This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

204 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 44 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

98% success

Leopard

98% success

Wild dog

46% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Wildebeest

79% success

Eland

14% success

Roan antelope

9% success

Sable antelope

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 204
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2022
"Our second visit to Kaingo did not disappoint. The facilities are excellent, and the location on the river outstanding. Staff are very helpful, and willing to "go the extra mile" in ensuring that our trip was a memorable one.

The guide we had (Yoram, who is a birder) at both camps was outstanding, and we really appreciated Shenton Safaris allowing us to have the same guide for the entirety of our stay at the two camps.

We were also privileged to be allocated the "family room" for our stay at Kaingo.

The wildlife here was fantastic, with multiple sightings of the main mammal targets, and some great birds - including Pel's Fishing Owl (a special request) which we saw twice." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Fabulous Kaingo Camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2022
"This was our third visit to Kaingo and hopefully it won't be the last. We love this camp.

The wildlife sightings were superb, particularly those featuring Kuita and Chipazuba - two Leopard mothers with two cubs each. We also saw the Hollywood pride lionesses climbing a tree for a better vantage point.

The Southern Carmine Bee-eaters were present in huge numbers and we found it satisfying to photograph from the floating hide opposite their nesting sites in the river bank. The food masterminded by Catherine is fantastic.

Our guide for 8 days (including Mwamba) was Phil who was excellent at predicting where the wildlife could be found. Many thanks too to Mishek who enabled us to explore areas off the road." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Ms S
Wimbledon

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"On our return after 5 years, we immediately felt at home and were given a warm welcome by Derek Shenton who happened to be there on our first evening, the manager of the camp Lester and the cook Catherine who remembered us. This was typical of the family atmosphere, they and other members of the staff were friendly to all the guests and very willing to help in every way.

Our chalet was spacious and they had considerately allocated (for a father and adult daughter) a chalet with a double and a single bed.

Food was inventive and excellent throughout, and particularly enjoyable on one occasion when brunch was prepared and served away from the camp under some trees.

Guiding was first rate, our first morning with the excellent, charming Sly and then 6 drives with fantastic and engaging Robert (ably assisted in late afternoon drives by his spotter Levy) who gave us lots of sightings of our favourites: leopards, lions and ellies - in particular the male leopard Tyson in a tree with daily diminishing remains of his prey, and female leopards in trees or on the ground. Highlights were the female calling for her cubs, searching and locating them. A great treat to see the 9 month old cubs come running to greet mother.

One evening Robert saw a lion sensing and showing an interest in an out of sight herd of buffalo and we were first on the scene immediately following the subsequent joint action kill by her and a young male of one unfortunate member of the herd. Not a pretty sight but an unforgettable experience.

Robert was a particularly considerate in positioning the “car” and checking we were finished with photography before moving on.

We were pleased that Lester encouraged us to spend time at the hide moored to the opposite bank - reached by a short drive and then canoe with safety to the fore - to view the innumerable beautiful carmine bee-eaters fluttering to and from their nests in the river bank.

Overall a great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

S & J
Herefordshire

"Kaingo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"Lovely friendly camp, beautiful room.

Many thanks for letting two single travelling friends have separate rooms without a single supplement.

Brilliant food." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Solihull

"Kaingo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"This was a very luxurious camp and busier than the others we visited. The game viewing and hides were excellent. If you are into wildlife photgraphy this is the place to come." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrwebbo
Sussex

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"A more substantial camp than Mwamba with more people, the waterfront area and chitenge are very well laid out and comfortable. Again all the staff are professional and engaging and very friendly.

My wife particularly liked the decor in the rooms and around the bar. Robert, our guide was superb, knowledgeable and superbly perceptive about the best light and position for photos. His knowledge and tracking were some of the best we've encountered.

The Carmine hide was interesting and certainly got you close to the action but the hippo hide was not really an option as the hippos had moved, it wasn't a problem as there was so much to see and do.

The Shentons and there team have it Sussex,it was my wife's first trip to Africa and she loved it." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"Beautiful Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"We really enjoyed our stay at Kaingo. We love the riverside setting at Kaingo and the sound of hippos in the morning!

Lester was an excellent host and Joseph and Catherine formed a strong and welcome link with the past. The food was, as always, excellent. Our accommodation was both private and exceptionally spacious. Yoram was an able guide and we had excellent lion and leopard sightings and some really good photographic opportunities.

While the hippo hide was quiet a trip to the carmine bee-eater hide was an extremely productive and enjoyable event. We also enjoyed a 'day trip' with Yoram which allowed us to see some of the less observed areas and species of South Luangwa including the Roan Antelope. Well worth the trip!

Compared to our previous visits to Kaingo, in June 2018 and 2019 temperatures were considerably higher and the water levels both in the river and the remaining lagoons were much lower. Predators and prey are present in both periods but September emphasises survival and the kill while June was more about the 'hunt', both for predators and for prey by predators.

Photographically early June is about vibrant colours - September the fight for survival and, of course carmine bee-eaters. Conclusion go in June and September!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr H & Ms E
London

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"A really exceptional camp. Incredibly friendly, relaxed and professional. Kaingo managed to create a really comfortable environment on the bank of the Luangwa River, while retaining a natural feel and integrity. The cottages were light and well kitted out - charging points, constant hot water and lighting; and we really liked the little viewing decks each one had over the river. You felt really private - apart from occasional visits from elephants and bush bucks, and the naughty vervet monkeys! The staff were very kind and the food was exceptionally good.

The thing we liked best about Kaingo (and its sister camp, Mwamba) was the quality of the guiding and the game. We've been lucky enough to go on many safaris and thought the Shenton team was probably the best. We loved the way they shared information, between themselves and with guests, they worked so hard to give you a great experience and took real care to understand your interests. Yoram was our guide here and he was brilliant at tracking and anticipating the game viewing positions and we had some amazing sightings of wild dog, leopards and hyenas feeding, lions mating (endlessly!) and, even better, lions roaring.

A highlight was spending a night in the Elephant Hide Star Bed - up a tree with just a mosquito net between you and the stars. A rosy dawn, followed by groups of elephants crossing the river beneath us - carefully guided by the matriarchs - with the babies carefully sheltered from the many crocodiles.

Another Kaingo speciality was the range of experiences the camp offered - including the chance just to sit in camp if you wanted to and find animals coming to you. As well as the individual viewing decks, there were three hides nearby, the opportunity for short morning walks, and of course the morning and evening drives. As you can tell, we loved it." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M.
Chesterfield

"Kaingo Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2022
"This was our second visit to this camp and it far exceeded our expectations.

Certainly the game viewing was by far the best we have ever had and was made all the better by our fantastic guide Sly." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Glos.

"Kaingo the friendly camp"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2022
"Over the many times we have visited this camp it has and contiues to be a lovely and relaxing camp.

All the staff are excellent as is the guiding and wildlife sightings." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 204
97%
204 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
176
24
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (303 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (222 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (183 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (114 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (88 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (73 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa