This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C from Devon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2019 trip

Kenya between 19 Aug 2019 and 30 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great safari. Was very well looked after and saw all the animals on my wish list. Only slight blip the safari link fiasco."

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"1 night at Crowne Plaza"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"My one night at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport was fine.

Very clean, comfortable bed and excellent buffet breakfast. Very near the main airport so was convenient after the tiring flight to Nairobi.

Did not stay long enough to view the hotel's facilities."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Exciting safari at Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Olivia had recommended that I have a private guide during my 3 days here and I struck lucky. My guide was almost as enthusiastic as I was and made my stay at Laikipia memorable. We had to cross over a river onto the neighbour's ranch as the dogs were denning there at a cost of $50 a day but it was well worth it. The first morning I only saw 1 dog just outside the den but in the afternoon saw around 5 dogs just leaving the den to hunt.

The next day we arrived at the den around 7.30am and the tracker device told us the dogs were out hunting. After much crashing around in the undergrowth we came upon the dogs eating their breakfast - an impala. We stayed watching around 9 dogs eating and playing for around an hour. Magic! Unfortunately on the way home the river level had risen by about 6feet due to rain in the mountains and we had to take a very long and bumpy detour to get back to camp.

Otherwise game is quite hard to spot because the vegetation is pretty dense but I came here chiefly to see the dogs and I was not disappointed.

The camp managers were away on holiday but things seemed to be running smoothly. The food was very good especially as the kitchen was tiny.

I noted that other guests - some with fairly young children - seem to have come to this camp because they wanted to walk (sometimes all day) or because you could swim in the river.

I did not partake in any of the activities so can't comment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"wonderful safari at Rekero"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2019
"I have been to this camp once before and it was even better than I remembered. Stacey, the managress, (husband was away) was the perfect hostess and looked after everyone beautifully.
Lunch, if you were not out with a picnic, was a buffet which meant you could have as little or as much as you wanted. Dinner was a 3 course meal and very good.

It being migration time everyone wanted to see a river crossing and my guide Francis seemed able to get us into a very good position at the Mara river in spite of there being at least 50 - 60 other vehicles present. One day we saw a crossing of around 20000 wildebeest and the next day 3000. As we had quite a long wait at the river the camp even brought us out our picnic lunch! Even saw a mini crossing of the Talek river with a lion kill whilst having a meal!

Great camp - nothing too much trouble for anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Another great safari at Encounter Mara"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Quite a posh camp - even more so than Rekero - but very friendly. Brunch or lunch was laid out on a table plus chairs to sit on.
Lovely tent, very comfortable. Again a buffet lunch and then a 3 course dinner, all delicious.

My guide, Sam, was terrific and very informative and managed to show us a good selection of animals - several cheetahs, hunting lions, a leopard and, on the way home one night, an aardwolf and an African wild cat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"day room at Ole Sereni"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"When I arrived at this hotel at approximately 12.30 pm I was told my day room was not ready and would not be for around 20 mins. Actually, it was about 1 hour and as I was at the hotel for only a few hours before my evening flight with BA I consider this very poor value for the (I think) £300 I was paying.

Otherwise the room was nice enough (when I got it) but I think I would probably have been better off at the Crowne Plaza."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Great safari holiday

Tanzania between 24 Jan 2012 and 1 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great holiday especially at Ndutu Lodge made special by Harry, our guide. Love to go back.

I know its no ones fault but the roads and dust were awful and maybe (price permitting) it would have been wise to fly back from Ndutu to Kilimanjaro but I certainly would not have missed driving one way

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really"

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Safari at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2012
"Very enjoyable 3 night stay from where we visited the Crater and Lake Manyara Park. In hindsight 1 visit either full or half day would probably have been enough in this park. Our guide told us there were hardly any predators and tree climbing lions had not been seen for some time. We drove for what seemed a very long time in order to visit a hot spring which was not very exciting.

The farmbouse was very comfortable with lovely setting and views but did not seem very "safari" like. (This is not a criticism just an observation)

I felt we were staying at a very nice place but not necessarily in Africa."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

"Wonderful safari at Ndutu Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"This was just as I had imagined a safari would be - great setting, wonderful wildlife viewings (although the migration had mostly moved on)

Altogether just my cup of tie. i don't know if this is where you'd like me to mention our guide but Harry absolutely made the holiday and I'm sure we saw more than most people. He drove miles to catch up with the migrating wildebeest and I think we only had breakfast once at the lodge. Otherwise we were on the go all day taking out a picnic breakfast or lunch every day. He was also very knowledgeable about everything and told us many fascinating stories."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team