This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Chichester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Still plenty of unspoilt parts of Kenya

Kenya between 22 Jan 2014 and 2 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and it was really illuminating to find that the game viewing in the conservancies is even better than in the parks/reserves. With the right guide, wonderful sightings can be had away from the crowds that are associated with some of the main parks. Given the places we specified we wanted to go to, we do not think you could have chosen better camps for us and you did well to recommend adding Lewa to our itinerary.

We went on from our trip with Expert Africa to join a photographic trip in two of the conservancies north of the Maasai Mara, staying at Kicheche Mara and Bush camps. The sightings here were superb and we highly recommend these camps/conservancies too.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work! Every trip Expert Africa has planned for us has been superb and we are very grateful.

The client feedback on your website and your staff's knowledge of the camps also really helps us to make the right choices time after time."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni location is great"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2014
"Ole-Sereni is very well positioned for accessing the airport as you can take a back road to avoid the terrible Nairobi traffic. It was lovely to have a great buffet breakfast overlooking Nairobi National Park.

The two downsides for us were the hard beds (a travel agent we met says she asks for her guests to be given extra padding!) and the fact that we were given a room directly above the entrance and there was considerable noise from vehicles/people arriving and departing throughout the night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"Offbeat Meru was delightful"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2014
"We had not been to Meru since the early 1990s when the ravages of poaching were still very evident. It remains a wonderfully scenic park and we were delighted to find that the game has substantially returned.

This park's strength is that it is still off most tourists' paths. All our game drives were good for mammals and even better if you enjoy your birds. Offbeat Meru has just the atmosphere we love on safari - enthusiastic hosts, nice size, good accommodation but not ridiculously luxurious, enjoyable conversation over the dining table, delicious food and great guiding (Dominic)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Great location"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2014
"We have been to Samburu twice before and enjoyed it again although the Park has become much busier. Our guide Julius has been with this camp since it opened some eight years ago. With his experience and patience, he was able to initiate memorable lion cub and leopard sightings away from other vehicles.

Elephant Bedroom Camp is brilliantly located for the game and has a superb location on the river for watching elephants crossing and was probably the best option in the Park for us, although with its large number of tents all close together and its 'lodge' feel, it is not our preferred style. We had the far end tent which was great as it was open to the bush on one side."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

"Lewa Wilderness was fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2014
"Of the three places we stayed in on this trip to northern and central parts of Kenya, arguably this was our all round favourite. The atmosphere at Lewa Wilderness Trails is very different and more like a house party - the owners and staff are so hospitable and the food is amazing. We stayed in the newest cottage which was delightful.

We were so impressed with the success of conservation in this conservancy and it is surely a marvellous model for others. Simon was our guide and his patience particularly with the black rhino and cheetah really gave us an insight into these two species. The scenery, with its backdrop of Mt Kenya really adds to this location from a photography viewpoint.

We only did game drives and a bird walk around camp (highly recommended) but there were a large range of activities on offer which other guests enjoyed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Another excellent trip

Zambia between 24 Sep 2010 and 14 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our fourth trip with you and another magnificent holiday in a different country - we're very impressed you can provide consistent excellence over a range of varying trips and destinations. Lucy gave us very good advice on both the camp selection and the balance of the trip (gently refuting a couple of our ideas - you were right!)

Our very positive impression of the company was further enhanced when Ellie came up and introduced herself at Lusaka airport having by chance spotted the luggage labels - many would have just kept there heads down and got on with their own business.

We met many not travelling with you who had admired/used your website but then gone elsewhere and had some minor issues - we suspect some will soon become clients..."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Excellent team at Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"This is a superb camp, made excellent by the consistent top quality and enthusiam of all the staff - there just appeared to be no weak link. Derek and Jules have clearly put together a great team and show constant effort to go the extra mile with a number of nice small touches. We had some great game viewings with Gondwe and the potentially disruptive handover as managers from Brian & Michelle to Isabelle and Ian (which happened while we were there) was handled in a way that actually added to our experience....

The Shentons (at both Kaingo and Mwamba) have a different timetable from other camps we visited, with a quicker early morning start and an added midday activity. With their specialist hides, this normally works well. We particularly enjoyed the Carmine Bee-eater and Hippo hides (although strangely the highlight at the "Hippo hide" was an elephant amusingly "tobogganing" down the bank to the river....)

This is a lovely camp with a great feel which we'd very much like to return to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Possibly our best camp ever....."

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We loved everything about this camp and are struggling to think of one we've preferred in Africa (and we've been to a lot of camps over the years).

As at Kaingo, the staff are all excellent and genuinely welcoming. Patrick is a truly exceptional guide, combining an infectious enthusiasm, enormous experience and a lovely, quiet sense of humour. The camp is away from the main river but overlooks a tributary with some water and has a charm of its own.

We also saw lots of game. For example, we were walking there from Kaingo but the scout, Gideon, spotted lion en route. With Patrick, we followed them to their kill and afterwards radioed for a lift as we'd diverted a long way off route! The excitement continued as we witnessed a lion pride ambush 200 yards on one side of the camp and, at another time, leopard sparring over his kill with hyena a similar distance on the otherside. With elephant walking through the camp and creating some havoc for the staff, there's almost no need to leave on drives...."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Good variety of game"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"John and Carol are good hosts and have created a very pleasant environment.

This is generally a strong camp which we enjoyed, although we felt that a couple of the staff were perhaps ready for the end of season! We did however very much appreciate their flexiblility when we needed to change the itinerary around.

The terrain is varied and, in addition to good leopard and lion etc, we enjoyed the flocks of crowned crane, our first oribi and a best ever serval sighting. Brian was a good guide. The night drives are particularly rewarding, while the microlight flight with John is just not to be missed...."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Good bush feel at Crododile"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"A nice, well located camp, comfortable rooms, attentive staff and a good bush feel. Our room was very close to the waterhole. Our guide Stephen spotted a leopard drinking there while we were at dinner.

The walking was interesting but we question whether in October when walking time is limited by the heat there should be a long tea stop. However, that's just a minor thought and we had no other issues."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Great sightings in a short visit"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Like Crocodile, this is another good bush camp, feeling reasonably remote despite its accessabiility, and with attentive staff. We found the walking and the environment more varied than at Crocodile.

Of course, this might just reflect our fortunes - we found lion and roan while walking, had a very atmospheric encounter with a large buffalo herd and had some great bird sightings (particularly maribou stork and marshall eagle). The split level rooms are unusual but work well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

""Simply messing about in boats""

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"For us, Chiawa is all about the river. The vegetation ashore is thicker than elsewhere, but we had great elephant sightings. Good guides (particularly Paul) do make the most of it, but it's the river that is special.

We spent most of our time on canoe trips and river cruises. There are two very different canoe trips which bring the river to life and give a different perspective on hippo in particular! The so called "river cruises" were the highlight for us. We had a boat to ourselves with very obliging guides (Clement and Ruben) and were able to get very close to photograph birds, reptiles and mammals. While not specialist birders, close up views of beeeaters with food for their chicks and malachite and giant kingfishers with their catches provide some of our best memories.

Steve and Lynn are great camp managers, who show constant enthusiasm and try their hardest to meet individual needs. This is very important as Chiawa is a relatively large camp that might lose intimacy, while it has been upgraded to a luxurious level which erodes some of its bush feel. It's also a hotspot for anglers in Sept/Oct and this can be an issue - we saw several couples who were trapped on a fishing table listening to the merits of a blue fly etc.

We very much enjoyed our time there, but the camp needs the strong management it currently has."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"A lovely finish"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"We were told this is the only bushcamp now in the Lower Zambezi NP and this explains its popularity. We could only get two nights (and wanted to stay longer) and we met several who couldn't get in at all. It's a small camp, feels intimate and remote, yet is of a very good standard. We hope they don't follow the trend and upgrade it too much!

The terrain is much more open than at Chiawa so the camp offers good land and water activities (with fishing stated to be secondary). It's this wide variety that makes this camp special. We particularly enjoyed the night drives - we shall never forget the leopard leaping over a 7m stream - twice! Well tracked, Livvy.

However, we also had a most enjoyable river trip (thank you, Andrew) and constant interaction with animals (elephant in particular) in the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team