviews of Kapani Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kapani Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Great safari at Kapani"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2014
"Great game drives with good guides. Lovely rooms and good food.

Lots of game including leopard, lion and wild dog." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Switzerland

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Lovely stay at Kapani. Arrived late in Mfuwe, so the stay in Kapani was most comfortable.

Great 1st day Game Drive with a lot of fantastic Game sightings. Great place to start a Safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr T
Amersham

"an excellent beginning to my trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"A lovely setting, with good food and excellent game drives, including a "very serious charge" from a hippo (our guide's words!)

Lots of birds. Only drawback is the longish hack to get to the Park gate." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss M
Maidstone

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"A lovely comfortable lodge, everyone very helpful, food great and I much appreciated the effort made for me as a non-meat eater.

Our only concern was that there were 2 maybe 3 times when there were 3 of us abreast in the game viewing vehicle; fortunately it did not cause us a problem but for some people it might. We were expecting there would be 3 rows of 2 people if 6 were in the vehicle.

The guide, Charles, was brilliant and was endlessly patient with our repeated questions 'which bird is that?' and located several leopard sightings, elephant drama and all the rest. Everything seemed to run very smoothly from Kapani and a very good place to stay at the start. We enjoyed meeting Mario and also Christina Carr. Judy too had a big hand in the smooth running of things.

The view from our chalet (no.2) was fantastic across the 'river',being able to see elephants virtually from your bed! 3 nights here worked well for us." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Devon

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Warm reception on arrival, good briefing of routine and facilities. This applies to all the camps we visited.

Accommodation very good indeed, swimming pool clean and cool and a very good way to relax after the journey and look forward to what was to come.

An interesting, amusing and professional play about human, animal and natural inter-relationships with dancers mimicking wild creatures and birds to make their points, before setting off for the visit to the reserve to see the situation for ourselves.

Our first drive was an excellent experience. We encountered 17 species of mammal including elephant, lion and leopard and very good bird sightings too. Our companions had not been to Africa before, so a red letter day for them, but also for us it was a very special day." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Dr B
Warwick

"Kapani Lodge - a good place to start"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"This was a good place for us to start on our first safari as it was driving only and got us into the swing of things. Facilities were good and the staff supportive. It, however, to us did not come close to the other camps we visited and we would not return to this camp (unless we did a rainy season trip, which we are tempted to do, which has much more limited options.

In the end the distance from the park and the presence of so many other vehicles on game drives would put us off - but that is because we had so many wonderful experiences in remote locations later in our trip.

Views from the terrace where meals were taken were good - unusually lights enabled a good view at night. We had Room 2 at Kapani which in retrospect I think was a larger than average room." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
BC, Canada

"Kapani Lodge 1st safari"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"We arrived in Lusaka in a sleepy state following an overnight flight from London. (Having the direct BA flight from London to Lusaka was great and we were disappointed to hear that BA was cancelling this service.) We were met by Lawrence who helped us navigate the airport and obtain visas before proceeding to the flight to Mfuwe. A great service after an over night flight.

Once in Mfuwe we were met by Abraham and driven in a safari vehicle to Kapani Lodge. Along the way he pointed out villages, birds and trees all very new to us. At Kapani we were greeted by friendly faces and taken to our room and advised when lunch was ready and where it was served. It was wonderful not to be wondering what do we do next.

At 4pm after 'tea and cake' (this seems to be an African tradition!) we met John who was our guide for all the game drives during our stay at Kapani Lodge. His knowledge of the game, birds, trees and flora was excellent and he imparted his knowledge to us in a very pleasant and cheerful manner. On our first game drive we saw an amazing number of animals including a leopard. In fact we saw 4 leopards in 2 days! Our stay at Kapani was the perfect introduction to safari life. Not too big and impersonal. Very comfortable with helpful and cheerful staff.

One disappointment was trying to buy a Norman Carr safari golf shirt. My size was not available and I was told that it could be made available but it never arrived. While this is a very minor item, it was a disappointment.

The pool was appreciated and I expect that it would be used more when the weather became hotter." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Felt like coming home"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2013
"The highlight of the sightings were the wild dogs , some good leopard. Many thanks to Brian, Patience and Crispin for their spottings throughout our stay.

Message to Christina, Keep up the good work" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Croydon

"Another brilliant 3 days"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2013
"As I said before [Ed: see below], this camp is just perfect. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay just wonderful. Christina, the camp director was such fun and made all of our stay hilarious.

This is the best holiday that the four of us have had and I couldn't recommend Norman Carr Safaris highly enough. Their attention to detail was brilliant.

A few tears were shed in the truck after saying goodbye to Christina, Katie & Mario. Hopefully we will return in the dry season and give Brian & Simon some more incredibly difficult targets to find! They were both so patient with our endless questions on why they couldn't find Aardvarks & Pangolins!!! Brian did find us wild dogs which was a great credit to him.

Norman Carr Safaris is highly recommend by all four of us." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Service at its best"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2013
"A Camp with a fantastic family feeling. Nothing seemed too much trouble in ensuring that all our expectations were met. The lunchtime buffet was wonderful, just what was needed after the morning game drive.

Our thanks to guide Brian who answered every question with great knowledge and humour." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Kapani Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa