This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm

Reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ghaub Guest Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ghaub Guest Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Eland

33% success

Oryx

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Beautiful grounds at Gaub"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2018
"Very comfortable accommodation, set in lovely grounds with a nice pool.

The rooms are big and airy and the veranda outside was an ideal place to sit, relax and watch the plentiful birdlife." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Warm feeling at Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"We felt really welcome by all staff after our exhausting drive from Windhoek to Ghaub to arrive in time before sunset.
The warm welcome at the farm made it extra special.

As we arrived late and only were there for one night we could not enjoy any activities or facilities like the swimming pool. " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D.
Egham

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"A very relaxing place in a great location. It had originally been a mission station and evidence of some of the history is still present. The rooms are in separate buildings and date from this time with very high ceilings.

Previous reviews had mentioned a helpful manager, but the ownership changed around 18 months ago and the Farm is now part of a larger organisation and this may be impacting the service a bit. We received a very brief greeting and no information about activities etc.

The local staff all tried very hard, especially in the restaurant but organisation was lacking. The food in the restaurant is good but there is a lot of it and it can be quite heavy. I don't think many people managed to finish what they were given!

We found a brochure in the office so realised there were Rhino drives and mentioned booking one the next morning. However had we not looked for it I don't think anything would have been mentioned. The guide was quite inexperienced but we saw Rhino and a number of other animals.

Overall our stay was fine and it is a nice place to relax" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Wallington
UK

"Beautiful location"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"A very friendly welcome. I've forgotten the name of the manager, but a lovely man.

We liked the option of Namibian food at breakfast.

Unfortunately it rained heavily during our one night stay so we were unable to walk the bush trails that we had been looking forward to." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Comfortable and enjoyable stopover"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"Ghaub Guest farm is an interesting and comfortable place to stay. There was a very relaxed atmosphere and meals were nice. The local staff were all very friendly, helpful and clearly proud of the place.

The old building and rooms give a nice feel to the farm and the bedroom was well fitted out. Many birds were flying around the grounds which were amazingly green after seeing the rest of the country.

As we only had one night enroute to Bushmanland we didn't partake of the activities,the cave or seeing the rhino. Not much game was seen around the farm.

Overall a delightful and recommended place for a stopover in the region." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"A great place to see Rhino"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2016
"This farm has recently changed hands, and the new owner has introduced more game onto the farm. This was a truly magnificent place to visit, its reminiscent of the old colonial days and really takes you back in time.

The lodges are spacious and very well equipped, and well within walking distance to the hide and water hole. The staff were excellent, and the food fantastic.

Its certainly a place I would return to, its so peaceful and tranquil ,and set in some truly wonderful surroundings. During our stay there were no activities on offer, but I would recommend two nights here." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"We only stayed here because Sabina thought we would otherwise have a very long drive. We were so glad we did, what a really delightfully place, we could have happily stayed 3 nights.

The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated in the old mission school rooms. Everything one could want was thought of the scenery and gardens are beautiful with a super pool and the gardens full of flowers and colourful trees. The manager who has been there 17 years is a real treasure, he was informative cheerful and helpful. The food was delicious and the wine good.

We were bowled over by the whole place. Fascinating history and great birds and walks. really would love to visit again." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Ghaub Guest Farm is lovely"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"A lovely place to break a journey. Very peaceful, great host." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
ian
UK

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2014
"Staff really great and friendly.

Cave experience was really worthwhile and enjoyable albeit a challenge" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"Superb accommodation. Peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The farm trip we chose to do was good for the 1st half - very informative and interesting. Then the 2nd half was basically an extremely bumpy uncomfortable drive back and of no real interest.

We had 2 evening meals, one of which was excellent and the other was one of the worst meals we have ever had!!!!!!." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 34
90%
34 reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
15
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa