This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp

Reviews of Zarafa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zarafa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zarafa Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

83% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2021
"A very small camp (4 tents) with only one other group visiting. Again very welcoming staff bending over backwards to make us happy.

The wildlife was more sparse here than at the other camps but this was offset by the presence of a large pride of lions with 4 month old cubs which was spectacular to watch and video. The birding was also excellent.

Our guide Donald was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy sharing his knowledge with us." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr J.
Washington DC

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2021
"This was our last camp and far and away our best experience. The team at Zarafa really make you feel special. The attention to details and willingness to do anything to accommodate and make you more comfortable was clearly present. We stayed in the Family Suite (Dhow suite) and were completely separate from the main camp. We had our own private chef and guide each day.

With our own chef, we were presented nearly anything we wanted. He would make suggestions and make it happen. The food was delicious and plentiful. He made a hot breakfast for us in the bush one morning. How fun to sit at a table with white linens in the bush....truly pampered. We never ate dinner in our room at the same place. One evening, dinner was on the lower deck, another by the fire pit where my wife and I shared wine each evening, another was next to the pool, and the last on the top deck just outside our living room. Even our 15 and 16 year old girls loved the food.

Being in Botswana in June/July is cold and often into low to mid 40's every night. It was nice to have a gas fire place in our room to turn on in the middle of the night when the temps started to really drop. The room was very nice. It's hard to believe you're in a tent with the lovely wood planked floors, recessed lighting along the walls, lovely furniture fitting of the locale. In between the rooms was our living room that overlooked a sunset flood plain with hippo, elephant, warthogs, baboons and red lechwe right outside our room nearly every day.

Game drives were outstanding. Our guide, Name (short for his Botswana name), was amazing. He found so many things that we didn't see at our other camps. Having already seen all the other main predators at the other camps, we really wanted to see leopards. Another Zarafa guide found an impala hanging in a tree and we sub sequentially arrived to find the leopard that put it there. She was beautiful to watch. We saw her even climb back up the tree to eat and rest. On our last day, we spotted a male leopard and Name tracked him through the thick mopane trees and watched him steal his warthog kill from a very large hyena that had stolen it from him earlier and climb into a mopane tree to secure his food (very exciting).

We were having a great time and didn't want to leave. We splurged and Frank (Zafara's manager) helped us cancel two flights, arrange a private transfer from Selinda to Gaborone the following day , and were able to spend an additional day at Zarafa. This was truly an extraordinary experience and feel privileged and grateful to have met the team at Zarafa allowing them to take such good care of us. Would strongly recommend this camp to anyone." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr F
Amsterdam

"Zarafa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 May 2021
"What an amazing camp. The wildlife sightings were slightly disappointing as the grasses were still very tall as a result of abundant summer rainfall. After 3 rather fruitless gamedrives a good talk with the guide and camp manager resulted in a different approach more focussing on a relaxing stay and taking pressure of the guide. Sure enough the ensuing walking safari, expected to be an just an educational walk, resulted in a classic sighting scenario: baboons calling, impalas fleeing, giraffes running followed by three lionesses scouting the area: priceless.

Zarafa has a real homey feel to it, small scale, ultra comfortable, excellent service. Camp managers Alexandra and Ron made us feel like staying at their private residence, more like B&B owners than managers. Always in for a chat, always there to see us off and welcome us back. The strong point of Zarafa is the ability to totally personalize your stay, hang out with fellow guests or do everything in your own space. We could pick our favorite wines from the extensive cellar and Ron even organized a winetasting for us.

Their commitment to guests was truly above and beyond. We were very sad to leave Zarafa and found it the perfect end to a remarkable journey through Botswana." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs M.
Amsterdam

"Zarafa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 May 2021
"And then the highlight of our trip: Zarafa Holland Camp. As we had already found out that the general managers, Ron and Alexandra, had met each other during their Hotel School Training Years in Holland, the reception was a bit like homecoming - old friends, long time no see!!!!! And being the only Relais et Chateaux, expectations were high. And yes, although the food and drinks were very good in all previous camps, here it was just a notch better.
Apotheosis was our last evening after the drive, somewhere in the midle of nowhere, to see lights hanging in the trees around a big campfire and the barbeque already lit with the Chef busy with the preparations for our diner, and accompanied by dancing and singing from the staff. a truly fairy-like scene. (With a real toilet hidden in the bush)" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs M
So. California

"Our favorite stay"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"We LOVED our guide "Coupe", we LOVED our room, and we loved the couple that shared the vehicle with us.

This was our favorite lodge of the trip. The breakfast out in the wild was incredible. The bubble bath and private dinner for our anniversary was so special, a memory of a lifetime. We saw giraffes mating, we saw an enormously wide variety of antelope and birds, we saw prides of lions. There could not be a better guide nor tracker than Coupe.

Our only suggested improvements for this camp have to do with food. The dinner under the stars had us sitting in a row, instead of facing each other. It was strange. And we would have wished for some light snacks in our room. Otherwise, everything was incredible.

We would definitely return to this luxurious and small camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms & Mr P
USA

"Luxury Glamping in the Bush"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Our experience at Zarafa was nothing short of magical! My husband and I loved the intimate nature of the camp, which boasts just four "tents" and allowed us to feel as though we had been welcomed into the home of our most delightful and gracious hosts, Saskia and David. Both went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable, and we thoroughly enjoyed their company; sharing our daily experiences and shooting the breeze around the campfire and dining table was such a treat! Additionally, all of the staff at Zarafa are incredibly accommodating; no ask is too small!

Game drives with our expert safari guide, Pete, were fantastic! He went out of his way to ensure we were able to complete another spotting of the big 5 and obtain incredible photographs. During the duration of our stay, we had sightings of several different animals--too many to mention them all--but we did have an incredible encounter with a leopard and no fewer than 40 elephants around a water hole!

On our last full day, Pete took us on a full day game drive, starting well before the crack of dawn and ending well after sunset (talk about stamina, patience, and a passion for game!), and, along with other members of the fantastic staff, surprised us with a several course lunch in the bush. What a day! But it did not end there, for when we returned, our lovely hosts and their incredible staff had drawn a hot bath for us that was followed by private dinner served to us in our tent--a brilliant and romantic end to the day!

Every meal at Zarafa is out-of-this-world delicious and high-end restaurant worthy. You can tell that an incredible amount of time and thought is given to the menu, which is extremely varied and flavorful!

Our "tent" was extremely luxurious and spacious, with a comfortable seating area that was perfect for relaxing mid-day when not on a drive, a delightful bed, and a bathroom featuring a stunning copper soaking tub. We shouldn't neglect to mention the copper gas heaters, which were extremely useful when warming up the tent in the evenings and mornings!

It is not a question of if we will be back to Zarafa, but merely when!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr T
Weybridge

"Outstanding experience, up close and personal"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"Very small exclusive camp. Stunning water front position. Hippos and Elephants wandering close by, very close by.

A very intimate experience - like a very special house party. Fabulous food - passionate young chef.

We visited a lioness with several young cubs - watched her play with them - so self satisfied - a very proud lioness.

On the last night we were taken into the bush for a BBQ. Such attention to detail.

A wonderful place." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Wow! Didn't want to leave even after 5 days!"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2016
"This camp is something like, "Out of Africa"! Everything and everyone we met were perfect! This camp has got absolutely everything right. The staff at the camp from the top down were all professional, charming, knowledgable and felt like friends when it came time for us to leave!

Motts, our guide, was outstanding. He was an amazing tracker, host, and guide and he shared experiences with us we have never had before, and probably never will again. We will always remember the double buffalo kill, mother and a calf by the two male brother lions on our last night. The adrenalin flowed while we witnessed the chase, the kill and the sadness under a full moon. We stayed for several hours in very low light watching the brothers at work. The story continued the next morning when the whole pride, including young cubs came to feed. We even saw several lions cross the water to get to the kill.

Motts showed us so much, leopards, cheetah, roan, which we'd never seen before, lions, ........... And the list went on.

Life at the camp was fabulous. The setting is stunning and there was always a large variety of animals a birds visiting outside the main viewing deck. Lots of action in the camp as well with elephants walking through, destroying the odd tree and a Marshall eagle sitting with it's prey, a slender mongoose, in one of the camp trees.

The food was out of this world. Hermann, the chef, created healthy, colourful, varied meals which were always outstanding, and food you'd expect to experience in a top city restaurant!

Our host Willem, apologies if I've spelt it incorrectly, was charming, enthusiastic and great to talk and spend time with. He has a great outlook and life and runs a very happy camp. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

This camp, although expensive, was well worth the money. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The Great Plains Consevation company that hold this concession are doing a phenomable job!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Zarafa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Beautiful camp,awesome food,very good guide.
We had a wonderful stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"Perfection"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2015
"Somewhere the minute you arrive you are already planning how you can return.

Just stunning in every aspect, location, design,wildlife viewing and staff. Exceptional knowledge and great company from our guide Lets. You could just stay in camp all day and watch the scenery and elephants passing by but there are boat trips at sunset to be taken and wild dogs to follow. The rooms may be very impressive but they still manage to keep a bush feel. Hippos and hyena calls surround you at night.

A great variety of delicious food and the choice of joining in for laughs at the dinner table or having a romantic private meal for two." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
100%
17 reviews of Zarafa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa