This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Glos.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

23

Excursions taken

0

An enjoyable farwell to Zambia.

Zambia between 23 Jul 2018 and 9 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is more than likely to have been our last safari to Africa.

It was therefor a safari of mixed emotions one of some sadness, being a goodbye, but on the other hand another of great experiences and memories which will last for years not only of the wildlife and environment but of the many people we have met over the years whose whole outlook was to look after you and maximise your enjoyment.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Over the many years we have had the pleasure of dealing with Expert Africa we have always received the most friendly advice and assistance.

We cannot make any suggestions for improvement and can only give them our most grateful thanks."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Good Nights rest"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"This hotel is good for a nights rest during travel.

The staff are helpful and friendly."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Our seventh visit need we say more"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"This is one of our favourite camps in Luangwa valley.

Everybody is always very friendly and helpful. Over the years there have been updates to the rooms but never to the detriment of the ambience.

The game viewing was excellent.

A special mention should be made for the way they worked to ensure the moon eclipse on the beach was a memorable night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"A great 3 Nights"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2018
"It has been a while since we last visited Mwamba and whilst there have been a few changes these have only improved the experience.

Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a great time and the game viewing was outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Our seventh visit need we say more"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"This contnues to be a relaxing camp (even had a morning in camp!!) and another of our favourites with all the staff making sure you had the best time possible.

The game viewing was exceptional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Our last stop- but closest to Mfuwe Airport"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Our first visit since 2004 and there have been lots of changes since then to its benefit.

As in all Robin Pope camps all the staff were friendly and helpful with the sole purpose of maximising your experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Zambia family safari

Zambia between 4 Aug 2016 and 20 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"As always we had a great time and cannot give any adverse comment on the whole experience. We have been fortunate to have been to Zambia many times through Expert Africa and Robin Pope Safaris and no two safaris are ever the same. There are always new sights smells and experiences.

This may have been our last safari as age is catching up on us on the journey out and back is long and tiring without a direct flight. Nevertheless if direct flights do return the temptation to return to Zambia may become too great to ignore.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Always very satisfied and cannot suggest any improvements."

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"The hotel itself was good as expected as we had used it before and the room clean and large.

However the service in the dining room during our evening meal was bad being exceptionally slow and this was aggravated bearing in mind we a nine year old with us who was very tired after a long journey.

Whilst we were on a bed and breakfast basis as we had to leave early they had a grab and run table laid up at reception which was self service for a drink a dry bread roll and limited fruit. Not really what one would expect for a hotel of this standard."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

"Beautiful Luangwa House"

10 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"This was our second visit to the House with the family and again everything was as expected. After the fist visit we could not have had a more enjoyable stay and this was again the same. First class rooms excellent hospitality and guiding.

Nothing was too much trouble.

We cannot praise everything about our stay too highly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"The peace of Tena Tena"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2016
"Our first visit to this Camp although had visited the previous one twice.

A thoroughly enjoyable 4 nights. Lots of good game viewing with good Wild Dog sightings but it was a shame the lions had decided to go on holiday but for 4 sub adults.

As always with Robin Pope safaris food, hospitality and guiding first class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Well done Expert Africa

Zambia between 25 Jul 2014 and 18 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a family Holiday of a lifetime for the first 8 days and Expert Africa's arrangements proved perfect as always.

It was my family's first Safari and they are now hooked and will no doubt be new customers for Expert Africa sometime in the future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

In simple terms NO!"

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

"Great family safari"

8 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Being a regular safari fan it was decided to take my family to Luangwa Safari House for their first taste of Africa. The family included my 7 year old grandson and 11 year old grand-daughter who had her birthday during our stay.To say the trip was a success would be an understatement with my grandchildren being entertained and spoilt by all the staff even to the extent of doing some cooking in the kitchen. They even saw Wild Dogs on two occasions!!

Not only must praise be given to Jacob and Tina for their kindness and attention to us all but also to all the backroom staff whose efforts to make our stay so enjoyable were second to none. Many thanks goes to all at the House.

On a general note the meet and greet service arranged by Robin Pope Safaris at Lusaka Airport was very welcome and efficient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Great return to Kaingo"

7 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"Our return to Kaingo (again!) was a great success meeting both old friends and new faces.

As always the guiding was first class and the evening pre dinner chat both chaotic and amusing.

Having visited this camp many times it was excellent on all counts just as we expected and received in the past."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Final return to Nsefu"

7 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2014
"This visit was our last visit to Nsefu (our 5th). Need we say more.

The guiding was as always first class with Thomas being very knowledgeable and helpful and giving us every opportunity to do things not done before such as Sunset at the Baobab forest, Sunrise on the Salt Plains with cooked breakfast by his capable hands and a successful trip to find the elusve Eland."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Restfull final night"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2014
"This hotel was well placed for the Airport and gave us some time to rest from our energetic safari and we would use it again should we return to Zambia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Maybe our last safari

Zambia between 30 May 2012 and 18 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Having visited everywhere before you often wonder if things will change and not be as you remember them.
Well this did not happen and our memories once again have only been reinforced by this visit. The lure of Africa remains embedded in our blood and the sights and smells, sun rises and sunsets will never fade.This may be our last safari but you can never be certain.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Having used Expert Africa a number of times over the years we have never been able to criticize their service and thus do not have any suggestions to make."

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo the friendly Camp"

7 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"This was our fourth visit to Kaingo which really speaks for itself. Our old friendly guides were still there and some new ones. The standards remain high our only very minor sadness was that the cats had decided this would be their holiday as well!

Lunch being served on our own deck was new to us and a welcome addition until the monkeys had our lunch on our last day. Which would prove to be their only free lunch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Only a short visit to Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"We were only able to stay for three nights after a gap of eight years (our third visit).

Nothing had changed which was nice to see and we were able to catch up with all our friends from previous times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Perfect Nsefu"

7 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"Our fourth visit to our favourite Camp in South Luangwa.

It, as always, is a friendly and relaxed place with great guiding and the staff are excellent and helpful. They made my 70th birthday very special which will always be remembered. The food was always a temptation and their cakes are a weight watchers nightmare."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"A delghtful Hotel"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2012
"A lovely place to finish our safari.

We were sad that we could only stay for one night and did not see it in daylight.The welcome and staff were superb.

If we can ever do another safari we would certainly endeavour to stay at this hotel for longer."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Zambia the perfecy safari destination

Zambia between 30 May 2010 and 17 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really cannot fault any aspect of our safari.

We have been to Zambia on a number of occasions since 1998 and to say we have fallen in love with the country would be an understatement.The people the country and the wildlife have to be experienced.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:.

None. Just keep up the service which we cannot fault."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Once again perfection at Kaingo"

5 nights Arrived 31 May 2010
"This was our third visit to Kaingo which in itself shows what we think of this camp.

It has very much a feel of a family and as such is very relaxing but with excellent guides. On this visit each chalet had its own river veranda which was a nice new touch although the chairs on them whilst very comfortable were not built for little people!!

We cannot recommend this camp too much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu with a perfect location."

5 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2010
"Nsefu must have one of the best locations with the river and its own waterhole. Our third visit the last one being in 2006.

It was great to see things had not changed and we had a happy welcome from old friends.T

he guiding is first class and we had our usual Leopard fix."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"A beautiful riverside camp"

7 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2010
"This was our fifth visit need we say more. Each time we vist the camp has been improved and this time all the tents were now superior tents with very tasteful interiors which only enhances ones experiance. A new tent No. 9 has been built and its situation and decor is absolutely superb. If you were lucky enough to stay in it you would never willingly want to leave.

The guiding as always was first class and this time we fell in love with six lion cubs which we were fortunate to spend many an hour watching.

Thanks to Grant whilst we wrer there he was kind enough to arrange for us to spend 24 hours at Old Mondoro. This camp is our favourite bush camp with its own unique kharma.This was arranged so that we could see the changes that have been made there to the individual hut facilities.

These have been so well done that while they greatly improve one's creature comforts they in no change its appearance and the atmosphere at this camp is more than maintained."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Another great Safari

Zambia between 20 Aug 2008 and 6 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have been fortunate that we have been on Safari on a number of occasions and have a great love of Africa. We have always had a great experience and a fair few adrenalin rushes when out in the Bush.

From the start of itinery planning with Expert Africa until the time we reluctantly have to come home we have always received friendly firstclass care and treatment.

Suggestions for improvement:

I cannot think of any improvements as I have always had firstclass treatment."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Great time at Mwamba Bushcamp our 2nd visit"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"This was our second visit and it has not changed thank goodness. It is a simple camp and makes you feel close to the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp still great"

5 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"Our second visit and the Camp still reaches all our Expectations.

The improvements to The huts with the inclusion of an outside Bath is a great enhancement.

It a very peaceful site, excluding the animal noises, being set on the river bank."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp still leads the way."

7 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"This was our fourth visit to this camp which says everything.

I cannot fault it in any way and can only say it is excellent in everything it is and does."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"The peace of Old Mondoro"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"This is a great bushcamp with a superd Karma all of its own. It is very simple with just 4 Huts situated on the river bank.

You have the feeling of being so far away from civilisation and have just the bush and the sounds of Africa to keep you company.

Our 3rd visit to this camp and it never disappoints."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team