This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp
Nhoma Camp

Reviews of Nhoma Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nhoma Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nhoma Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Eland

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"Wildest of the wild."

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"We wanted wildest Africa and this is what we got.

Really interesting even though wildlife was scarce.

Best part was interacting with the San people who seemed to enjoy our visit to their village and waved us off when we left." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"A great experience"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"This was totally different but a great experience. The drive to the camp is long and challenging and the camp is more basic. However the opportunities to have completely different experiences made it more than worthwhile. We went out with the owner for an evening drive to check the waterhole and watched the elephants come to drink. The next day we went out on a walking hunt with the San people and then spent time in their village. The second day we went out again with he owner into Khaudum NP to check several water holes in readiness for the annual elephant count." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Nhoma camp."

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2017
"Great entertainment provided by the bushmen who were eager to show us everything while laughing and joking all the time. The local guide, Freddie, was excellent.

The camp was in need of renovation. For example, our toilet leaked continuously despite three complaints to the manager. He had only arrived back in camp the night before we arrived, so there seemed little preparation for guests. The owner arrived later.

A memorable stay in a substandard camp. However the food was good." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Great experience to visit the bushmen"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Arno has done a great job creating the camp and cultivating the relationship with the local village. Seeing the bushmen in the village and out on their 'hunt' was really interesting especially as we expect their lifestyle will not last very much longer. It is clear they rely now on tourism rather than having to hunt and live nomadically. The main bushmen we saw, the chief and other relatives of guide Freddie, made a real effort to be informative and friendly.

It does seem a little too much like a 'human zoo' in the village when you start with the 'shop' selling their handmade articrafts followed by arranged dances and demonstrations of arrow making etc. On the walk the bushmen clearly weren't needing to hunt and it felt the walk was a bit of a tourist occasion.

Arno was informative and attentive, clearly is core to the camp and is looking to sell the camp if possible. The camp is comfortable but basic with simpler meals than at other camps.

We also suffered because of the drought and a recent bush fire in the area which meant there was little game and no elephant locally.

It is a long drive out to Nhoma which ensures you realise how remote you are (and the effort Arno has to go to get supplies from 4 hours drive away). The last 20 kilometres of the road has a lot of deep sand in places and a 4x4 is essential for getting through to the camp.

Overall, well worth the visit to a remote location to see a life which if likely to end soon, but not as authentic experience as hoped." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Colorado

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"Long way to go and definitely interesting" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Ms FJ
SW London

"Nhoma with the Bushmen"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"Great experience here, felt a little strange at first but after two trips into the bush, felt more natural but still a sort of living museum of bushmen. It is a long gravel road to get there, followed by a long sandy road, - our 2wd got stuck in sand, but we were rescued with rope.

Camp is pretty basic compared to others we stayed out. Food not so good for example but it is all relative and the real reason for staying here is to share the bushmen environment." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
The Keens
Connecticut

"Nhoma Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2015
"Our stay here at Nhoma Camp was very special. The chance to accompany the Bushmen hunting and gathering was a unique experience. The traditional Bushman way of life cannot continue in the modern world. We felt so fortunate to have the opportunity to see it before it's gone forever. In fact I don't believe the Bushmen in this little village would do much hunting if there were no tourists there to pay for the experience.

We enjoyed our conversations with the owner, Arno. He is an intelligent and charming fellow. He is selling the business to another person but I think it will be a smooth transition. The manager for the new owner was there to learn from Arno and he seemed very enthusiastic." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr M
Hants

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"It is a long drive from the Grootfontein area, so worth checking times of any organized activities. When we arrived we were the only guests in the camp, so this did not matter. We went out late afternoon to go and pump water for the elephants! The waterhole was drying out, it was the end of dry season. It was quite fun, but we wre expecting more bushman activities

The camp itself was nice, the tents basic but perfectly acceptable and with all the facilities. Food was overall good, although the fish was rubbery ad overcooked and puddings after dinner only appeared for 1 out of 3 days..

The next day we went out on a long walk with the owner Arno and a couple of very knowledgeable bushmen. They showed us where to find food & water, and how to trap animals and make arrows etc. This was very interesting. Arno was very helpful and translated and answered any questions we had, and encouraged the bushman to show us things.

The next day we to the Nye Nye nature reserve to look at water birds and plants. This was also interesting, we saw lots of storks and flamingos etc.. Arno's skill in the 4x4 is good - He knows exactly where the car can and can't go...

When we left , Arno was kind enough to sell us 20 litres of petrol, so we did not have to divert back to Grootfontein - much appreciated!

A related note:

Half way between the junction of the C44 & B8, and Nhoma is a very interesting "Living Medicine project which also has bushmen demonstrating their life skills. http://www.lcfn.info/juhoansi/home. They are not allowed to go hunting, but we thought they it was a interesting and informative project with and a much higher spec than most village tours. It is a German Namibia co-operation project. For some tourists, this village may be all they need to get an authentic experience of bushmen life." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"A stand out experience"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"We loved this part of the trip. Mine host and his wife went out of there way to ensure that all was OK. Got stuck trying to get up the hill to the lodge and had to be towed out and leave the car at the bottom of the hill. Visit to the water hole to fix the water pump was an unexpected delight at dusk - so we enjoyed watching the five bull elephants whilst the pump was fixed.

The bush walk with the bush men was also a delight and thoroughly captivating. We learnt a lot and fell in love with them and all the people in the village. We felt very privileged to be able to share a part of their life.

A must visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
Michigan, USA

"Unbelievable"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"I left Okonjima late and had to search for a SD card for my camera. I had equipment problems at Okonjima which put me on the road to Nhoma at night which is not a good idea. From Michigan, I had experience driving in snow but no experience driving on Namibia's dirt roads. I spun into a ditch and flatten my tire, at night. I was rescued by locals who were fantastic. I tip them and took their picture.

Tourism is Namibia's 2nd industry and they handle it well. Namibia is very tourist friendly and supportive. I shared the Nhoma camp with a National Geographic film crew. They told me to not drive at night. I told them that I got this chance to see everything and will depend on the power of God.

Hiking with the Bushmen, watching them start fires with sticks, filming the women dancing etc. was unbelievable. I had a lot of "one on one" time with my Bushmen guides. I asked Estelle, the manger at Nhoma, to write a book, it would not be possible to describe the village and people in a few words. Words from people that see my pictures are "once in a life time" but I refuse to believe that." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 39
95%
39 reviews of Nhoma Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa