This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Maidstone

"Kaingo Camp 27 - 30 July"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"I've been to Kaingo before, loved it so much this time returned with my partner - who I think fell in love with it to the extent that she loves it more than she loves me!!!

The rooms are really luxurious and set by the river, each with a private viewing deck on to the river. What better way is there to spend a day after an early morning game drive, than lazing on the seats there watching the world go by - crocs, hippos, kingfishers, eagles etc etc?

The staff all worked tirelessly to ensure we had everything we wanted - and the food was so good I put on more weight than I'd like to admit!

We had Hendrix as our guide - wonderful game sightings including one noisy incident involving three leopards up the same tree!

Would highly recommend this place to anyone thginking of a visit to the South Lunagwa" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Glos.

"Our seventh visit need we say more"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"This is one of our favourite camps in Luangwa valley.

Everybody is always very friendly and helpful. Over the years there have been updates to the rooms but never to the detriment of the ambience.

The game viewing was excellent.

A special mention should be made for the way they worked to ensure the moon eclipse on the beach was a memorable night." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D & Ms G
London

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"Wonderful tented chalet after 24 hours travelling and to have our own deck over the river was special.

The camp was run very efficiently and we much enjoyed the pre dinner drinks in the main area with the other guests.

We had a surprise brunch one day on the river bank with a full ‘African ‘ breakfast. A very nice treat." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S
NZ

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"Wonderful small group experience. Personal touch." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Dersingham

"Kaingo - a touch of luxury"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2018
"Our fourth visit and it gets better every time! Everything about this camp experience must be at the top end of the scale. We were welcomed as old friends by many members of staff and looked after exceedingly well. Catherine and her team excelled themselves yet again, keeping us well provided with food of an outstanding quality.

Our guide at Kaingo was Yoram, once again. His knowledge is wide-ranging and he picked up on our interest in birds, spotting and identifying many that we hadn't seen, let alone known before. His tracking skills are outstanding - we were so impressed with his ability to locate leopards that seemed totally hidden in deep bush, and lions that were calling softly from a distance. As always, his positioning of the vehicle to get the best light for photography was exemplary.

We traveled in June this year - earlier than ever before. We saw a much greener landscape, with more water in lagoons and channels, but the downside of this was that the game was more dispersed. However we saw different packs of wild dogs - our first sightings ever. Like nearly all the animals they were relaxed and unbothered by our presence." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Ms ES
Hornsea

"Brilliant safari at Kaingo camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2018
"Kaingo camp was a very special place, the rooms were lovely and the decks looking over the river were wonderful.

The staff were great, we had Slyvester as our guide, he was so good and really made our safari special. We saw so many animals but the Hippos were very special and the Hippo hide was unforgettable." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"Magical 4 days at Kaingo Camp."

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2018
"This was our first safari and from the moment Malcolm picked us up at Mfue Airport Kaingo Camp provided everything and more than we expected. The camp has a beautiful setting overlooking the Luangwe River and we learnt to love the sound and sight of hippos and of course the odd visiting elephant! Both the rooms and the food were excellent. Hat's off to Catherine and the kitchen team.

We liked the fact that we kept the same guide throughout our stay and the group size on activities never exceeded 4. Sly was an outstanding guide and we enjoyed his company, his enthusiasm and his knowledge. We were particularly impressed with his ability to predict the behaviour of leopards and elephants - putting us in the perfect photo spot. Wildlife was diverse and plentiful and we had multiple sitings of lion and leopard as well as dogs and and exciting interactions with elephants both inside and outside the camp! Kaingo worked us hard and both the Hippo Hide and the Mobile Hide provided interesting and enjoyable mid day activities.

South Luangwa and Sly also provided ravishing settings for morning coffee breaks and sundowners - we can't wait to return!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

J+K
Canada

"Luxurious Stay at Kaingo Camp"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2018
"Kaingo far exceeded our wildest expectations! The facility, both our room and the common areas, were breathtaking, and the service was unparalleled. Our chalet was spotless, and we enjoyed spending each midday (when we weren't at a hide!) on our riverside deck, from which I even was lucky enough to see a crocodile kill a monitor lizard one day!

The camp chef, Catherine, was extremely accommodating of our dietary restrictions (vegetarian and severe allergies), and took extra care each meal to point out what was appropriate for us to eat, which was always plentiful and delicious! We were even treated to a surprise riverside picnic one lunch.

The game drives at Kaingo were spectacular, and we saw everything we could ask for, including a leopard kill. Our guide, Sylvester, was excellent, and took extra care to tailor our game drives to our interests." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

D & M
Munich

"Breathtaking experience at Kaingo"

5 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"For us the perfect place for wildlife holidays in every aspect. Remoteness, personalized game drives and service, beautiful location, abundant wildlife, wonderful hosts, family atmosphere, world class guiding, very close to nature........ The love and respect for nature is the main theme in this camp and its sister camp Mwamba! Everybody from the owner to the whole staff live this idea." See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
Wimbledon

"Great guides and many leopard sightings"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"This is a very friendly and welcoming camp with very good guides. Gerard and Agatha were charming hosts. We wanted to see big cats and in our stay here and at the satellite Mwamba Bushcamp we were not disappointed. We have enjoyed several safaris mostly in different countries but have not previously seen as many leopards, both at rest in trees in the morning and hunting at night, thanks to the skill of the guides at Kaingo and Mwamba.

Although the camp was fairly full we had one evening when we (father and adult daughter) were the only guests in our game drive vehicle and on other drives we were paired with a lovely Swedish couple, so never more than 4 and easy viewing and photography.

The two camps tend to share the same area for the game drives which enables them to share information on sightings but with hardly another camp or vehicle in the vicinity, we had the area to ourselves and the animals were never crowded.

The chalets are comfortable and have en suite bathrooms as well as each having their own viewing deck by the river bank. The catering was excellent.

The game walk to Mwamba Bushcamp led by Derek Shelton was an enjoyable experience, despite the extreme October heat, and better than game walks previously experienced." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa