This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp

Reviews of Zarafa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zarafa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zarafa Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
So. California

"Our favorite stay"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"We LOVED our guide "Coupe", we LOVED our room, and we loved the couple that shared the vehicle with us.

This was our favorite lodge of the trip. The breakfast out in the wild was incredible. The bubble bath and private dinner for our anniversary was so special, a memory of a lifetime. We saw giraffes mating, we saw an enormously wide variety of antelope and birds, we saw prides of lions. There could not be a better guide nor tracker than Coupe.

Our only suggested improvements for this camp have to do with food. The dinner under the stars had us sitting in a row, instead of facing each other. It was strange. And we would have wished for some light snacks in our room. Otherwise, everything was incredible.

We would definitely return to this luxurious and small camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms & Mr P
USA

"Luxury Glamping in the Bush"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Our experience at Zarafa was nothing short of magical! My husband and I loved the intimate nature of the camp, which boasts just four "tents" and allowed us to feel as though we had been welcomed into the home of our most delightful and gracious hosts, Saskia and David. Both went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable, and we thoroughly enjoyed their company; sharing our daily experiences and shooting the breeze around the campfire and dining table was such a treat! Additionally, all of the staff at Zarafa are incredibly accommodating; no ask is too small!

Game drives with our expert safari guide, Pete, were fantastic! He went out of his way to ensure we were able to complete another spotting of the big 5 and obtain incredible photographs. During the duration of our stay, we had sightings of several different animals--too many to mention them all--but we did have an incredible encounter with a leopard and no fewer than 40 elephants around a water hole!

On our last full day, Pete took us on a full day game drive, starting well before the crack of dawn and ending well after sunset (talk about stamina, patience, and a passion for game!), and, along with other members of the fantastic staff, surprised us with a several course lunch in the bush. What a day! But it did not end there, for when we returned, our lovely hosts and their incredible staff had drawn a hot bath for us that was followed by private dinner served to us in our tent--a brilliant and romantic end to the day!

Every meal at Zarafa is out-of-this-world delicious and high-end restaurant worthy. You can tell that an incredible amount of time and thought is given to the menu, which is extremely varied and flavorful!

Our "tent" was extremely luxurious and spacious, with a comfortable seating area that was perfect for relaxing mid-day when not on a drive, a delightful bed, and a bathroom featuring a stunning copper soaking tub. We shouldn't neglect to mention the copper gas heaters, which were extremely useful when warming up the tent in the evenings and mornings!

It is not a question of if we will be back to Zarafa, but merely when!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr T
Weybridge

"Outstanding experience, up close and personal"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"Very small exclusive camp. Stunning water front position. Hippos and Elephants wandering close by, very close by.

A very intimate experience - like a very special house party. Fabulous food - passionate young chef.

We visited a lioness with several young cubs - watched her play with them - so self satisfied - a very proud lioness.

On the last night we were taken into the bush for a BBQ. Such attention to detail.

A wonderful place." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Wow! Didn't want to leave even after 5 days!"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2016
"This camp is something like, "Out of Africa"! Everything and everyone we met were perfect! This camp has got absolutely everything right. The staff at the camp from the top down were all professional, charming, knowledgable and felt like friends when it came time for us to leave!

Motts, our guide, was outstanding. He was an amazing tracker, host, and guide and he shared experiences with us we have never had before, and probably never will again. We will always remember the double buffalo kill, mother and a calf by the two male brother lions on our last night. The adrenalin flowed while we witnessed the chase, the kill and the sadness under a full moon. We stayed for several hours in very low light watching the brothers at work. The story continued the next morning when the whole pride, including young cubs came to feed. We even saw several lions cross the water to get to the kill.

Motts showed us so much, leopards, cheetah, roan, which we'd never seen before, lions, ........... And the list went on.

Life at the camp was fabulous. The setting is stunning and there was always a large variety of animals a birds visiting outside the main viewing deck. Lots of action in the camp as well with elephants walking through, destroying the odd tree and a Marshall eagle sitting with it's prey, a slender mongoose, in one of the camp trees.

The food was out of this world. Hermann, the chef, created healthy, colourful, varied meals which were always outstanding, and food you'd expect to experience in a top city restaurant!

Our host Willem, apologies if I've spelt it incorrectly, was charming, enthusiastic and great to talk and spend time with. He has a great outlook and life and runs a very happy camp. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

This camp, although expensive, was well worth the money. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The Great Plains Consevation company that hold this concession are doing a phenomable job!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Zarafa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Beautiful camp,awesome food,very good guide.
We had a wonderful stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"Perfection"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2015
"Somewhere the minute you arrive you are already planning how you can return.

Just stunning in every aspect, location, design,wildlife viewing and staff. Exceptional knowledge and great company from our guide Lets. You could just stay in camp all day and watch the scenery and elephants passing by but there are boat trips at sunset to be taken and wild dogs to follow. The rooms may be very impressive but they still manage to keep a bush feel. Hippos and hyena calls surround you at night.

A great variety of delicious food and the choice of joining in for laughs at the dinner table or having a romantic private meal for two." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Belgium

"Zarafa Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"Amaizing service in overall. You feel at home.

The food is also gorgeous, thanks for the chef for being so inventive!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Can life get any better?"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Absolutely fantastic. All the same comments apply as with Vumbura.

[Ed: their comments were: "A wonderful camp with fantastic rooms and amazing views in the heart of the bush. Brilliant management team, guides, staff and hippos that definitely went bump in the night! We can't praise it enough."]

A special mention about our guide Dux. What a larger than life character and we loved him.

Probably the best guide we ever had and certainly the most fun." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Middlesex

"Zarafa spectacular!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"An amazing place to end a trip.

Sheer luxury in the bush - but without ever feeling that this lodge had lost touch with its purpose of providing a real safari adventure. Zarafa has a strong emphasis on the environment with solar panels providing the majority of the electricity. But this was in all respects an A* experience.

Tess and Stuart are young but committed, expert (naturalists by training) and delightful hosts.

The camp is well-run; nothing seems to be too much trouble and there is greater flexibility here, given the small number of tents, to do whatever you like, whenever you like. The facilities are outstanding with indoor shower and bath plus a dramatic outside shower (sourced from a Parisian house of ill-repute!) overlooking the lagoon: the nearest to safely bathing with hippos you could ask for. A particularly nice touch is the loan of a camera with 100-400mm lens plus CD download to take home.

Chef Comfort deserves the first Botswana Michelin star - unbeatable quality and presentation. The lodge site gives you dining with incredible views over the lagoon where hippos and elephants frolick. We even saw wild dogs from the deck. Some of the game viewing was superb (although on occasion we did have to search which may have been a result of the exceptional flood waters). Steve, our guide, was enthusiastic and eagle-eyed." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms G
Loughton

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2010
"Zerafa camp is relaxed and peaceful which helps bring you back down to earth after seeing all the wonderful animals and birds on the drives.

When travelling in July and the Expert Africa agent says 'it will be cold in the morning' believe her, its true. What was handy was the camp had a laptop so I could download images from my camera as I had run out of memory; they then burned a CD for me so I could clear the memory chip and take lots more shots.

There were so many highlights, like seeing cheetahs, leopards and lions all on one drive or one night getting jabbed in the ribs for snoring when it was the hippos grunting outside our tent. One of the best was stopping on an afternoon drive to have Gin and Tonics by the lagoon and watch the stunning sunsets." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
100%
13 reviews of Zarafa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa