This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp


18°32’12.2"S 23°29’6.8"E

Reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Explorers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Explorers Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"A hint of colonial north african charm"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Comfort and style are at the heart of this small and intimate camp. The staff were fabulous and the manager, Doctor, was in league of his own.

We couldn't fault this camp; we felt at home from the moment we arrived and didn't want to leave. Our guide Tips was so knowledgeable and a we felt very lucky to have spent our time with him. His skill in tracking a pair of cheetahs on a kill were exceptional and something we didn't expect to see.

We can't rate this camp or the overall experience highly enough. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"Small camp with rustic feeling. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.

Because the area was very dry, we were not offered any water activities but game viewing was very good.
Our guide, Oats is really knowledgeable. It was so good to listen to his talk about animal's behavior.

Staff were very friendly. Food was very good. Bush lunch and special Botswana style dinner were memorable experiences.
We love sociable atmosphere of this camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr K
Tonbridge

"selinda explorers"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"For our last four night we stayed at Selinda explorers. Back to tents, back to a bush experience. We shared our guide, Oats, with another couple, and Oats made sure we were all happy all the time, that is not an easy task.

He showed us masses of wild life, wild dogs every day, lions, elephant, zebra, buffalo, hyena all on a back drop of rivers and grasses, sunsets and trees. The environment is beautiful, huge! Photographing elephants and zebra in long yellow grass, young leopards stalking and wild dogs hunting is a photographers heaven.

We shared our experience with nice company, the chef provides such variety and choice it is amazing, and delicious and plentiful. We were on our own the last night in camp and the camp staff organised a candle lit dinner, outside our tent, for a special end to our safari. If you are looking for a bush experience that isn't drop loos and bucket showers, but totally authentic then this is for you.

We are already trying to work out when can we go back….." See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"Great camp to end our Botswana safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"A great camp to end our Botswana safari.

Again, great staff, good food, outstanding guides, wonderful safari/game viewing experiences and we really enjoyed the canoe trips and extended walking safari's. " See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Couldn't walk but did enjoy"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"Unfortunately we couldn't do out planned walking due to my ankle injury (see last camp), so I think we missed some of the best of this camp.

It is beautiful - very much a luxury antique camp. The service goes with the setting and is faultless! The food is good, but (and this a very personal view) I'd stop trying so hard - don't try to replicate restaurant food.

I'm rating the rooms 'good' because the lack of a drop-down mosquito net over the bed did result in picking up some bites as we slept. The tent is simply too big to effectively keep bugs out with zip doors (there can be access somewhere you cannot see) and I had insects as large as cicadas inside despite careful control on the zips! I don't think a net over the bed would be out of keeping with the ethos, so I recommended this as an option.

The location is miles from anywhere. For me that is an attraction - if you want easy access and wifi, this is not a camp for you! The facilities include hot water in the old fashioned manner for morning ablutions, but there is an 'always on' shower (alas, bucket showers are rare commodities nowadays).

The game drives were a 50/50 for us. On the one hand, I saw a pangolin!!! This was amazing. Our guide was excellent and we really enjoyed the drives. However, there is a habit here of all vehicles going to the 'sight of the day'. I know this gave us the pangolin (so hard to complain), but the tracking experience and thrill of finding things is rather lost. Even in so large a concession, we were all going to the same places. Next time I would unhook from the 'Let's go see...' group-think.

I wish we had been able to walk because I think that would change the experience significantly. " See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Inverness

"Selinda Explorers camp feedback"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Extremely welcoming, hospitable, friendly and efficient staff who made us feel very welcome.

The camp manages to combine luxury with a feeling of being an integral part of the land and wildlife." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Second visit to Selinda Explorers"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"Selinda Explorers is unique in many ways. First of all, the camp is located along the beautiful Selinda Spillway. Second, the design of the camp, the management, and the guides are excellent.

Based upon two visits, first in August 2016 and again in August 2017, the wildlife viewing has been the best we have experienced. It's not the quantity, but the quality.

When we arrived, our excellent guide, Parks, was concerned that the resident lions had departed to follow the cape buffalo who migrate through the region. We knew that there is always a risk that the wildlife you hope to see will have moved to another area. Well, we told him to cheer up and went on to explain that we possessed “Bush Luck”. Wherever we travel in the African bush, the wildlife is attracted to us. Sure enough, as we were returning to camp in the failing evening light my wife called “there they are!” The lions were moving through the bush parallel to our vehicle. They had returned. The Selinda Pride, as they are known are among the most beautiful lions in Africa. They have a reputation throughout Botswana as the strongest and most successful pride. They are Buffalo hunters. They hunt as a large team. Last year they were twenty-one strong. In 2017 there were fifteen due to the departure of six adult females that had moved to populate other areas. Over the next two days, the Selinda Pride were to provide some memorable experiences.

The following morning as we drove along the river we witnessed the pride at play. They would chase each other in and out of the water playing like huge powerful kittens! The guide explained that their play was how they built stamina, agility, speed and balance that they would later use in their hunting. We had only seen lions swim once before, in Zambia. It was quite a sight.
We have learned to sit and wait, sometimes for hours, in order to see special behavior. There was another couple with us in the vehicle who wanted to go back to camp for a midday siesta, so we dropped them off and returned to wait while the lion pride rested through the hot afternoon. Sure enough, in late afternoon they awoke and after a drink positioned themselves for the evening’s hunt. As we watched, a large male giraffe wandered into their zone and the hunt was on. The lions crept into position through the tall grass. Their planned strategy was to have the largest female attack the giraffe head-on, leap up at the giraffe’s throat and hang on while the others attacked from the sides. What we witnessed gave us a new appreciation for giraffes. We learned a male giraffe can deliver a lethal kick, so lions dare not attack from the rear. We also learned that giraffes are not stupid. They know the lions’ strategy. The old male positioned a thick bush between himself and the lead lion so she couldn’t get a clean run at him. The hours passed and as darkness fell the standoff continued. Eventually we learned he had made his escape.

As we were moving to our vehicle the following morning our guide excitedly pushed us to get in then raced less than a hundred yards to where the lions had killed a warthog that had been hanging around our camp. We learned they had paraded through our camp as we were rising at 5:30. Warthog for breakfast, then we followed as they returned to the river for another round of playtime by the water.

Later that day we were driving when we encountered a large lioness with three beautiful cubs. The guide explained that the mother had hidden the cubs for safety in the woodland for several weeks. She had decided it was time to reintroduce them to their pride. It was a long hot march and we followed them for several miles. By lunchtime they completed the hike and were reunited. Lions are very social cats. Leopards, and tigers and cheetahs are solitary, but lions rely on a social structure in their pride which is remarkable.

We were also fortunate to again see the rare and endangered African Painted dogs. After visiting a den site with twelve adults and fifteen young puppies, the pack raced off on their early evening hunt. Our guide took off after them in the vehicle -- crashing through the brush — racing across streams — winding over hill and dale with my wife calling “Tally Ho!” as we raced in pursuit. Again we were rewarded with a rare sighting of four of the dogs taking down a male antelope. Unlike lions, the painted dogs almost never miss. Their speed and their ability to run long distances gives them the advantage. Remarkable athletes! Why are they endangered? Because man has hunted them and the domestic dogs in the villages pass along infectious diseases like rabies. It’s estimated there are less than four thousand left in the continent.

So, even though you can never predict when wildlife will make an appearance, Selinda Explorers has been very good to us. Frankly, Explorers has become our favorite camp in Botswana." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Switzerland

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"The customer service at Great Plains is unequaled. They are very flexible and will do everything to accommodate the specific needs of each guests.

The guides are truly amazing, passionate and experienced. The camp facilities are good, not exceptional, but the food is really really good. I would recommend Selinda Explorers, and more globally Great Plains without question.

The only improvements that we would recommend are: warm showers in the morning and one computer in the common area to access Internet/email, mainly for urgencies." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
Hertfordshire

"Selinda Explorers Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"Victor was excellent guide. All staff were excellent apart from Lizzie who we found too intense and in your face.

Bush breakfasts were amazing - a real highlight and made this camp stand out from others.

Activities were flexible (eg we stayed out very late one evening for specific wildlife sightings) but then on our returned to camp the staff wanted us to rush to dinner to fit with their schedule.

We had a puncture (not unexpected) but the spare tyre was flat so we had to wait for a service vehicle to come out with another spare. However the spare was stuck on the service vehicle. Better maintenance checks should be done on the vehicles before setting out." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Enjoyed our time here. Our one concern was that it is advertised as a predominantly walking camp - but with only two guides you can only go for a walk if the other guests want to go for a walk too. (Ours didn't)

Thanks to some diplomacy by the guide and managers we managed to go for a couple of short walks but (with typical British reserve) felt awkward having to make a bit of an issue out of it.

Overall a good camp, great food, good guiding and excellent game." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 8n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 17
96%
17 reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa