This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

223 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

45% success

Cheetah

45% success

Wild dog

65% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Zebra

95% success

Buffalo

85% success

Spotted Hyena

68% success

Sable antelope

61% success

Roan antelope

53% success

Brown Hyena

24% success

Aardvark

5% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 223
Duration
Arrival date
M & Mrs G
Harrogate

"A brilliant introduction to safaris"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"Our room, No. 1, was excellent. We loved the through draught and the visiting elephant and baby to our window.

The lodge staff were all fantastic; Lizzie was in charge, so friendlyn and welcoming. Moss called us to dinner in an unforgettable and uniique fashion. I will treasure her smile." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr F
Dalston

"Best wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2019
"Good-sized en-suite tent with great views over Kwando river.
Friendly staff at the camp.
Expert guide and spotter.
During our stay here we saw the highest concentrations and greatest variety of wildlife on our trip.
Morning and afternoon game drives were long, which made brunch a relaxed affair but left very little time before dinner.
Kwando river was too shallow for boat cruises." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round and spectacular setting overlooking the lagoon, fed by the Kwando river.

Staff at Camp were especially warm and welcoming, creating a very pleasing ambience and the Kwando formula of driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives worked very well and made for some very interesting sightings. In particular, on one drive, the team tracked wild dogs for 3 hours before finally locating the pack resting by the river. Their patience and persistence was truly impressive. On another occasion, similar teamwork resulted in an encounter with 2 male cheetahs. The guides in different vehicles communicated well with each other, alerting and directing their colleagues to interesting sightings.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. There were opportunities to fish from the lagoon directly from the deck in Camp as well as from the Camp's boat. Because of the unprecedented dry conditions, the boat was moored some distance from Camp but we were given the opportunity to undertake a boat safari which provided some wonderful bird sightings and a fresh perspective on the location.

We also stayed at the sister camp in this concession (Lebala) which was equally as impressive but quite different in character with its setting within open grassland. The opportunity to experience both locations back to back made for an interesting and varied programme and we felt it maximised the wildlife viewing opportunities in the concession, although of course, nothing is guaranteed." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Oxon

"Exellent stay at Laggon camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"We had 3 nights at Lagoon camp, where we had sightings of lion, cheetah and wild dogs. Also a glimpse of a civet and honey badger and 2 bush babies.

I almost stepped on a black scorpion on my back to the tent at night, saved by the prompt warning from our guide, Gee.

One night we had a most impressive storm, and next morning the camp was running as normal, The boat trip was great, so close to such very large elephants!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Mitchell
Weybridge

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Beautiful setting with luxurious accommodation" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R.
Wadhurst

"Lagoon Camp best location of the 4 visited"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"Superb location with the spacious chalets all right on the river bank overlooking the river and wetlands. We heard hippos in the river at night and saw them during the day together with elephants. Whilst we saw lion, cheetahs etc., game viewing was not as prolific as others had reported, perhaps due to it apparently being the 2nd year of drought, nor did we see anything significant at night. The river cruise was enjoyable for its peace and tranquillity and bird life but the high point of our 2-night stay was 2 sightings of a pair of cheetahs passing through the camps concession. Of the 4 camps we visited, this was one of 3 that had trackers as well as guides and we found having a tracker considerably enhanced the experience.

Food average, with meat a challenge but vegetable items good. The absence of mosquitos was welcome. The chalet had socket outlets for both a variety of worldwide plug types and also S. African 3 round pin plugs as well as USB plugs. By taking a UK plug to S. African round pin socket adapter, we were able to simultaneously utilise these 2 sockets to charge 2 gadgets. Able to get a Namibian phone signal." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mick
San Clemente

"Excellent Guides & Animal Encounters"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2019
"We stayed at Splash Camp for 3 days 1st & now 3 days to stay at Lagoon Camp. We had such a great experience in our 1st ever safari at Splash Camp we really had no expectations here at Lagoon Camp. This Camp is right on the water & the days (Aug. 6th) were just starting to get hot, so being close to water this felt a lot cooler for us right away. The rooms at the Camp were fantastic, lots of room to spread out & views along the river. The overall camp facilities are a bit dated & some maintance needed, i.e.all the tiles from pool missing, but we had the most volume of animals in close conditions here. Our experiences from watching large pride of lions get into position to hunt Cape Buffilo, to tracking a leopard for nearly an hour that finally roars at us & runs away to following Wild Dog pack line up trotting military style & narrowly missing antelope. Night drive disclosed young lions trying to figure out how to get a porcupine over without getting stuck. All the time we are mere feet away watching the events unfold. We had no idea it could be even better then we already experienced at our 1st safari. Even more close sights & large volumes of pride, herd, packs every type of animal except Rhino, but none of us were disappointed didn't see this 1 animal. So much to see in river rides & land safari's. Cannot say enough good things about the service and people running the camp. The encounters & especially the guides Gee & PD were amazing at tracking & positioning vehicles right in the middle of all the action. Many times it was only the 4 of us, along with our 2 guides." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Libertyville

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"We had to fly from Kasane to reach this camp. Due to a last-minute cancellation we were the only passengers for this 1-hour flight.

Unfortunately, we only spent 2 nights at this camp. The views of the river in front of our room were superb. There was a full charging station in the room, which included 2 Usb outlets and we were able to charge all our devices at the same time. The rooms were huge and very well appointed and food was excellent. We had early morning game drives starting after an early breakfast (sitting around the campfire) and returning for a full breakfast. After our last camp, it was nice to have some time to ourselves before tea and the afternoon game drive at 4pm. We enjoyed just sitting on our balcony and watching an elephant feeding on the river bank right in front of our room. He eventually swam over to our side of the river to continue grazing. Hippos were also in plain view, going in and out of the water.

The highlight of this trip was finding a pride of lions feeding on a roan antelope. In all there were 2 males, 2 females and 7 cubs all competing for the spoils. We sat there for ages just taking it all in. The next day, we went back to the same location so the new arrivals could also experience this sight. This was the only camp where we had a tracker in addition to the guide. On day 2 we followed lion tracks for a couple of hours without success, but did see a huge herd of buffalo. Unfortunately, we did not see any wild dogs as they were apparently denning.

We stopped by the river (with hippos) for sundowners and to watch the sunset. A full bar had been put out on a table, again an unexpected surprise. Driving back to camp at night was uneventful. The nights were very noisy with the sounds of hippos in the river.

Again, a wonderful experience with no negatives." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Beautiful riverside Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Lagoon is as always a wonderful camp with lovely, friendly, helpful staff, noisy hippos, good food and again the personal touches which make it so special. Nothing is too much trouble.

As our trip was a special celebration, one evening we returned to find a card and present on the bed and at dinner some of the staff appeared singing “Happy Birthday” and carrying a delicious, decorated cake with candles. It was a wonderful surprise and much appreciated.

Again we had some amazing sightings both during the day and at night when spot-lighting thanks to some excellent work by both the guide and the tracker. Among the highlights were the tracking down of two cheetah brothers, as well as sightings of sable, roan and porcupine." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr and Mrs R.
London

"Lagoon Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"The situation and the facilities are magnificent. Better than both Little Vumbura and Gomoti.

But, food and service very poor.
Breakfast before a drive: porridge and cereal and sponge cakes. No proper orange juice. No cheese. No fruit. (Although i did get some cheese and fruit by asking for it; but why not put it out.) No eggs. No meat, cold or hot (bacon). (But they did produce specially strong coffee for the Notts every day after we had asked for stronger on the first morning.)
Lunch unimaginative and again only boring fruit: apples.
Dinner very poor and dull food. e g overly spiced lentil soup followed by dry tasteless roast chicken underdone carrots and tinned peas . No choice.
Very hot Mexican soup followed by shredded beef ( dry and tasteless ) cold stir fried broccoli, cold stuffed gem squash . Inedible bullet like chocolate donut to finish. No choice of wine unless one asked for it. Service, particularly of wine, incredibly slow.

We had a torch in our room. It didn't work. And when we went to the management they said "It's a wind up torch". But no-one had explained this to us (and we left the torch as we were about go on a drive and it did not get back to the room).

I suspect a combination of not enough staff and no proper management of the staff that were there.

Night drives are a waste of time unless you are a fanatic. In all our trips, we saw half a civet, half a hare, and a black backed jackal. And we saw the jackal in daylight which was much more use.

We did have a wonderful sighting of lion cubs with Spencer and James.

The other guides spent far too much time talking on the radio turned up very loud. Much of what was said appeared to be either repetitive or idle chatter or both, and it was very distracting and off putting. Radio transmissions should be kept to a minimum and when made should be as brief as possible.

Problems of communication. Language was a problem. They did not have a good grasp of Enlish. One example only. We asked the camp to get their office in Maun to reserve us seats on a booked BA fllight as we could not do it ourselves as there is no wifi. We gave them all the details to allow them to access the BA website and told them to do so after 7.20 pm on the day we handed the details over as we could not reserve seats earlier without paying. First they came back about 6 pm and said we had to pay. Then, when we again explained they had to do it after 7.20, they went off and, in effect, never came back. We did eventually get our flight details paper back but not reservation.

For sighting details see my separate e-mail." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Terrible
Showing 1-10 of 223
95%
223 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
179
32
8
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa