This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Coventry

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful latest trip to Africa.

Namibia between 20 Jan 2020 and 8 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was really good.

Didn't see as much wildlife as we would have liked but we have been so often that we know that wildlife can be unpredictable. All lodges were friendly with, in the main, excellent food.

The quality of the guiding was a bit mixed ranging from excellent to quite poor, although in the main was quite good."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Old Traders Lodge

"Enjoyable stay, although a bit stage managed"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2020
"Well worth visiting although some of the wildlife was seemed like a captive audience.

Staff really friendly, food really nice, guiding good but a bit of over exaggeration was experienced."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Wildest of the wild."

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"We wanted wildest Africa and this is what we got.

Really interesting even though wildlife was scarce.

Best part was interacting with the San people who seemed to enjoy our visit to their village and waved us off when we left."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Good for an overnight stay."

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2020
"Only stayed one night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Really enjoyable 3 night stay."

3 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Management and staff really friendly and most helpful.

Definately the best guide in Alphieus (/) of the whole trip and as with all of the guides absolutely brilliant eyesight, not only in front of them but at the sides as well.

I suspect that if an animal crept up from behind they would see that too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Huge herd of Buffalo."

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2020
"Loved the fact that we had glass doors and didn't have to mess about with zips.

Again staff very friendly and helpful although the guiding was, in my opinion no where near being up to scratch. Really enjoyed the after dinner chats with the owner about all sort of things. Between us we were able to put the world to rights and forget for that brief moment of time that people like Trump and Borris Johnson even exist.

Like most places we stayed at, game was in short supply. The early rains in October meant that there was a plentiful supply of water in the bush and the wildlife didn't need to come out"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"really enjoyed our 4 night stay."

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2020
"Again, same as most places the staff and management were first class.

They even came to terms with my craving for English Breakfast Tea. Saw Sitatunga on 3 occasions but still failed to get a photo.

We did have to arrange for a different guide for the last day as Kennedy was getting a bit repetative but was a nice guy all the same.

Sorry to have to leave to make our way back home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Our annual adventure to Africa

Botswana between 21 Jan 2018 and 8 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our third trip with Expert Africa and the itinerary that I put together was arranged perfectly. Not a single thing went wrong on our 18 day adventure."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Our latest African adventure !st leg"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2018
"My wife and I only stayed 2 nights at this lodge, wish we had stayed another night. The staff were so friendly and the food was marvellous, it never ceases to amaze me hoe the chefs manage to produce such wonderful food with limited equipment in the middle of nowhere. Accommodation was better than expected and the game viewing was superb. I particularly wanted to see Puku antelope which we saw on the second day, along with Leopard, Sable and Honey Badgers. Brilliant game viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Annual adventure in Africa 2nd leg"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2018
"Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Food to die for. Guiding amongst the best that I have encountered. Our guide Myease and tracker Gary were amongst the best that we have been fortunate enough to have. Spent one and a half hours tracking a pack of wild dogs on really hard ground, made even more difficult by the fact that the dogs kept doubling back on them selves. Also saw, amongst other animals, red lechwe, serval another different pack of wild dogs and a wild cat. Only stayed two nights, should have opted for more.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Our annual African adventure 3rd leg"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2018
"Excellent rooms, fantastic service, wonderful food and the legend known as Baba as our guide. Baba and I spent 3 days making jokes about each other so when limited wildlife about we still had great fun. The rock paintings were great to see along with numerous wildlife including Klipspringers,3 huge hyenas who came really close, another pack of wild dogs and one of the highlights, a family of four Ardwolfs. The only disappointment was that the channel had stopped running in 2015 which meant that the aquatic antelope like Sitatunga were no longer there. I feel that Expert Africa should have notified us of this. However, should I return to Botswana I would want to return here"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Our annual visit to Africa 4th leg"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2018
"Again staff were excellent along with food and accommodation. Game viewing not as good as at other lodges but still saw Honey Badgers, wild dog and white rhino. We were fortunate to see the pack of 22 wild dogs go on a hunt. We lost sight of them for about 4 minutes. In that time they brought down an Impala and had eaten it except for the last few bones by the time we caught up with them. One Impala obviously was not enough to feed a pack this large so as soon as they had finished they went off on another hunt..
A nice change was that our transfer to the next lodge was by boat instead of by plane. Quite fun dodging the hippos..
Now time to leave Botswana with temperatures in the high 20' to low 30's and get back to Heathrow where it was minus 1"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Our annual adventure in Africa 5th leg"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2018
"Now starting to feel tired after all of the early starts and coffee round the fire at 5-30am especially after listening to the Hyenas all night. Starting to get a bit repetitive now but again staff, food and accommodation were all great.. Also shared the lodge with some really nice people. Gie and Gomes were our guide and tracker and helped us see Leopard, side stripped jackal, two different Cheetahs and an animal I never thought that I would see, a Sitatunga when we went on a boat trip. I was buzzing for hours. Even had a few rum and coles to celebrate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Our annual adventure to Africa 6th and final "

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2018
"The room here was probably the best of the whole trip. Friendliness of staff now taken a bit for granted but I shouldn't do that. I must give a special mention to Linsey and Bonney who were both wonderful. If I had been 40 years or so younger I might have asked them to come home with me. Food again was delicous.
Game viewing not as good here as at other lodges but Chester, our guide still managed to find Lion, Bat Eared Foxes, our 5th different pack pf wild dogs and a Cheetah. Bains Baobabs well worth a visiit"
Good

Another brilliant trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 18 Oct 2016 and 1 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another brilliant trip to Tanzania. Thanks for all of your help in making this trip possible.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really as everything was just perfect."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"2nd visit, enjoyed as much as 1st one."

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2016
"Wonderfull tented camp with wildlife regularly walking through camp.

The management team of Shaun & Milly great hosta and fun to share the evening meal with Staff very freindly and guides extremely knowledgeable, not just about the animals but about the birds aswell. This time we went during the dry season and saw about the same amount of game as during the wet season although everywhere looked nicer during the rainy season.

Main highlights were finding a juvenile leopard then her mother and of course, seeing the pack of wild dogs, also the lioness with her 4 new born cubs and a freshly killed Wildebeeste.

All in all, a camp we would highly reccommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

"Sharing a home with the Squirrels and Bush Hy"

5 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"2nd time in Ruaha but first time at River Lodge.

A larger camp than we usually stay at ans spread over a large site. The restaurant used for lunch was a bit difficult for me to get to as I have slight walking difficulties and I needed mountaineering skills to get to it, but young David was very obliging in giving us a lift back to our room. Great to meet up again with the management team of Graham & Candy who managed a different lodge that we stayed at on our last visit.

All the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and our guide Alex had probably the sharpest eyesite of anyone I have ever met. Highlights were many and various but got some super photos of a leopard in a tree and the lions with a fresh buffalo kill.

Enjoyed the little squirrels nest in our roof space and the Bush Hyrax's posing for the camera in between feeding on the leaves of the bushes by our room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp

"Wild Africa at it's best."

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"This was our 2nd visit to Katavi. This time in the dry season, last time in the wet season.

This time it was easier to get around but last time everywhere looked nicer. Tse Tse flies quite bad both times but didn't spoil the trip at all. Staff as friendly and helpfull as ever and the evening discussions with the manager, Nick, just confirmed that his reputation of being extremely knowledgable was no exageration.

So many highlights but for me the best had to be getting photos of slender mongoose and dwalf mongoose after years of trying and also seeinf Roan antelope for the first time. The Roan were like a London bus, you wait for ever for one then see them every day. Wonderfull!!! Rooms were great and a joy to see a civet walking through camp one night right in front of us.

Also saw our first Black Spitting Cobra and also our first Black Mamba hanging from a tree.Luckily, we didn't get too close to either."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Short stay."

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"Only stayed at the hotel for about 9 hours to while away some time before we had to catch the plane back to Nairobi.

Hotel comfortable and the meal we had was both delicious and very inexpensive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Best trip yet to Africa.

Tanzania between 18 Jan 2015 and 4 Feb 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. We wanted to see wild Africa and that is what we did.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Give me a discount on my next trip!!!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Vuma Hills

Vuma Hills

"Great start to our 16 day safari"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2015
"Friendly management and staff made our stay even more enjoyable. Night time activity included seeing thick tailed bushbaby's, Genet, Civit and Honey Badger.

What a start to our annual holiday in Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2015
"Other than the sighting of the wild dogs, which is always a treat, the wildlife was a bit of a disappointment, but this is in no way a reflection on the efforts of our guide, Mr. H or our driver Cacumber who both tried everything possible to find the wildlife.

Everything else was great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Whay great wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2015
"Brilliant wildlife viewing, including leopard amongst the 30 odd different species. The guide Emmanuel, and driver Daniel did everything they could to find the wildlife that I really wanted to see, including Oribi and Klipspringer.

Problem with something in the tent biting both myself and my wife at night making a bit of a mess of both of us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp

"Brilliant wilderness"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2015
"Being the only guests in camp, my wife and I were treated like royalty.

Our guide Ramano (Fred) and Kevin our driver, not only did everything expected of them but far more on top of that.

We also had a good laugh on each game drive. Martha, the relief manager was great company but had an unfortunate accident. I hope that your arm is ok Martha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Saadani Safari Lodge

Saadani Safari Lodge

"Wind down after 14 hectic days."

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2015
"The perfect way to wind down after a hectic 14 days on safari.

Staff really pleasant along with managers Graham and Candy. Meal times interesting with visits from bushbaby's and genets. Cool breeze off the ocean most welcome at night.

Only guests in camp again so we were well and truly spoiled."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team