This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nsefu
Nsefu
Nsefu

Reviews of Nsefu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

165 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nsefu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nsefu.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Buffalo

86% success

Wildebeest

41% success

Eland

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Roan antelope

9% success

Aardvark

3% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 165
Duration
Arrival date
MrD & MsK
Gold Coast

"Nsefu review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Bushcamp room small, with amenities open to the outdoors.

Very good bush "aircon" - evening breeze cooling system - over the bed.

Being a small camp one's experience is partially dependent upon the guest mix." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Nsefu"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"An intimate camp in a great location directly overlooking the river. The hippos were a constant delight.

The walk from here to Tena Tena is a great introduction to a walking safari and Sebastian was a great guide - very experienced and knowledgeable, setting just the right pace.

The wild dog sightings were an added bonus.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Classic safari at Nsefu "

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Another brilliant Robin Pope Safari camp in a great location. The historic rondavels are very comfortable whilst preserving the traditional character of the camp. Fantastic hospitality with wonderful cuisine and great guiding.

Wonderful wildlife in pristine environment. The stork colony is amazing - not just for the yellow bill and other storks - it is an environmental hotspot for avian and land based predators with never a dull moment (Martial and other eagles by day and leopards by night).

The salt pan with hot springs is also a fantastic place to visit. Willie is an amiable and expert guide with a fantastic knowledge of the prolific Zambian birdlife. The camp hide is also a great facility." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss A
Haywards Heath

"A taste of the past"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2019
"Was apprehensive because of the open bathroom but the experience outweighed the fear as did a great welcome from Catherine. Thank you to Freddie for persuading me to go.

Absolutely idyllic setting. Lunch and dinner tables beautifully laid in prime spot. Food excellent, wine flowed, service couldn't have been better. Nor could the lively conversations. Just loved it.

I find it hard to appreciate safari-style breakfast but it seems to be set in tablets of stone. This comment doesn't reflect on Nsefu or any other camp but it's such a hassle.. We labour to some distant spot, try to fumble around for food in the dark and the cold and then perch in a line in chairs trying to balance the food and mug of tea on a small table placed to one side. Everything I love for breakfast but unable to enjoy it. Why not eat outside if one must but use the big table nearer the main area with the food table wherever one can see what's on it? The setting is still the same but the degree of comfort and enjoyment is greatly increased. Surely it would be far more convenient for the staff too.The toasting/egg fires can still be in the vicinity for atmosphere. As it is, the style neither plays into the hands of a genuine safari buff nor the 'pretend' ones like us. Whatever the setting, there's no time to enjoy it so may as well make it a more practical experience. (Sorry - a minority view I'm sure but has anyone ever asked for opinions?)

My hot water bottle request had been received loud and clear but as Amanda had said, it's unlikely it would be as cold as Hwange. Still, it always provides a degree of amusement with everyone else.

Everyone would have been aware the rooms were small but I was glad there was just one of me, especially when the bed space is shrouded in mosquito nets, The steps to the bathroom became the sorting area for my goods and chattels .. As for the steps themselves, they were no problem for me, though i was very careful, but I'm not sure they were mentioned on the Expert Africa description of the room. I wonder how the man with a stick coped next door to me. However, I did find the shower floor quite slippery, especially negotiating the raised curved edge which presumably helps to keep the water in check.

I stand in awe at the organisational skills of all the staff and guides, Whatever is going on behind the scenes, it's a seamless operation for the ever-changing guest intake. Nothing too much trouble and yet we were still treated to 'extras'. A lovely surprise on my last sundowner evening. We turned up at the chosen spot only to find Catherine with a large table bearing ice buckets for bottles of sparkling wine and a tray of canapes', Then the other 2 vehicles turned up as well. A surprise for all of us and much appreciated.

An experience I wouldn't have missed for the world. Thank you for the excellent guiding and great hospitality.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Drs L & B
Scotland

"Top Class Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"We loved the remoteness of the camp. We felt that we were at one with nature and were amazed how we hardly ever came across another Jeep. Our wildlife encounters were fabulous, plentiful and varied. We never failed to be impressed by our guide Sebastian and spotter Matthew.
The walking Safari that we undertook between Nsefu and Tena Tena was a highlight.
We loved the fact also that there were never more than 4 guests on our jeep.
Our host Catherine did very well and the food and wines on offer were “Top Class”." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Nsefu in the Rainy Season"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"Nsefu in the rainy season is a very different experience from the dry season, as we heard from the staff and the few other guests we met. A long boatride from Luangwa River Camp led us to this beautiful and remote location. We were given a very warm welcome by our hostess, Katherine, with whom we enjoyed great conversation throughout our stay.

Most of our excursions were done by boat, and while the wildlife watching wasn't great in this season for photography (most animals are scared off by the boat) there was beautiful scenery to enjoy and lots of great birding. The best parts were our visits to the stork colony, where the birds were building their nests by the hundred and the night when our boat broke down after dark, and we had an adventurous float to try to get back to camp! Our guide, Willie, was a true expert and we had a wonderful time talking with him on our boat drives and at mealtimes. We very much enjoyed the one walking safari we were able to do and were able to see many animals on foot, including elephants and giraffes, while also enjoying the little sightings of insects and footprints.

The rooms at Nsefu are beautifully appointed, although they are set too close together for my liking (if there are other guests staying, you can easily hear their conversations from your room. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and enjoying the river views in this remote location while listening to the pleasant sound of hippos. We enjoyed the surprising luxury of the air conditioning built into the mosquito netting for warmer nights. We also loved the lodge area, which had a relaxed, inviting environment and lots of vintage books to enjoy. We saw elephant and hyena walk right by the lodge on several nights. Like all Robin Pope lodges, the food was excellent, and they catered to my vegetarian needs beautifully. Curry night was a particular treat! The mango chutney served with breakfast is something I'm already missing.

My only suggestion for guests is that if you are visiting during the rainy season, you don't need more than two nights here as there are limited places and wildlife you can see by boat. " See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr E.
Zurich

"Magical place"

4 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2018
"Positive
- remote quiet area with hardly any traffic and lots of game
- nice rustic chalet
- memorable walk with lion sightings
- Pius and Bonifacio took good care of us
- beautiful view from the camp
- breakfast was at different locations which was a nice touch
- hide next to the waterhole was a treat

" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Gwent

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2018
"A very nice stay indeed - certainly somewhere I would like to go back to.

Possibly the best location, in terms of view, of any lodge we have stayed at anywhere. Beautiful.

Very nice, if somewhat quirky, rooms, excellent staff, very good guiding - overall a most excellent stay.

The only downside was the food was far from the best of our trip. " See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr B.
Blumenthal

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2018
"Top location.
Chalet inside a little bit small, but outside great.
Guide great, he made everything possible, thanks.
Food was often cold, due to serve it on the plate.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr P
Netherlands

"Old class in a gorgeous location"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"Great camp, wished had stayed more than 2 nights...Excellent service, thanks Marco and guiding, thanks Pius. I saw my loved ones - wild dogs, more than once!!!!! And first time I held a wooden banana and smelled a wild jasmine. Africa is both fauna and flora.

I liked the 'AC' during the night. Visitors this time of the year in S. Luangwa should be prepared about the heat - we hadn't a single drop of rain. As a Greek I don't mind it but still it can be be very hot, especially during the midday break.

So be prepared...on the other hand the payoff is that it is a quieter season, had the pleasure sharing the camp with one more guest and taking the drives on my own.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 165
98%
165 reviews of Nsefu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
17
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa