This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Bath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Very well organised safari

Zambia between 16 Jun 2019 and 29 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Claire did a great job putting together our program and everything went off perfectly. We particularly liked the support at Lusaka Airport. Stress free travel!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"A good place to recover from the flight"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"Latitude 15 is convenient for the airport and a pleasant place to recover from the flight before setting off for the bush.

Rooms and food are good and the service was excellent."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Lovely Atmosphere at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"We really enjoyed staying at a camp which was owner managed and where the family played a full role in the day to day operation of the camp. John and Carol were companionable hosts and Jen provided much needed support and medicine to Sue when she had a day on the sick list.

We were fortunate to be flown in from Mfuwe by Rory - which was much appreciated and a great experience! The camp was excellent and we enjoyed the rustic feel of our accommodation - complete with visiting hippos! We saw almost no traffic when on game drives which definitely enhances the experience.

The visit to the Yellow Bill Colony is a must do - and we also took part in a walking safari guided by Stephen which was both enjoyable and exciting (Elephants). I can see why Remote Safaris has such a good reputation for walking safaris and we would probably focus on walking safaris if we returned.

We did see Lion and Leopard but we felt that the game intensity on the game drives could have been higher - I imagine that this increases on this side of the river as the dry season progresses."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"We love Mwamba Bushcamp!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"This was our second visit to Mwamba - we loved it last time - and it was even better this time. The accommodation is both rustic and comfortable and you get a real feel that you are in the bush - visiting elephants, returning pythons. monkeys, baboons and the sound of roaring lions. Yvonne was an excellent and entertaining host and, as last year, the food provided in bush conditions was excellent.

We were also going to stay at the sister camp Kaingo so we chose to get away from the river routes and go inland while at Mwamba. This provided good sitings of Buffalo, Wildebeest and Eland and we were fortunate to follow the Mwamba-Kaingo pride over a two day period as they pursued a head of Buffalo. We had Sylvester (Sly) as our guide and benefitted from his deep understanding of the wildlife and his uncanny ability to predict its behaviour!

Shenton Safaris offer the opportunity to walk between Mwamba and Kaingo and we would recommend this option - we saw plenty of game - including the Mwambe-Kaingo pride - a different experience when on foot - and we may have walked off some off the excellent food!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"The sound of Hippos at Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"We walked from Mwamba to Kaingo and we were greeted by a visiting Elephant on entering the camp. We really enjoyed our stay at Kaingo. The location next to the river, the sound of hippos at night and the views from the platform outside our comfortable hut all made for an enjoyable time. Kaingo's hosts, Agata and Gerard, made us feel very welcome - and Catherine and her team produced some delicious food. We particularly enjoyed lunchtime picnics by the river and dinner on the terrace outside our room.

Sylvester (Sly) was our excellent guide and his ability to spot photo opportunities and put the truck in the right place was key to my better photographic efforts! We had some fantastic Leopard sightings including Chiphadzuwa with Cub and were able to observe several unsuccessful(!) leopard hunts. Traffic was higher than at Mwamba and the presence of leopards and lions while we were at Kiango seemed to act as a draw for traffic from other lodges - but traffic still remained low and most of our sightings were in seclusion. Sly successfully led us to wild dogs on our last full day - cue celebration!

Kaingo and Mwamba camps are very different but both excellent - which is best - depends on which one we are in!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Memorable Holiday

Zambia between 9 Jun 2018 and 22 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was an extremely enjoyable holiday which was full of great memories.

All of the camps were excellent but we particularly enjoyed our visits to Kaingo and Mwamba. The organisation by Expert Africa and Claire was excellent. We never felt pressured when designing the holiday and Claire clearly understood what we were seeking and devised a schedule which met our requirements.

The whole trip went without any organisational problems.

We would like to mention the great service provided by your agents in Lusaka who managed the transfers between Lusaka Airport and Latitude 15. Having travelled for 20 hours we really appreciated the friendly, efficient service they provided."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Good transfer hotel in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Having flown in to Lusaka we stayed here for one night before flying on to South Luangwa.

It's an easy ride from the airport and the service was excellent, food was enjoyable and the bedroom was more than adequate for this purpose.

A comfortable night before setting out for the bush."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Magical 4 days at Kaingo Camp."

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2018
"This was our first safari and from the moment Malcolm picked us up at Mfue Airport Kaingo Camp provided everything and more than we expected. The camp has a beautiful setting overlooking the Luangwe River and we learnt to love the sound and sight of hippos and of course the odd visiting elephant! Both the rooms and the food were excellent. Hat's off to Catherine and the kitchen team.

We liked the fact that we kept the same guide throughout our stay and the group size on activities never exceeded 4. Sly was an outstanding guide and we enjoyed his company, his enthusiasm and his knowledge. We were particularly impressed with his ability to predict the behaviour of leopards and elephants - putting us in the perfect photo spot. Wildlife was diverse and plentiful and we had multiple sitings of lion and leopard as well as dogs and and exciting interactions with elephants both inside and outside the camp! Kaingo worked us hard and both the Hippo Hide and the Mobile Hide provided interesting and enjoyable mid day activities.

South Luangwa and Sly also provided ravishing settings for morning coffee breaks and sundowners - we can't wait to return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"We Love Mwamba Bushcamp!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2018
"We loved our stay at Mwamba Bushcamp. It's rustic, relaxed and surrounded by wildlife. Elephants peering over the bathroom wall, the sound of lions and a great hide for lunchtime entertainment.

Eve, Lyndie and Craig were superb hosts and the food was excellent. Superb work by the chef (Zacks).

We really enjoyed having a single guide for our stay in the camp - allowing us to build up a relationship with our guide Andrew. The game drives were excellent - we saw lots of wildlife (16 members of the Mwamba/Kaingo pride), great photographic opportunities and we loved the locations for morning coffee and sundowners. Andrew was a great guide - enthusiastic and committed, good company, informative and gave us a welcome window into Zambian life.

We'll be back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Beautiful Setting at Old Mondoro"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"Loved the rustic accommodation and the beautiful setting next to the Zambezi.

The canoe safari is a bit scary - but a definite must do! With boat trips, canoe safaris, walking safari and night and day safaris in the 4x4 there's a great range of activities. However, while we saw lions, leopard and some great bull elephant action, the range and quantity of wildlife was quite restricted relative to our earlier camps in South Luangwa. I guess this is partly an early season issue.

Guiding was generally good - great canoe and walking safari with James - but we would have preferred to have a single guide for our stay and the stronger relationship this permits."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team