This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

252 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 51 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

69% success

Cheetah

43% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

94% success

Buffalo

82% success

Spotted Hyena

57% success

Sable antelope

51% success

Roan antelope

41% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

4% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 1-10 of 252
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Edinburgh

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2022
"Lagoon Camp was excellent in every way. It was not entirely full at the time, perhaps less than half full.

It has a lovely position on the edge of the lagoon and a lovely feeling of being out in the wilds of Africa with no one else around. Away from the lagoon the countryside is quite bushy.

We had an excellent chalet, the food was excellent, the laundry was done very well and the staff were efficient and charming.

There was not a huge volume of wildlife, no large herds or groups, and few animals came down to the lagoon to drink, at least in the vicinity of the Camp. But there was a very good variety and the sightings we had were absolutely superb -- the stand-outs were a leopard and cub on a kill, lions drinking at the lagoon, wild dogs resting, magnificent male kudu and hundreds of carmine bee-eaters at their nests in the bank of the lagoon.

The guide and tracker were very good indeed. Altogether it was a wonderful three days." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Anivers
New Hampshire

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2022
"Lagoon Camp was a rock and roll epic! Spencer is a legendary driver and we were fortunate enough to get his truck. We saw leopards, lions, cheetahs, hyenas, hippos, a huge herd of African buffalo, and a multitude of antelopes, baboons, and birds. The sights were breathtaking and the pace was extremely fast. The cabin was elegant and spacious - immediately adjacent to the river with hippo sounds all night long. We would go back to Lagoon Camp in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr Rox
Cairns city

"Gets better with every visit"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2022
"This is our second trip to Lagoon and it is our favourite lodge.

We experienced an amazing array of wildlife and thoroughly enjoyed the stories (which are a mixture of myth and truth) as well as the extraordinary skills of our guide Spencer. He known the inside thinking of the animals and we just loved it.

The food is very good and the staff attentive to all needs. The setting of the lodge by the Kwando River allowed us to view hippo, lechwe, all manner of birdlife as well as elephants crossing the river from the Lodge itself. Fishing was offered and we saw bream and catfish being caught.

Amongst our sightings were multiple leopards (including a group of three), sable, roan and oribi antelope, honey badger, multiple wild dog sightings as well as all the usual animals." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"Lighting in sitting area very poor. But lovely spacious room. Were in room 5 - would not have liked having to walk much further as the sandy path was hard work and would have been further from the pool which again I used each day.

Enjoyed the boat trip. Had one disappointing morning when we saw nothing but heard that we could have seen what the others saw - leopard cubs etc. Clearly poor communication. However the next day we were given a surprise lunch on the boat and returned to camp that way which was very special.

That morning we saw a record number of species totalling 21 including 4 large bird species + 2 extra sights in the afternoon so a truly bumper day. We made sure the guide knew this and congratulated him." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Trish & Peter
Nairn

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"The overall condition of the camp was excellent. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. It was maintained this way throughout our stay. It was quite wasn’t quite a plush as Kwara but there wasn’t much in it.

The location on the Kwando River was spectacular. I thought the view from central camp was breathtaking with Elephants regularly wading in the water on the bend of the river. Sitting on the river boat, with drinks and snacks laid out on the front and the sun going down felt totally unreal.

Once again there was a worry about laundering silk, once again I explained how to care for it (treat like cotton) but although they washed it, it came back un-ironed. I found this worry about silk a little odd as all the travel books suggest that along with cotton and linen, silk is a recommended material to wear to keep cool and I chose it, not for any fashion reason, but because it is a natural fibre and the one that I find the coolest to wear.

The food was excellent. A great selection and all very tasty. Once again, I loved the fresh made hot porridge cooked on the fire each morning and of course, that African blue cheese, plus another that has dried Cranberries. Totally delicious.

Once again, the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and remembered all our needs.
I was encourage to have my first outdoor shower here and this became a ‘must’ thereafter.

Our guide was Ricco and our Tracker was James. Another amazing pair in their ability and efforts to find the wildlife. We quickly built up a great rapport with them and had many jokes passing back and forth.

After sneezing and joking that he was allergic to Lions……..we were parked by several at this point, this became the ‘saying’ between the four of us anytime anyone sneezed. It will remain as an ‘in joke’ with Peter and I. I will forever see the pair of them disappearing off into the bush following Pangolin tracks. We had a brief thought about hiding behind the vehicle so that it looked empty when they came back but safety took the lead here. However, we told them we had thought of this and all had a good laugh. Another departure from camp that was like leaving family and home. We all hugged at the airstrip again.
A great place.

The Little Extras that were appreciated at this camp:
Cold towels and a welcoming drink on all arrivals at camp.
The personalised bottle for water.
Good sanitation care from our guides.
The decorative towels on the bed on arrival.
The pretty beaded animals left on our pillows on the last night. These will be also be added to our Christmas tree as a memento of our visit.

The down side:
This may seem a little picky given we were in the Botswana bush but the pathway to and from central camp was a nightmare to walk. At all the other camps the pathways had been ‘flattened’ or covered. Here at Lagoon it was soft loose sand. By the time I had gone one way, anything on my feet and lower legs was black and the irritation on my feet was unpleasant. As we were in a room at the far end, this walk became quite a trial especially in the afternoon heat.

The rooms here are closer together than Kwara and other camps. It was possible to overlook each other’s bed area and although we talked in hushed voices so as not to be heard, other guests did not and this disturbed the overall peace of the place. Only two public loos here for both male and female and there was often a queue when it was time to depart on an activity. Perhaps this was because of the discomfort of walking back to a room on soft sand." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

J & J
York

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"Great accommodation. All staff very helpful and friendly. Guide Vasco, tracker Freddie really helped us see many birds as we had requested. Full of other interesting information" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Wild Dogs at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"The Kwando reserve is renowned for its Wild Dogs and we had booked this and its sister Lebala Camp to maximise our chances of seeing these amazing and endangered predators.

To our astonishment a pack of 8 showed up on our very first afternoon. We were privileged to watch their ritual greeting before they set off on a hunt. We spent our next few days tracking their whereabouts and this was a great thrill. There was plenty of other predator action too.

The Red Lechwe were spectacular when they leapt across the shallow water areas to escape the Lions of the Holly Pride. We saw Leopard too. Our more unusual sightings included Aardwolf, Wild Cat, Eland, Sable Antelope and Honey Badger.

The lodge has very spacious bedrooms overlooking the Kwando River. One afternoon a mother and baby Elephant passed right in front of our front window. We recommend the double deck boat trip in the evening to pass Hippos and Elephants as well as Carmine Bee-eaters.

Great guiding from KB and his tracker Vincent." See all these reviews: 19n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2022
"Accommodation, food, service , game drives and boat trip all excellent.

Guide G (or Gee) and tracker James also excellent.

Nick really enjoyed being close to the hippos and their gentle noise at night!" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Lagoon Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2022
"Great location and the accommodation was of a very high standard. Sadly, the food was not to the same standard and the Vegetarian option lacked imagination.

On a more positive note both the guide and spotter were very good and worked very hard to ensure we enjoyed our time at Lagoon camp. Besides game drives you can also spend time on the river which we both enjoyed.

We were very fortunate to witness a pride of lions feasting on a buffalo kill and on a last morning drive saw Wild dogs, Cheetahs, Leopard and Lions. If that was not enough a herd of elephant’s were enjoying a drink by the river. Some morning!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs TM
Utah, USA

"A great setting with abundant sightings"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2022
"We had some wonderful sightings and memorable experiences at Lagoon Camp.

Guide (Ike) and tracker (James) were both very good - even amazing.

The "tents" are huge! The camp is in an excellent setting." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 252
95%
252 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
204
34
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (188 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (48 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


97% (21 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (14 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa