This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

230 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

52% success

Cheetah

42% success

Wild dog

56% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

96% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

85% success

Sable antelope

64% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Roan antelope

60% success

Brown Hyena

21% success

Aardvark

4% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 230
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Calgary

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2021
"Lagoon is amazing.

There were more elephants seen on the first game drive, than on my entire first trip to Botswana.

The camp feels like.......comfortable elegance. Love the indoor and outdoor showers. Communal spaces were welcoming.

Hippos were always out front, and quite often munching on grass next to your tent at night. (Caution light sleepers).

The concession is amazingly beautiful, and was very green with recent rains.

My guide and tracker, Matt and Vincent, were great." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2021
"Very spacious tent, which although rustic had everything we needed.

First trip out after tea we saw spotted hyenas, three adults and two pups. We spent 25 minutes with them while they played/socialised near their den. It was such a beautiful experience with just our vehicle there. This was is what we wanted, this private concession prevents a mass gathering of vehicles.

We were fortunate to see a leopard up a tree eating an impala another priceless viewing. The only animal we did not see, that was on our pick list, was a sable. Saw our first ever bat eared foxes and honey badgers, the latter did not provide a photo opportunity.

Great to see so many bee eaters, carmine, and white fronted in addition to the often seen little ones. Yellow billed kites, wattled crane, purple and goliath herons and grey headed kingfisher. Hippos were quite lively at the end of a boat trip, which was a warning for future excursions on our holiday.

Food here in the evening was average, lunches tend to be better with a top afternoon tea you never go hungry." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr A
St Albans

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2021
"We really enjoyed our time at Lagoon Camp. The individual thatched huts are well appointed and comfortable and the common areas were similarly comfortable. The plunge pool was particularly welcome in the heat of the early afternoon.

The activities kept us busy most of the day. The boat trip is very worthwhile for a change of scenery but remember your hat!

The staff were helpful and our guide, Poster Rico, and tracker, KD, very knowledgeable and successful in tracking animals, including leopard and wild dogs." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2021
"Met at the airstrip with beautifully displayed afternoon tea, offered choice of a game drive or going to see room. Game drive of course!

Part of our trip was sharing a car with another couple and part we were on our own. Elvis was very good at showing and talking about most things we saw not just chasing predators.

We were lucky enough to see the courtship dance of a Red Crested Korhaan a nondescript little brown bird until it displayed it’s Red Crest 💖

Lots of warthogs, Wildebeest, giraffe, hippo, elephants, a genet, secretary bird, mongoose, civet , Egyptian geese and fish eagle. A family of elephants had apparently recently lost a baby to lions. They were unhappy when we drove near them, a couple of the females chased us away." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2021
"We had some great wildlife encounters here. Our guide and tracker were superb. The guide was very knowledgeable and was very good about giving us a full picture of what we were seeing and why, from animal behavior to the general environment.

Staffing was not quite as efficient at this camp, there were some minor deficiencies. Nothing major at all. I mention this only because Kwando Safaris moves staff around among their various camps and the manager while we were at Lagoon had been there only a month. She seemed to be feeling her way. It could have been simply because she was new, either to a managerial position or this particular camp with unfamiliar staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

G and P
Montana

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2021
"We had an outstanding stay at Lagoon. This was the first camp of our trip and a great way to kick things off.

It was amazing to watch our guide and tracker go to work, reading the tracks at the waterhole, determining where the animals had gone and, then, not long after, finding them in their element! Our guide and tracker at this camp were truly incredible — so much so that we will request them for our future trips to Botswana. They really made our experience memorable as we were just learning so much all the time about the wildlife, the vegetation, and the history of Botswana.

The camp staff was incredibly welcoming and we were blown away by the size of the chalet. Many COVID protocols were in place, such as taking temperatures and wearing masks. We felt very safe, especially since all activities are open air." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms C
Montana

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2021
"Three nights at Lagoon Camp was just about right - two nights would have been too short a visit. The setting right on the river is fantastic - I really enjoyed watching the elephants across the river, and one afternoon on a game drive, we parked to wait for a large herd to cross the river. What a spectacle! Lagoon Camp seemed a little less spruce than Kwara Camp, but I believe Kwara Camp had recently been renovated.

Our guide and tracker here were fantastic, as really all of our guides were on the whole trip. They tracked down four male lions trying to get at a warthog in its burrow. The lions then all paused, and started to walk away. Our tracker thought he'd heard a buffalo in distress, so we tracked the male lions, and found 4 females trying to bring down the buffalo. Again, the guides at Lagoon knew birds, to my delight.

The boat ride at Lagoon was relaxing, but there was less to see along the river here than on boat rides at Kwara and Setari. No crocodiles, for example, and oddly not many birds. But seeing birds and animals is partly luck." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

M & Mrs G
Harrogate

"A brilliant introduction to safaris"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"Our room, No. 1, was excellent. We loved the through draught and the visiting elephant and baby to our window.

The lodge staff were all fantastic; Lizzie was in charge, so friendlyn and welcoming. Moss called us to dinner in an unforgettable and uniique fashion. I will treasure her smile." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr F
Dalston

"Best wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2019
"Good-sized en-suite tent with great views over Kwando river.
Friendly staff at the camp.
Expert guide and spotter.
During our stay here we saw the highest concentrations and greatest variety of wildlife on our trip.
Morning and afternoon game drives were long, which made brunch a relaxed affair but left very little time before dinner.
Kwando river was too shallow for boat cruises." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round and spectacular setting overlooking the lagoon, fed by the Kwando river.

Staff at Camp were especially warm and welcoming, creating a very pleasing ambience and the Kwando formula of driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives worked very well and made for some very interesting sightings. In particular, on one drive, the team tracked wild dogs for 3 hours before finally locating the pack resting by the river. Their patience and persistence was truly impressive. On another occasion, similar teamwork resulted in an encounter with 2 male cheetahs. The guides in different vehicles communicated well with each other, alerting and directing their colleagues to interesting sightings.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. There were opportunities to fish from the lagoon directly from the deck in Camp as well as from the Camp's boat. Because of the unprecedented dry conditions, the boat was moored some distance from Camp but we were given the opportunity to undertake a boat safari which provided some wonderful bird sightings and a fresh perspective on the location.

We also stayed at the sister camp in this concession (Lebala) which was equally as impressive but quite different in character with its setting within open grassland. The opportunity to experience both locations back to back made for an interesting and varied programme and we felt it maximised the wildlife viewing opportunities in the concession, although of course, nothing is guaranteed." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 230
95%
230 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
185
33
8
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (178 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (48 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa