This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp


18°32’12.2"S 23°29’6.8"E

Reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Explorers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Explorers Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

63% success

Cheetah

38% success

Wild dog

63% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Buffalo

75% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Roan antelope

63% success

Sable antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
A & K
Cambridge

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2022
"Another superb experience at this camp - again from the off. We had a charming welcome from managers Tseppo & Chantal (?).

Tents are comfortable and again well equipped, though the fans don’t have much effect when temps soar to the mid-30s! Frequent cold showers were very welcome!

Information on the camp is a bit outdated - no more bucket showers and they do take laundry. Plus there are charging points (slow) in the tent but a charging area in the main communal area is better for faster charging of camera batteries, phones etc. Also, wifi in the tents.

Food is delightful – though menus were ‘affected’ by the presence of a Michelin starred chef as one of the guests – who couldn’t resist getting involved in dinner prep in the kitchens (which was a real treat – staff seemed to enjoy his presence too) Again, the ability to order from a choice of main meals (usually meat or fish/vegetarian) was appreciated.

Probably best game viewing of the camps though only marginally – Serval (in daylight!), multiple Lion sightings, Elephants, Wild Dogs, and Leopard plus some good night spotting on drive back to camp – Civet, Spring Hare & a Verreaux’s Eagle Owl devouring a lizard! Another nice touch - only 3 vehicles are allowed at a sighting at any one time – we sense the welfare of animals is taken seriously here.

Sticht proved a diligent and persistent guide in pursuing game and (eventually) birds alike. His knowledge of birds was good but not outstanding - but made up for it by his ability to spot them.

Selinda ais a very chilled camp - you can help yourself to drinks if staff not around. It seemed a very happy camp with lots of laughter in the kitchens. Waiting staff were charming and delightful. There is flexibility on meal timings. And you don’t have to sit communally if that’s your preference.

Overall, a fabulous camp to stay at." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs C
Edinburgh

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"My wife and I had been to Selinda Explorers before, some four years ago. We had enjoyed it so much we wanted to make a return visit. It was well worth it.

We travelled there from Lebala by road, again changing vehicles at the "border", which was much better than flying. The Camp has a wonderful location beside the Selinda Spillway. It is small, with only four tents, and has a marvellous atmosphere. We have loved the Linyanti area ever since our first safari in Botswana sixteen years ago; it is wild and open Africa in a nutshell.

Again everything about it was excellent, the tent itself, which now has running water (and so no more bucket showers), the laundry service (which was not there last time and, unusually for Botswana, will take all underwear), the food and the general care and attention. The staff were very friendly, charming and helpful. Once again the Camp was not full. It was explained that October is always a quiet month and that November was going to be busier but it seems that Botswana tourism has not yet fully recovered from the pandemic.

The scenery was varied and very attractive and so was the wildlife. Some of it was very dry and there was a sense that the rains were not far away. They do not use a tracker but our female guide (Oratile, Rati for short) was excellent. There was plenty of plains game and some lovely birds, including a very handsome sub-adult martial eagle.

The highlight was a superb male leopard, who was plainly on the prowl hoping to find some prey. We followed him for quite a while but he was out of luck and in the end just lay down to rest and, like any cat, pretended he really didn't care." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Selinda Explorers Camp on the Spillway"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Not as luxurious as Selinda Camp has now become, but nonetheless really good.

The atmosphere at Selinda Explorers was delightful and we appreciated the camp’s friendly staff. Lovely position on the scenic Selinda Spillway.

One morning on our drive out we were treated to Spotted Hyena frolicking in the water, bathed in orange light. We also saw a male Cheetah a male Leopard and four of a coalition of male Lions. Parks was a great guide and we were able to watch Lionesses hunting too. After dark we were very fortunate to see a pack of Wild Dogs on a kill, with puppies present.

It would be remiss not to comment on the delicious lunches prepared for us by Chef Mike. He and Chantal were very attentive to dietary requirements." See all these reviews: 19n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs and Mrs C.
London

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2022
"We arrived late at Selinda Explorers because we missed our Mack flight from Kwara but the manager and guide were excellent at accommodating the change in plans and laying on an evening game drive from the airstrip to camp.

Selinda Explorers is a charming small tented camp where service is all and it is like stepping back in time and being at one with nature. Once again the guiding was excellent and Parks our guide deserves a special mention.

The food was excellent and the surprise outdoor lunch on our last day in the most beautiful of settings was outstanding." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2022
"Fabulous camp in the Selinda Spillway. Very professionally run by an excellent team of friendly knowledgeable people. We were so well looked after -felt like royalty !

Food very good indeed.

We liked the fact that breakfast is taken out on the morning drive to be eaten somewhere special in the bush. This meant we didn't have to come back to camp until 1130/12 depending on sightings.

We had 6 lions walk through camp one morning - a really special sighting.

Tents very comfortable. We were fortunate in having our guide to ourselves for our whole stay. This enabled us to choose our own itinerary ,sit and watch birds at waterholes for unlimited time.

We had a very special bush breakfast cooked by Otti the head chef - memories are made of this. Loved flying in and out of the camp - the scenery from the air is magnificent. You realise how vast the wilderness.

We really hope to return again and see the area at a different time of year, when more of the Spillway is full." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"A hint of colonial north african charm"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Comfort and style are at the heart of this small and intimate camp. The staff were fabulous and the manager, Doctor, was in league of his own.

We couldn't fault this camp; we felt at home from the moment we arrived and didn't want to leave. Our guide Tips was so knowledgeable and a we felt very lucky to have spent our time with him. His skill in tracking a pair of cheetahs on a kill were exceptional and something we didn't expect to see.

We can't rate this camp or the overall experience highly enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"Small camp with rustic feeling. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.

Because the area was very dry, we were not offered any water activities but game viewing was very good.
Our guide, Oats is really knowledgeable. It was so good to listen to his talk about animal's behavior.

Staff were very friendly. Food was very good. Bush lunch and special Botswana style dinner were memorable experiences.
We love sociable atmosphere of this camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr K
Tonbridge

"selinda explorers"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"For our last four night we stayed at Selinda explorers. Back to tents, back to a bush experience. We shared our guide, Oats, with another couple, and Oats made sure we were all happy all the time, that is not an easy task.

He showed us masses of wild life, wild dogs every day, lions, elephant, zebra, buffalo, hyena all on a back drop of rivers and grasses, sunsets and trees. The environment is beautiful, huge! Photographing elephants and zebra in long yellow grass, young leopards stalking and wild dogs hunting is a photographers heaven.

We shared our experience with nice company, the chef provides such variety and choice it is amazing, and delicious and plentiful. We were on our own the last night in camp and the camp staff organised a candle lit dinner, outside our tent, for a special end to our safari. If you are looking for a bush experience that isn't drop loos and bucket showers, but totally authentic then this is for you.

We are already trying to work out when can we go back….." See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"Great camp to end our Botswana safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"A great camp to end our Botswana safari.

Again, great staff, good food, outstanding guides, wonderful safari/game viewing experiences and we really enjoyed the canoe trips and extended walking safari's." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Couldn't walk but did enjoy"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"Unfortunately we couldn't do out planned walking due to my ankle injury (see last camp), so I think we missed some of the best of this camp.

It is beautiful - very much a luxury antique camp. The service goes with the setting and is faultless! The food is good, but (and this a very personal view) I'd stop trying so hard - don't try to replicate restaurant food.

I'm rating the rooms 'good' because the lack of a drop-down mosquito net over the bed did result in picking up some bites as we slept. The tent is simply too big to effectively keep bugs out with zip doors (there can be access somewhere you cannot see) and I had insects as large as cicadas inside despite careful control on the zips! I don't think a net over the bed would be out of keeping with the ethos, so I recommended this as an option.

The location is miles from anywhere. For me that is an attraction - if you want easy access and wifi, this is not a camp for you! The facilities include hot water in the old fashioned manner for morning ablutions, but there is an 'always on' shower (alas, bucket showers are rare commodities nowadays).

The game drives were a 50/50 for us. On the one hand, I saw a pangolin!!! This was amazing. Our guide was excellent and we really enjoyed the drives. However, there is a habit here of all vehicles going to the 'sight of the day'. I know this gave us the pangolin (so hard to complain), but the tracking experience and thrill of finding things is rather lost. Even in so large a concession, we were all going to the same places. Next time I would unhook from the 'Let's go see...' group-think.

I wish we had been able to walk because I think that would change the experience significantly." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
97%
22 reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


95% (252 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (188 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


96% (49 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (14 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa