This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs Y. from Lisserbroek

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 13 Oct 2018 and 4 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thanks for all help, suggestions and fast follow up, even when we had some challenges the night before we left Amsterdam due to flight changes the next day from Johannesburg to Windhoek.

Great you were thinking along how to beat that challenge and giving alternatives for accommodation if we could not make it to our first stop. Thanks Tracy!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Inform your guests esp if they are used to safaris in other countries than Botswana, eg South Africa that the experience can be different. Im not talking about the game viewing which is obvious off course but the experience in the lodges. In South Africa you often for the same amount of money get more value (luxury, guest experience)"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Warm feeling at Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"We felt really welcome by all staff after our exhausting drive from Windhoek to Ghaub to arrive in time before sunset.
The warm welcome at the farm made it extra special.

As we arrived late and only were there for one night we could not enjoy any activities or facilities like the swimming pool."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Safari Lodge

"Great boat trip at Taranga"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"We were the only guest at the lodge so it felt sometimes a bit inconvenient with all staff working for you. Staff was really nice and polite and did their utmost to give us a great feeling. Special thanks for the surprise at our tent for our anniversary and my husbands birthday (champagne)

Boat trip was really nice and esp as the local people are also at the river, fishing, washing, kids having fun. so more than wild life. saw lots of birding.

small tip;
- Welcome by the receptionist; she was very friendly, summarized all important details of the lodge, then brought us outside on the you do (guest experience) and had no authenticity."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Special people @ a special place in Nxamaseri"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Very nice lodge and welcome. somehow difficult the find the right spot at the road where you are picked up although the guide was standing next to it, we were looking for a sign. There is one, but difficult to read (somehow vague letters). We would like to suggest to have a more clear sign and on both sites of the road.

Special compliments for our guide, Mr P (we called him Mr Ooievaar, he knows - as he wanted to know the word stork in Dutch) who was very passionate. Showed us the redbilled stork by getting out the boat and go around slowly to see if we could get a better view. Furthermore showed us the fish eagle hunting by preparing a fish for him and throwing it in the water and last but not least told a lot about the people and their habits and culture which was so nice to hear and experience (making necklace from a water lily which the local people do when people get married etc). We went also with mokoro's with him.

thank you to the team for the champagne for our anniversary!

the only thing we regret but that's the season we travelled in is the lack of water, so we had to go by car to the edge of the river and only a few minutes by boat to the lodge. This means the local people also are working in the area which we could hear (trucks, building activities, their cows etc) so this doesn't give the feeling of being on an island, nice and peaceful and being in the bush."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Luxury at Nwambw Tented Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"Excellent tents, very luxurious. Great food and staff.

special thanks to Eustace, great ranger/ guide thought us much about his culture besides the wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"Overall warm feelings for all staff. esp in the lodge itself. Recommend the long day offered starting with a long drive (one hour) on tar road to Chobe to have the boat trip (not comfortable in an open car but worthwhile once you get there) and after that proceed your way back through Chobe NP.

The evening drives in the surrounding of the lodge were a bit disappointing, turning to the main road and via a turn back to the camp.

A tip, the guide /ranger was very young (forgot his name unfortunately) and impulsive. Fast driving over the dirt roads in Chobe, not using the gear in a proper way. Busy with other things like his mobile instead of looking for animals.

Wildlife seen during our stay and mentioned below were at Chobe so not on the premises of Muchenje"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Nostalgia at Vic Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"Great hospitality in an old English setting. All staff were so friendly. They really know what guest experience is all about.

Great help organising the helicopter flight over the falls and some other questions we had.

Special thanks for the surprise for our anniversary (free cocktail and massage)!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"Great atmosphere. Great staff.

Special thanks to our ranger/guide (Spencer) with his great stories and unbelievable energy. He has some great stories and anecdotes. Esp ask him about Howard, the croc if you ever visit this camp.

long game drives (5 hours each) maybe for some guest (we liked it) too long. one afternoon gamedrive a surprise with a white linnen bar set up in the middle of nowhere to have our sundowners. Nice surprise!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Great time at Lebala, felt like home. "

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Again great staff, singing all the time, made us feel special. Esp at our last evening they performed dances and said goodbye from the hart.

At night we found little animals on our cushions as a present.

Also here a very good ranger/ guide Bate and his tracker. Good game viewing.

Nice surprise at one of the afternoon game drives was the sundowner in the bush, a bar set up in the middle of nowhere!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"The ultimate experience at Splash Camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Brand new camp with great staff for a great experience, overlooking the waterhole where plenty of game passes along.

Special thanks to all kitchen staff for the delicious food, our birthday and anniversary chocolate cake! Special for us was the dinner in front of camp in the bush, esp the ending, so having coffee at the main area as we had a visitor (elephant)

Also special thanks to the one and only guide Tom and his tracker KB, they tracked wild dogs for us which was highly on our Wishlist. Furthermore they have a good sense of humour and extensive knowledge.

A lot of activities to do, walking safaris, mokoro trip, 'normal' safari, boat rides etc. Not in the list of animals below but seen the Pels Fishing Owl a rare sighting.

And a visit of an huge elephant to our tent while sitting on our balcony he was enjoying his food from the tree next to us and followed his path to the main building scaring other people on their way for the afternoon drive. :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Sleeping under the stars at Camp Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"At Camp Kalahari the staff was again very friendly like at other places we travelled. Be aware it can be really hot, our max was 47 degrees C. At night it cools of. We were there beginning of November so almost the rain season so the heat was building up. Last night we did have lots of wind ending in a sand storm during the game drive.

We mentioned that we preferred a double bed and although it cannot be guaranteed (which we understand) we were surprised to get at tent appointed while the camp was not full with two beds and next to a building area as some weeks before another tent was destroyed because of a sandstorm. This is not really a good guest experience/feeling. That first evening we stayed in the dessert. When arriving back the next morning I asked if we could change from tent due to the fact there was only one other couple in camp so there were more tents with double beds (and it was our anniversary) plus I don't want to be in a surrounding seeing the place where a tent was destroyed (last I did not mentioned). It was no problem at all to change tents so the staff solved it very well, but I would not have done this in the first place.

In the final tent appointed our fan was broken, first they came to fix it provisionally with the promises they will fix it once we were on game drive. They never did. I would suggest just take the whole fan out directly, put another in (there were no guests in camp besides us and another couple) and fix it somewhere else.

The swimming pool could not be used due to the elephants that came in camp the whole day and made one mess and dirt pool of it. Too bad and disappointed guests esp as it was so hot during the 3 days we were there where between the activities you have lots of time to relax.

A special memory is the meet & great with the San people. They really taught us what is important to survive and more about their habits and culture.

Last but not least the Meerkat encounter was nice.

What we experienced as maybe too much is the games during the quads drive. It is good to explain that your mind can play tricks on you once blindfolded but not the whole group has to do it. We are on safari and not on a teambuilding event. Two or three persons to show what is happening once you lost eye sight or your coordination is enough to get the message."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team