This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms FJ from SW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Great Namibian holiday, would like to return

Namibia between 19 Aug 2015 and 3 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was wonderful, we probably would have liked to have stayed one night less at Nhoma (some of my family would not have agreed with this) and have missed out Huab Lodge. Highlights were Desert Rhino Camp and Mundulea.

Wouldn't have liked to do more driving though, so we missed out most of the country which we will have to visit again. Would have been useful to know rough driving times between camps. I didn't realise the gravel roads were yellow on map until it was too late!

I think would also have preferred to miss out Windhoek completely, Olive Grove was nice but it felt to me as if the holiday hadn't really started until we moved on.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Sabina was so helpful, we went through a few itineraries before I realised what sort of trip we were looking for and she made some great suggestions that I hadn't seen on the website. It was wonderful to correspond and talk to her, she was extremely knowledgeable and efficient and I really did appreciate her."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good first night at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"Nice place to stay for first night, good directions, food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Luxury at Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2015
"Fabulous place to stay, could have done with longer than one night though.

Good post supper activity seeing two of my favourite animals - porcupine and honey badger."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"The most wonderful place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Fabulous welcome at Desert Rhino Camp, singing, personalised notes on the bed, nothing was too much trouble - laundry, packed lunches, hot water bottles, information. Wonderful scenario, made very special by the staff there.

This was one of my favourite lodges."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Nothing special at Huab Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"Didn't particularly enjoy stay here. It was very crowded - the leaflet said only 16 people could stay, there were 26 guests when we were there - not good for everyone eating at the same time on the same table (with an additional child table).

The 4 of us were shown into one room initially, I said we had booked two rooms (I had already given them our accommodation vouchers). Another villa was found for us but away from the main lodges - no lock on door - only a rock to shut door, tiny bed, very tired bed linen, rusty basin etc. I asked to be nearer the children but was told we booked last (apparently??) so no space - just seemed a bit disorganised.

Our eventual room OK but pretty shabby and not nearly as nice as the other ones. For the second and final night we were asked if we wanted to move as someone had left but felt it not really worth transporting all our stuff. Also felt things such as drinks were pushed on you, e.g. if you asked for wine, you were given a bottle, not a glass.

You were not told price for laundry for example. Would be better if someone (not a guide) was in charge of welcoming visitors and explaining the system."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Fabulous Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"Loved this place, we were the only people staying here and it was heavenly. Walking instead of being in a jeep.

The incredibly knowledgeable Bruno walked us around spotting tracks and animals. Morning walk followed by great lunch, another afternoon walk so quite energetic. Great feel for the surroundings. Camp perfect, hot shower, hot water bottles.

Watched animals at the waterhole in a hide for ages, it was a privilege to be here. Good meals too, supper punctuated by Tommy the porcupine making an entrance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma with the Bushmen"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"Great experience here, felt a little strange at first but after two trips into the bush, felt more natural but still a sort of living museum of bushmen. It is a long gravel road to get there, followed by a long sandy road, - our 2wd got stuck in sand, but we were rescued with rope.

Camp is pretty basic compared to others we stayed out. Food not so good for example but it is all relative and the real reason for staying here is to share the bushmen environment."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Activities
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Great place to stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"We only stayed one night but would have preferred to have two nights here to take advantage of relaxing in this lovely place. Self-guided walks, swimming pool etc. Perfect service.

The manager went out of her way to help me check in at the airport by lending me her laptop. Great service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team