This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nsefu
Nsefu
Nsefu

Reviews of Nsefu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

165 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nsefu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nsefu.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Buffalo

86% success

Wildebeest

41% success

Eland

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Roan antelope

9% success

Aardvark

3% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 165
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Interesting safari at Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2020
"Catherine was an exceptional camp host. Incredibly helpful and well informed. The room was clean, light and airy. The rooms are quite close together but this is due to the historic nature of the camp. Daudi was our guide. Due to the floods we either boated or walked. It was not possible to get a vehicle up there and even walking was tricky because there were still large boggy areas that were impassable.

We had an excellent visit to the Yellow Billed Stork breeding colony. Daudi and our scout Justin really put themselves out to get the boat in. But there was no anchor so the boat was constantly in motion making photography tricky. We were disappointed with the walks. There was not a lot of game on the walks and Daudi seemed to struggle (leaning heavily on Justin for sightings). There was little emphasis on plants, insects and tracks, unlike other guides we have had.

Daudi was required to captain the boat as well as guide and this made it hard as he was often preoccupied the motor (which seemed on its last legs)." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Sweden

"Wet yet nice stay at Nsefu"

4 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2020
"Excellent guide (Berthram) and helpful scout (Esaias)
Fascinating boat trips into the lagoons
Yellow build stork breeding colony the highlight
Food experience average - well presented yet somewhat flat in taste
Walking safaris not easy due to areas being flooded, moody
Upfront information on how bar, coffee, water would be managed when staff was not around lacking" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Mrs M
Appledore

"My night at Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"It was wonderful to be back at Nsefu which is one of my favourite camps.

Unfortunately because of the problems with my flights from London I missed my first two nights there and only arrived late on the third night. A small consolation was spotting a very fine leopard and a honey badger on the drive in. We left early next morning to transfer to Luangwa Safari House so it was a sadly fleeting visit. The transfer drive was good and I include the game sightings below." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr S.
Melvin Village

"Back to Civilization at Nsefu"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"After the 5 hours drive back from the Mobile walking safari, and a short pole driven boat crossing, it seemed like a return to civilization - ice cubes! Another beautiful camp on a bend in the Luangwa River with excellent food and a small lagoon by the deck with a hide as well, for watching elelphants, giraffes, baboons, antelope, warthogs coming down for a drink or mudbath!

Game drives felt strange after the mobile safari - to get so close to the animals again. But so much more interesting after seeing them out in the bush in more remote surroundings. Night drives were again terrific - lions drinking prior to going out on a hunt, hippos getting up on land for their night time foraging, genets, bushbabies, cameleons. And then back to camp for another delicious dinner.

As with the other camps, mosquito netting was perfectly arranged by staff and insect repellent/bug spray was always available and on return to camp, we were always greeted by the camp host with cool washclothes!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Nsefu Review"

5 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Nsefu is without a doubt our favourite camp. It setting on the bend in the river is idyllic. We spotted so much wildlife there - either crossing the river, on the sandbanks or at the waterhole.

We found Willie, the manager, to be an excellent and very experienced guide - ably supported by his staff. Special mention should go to Fanton our super-spotter and Katherine our very efficient hostess.

The game drives were great in this sector of the park because we encountered so few other vehicles. Thank you everyone at Nsefu!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Devon

"Nsefu Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Our first stop and it could not have been a more beautiful location. Staff, especially guides, exceptional. Particularly impressed by the manager and our guide, Wilson. Great animal sightings and the daily programme good. Food fine especially the bush brunch but overall the evening meals a bit 'meaty'.
We realise that this is a historic camp that does want to upgrade too much but the rooms are quite small and need some imaginative improvement in storage space. Nsefu is not immune from the worldwide shortage of coat hangers.
This camp's location was actually our favourite.

Re. Wildlife survey:

Buffalo - Includes herds of 200+ and 400 +
Lion - Total of 24. Sightings consisted of a pride of 10, a different pride of 11 seen after dark, and one of the highlights of the trip: circumnavigating safely around three males on foot at a distance of 80 to 100m.
Elephants - Everywhere.
Wild dog - 3 individual animals very close to a leopard." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs L
Cumbria

"An idyllic camp to end our holiday"

5 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"WOW, after Tena Tena we then stayed at the wonderful Nsefu camp in the best accommodation of the whole holiday and in a truly wonderful location on the bend of the river. Here our accommodation surpassed all expectations, it was just amazing, spacious, super clean and so comfortable, we never tired of the view.

Again the house keeping was superb, the staff were friendly and courteous and the food continued to be delicious and served with so much attention to detail. The bar area was beautiful and a perfect place to relax watching the wildlife on the river or lagoon. We did find the dining area rather too dark as we had difficulties seeing our fellow guests and guides during evening meal times but that is the only negative comment and it certainly did not affect the enjoyment of our meals or our holiday experience.

The activities at Nsefu were fantastic and this was thanks to our wonderful guide Willie who not only helped to increase our bird list to >140 but who had so much knowledge to share about the environment...the trees, birds, animals, and history, he made our game drives so interesting. The team at Nsefu, our host Katherine and all the staff made our stay so perfect and again our guide Willie made this holiday so memorable.

Thank you all so much, we will never forget our first trip to Zambia." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr D
California

"Nsefu review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"This is a historic camp, at an excellent location. It has the best view among the 3 RPS camps we stayed in South Luangwa. We watched elephant crossing river over a lunch.

The game drive is conducted in the remote Nsefu section of the park. The highlight is the seasonal carmine bee-eater colony on the river bank. RPS constructed a hide, allowing us to get close to the colony. We have good sightings of leopard in tree on night drive. But for some reason, lions make themselves scarce in Nesfu sector, although their footprints are found near the camp. During a short 2-day stay, we only saw lion from afar, on the opposite bank of the river.

Our guide Chilumba is excellent. He took us to find the rare and endemic Cookson’s wildebeest. On a trip to the remote salt pan area, he noticed a herd of skittish elephants that are not used to vehicles. He wisely positioned the vehicle at a safe distance. As a result, we experienced the adrenaline rush of elephant charging without a scratch, only a good story to tell.

Not specific to Nsefu camp: In my 7-night, 3-camp stay with RPS, I was guided by a total of 5 different guides. In general, I found RPS guides are uniformly well trained, knowledgeable and professional. Obviously every guide has a different style. It does take a while to get used to, both for the guide and for the guest. I felt the experience can be enhanced if each guest stays with the same guide throughout her stay in one camp, unless the guest opts for a different activity such as walk." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Ms L & Mr A
London

"Nsefu review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"It was lovely to end up here and see some of the wild life more 'up close' although made us realise how much we love the walking safari which is such an experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr G
St. Neots

"Nsefu review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"EXCELLENT FACILITIES, NICE FREE BAR, EXCELLENT GUIDING EVERY NEED WE REQUIRED WAS GRANTED.SHELIA'S HOP UP SUPPLIED, EVEN A SMALL LADDER.

COULD NOT THINK OF ANYTHING THAT WOULD IMPROVE THE CAMP." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 165
98%
165 reviews of Nsefu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
17
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa