This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve
Mundulea Reserve

Reviews of Mundulea Reserve

Wildlife sightings and reviews

82 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mundulea Reserve and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mundulea Reserve.
Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

95% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Eland

89% success

Zebra

47% success

Roan antelope

24% success

Black Rhino

7% success

Brown Hyena

6% success

Pangolin

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 82
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.Geer
Chelmsford

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"A great re wilding experience....comfortable with good home cooked food.

Drinks seemed to be included but it was rather confusing!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr P.
Chelmsford

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"We loved the three days there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

The S Family
Plymouth

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2023
"This was a highlight of our trip - three days off grid with a passionate guide who cares deeply about the environment.

We were very well looked after - including catering for vegetarians. Our excursions were tailored to our interests. We absolutely loved walking through the bush learning about the flora and fauna close up - but animal sightings will be much more limited than “on safari”.

This was an amazing experience but would only be suitable if you are comfortable camping (very comfortably in the bush) and walking." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"A highlight of our trip (our many trips!)"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2022
"“Did you see the leopard passing the road?” asks our guide and owner B. We are on our first walking safari short time after arriving in Mundulea Camp. Previously, on the way to the camp, I just reassured my wife “no visitors have ever seen cats [leopard, loon and cheetah] in this area, it should be quite safe. Fortunately, the second argument I gave for undertaking this adventure still holds “They cannot run a business if tourists are eaten all the time”. After our new leopard information, we keep a tighter formation walking one by one in the dense bush and no one really wanted to be the last person in the row?

We are in Mundulea Private Reserve together with our host the owner and expert guide B. He established this 120 km2 large reserve some 20 yrs ago in 2001. It borders Otavi Mountains. When we look around, we see bush and mountain savannah with dolomite ridges spanning the landscape. We are in the central area of Namibia receiving most rainfall at approx. 300 ml / year. The water can’t escape but forms sink holes, steep gorges and underground caverns, when it disappears into the ground. Near a big fig tree, Bruno points out depressions and crevasses in the ground caused by water erosion.

We walk for about 2-3 hours, and the colors get increasingly more impressive; khaki, brown, orange, and sand as the sun disappears behind the mountain peak to the west of us. Just before we reach the camp again 3 hours later, we see a very large eland bull, the alpha animal marking his territory. An impressive sight. Also, his heard drinking from the waterhole just outside the camp. Finally, back in the camp after the first of what turns out to be a row of wonderful walking safaris, we settle around the fireplace with G&T´s. Animal sounds 360 degrees around us. Enchanting.

Our camp has the outline of a “kraal”; a fence of wooden sticks provide some protection against predators during night. We have a simple – bur fully adequate – tent with mosquito nets and an open bathroom. We check the floor for snakes and scorpions, whenever we step out of your bed or enters the open heaven bathroom. We place our shoes on hangers under the roof and keep our bags on tables zipped up all time. Nevertheless, we fell safe in this small paradise. Or as B. expressed it “Don´t mind all the sounds during the night, you are safe in your tent”. Later we learned that Bruno always sleeps outside his tent on the veranda.

B. and his assistant prepare all meals over open fire. We enjoy them on beautiful homemade DIY wooden tables and chairs, placed under a green canvas roof in the shade of a big tree.

We do two daily walks and realize B. is an extraordinary source of nature information. He literally knows all about plants, animals, insects, minerals, landscaping etc. He is involved in multiple research projects and nature activities and researchers join him from all over the world. We – the tourists – are just a way to produce income for the conservation project.

We walk around for up to 5 hours for each trip. Any animal, bird, track tree, scrub, and B. will know the name and all information behind. E.g., he gave us a 20 mins lecture on termites. And yes, it was interesting from beginning to end. Herbivore, carnivore or omnivore? Droppings: Dung or cast?

In the hours in the camp between walking, we had the most interesting conversations with B. and the four other guests around the fire and dining table. A highlight of our trip so far – actually - of all our many trips to Africa, among others five to Namibia." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Antony
Auckland

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"My personal highlight (the others found it quite tiring and would only walk once per day but still enjoyed themselves) - a simply incredible camp and one of my most memorable travel experiences.

Sitting on top of one of the escarpments, Mundulea stretches all the way to the horizon and you and your guide Bruno are the only humans there (apart from the cook who turns out simple but delicious food cooked over the open fire). One very large leopard would, by his tracks, sit outside the camp and watch us toast marshmallows which may be intimidating! Bruno explained his (the leopards) behaviour though and assured us we wouldn't be on the menu.

This is a place that will stay with me forever. Bruno is an incredibly interesting guide. Every day we would set off for two walks of varying length. As we walked Bruno would pick out tracks, pluck leaves from bushes or spot some creature or bird. We would simply follow animal tracks and walk, seemingly, at random. Occasionally Bruno would ask you to point where the camp was - almost impossible task but he knows exactly where you are at all times.

The reserve is HUGE though. One day we walked to visit a tree which Bruno had only ever seen from the air (!) which gives you an idea of how vast it is. One sadness - the kids really hoped to meet a Pangolin but, despite finding many signs of them, they were too shy to say hello. We did encounter many Black-faced Impala though which are very rare and Bruno managed to establish a breeding population which is now very healthy.

An immensely knowledgable guide, Bruno can extemporise for hours on geology, botany or early hominids as easily as he can discourse about animal behaviour. He is also very curious - he asked us a lot of questions about Aotearoa New Zealand and he seems to be adding to his store of knowledge every day.

This place is for people who are fit and prepared for a lot of walking but I cannot recommend Mundulea highly enough." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

D & P
Lavenham

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"Back to basics, no frills but a great experience with owner Bruno, who is so knowledgeable and takes the time to show and explain.

We were lucky to be the only guests during our three night stay so had exclusive access to guide.

Walking in the reserve made a pleasant change from driving as we were right there with the animals. Also time for birding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

P and V
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2022
"An unforgettable experience very well introduced and described by Expert Africa. Bruno runs a quite unique operation which whilst not quite his life’s work felt like it could be. The two of us roamed far and wide on his reserve and his expert knowledge was shared in the right dosage throughout. Beyond the basic experience and introduction to the rewilding project, he is a fascinating and engaging character on subjects personal and general, just as well given the intimate and intense nature of the stay here. I imagine even very experienced travellers to Africa would acknowledge this to be “something different”.

The ratings below need to be read in context. There are no communications, no swimming pool, rooms are all you need but no more and the food exceeded what you could expect a bush camp. We were delighted with all but I am applying the same scale as for a regular high end lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs V
York

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"Staying at Mundulea was both a very enjoyable and enriching experience, enabling us to immerse ourselves within a truly remarkable regeneration project.

It is a rustic, ecologically sound and minimum impact camp that brings you up close to nature, a counter point to the other camps and lodges we had experienced. No safari drives, just walks , but not without its creature comforts at the end of the day such as hot showers, flushing loos and hot water bottles.

Our host, Bruno Nebe, owner, an exceptional guide and first class cook, is a mine of information and intriguing anecdotes drawn from across a wide range of subjects. Great conversationalist." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms B
Arizona

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"A very special place to explore on foot. The camp was created to blend with the environment. The special touches and design are nice.

Sitting in the blinds and watching wildlife behavior was one of the best experiences of our trip. Bruno was wonderful in sharing his preserve with us on daily hikes. He is very knowledgeable. He shared his extensive experiences with us and provided a view into the world of managing preserves. The staff are very helpful and took great care of us." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2022
"Mundulea is a truly authentic bush camp

Bruno is the passionate , highly knowledgable , owner and guide who taught us so much about the bush through the guided walks that we did with him .

He also cooked delicious meals from the bush kitchen - the oven is a modified fire extinguisher that sits on hot coals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 82
99%
82 reviews of Mundulea Reserve by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (412 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

A convenient stop between Etosha and Windhoek,.Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (38 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (36 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


82% (12 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa