This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara
Tangulia Mara

Reviews of Tangulia Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tangulia Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tangulia Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Striped Hyena

67% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Two Travellers
UK

"Tangulia Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2020
"Tangulia was absolutely wonderful and we would return at the drop of a hat. From the location overlooking the river bend, to the large and spectacular thatched main mess area, to our pristine and comfortable new tent complete with spacious deck, everything was simply yet beautifully done without being excessively lavish. While the salt lick below the camp was really more of a lake certainly at the start of our stay, it was amazing to be able to sit and watch (as well as hear) the water raging past safe in the knowledge that we were sufficiently elevated to be out of harm's way. I know that other camps further downstream were not so lucky!

It was a delight to be hosted by the charismatic and charming Jackson, and our guide Benjamin was a font of insight and persistence in getting us good sightings - including a distant black rhino. He was also an excellent driver, which we very much appreciated given the challenges thrown up by the muddy conditions and raised water levels - although it was astonishing how quickly these improved with a bit of sunshine on them. Finally, as at Offbeat, it was lovely to have a vehicle to ourselves for the course of our stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
AB
Essex

"Tangulia Mara review"

16 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2019
"Guiding with Benjamin was fantastic as usual and terrific to have the vehicle with the door removed and a mattress to lie on - although I suspect the senior warden will ban this in The Mara very shortly

Leonard is such a good vegetarian chef - he should always be in camp when veggies/vegans are guests - the variety of his menu and what he gives you to eat make meal times a real pleasure.

The new stone pathways to some of the tents are well designed to blend in with the landscape - great job" See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jaybarn
the Chilterns

"Great time at Tangulia Camp in the Mara"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"Tangulia Camp was a great place to stay for our four nights on safari in the Mara - Tangulia is positioned above a bend in the Mara River, so our mealtimes were spent gazing at a backdrop of hippos, zebras and hyenas going down to the river's edge, with fabulous sunsets across the Mara beyond. The setting for the tents in the bush provided shade and privacy for each canvas tent, with the Maasai staff and askari guards (men and women) ensuring good service and security. We loved the proximity of wildlife in the camp - with hippos, zebras and possibly hyenas and other creatures coming up from the river after dark and making sounds through the night until sunrise, when we were brought flasks of tea

This is the first Maasai owned Camp of the Mara and Dominic .... and Jackson... are entertaining and charismatic hosts. Jackson is an expert guide and photographer, and well-known as a BBC and international television presenter and naturalist in Big Cat Diary and other documentary series.

Our guide and expert driver Benjamin was a storehouse of knowledge about the wildlife including the amazing bird life - as well as Maasai culture. He was focused on helping us see what we hoped to see, even if it meant some long day drives to the border of Tanzania to see the start of the wildebeest migration, which lucky for us, was late this year. In the Mara Triangle, down to the Tanzanian border we saw thousands and thousands of wildebeests, escorted by zebras, as they migrated into the Mara from the Serengeti. we also found the elusive cheetah just on the border. Over the next two days, Benjamin our guide was tireless in seeking places to witness one of the first wildebeest crossings as they reached the Mara River. They weren't ready before we had to leave the Mara and Benjamin sent us his own video a few days after we left, when those crossings finally happened. We devoted some of our drives to watching the wonderful Marsh lion pride and ventured further to find leopards as well as seeing baby elephants bathing by the river.

We thoroughly approved of Jackson and Dominic's work experience programme for future female guides - they want to create more opportunities for women and we enjoyed the additional company of Valentine, a student in her last year at college, completing a tourism degree, the first in her family to attend college.

The only extra activity which we took advantage of was the visit to a Maasai Boma or Village. Although this was laid on for visitors, it was great fun... and very informative. Our son was invited to 'jump' with the young Maasai men while our daughter threw herself into the women's dances and shopping for some of their craft items. The women of the boma were good business women, we found.

Food -- we enjoyed the convivial family style dining at a long table with room for 14 guests, all sharing their stories over dinner. Good salads and tropical fruit...with substantial main courses, plenty of wine, beer and spirits. We liked the provision of bush breakfasts and lunch on our long day drives....the final sundowner on the bluffs of the Mara River was a wonderful end to our stay.

The camp was well organised, with nice hot showers and good en suite bathrooms with running water. New tents are being erected this year which will be a further upgrade to the camp.

Our only suggestion would be to modestly smooth some of the track into the camp to allow for a slightly quicker journey into the Mara Park. And to find a way of switching to metal canteens for drinking water - to phase out individual plastic bottles asap. Borana gave a metal bottle to guests at the start of the trip - and provided filtered water in glass refillable bottles in rooms, plus jugs of filtered water at all meals. Very popular.

We would love to go back to Tangulia - many of the other guests had been there regularly - some several times a year for several weeks at a time. We found the Mara wildlife very very impressive, and not crowded, and this second leg of our Kenyan trip was a lovely complementary contrast with the landscape and flora and fauna of the Kenyan Highlands." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The C family
Surrey

"One of the best camps we've ever visited!"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"Tangulia Mara was a great camp in a very good location. Tented and rustic but nothing wrong with that. Also incredibly welcoming and homely!

The only Maasai owned camp in the Mara - there should be more.

Jackson the Owner/Host/Guide is a one of the most personable people I have ever met on my African travels on so many levels (Guiding experience, company, sense of humour, education, conversation, history etc.). He is also a bit of a celebrity having been a main participant in Big Cat Diaries (BBC TV Show). Now Co-Presenting a similar Show on Animal Planet.

The Game viewing was excellent, caught the Migration (impossible to count the Zebra and Wilderbeasts they were everywhere). Plenty of Lion action and we were privileged to see a full speed Cheetah chase and kill (which only happened because of Jackson's experience in positioning the vehicle and being patient). The chase finished in front of our vehicle. Saw Black Rhino.

We do not often plan on returning to a Safari Camp (as there are so many new ones to experience) but we will definitely be returning to Tangulia, apparently it is open all year round and there is lots of action even without the Migration. We go on Safari every year and so have seen a lot of camps in various countries - this camp is now in our top 3." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L
Greve in Chianti

"Dream Safari at Tangulia Mara"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2018
"I cannot imagine a better camp for a Masai Mara Safari. Perfectly situated, a small distance from the visible Mara river, exclusive insofar as maximum capacity is 14 guests, lovely—and serious—tents with all the necessary amenities (toilet, bathroom, lights powered by generator) and wonderful deck overlooking the river and the landscape. The camp is not fenced in, and is impeccably run. It is the only 100% Masai owned and run camp in the Mara as far as I know. The food, eaten at a comunal table either outisde on deck or inside the beutifully decorated main cabin, was simple and delicious and copious. Wine is complimentary. I cannot think of one negative. Our eagle-eyed guide, a Masai naturally, became a friend and lead us to all the fauna we could have imagined." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Chiswick

"Great safari at Tangulia Mara"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2018
"This was our first experience of a safari (our first trip to sub-Saharan Africa) so we have nothing to compare it with, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The camp itself was in a great location, looking over the river, and we liked the scale of it: not too big. Tent was comfortable, food was excellent, and staff always friendly and welcoming.
Our guide Sam was exceptionally knowledgeable - always seemed to know where the next kill was likely to take place! - and as a result we saw almost everything we wanted to - only the rhinos proved elusive. We liked the trip to the school and to the Masai village, but it was the landscape and animals which were most memorable." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
AB
Essex

"Tangulia Mara review"

28 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2017
"This is my favourite camp in the Masai Mara - the new tents are fabulous and the outlook is glorious. The two Chefs, David and Leonard cook wonderful food; the whole team is friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble." See all these reviews: 29n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Northants.

"Perfect for what we wanted"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Not luxurious but that's not what we were looking for and it had so many plus points. The main camp area was very comfortable and all the staff were attentive and caring. Food, which we might have thought of as a possible problem was excellent throughout our stay. We felt privileged to be in the hands of real Maasai people." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-8 of 8
100%
8 reviews of Tangulia Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rekero

Rekero

Rekero is an unpretentious, high-end safari camp, for travellers who take their wildlife watching seriously and are prepared to pay for an exceptional location.


98% (24 reviews)
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors'

Little Governors’ Camp sits by a swamp (an old oxbow of the Mara River) in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve. It has its own balloon-launching site.


97% (15 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


95% (8 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (6 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Salas Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Governors’ Private Camp

Governors’ Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa