This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

266 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 63 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

52% success

Wild dog

54% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

84% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Sable antelope

53% success

Roan antelope

41% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

4% success

Showing 1-10 of 266
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2024
"In 2016, on our first trip to Africa, we stayed at Little Kwara Camp in the Okavango Delta, and we have been big fans of Kwando Safaris ever since. Back then, Kwando owned just 6 camps in Botswana, and as a result of merging with another company and also opening genuinely new camps of their own there are now 12 camps with No. 13 to be opened this summer.

Anyway, given our affection for Kwando, we decided to visit three of their camps this year, starting with Lagoon. Like Lebala (see next section), this camp is located in the vast Kwando concession just north of the Okavango Delta. Like Lebala, this camp is at or near the Kwando River, which forms the border to Namibia and its Mudumu and Nkasa & Rupara National Parks.

The room they gave us a Lagoon was spectacular, very spacious and furnished in classic safari style, with a nice view overlooking the Kwando River. Around mid day, several elephants would show up to drink. On one afternoon, a lioness visited the camp as well and inspected our tent very carefully. Unfortunately, I was out on a game drive, but my wife who skipped this one, told me all about it.

On the first game drive we only saw two giraffes, and I thought this was probably the most boring game drive we ever had. Anyway, things started to get much better after this initial disappointment. We had several encounters with two resident male lions who roamed the area and occasionally roared during the night. They were named Golden Boy and Rrabelante (Mr. Belt, because at one point he wore a radio collar). On one morning, Golden Boy was lying 3 m from our vehicle and started roaring. My wife made a video of him and then played it back. Rrabelante who was sleeping 15 m away from the car was alerted to the roaring lion, got up, tried to locate the roaring lion and looked at us in the car. But our guide Stan told Ingrid immediately to stop playing back the video. But this enabled me to get some stunning photographs of the irritated lion in a nice perspective.

Other than that, we saw two cheetah brothers, but they were just lazing around, and on the last morning when Stan, our guide, drove us towards Lebala Camp, we met the lioness again who visited our tent, and she was cavorting with Golden Boy, less then a kilometer from the camp. Due to the early morning light I was able to shoot some beautiful pictures.

It should be mentioned that Lagoon Camp has a reputation for reliable wild dog sightings, but on this visit they were nowhere to be seen.

Our guide Stan could give amazing and fascinating lectures about the wildlife as well as trees and plants, and he didn’t appear to be lecturing." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe; 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Miss K
Kent

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2023
"I have been to Lagoon several times.

The water levels were exceptionally low for this time of year, but game sightings, both predator and general game, were still good.

The team are as friendly and welcoming as ever." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Edinburgh

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2023
"I do not have time to write an overview. However I was VERY pleased with ALL 3 of Kwando's camps and would recommend them to anyone." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2023
"The staff were excellent, courteous and efficient.

The game team were very knowledgable. There was less water in the lagoon as rains from Angola had been poor. This did reduce the volume and breadth of game we saw despite the best efforts of the team. The night drives revealed some unusual species.

Accommodation and catering was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2023
"Lagoon has an excellent location on a channel off the Kwando River. There was enough water (in September) to attract hippos, many elephants and other animals that we were able to watch from our very comfortable tent during the midday siesta. The game drives were very eventful with highlights including two cheetah brothers; roan and sable, and rare sightings of an aardwolf and bat eared fox. Our guide, Stan was very informative, especially about the ecology of termite mounds which are a very common and interesting feature of the landscape. Thanks also to Vincent for his excellent tracking.

The staff were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the well presented meals, especially our anniversary meal after the long journey from the UK." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs G.
Egham

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2023
"Lagoon Camp was the first camp on our visit to Botswana. By the second day we had seen examples of almost all of the wildlife we expected to see on the entire trip! The camp itself is older than some, but the rooms are large and appointed with everything required. The outdoor deck at the entrance to the room overlooked the river and this was a great place to sit in the 'free' afternoons. A variety of animals and birds visited each day, including at one lunch time a lion dragging a kill away from the river in full view of the camp.

We joined our guide on a drive straight off the plane having flown from London overnight so we didn't see the camp until after dark but the welcome was still very special. Service was excellent and we were looked after really well by the staff. The manager realised early on that I have a disability and moved us to a room close to the main area of the camp and also arranged for this to happen at the next camp we visited. Food was good and served with many songs!

The guides and trackers are keen to find what you would like to see and this led to many off track experiences. More than at the other two camps we visited. A highlight was seeing the Sable Antelope, which I requested from our guide on day 1! Almost overtaken by seeing three Civet's during the night drives. Overall a very enjoyable stay" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr and Mrs B
Herts

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"Our visit to Lagoon camp had to be re-arranged owing to the loss of power beacause of a generator breakdown. And we only were able to stay 2 days rather than 3 because of a backlog of guests. But the 2 days we had there were excellent.

It was a very pleasant camp, lovely staff a super guide and tracker. The game viewing was terrific. We saw lots of leopards, lion and elephant.

A highlight was seeing a pack of wild dogs for the first time." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr. M & Ms. C
Seattle

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2023
"Lagoon Camp is in a truly spectacular setting on the river; you can watch hippos swimming and sunbathing, elephants drinking and splashing, baboons playing, lechwa grazing, and a crocodile lounging all from the balcony of your room (or from the shared pool)!

The tents were luxurious and felt more like a high-end resort suite than a tent, with a huge wall of mesh that allowed us to watch animals from the comfort of our bed or claw foot bathtub. The tent was extremely spacious and well laid-out.

Everything we ate was very tasty and there were always plenty of options for me as a vegetarian (the chef even made me an entire veg lasagna when everyone else was being served a meat one). We were served food from a variety of cuisines and never had the same meal twice.

All the camp staff were fantastic—kind and welcoming and ready to go above and beyond to ensure an amazing stay. When they found out we were on our honeymoon from another guest (we hadn’t provided that information in advance), they set up a surprise private dinner in our room on our final night, complete with a song and dance performance, a beautifully decorated table and bed, champagne, and a candlelit walkway to a bubble bath. It was super thoughtful and memorable.

The animal viewing at Lagoon Camp was fantastic. The wild dogs aren’t currently denning in the area so while the camp is known for its wild dog sightings, we were actually able to see them here, but everything else was amazing. Lots of diversity and density of animals—we saw new things every day and a lot of them! Highlights included closely following two cheetah brothers for around 30 minutes and spotting a leopard on our way to the airport.

We were less wowed by the motor boat ride in the lagoon/river and didn’t learn until later that we shouldn’t have expected to see many big animals along the way and that the hippos submerge themselves before you can get very close to them. It was very nice for a boat ride and there were lots of birds and beautiful landscapes along the way, but if you’re more interested in the big game, we’d recommend sticking to the game drives." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Hobart

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2023
"A truly fabulous camp with outstanding guides and trackers. We had exceptional wildlife sightings, among our best ever. We would go back in a heartbeat. The staff really made this camp feel like home and were genuinely friendly and caring. This camp was everything we were looking for." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Kent

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2023
"Superb experience at Lagoon, encompassing location and quality of accommodation with expertise of guides, high standards of food and attention to detail in service. Animal viewing was highly configured to our niche tastes, and success in finding aardwolf, pangolin and wild dog was beyond our hopes.

Astonishing calibre of head chef, with the highest quality and variability of vegetarian food as well; afternoon tea showcased incredible baking capabilities too. Well structured days with sensible siesta time, and configurable activities.

Private surprise dinner on final night for my 50th was exceptionally plotted and delivered!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 266
95%
266 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
216
36
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (196 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (52 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (27 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (2 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa