This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mfuwe Lodge
Mfuwe Lodge
Mfuwe Lodge
Mfuwe Lodge
Mfuwe Lodge

Reviews of Mfuwe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mfuwe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mfuwe Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Miss A
Haywards Heath

"Convenience stop"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2019
"I'm a safari camp novice so had chosen the lodge a) to see what it was like and b) in case I needed something a little more familiar than an open bathroom etc. before transferring to another camp.(Pathetically afraid of the cold and I do like my creature comforts.) My apprehension about Nsefu was a gross misjudgment, that's for sure, but even so, I didn't mind finding our about the Lodge .I had no intention of taking part in any activities.

Room was certainly up to scratch. Excellent facilities. A pity the lagoon had dried out but I was endlessly entertaind by the baboons as I sat on the deck. The trees beyond captured the light beautifully..

The Manager kindly offered to sit with me for meals as I was alone but I'm used to that so released him from that duty. I appreciated the table they had prepared for me for luncch - prime position. However, he was very attentive during afternoon tea and drinks at the bar.

After Nsefu, food was inevitably a disappointment.though needless to say, I enjoyed breakfast. They cater for groups and the food reflected that.

Nevertheless, it served it's purpose. A good night and another experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr C
Harvest

"Visit of a lifetime"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"Each year elephants visit the lodge to get to a great old mango tree. When the mango is in fruit (usually late October through December) the elephants may walk through the lobby to get to the fruit. They did that the first and last day of my 4 night stay, and I videoed them both times.

My room was a two story (sort of a tree house) overlooking a stream. The crocodile (the name of the room) has a loft, balcony, two toilets, four sinks, a tube and shower, as well as a porch. I counted as many as 13 elephants in my back yard at one time." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Mfuwe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2015
"Just stayed for a stopover fro 1 night" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Mfuwe Lodge was a pleasant surprise"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"We stayed at Mfuwe Lodge for one night to allow us to meet someone in Mfuwe village. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was.

We were met at the airport and taken for a surprise bush brunch in a great location on the way to the lodge. After our meeting in Mfuwe we went on a game drive where we saw 14 wild dog giving a hard time to a hyena. we saw a lot of other game to and had a good guide. Our breakfast was interrupted the next morning to enable us to see the 14 dogs on a hunt again.

The service and food were very good with all the staff being very friendly. The room was quite luxurious compared to the bush camps we normally stay at.

The lodges location near the park entrance means it is in a busy area of the park but we really enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Overnight at Mfuwe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2014
"We had booked an overnight stop at Mfuwe Lodge en route to Zungulila. Having already travelled for 24 hours from UK we were ready for a rest before continuing on for our main safari.

Mfuwe Lodge fitted the bill exactly - we had a very nice dinner followed by an early night and a game drive next morning before departing for Zungulila after brunch." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Good place to have our first night"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2010
"Very much enjoyed our one night at the Lodge after a long journey. Very comfortable room and great bathroom complete with water monitor lizard!

We enjoyed the informal dining with our guide and manager Ollie, and had a very good first game drive with 12 lions. All the staff were very welcoming and interested in their guests. When we passed through on our last day, we were welcomed back like old friends." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr SM
NW London

"Excellent location within the park"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2009
"After Kapani, Mfuwe had a more formal and regulated feel to the place - although the accomodation with lagoon views was excellent.

The game viewing was excellent - with a couple of great lion sightings on the night drives. Being inside the park, we were able to stay out longer, and it was on the extended night drives that we saw the lion. Again, the guiding could not be faulted and the drives were tailored to our interests.

The lodge did feel a bit regimented, particularly at mealtimes, and felt a bit like a canteen rather than an intimate lodge. Having said that, the food was very good." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr GP
Manchester

"great game at mfuwe lodge"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"a great way to spend our last two nights top rooms with great veiws good food and rearly friendly helpful staff a theme which was true of all the camps the area around the lodge is heaveing with game although you will get a few more vechicles when the cats are sighted which is every time you go out it dosnt spoil what is a fantastic game veiwing experence

ideal place to stay at the start or finish of a bushcamp safari" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
WhiteChapel

"Mfuwe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"Nice rooms, good birding at the lagoon and good company at the bar.

After staying at the bush camps, felt a little impersonal and regimented." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Caterham

"Lucky with the leopards."

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"A bit dissapointed that our chalet was on part of the river that had all but dried up but were still lucky to have elephants wallowing in the mud outside our room. Other chalets still had water in the river, must look lovely in the rainy season.

The guide who was with us for the whole three days was excellent. The game was good and we saw leopards every day, once in daylight. We even saw a pair of mating lions!

The food was good with very friendly African staff. Unfortunatley the English 'temporary' staff were not so good. Felt that as they were more expensive than the previous lodge drinks should have been free as was the case in the other lodge." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
90%
10 reviews of Mfuwe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa