This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Eland

85% success

Zebra

42% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
D & P
Lavenham

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"Back to basics, no frills but a great experience with owner Bruno, who is so knowledgeable and takes the time to show and explain.

We were lucky to be the only guests during our three night stay so had exclusive access to guide.

Walking in the reserve made a pleasant change from driving as we were right there with the animals. Also time for birding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

P and V
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2022
"An unforgettable experience very well introduced and described by Expert Africa. Bruno runs a quite unique operation which whilst not quite his life’s work felt like it could be. The two of us roamed far and wide on his reserve and his expert knowledge was shared in the right dosage throughout. Beyond the basic experience and introduction to the rewilding project, he is a fascinating and engaging character on subjects personal and general, just as well given the intimate and intense nature of the stay here. I imagine even very experienced travellers to Africa would acknowledge this to be “something different”.

The ratings below need to be read in context. There are no communications, no swimming pool, rooms are all you need but no more and the food exceeded what you could expect a bush camp. We were delighted with all but I am applying the same scale as for a regular high end lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs V
York

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"Staying at Mundulea was both a very enjoyable and enriching experience, enabling us to immerse ourselves within a truly remarkable regeneration project.

It is a rustic, ecologically sound and minimum impact camp that brings you up close to nature, a counter point to the other camps and lodges we had experienced. No safari drives, just walks , but not without its creature comforts at the end of the day such as hot showers, flushing loos and hot water bottles.

Our host, Bruno Nebe, owner, an exceptional guide and first class cook, is a mine of information and intriguing anecdotes drawn from across a wide range of subjects. Great conversationalist." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms B
Arizona

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"A very special place to explore on foot. The camp was created to blend with the environment. The special touches and design are nice.

Sitting in the blinds and watching wildlife behavior was one of the best experiences of our trip. Bruno was wonderful in sharing his preserve with us on daily hikes. He is very knowledgeable. He shared his extensive experiences with us and provided a view into the world of managing preserves. The staff are very helpful and took great care of us." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2022
"Mundulea is a truly authentic bush camp

Bruno is the passionate , highly knowledgable , owner and guide who taught us so much about the bush through the guided walks that we did with him .

He also cooked delicious meals from the bush kitchen - the oven is a modified fire extinguisher that sits on hot coals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

AK
USA

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2021
"Bruno, the owner is a fascinating person. A unique opportunity to walk and feel nature as it really is.

Tents are comfortable but not meant for luxury seeking people. Good food.

A very memorable experience if one likes to walk." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

safari lovers
UK

" A wonderful unique stay at Mundulea"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2020
"The highlight of our trip even though we only spent 18 hours there! ( had three nights booked but had to leave after one because of imminent lockdown )

Bruno has huge knowledge and experience of everything Namibian, which he passionately shares. Mundulea is his reserve which he established more than 20 years ago, and has gradually reintroduced native animals and carried out bush restoration.

The camp is a proper bush camp with all food cooked on an open fire by Tommy who is Bruno's right hand man. We plan to return as soon as we can to spend more time walking in the bush with Bruno." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&J
Plockton

"Africa as we remember it"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"Mundulea is a bush camp from a classic mould - something that seems to be increasingly rare these days. No swimming pool, no electric path lights, no Wi-Fi, no sun-downer game drives - just a low impact camp nestled up to a waterhole. Nonetheless, the tents were as comfortable as any we stayed at; and Tommy’s bush kitchen served up meals just as good as any luxury lodge.

We were exceptionally privileged to be the only guests staying at Mundulea when we visited. Bruno is a quite fascinating host with seemingly several lifetime's wealth of experience, but it is perhaps his work at Mundulea that commands the most attention. As he will freely admit, the reserve is all about the wildlife and not the tourists. Appreciating this holds the key to enjoying one's stay. Nonetheless, when we expressed disappointment that we had not yet seen eland during our Namibia trip, Bruno was able to lead us on a walk, tracking a mother and calf to the point where we managed to get a good clear view.

Other walks covered all four compass points from the camp, during which we came to understand how the fundamental basis of the re-wilding project lies in restoring the balance of the vegetation in the reserve. A particularly enjoyable walk was to the top of nearby hills, from which it is possible to appreciate the true scale of the project that Bruno is undertaking. Evenings were spent in interesting and far-ranging conversation with Bruno.

If you like walking, and are happy that you may only glimpse wildlife while you are doing so, then walks with Bruno are fascinating and educational.

This was definitely the highlight of our Namibian trip." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

P & B,
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"We were so glad we added three nights at Mundulea to our trip. It was a completely different experience and instead of observers, we felt a part of the country, its landscape and its challenges.

Bruno was so full of information and knowledge (and so good at passing it on), it was a real privilege to spend time with him. His understanding of Namibian - and wider African/world - problems and his measured, well-considered response is rare to see. The sustainability of the camp and what he is trying to achieve at Mundulea is impressive.

I suppose he is too busy but I'd like to propose him for a newly created post of King of the World (or at the very least, world environment minister). He'd do a lot better than the shower we've got at the moment.

PS He also tells a very good story." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Back to the wild at Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2019
"Let's start with a paradox - the priority at Mundulea is absolutely not the comfort or interests of its visitors; this is what makes it such a wonderful place to say. I don't mean by that that it's uncomfortable or uninteresting (it's definitely neither) but that if there's ever a conflict between the interests of the environment and the interests of the tourist, the environment wins every time. If you come here expecting or needing conventional "service", or if your priority from a wildlife experience is taking photos of big game with a big lens, you will find Mundulea is not for you - and think very seriously before including it in your itinerary. If what you want to do is learn about the bush, about Africa, and come away with a renewed respect for the wild and our place in it, you'll find Mundulea a thoroughly rewarding experience.

Mundulea is the vision and passion of Bruno Nebe, a project that he has invested his life in in more ways than one. He's aiming to bring what was cattle farming land - over grazed and denuded of most of its wildlife - back to its original state. He's a pioneer, who has spent the last 20 years working out how this can be done - with a bit of trial and error. He's had a quite astonishing life - you'll have to go there to get his stories, I couldn't do them justice - which you'll gradually learn about in your time at Mundulea, as you walk through the bush, drink a much-needed beer by the fire or enjoy the food. This is cooked in a bush kitchen and as far as possible from the resources of the property (warning: you may be eating what you've been looking at, but trust me, spicy wildebeest stir-fry and home-cured eland salami are delicious). The bread is baked in an oven fashioned from an old fire extinguisher!

Anything that isn't done by Bruno is done by Tommy, the only member of staff - the feeling you get is very much that you're joining them at their bush camp, rather than staying as guests in any conventional sense. Although it's called a bush camp there's plenty of hot running water and good solar lighting at your tent; the camp is next to a water hole with hides so you can see who's out there. At night, prepare to be absolutely gobsmacked by the stars - the Milky Way in full view - which you can appreciate from your open-air shower after the afternoon walk!

We reckon we were probably walking around 10k per day - mostly with lots of stops to look at things, but in some cases requiring a reasonable level of fitness. I think he would adjust this according to the guests but you do need to be comfortable being on your feet and walking for 3 or 4 hours. I would not recommend this as a first safari - you are unlikely to see, for instance, the big predators (and you might not want to as all activities are on foot!) - but if you've got an interest in getting a little further under Africa's skin than you might do on other safaris, this place is ideal." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 77
99%
77 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
74
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa