This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni

Reviews of Ole-Sereni

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ole-Sereni and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Devon

"day room at Ole Sereni"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"When I arrived at this hotel at approximately 12.30 pm I was told my day room was not ready and would not be for around 20 mins. Actually, it was about 1 hour and as I was at the hotel for only a few hours before my evening flight with BA I consider this very poor value for the (I think) £300 I was paying.

Otherwise the room was nice enough (when I got it) but I think I would probably have been better off at the Crowne Plaza." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"An expanded return"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2019
"Although we have stayed at Ole-Sereni several times before this was our first two-night stopover and therefore the first time we had had dinner there. We chose to dine in the Eagle Restaurant on the top floor and found it to be excellent - good food and an appropriate wine list to accompany, coupled by quality service.

As it happens breakfast (which we have missed more often than we have partaken thereof) the following morning was also in the Eagle thanks to renovation work in the normal restaurant; again, excellent especially coupled with daylight views across the Nairobi NP.

Other than this, suffice it to say that we specifically asked to be put in the Ole-Sereni for our stay in Nairobi based on past experience and would have no hesitation doing so again especially once the wholesale rebuilding currently in the pipeline is concluded" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
alessandra
Frankfurt

"top hotel to stay in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 2 Jan 2019
"Perfect location for a stop over in Nairobi. Only the room with park view are very nice the one in the back are just OK." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr W
Stockton

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"It was nice and comfortable. Close to airport. Ideal for one night stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Only 1 night stopover on B&B basis so not much to write about.

Ok hotel convenient for the International Airport." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"Perfect for one night"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"We've stayed here a couple of times.

It's a short distance from the airport, the rooms are comfortable and they serve a decent Tusker on the outside terrace and breakfast is fine." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Short but sweet"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"The Ole Sereni is our regular overnighter flying into Nairobi late evening, as we did again this trip.

As we arrived there just before 2300 and left again for Wilson Airport at 0600 the following morning there is little one can say other than (a) it is very convenient for both airports, (b) our room was comfortable, and (c) our packed breakfast (included in the room charge as we were B&B rate) was perfectly adequate.

Sadly, we were not there long enough to enjoy the excellent views across the underrated Nairobi NP from the hotel's breakfast terrace." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms P
London

"Convenient"

1 night Arrived 11 Mar 2017
"Ole Sereni is conveniently nearby the international airport - ideal when you get in on the evening BA flight - and not far from the domestic airport the following morning.

Rooms are comfortable, although tiled floors (rooms and hallways) means there's not much to absorb noise.

There was an excellent spread at breakfast, although it was a little too early for me to admire the adjacent reserve.

Service was friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2016
"Please see previous comments, nothing further to add. [Ed: See below]" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Good hotel for short stay"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2016
"Stayed for 2 nights, prior to and following our trip to Maasai Mara.

Good location for easy road access to the International and Wilson airports. Comfortable room, wide choice of food in the restaurant or served on the terraced area which overlooks the Nairobi National Park. Helpful staff. Breakfast officially starts at 6am but we found they were ready by 05.45 which helps those with an early start.

Only downside compared with our previous visit some years ago is the construction of a new major road which runs close to the hotel so rooms at the front are subject to traffic some noise." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 55
79%
55 reviews of Ole-Sereni by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
25
8
3
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


91% (26 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa