This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr H & Ms E from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

Brilliant Botswana

Botswana between 19 Jun 2019 and 30 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We spent the whole time with Andrew as our guide, after a one-night stopover in Maun, and so all our comments are in the mobile safari review.

It was a great trip."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"A friendly stopover"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"We stayed one night at Thamalakane River Lodge at the beginning of our trip. It was a good place to recover and relax.

They picked us up from the airport - it's about a 30 minute drive from Maun airport - and the check-in was easy. We were in a Babbler Chalet - a one-room stone chalet with good shower and comfortable bed; and a verandah overlooking the dry riverbed. We didn't see the crocs and hippos but we did see monitor lizards and a fish eagle. We were there in winter, so of course it was cold in the mornings and evenings.

The staff were very friendly and sang together at dinner time. The bar was pleasant and the food was fine. Just be aware that they do not take cash."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari

"Honey Badger Heaven with Andrew"

8 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"We had read really good reviews of Andrew private mobile safaris, and we weren't disappointed! We had a wonderful 8 nights with him and his team in Khwai and Savute. Andrew's knowledge of the wildlife and landscape was really impressive and his relaxed and friendly approach was underpinned by great attention to detail and an ability to adapt to his guests and understand their level of safari experience. We called this the Honey Badger trip. We had never seen one before and with Andrew we saw ten. The best sighting was the two who decided to come and do some foraging outside our tent in the middle of the day.

We were the only two guests. We spent 4 nights in Khwai, where we were near the the river; and then moved to Savute and a very different landscape. Andrew's team of 5 moved ahead and set up the camp. It was a very well-run operation and a lot of work went into creating a seemingly simple and old-style camp. Our meru tent was comfortable, with solar lamps in the evening; and an integrated bucket shower and long-drop at the back. It was attractive to passing wildlife too. There had been very little rain this year and so the elephants were particularly interested in our bucket shower and one looked over the top when we were in it! In Savute, hyenas came at night to drink from the canvas washbasins outside our tent. There was also an open-sided tent with a sofa for lounging in the middle of the day; some interesting old books on Botswana and its history; and, of course, the drinks cabinet.

The food was truly amazing, with menus chosen by Andrew's wife Pippa, and cooked by Alec over an open fire or in a metal box under the ashes. He produced a huge range of dishes, from tasty game stews, to Okavango fish, and delicious puddings, cakes and bread every day. Kene announced the menu each night; Tiny looked after the tents and washed and ironed our clothes (using an old-fashioned coal iron); and LB and Julian made everything run smoothly. It was a friendly, informal and tight team and we learned a lot from talking to them about their lives and plans for the future.

There had been very little rain and so the game was concentrated around the water. In Khwai, we saw many hippos and crocodiles on the river and elephants, zebras and giraffes coming down to drink. A highlight was the pride of lions feasting on a buffalo. There was a wide range of antelopes; vervet monkeys and baboons; and we had a glimpse of a leopard. We came across quite a few other vehicles in Khwai and there were other mobile camp sites nearby but Andrew was very good at finding his own routes and own sightings. You can walk in Khwai and we spent a great morning with Andrew pointing out the small stuff that you can never see from a vehicle - although we did also get close to a herd of zebras.

The drive to Savute was long and took us into very different landscape with rocky hills and dried up lakes, with water pumped into the few water holes. We pitched camp on a ridge on the edge of an escarpment. It was a leafier environment and we were miles from any other travellers. The huge and beautiful dried-out marsh held a very wide range of wildlife. We spent an hour watching the King of the Marsh Pride walking across and then lying in the shade by our vehicle. Lion sightings were generally good here and included a pride of females with 5 young cubs, who were completely at ease with vehicles. We also saw wildebeest, jackals, elephants, giraffes and hyenas. And we should mention the birds. Andrew was an amazing spotter and we saw 63 different species on this trip. As you can tell, we really recommend this trip!

As we were there in winter (end of June), it was really cold in the early mornings and quite cold at night. We had taken lots of thin warm layers and a woolly hat and we were fine with those plus the hot water bottles that were provided in the beds and in the open vehicle on the early drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Wild for Zambia

Zambia between 9 Oct 2017 and 19 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Amazing trip back to a country we love."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Back after 19 years and just as wonderful."

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Like going back to welcoming old friends. Tafika has lost none of its friendliness and quality. It's unusual in that it remains a family run venture.

Its natural setting and simple reed huts is underpinned by an amazing infrastructure and attention to detail. Great food and great guiding. We appreciated the introduction of battery fans as it was 104 degrees in the middle of the day in October.

The night drives are a real treat. Saw Leopard and Porcupine as well as many many lions and elephants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Great two storey huts, amazing walking."

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"The unusual two storey reed huts are a treat and the walking with Amon and Scout Renaldo was first class.

And saw cook Patson who we first met at Mwaleshi 19 years ago.

Lots of Elephant around, and Leopard kills in the trees. Also Giraffe and Lion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Simple pleasures"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"A fantastic camp in a great setting. The walk here from Tafika was spectacular, led by Amon.

We had the camp to ourselves for two nights and it was great to have the opportunity to talk to the staff. who produce amazing food and hospitality way out in the bush.

Plenty of animals coming into the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"Had our final night back at tafika after the walking camps.

It was an opportunity to learn about the work they do with the local community through the Tafika Fund.

We visited the local village and school and were inspired by the young people we met."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Great return to Tanzania

Tanzania between 6 Jun 2016 and 16 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was yet another great trip with Expert Africa. You are our Go To travel company.

It was great to be back in Tanzania and we split our time between the Selous and Ruaha. We chose to stay in just two camps and that paid off as we got to know the staff and the areas a bit better. The camps complemented each other well - Sand Rivers is more obviously luxurious while Mwagusi is very comfortable but keeps a welcome sense of the bush and the 'old days'.

We went at the very beginning of the dry season - the up side was there were fewer guests there; the down side was the bush was still very green and dense so our guides had to work a bit harder to find the game - but we saw loads!

Expert Africa, you maintained your usual high standards and everything ran smoothly. Thanks again!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep going! Keep specialising in Africa. Keep a real range of camps - the basic and the old-fashioned are an endangered species these days."

Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Wild life on the river bank"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"This is a really comfortable camp with great guiding. It's even more comfortable than when we were there 12 years ago as they have added plunge pools to some of the rooms and a lot of white sofas. The location on the river bank is amazing and means the activities are really varied - trips on the river, fishing, walking, as well as wonderful game drives and bush breakfasts.

The staff are all very friendly and professional. The rooms have high thatched roofs and are open sided - so you can hear those hippos and hyenas at night. They do have electricity in them and big bathrooms with indoor and outdoor showers. We were lucky enough to be given a hillside suite which had an outside sitting area and little pool.

The highlight of our trip was the fly-camping - we'd really recommend this. You sleep out under a mosquito net - so the stars are amazing. The bucket shower and long-drop toilet remind you of the old safari days and the team produce wonderful food from the bush oven. The camp fire, lanterns and your ranger with his gun make sure that the animals don't come and inspect you during the night. Thanks to Eric, Edward our guide and all the staff who made the trip so memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"The fly camping was the highlight of our stay at Sand Rivers.

You drive or walk out from the main camp to a tiny temporary camp site - in our case on the edge of a lake. The team have gone ahead and set up your tent (a mosquito net) and the bucket shower and long-drop toilet (yes, there is safari glamping!). You sit around the camp fire as the light fades, have a great dinner made from the bush oven (make sure you see the kitchen); and then fall asleep looking at the stars.

You can hear the animals around you in the night but the fire, lanterns, and your friendly ranger with his gun mean that you are not likely to have visitors. This is a magical Must Do!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Magical Mwagusi!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2016
"This is one of our favourite camps in Africa - the only one we have visited 3 times!

Why do we like it? It's kept its integrity over the years. It feels simple and comfortable (very comfortable) and you really do feel you are in the bush - no swimming pools or spas here! It also has the very best guiding. This all stems from the vision and commitment of the camp's owner, Chris Fox, who has created a very special feel here on the banks of the dry Mwagusi riverbed.

Huge thatched rooms with curved verandas overlooking the river, only solar power, and a bedroom area that zips into a tent at night to keep out curious mosquitos. The team here are fantastic - many of them have been here a long time as there is a real training programme for staff, many of whom are from the local area. The food is great and there are many surprises as the location for dinner changes every night.

The guiding is terrific - the staff really go the distance for you. We saw wild dog, lion, hyena, giraffe, zebra, and loads of elephants including many babies - and this was at the very beginning of the dry season when the game is a bit harder to spot.

Definitely a camp with an individual feel - something to be treasured."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"We only stayed here for about 8 hours while waiting for a flight from Dar to Nairobi. It was a good place to rest up, have a shower and a beer and something to eat.

The staff were professional and the rooms were comfortable. It's not too far from the airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Great Zimbabwe!

Zimbabwe between 7 Oct 2012 and 22 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa has consistently supported travellers going to Zimbabwe. Why did we wait so long! This was a great trip which gave us a real insight into a complex country and its history. We would encourage other travellers to go.

Everything worked very smoothly in terms of transfers and the camps did not disappoint. We decided not to try and cover too much and spent our time in Hwange, Matopos and Bulawayo which gave us a great mix of experiences. We saw a good range of game, some important historical sites and met a great mix of people. We look forward to going back."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Lokathula Lodge

"Good stopover at Victoria Falls"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2012
"We stayed here because everywhere else in Vic Falls was booked! It is not one of Expert Africa's regular recommendations and probably not quite as comfortable as the other lodges because it is largely self-catering. It's part of a wider complex that includes the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and we could use that for meals and drinks. The staff were friendly and we had warthogs and and impala grazing outside our door. There was a nice open living room - we were advised to close the canvas flaps when we went out because of the naughty baboons.

The lodges are great for self-caterers - kitchens and plenty of space. If, like us, you are not self-catering you might find it a bit bare. There were lots of mosquitoes when we were there (in October) and many of them were inside the mosquito net, so take your own mosquito coil or Doom spray! The next door Safari Lodge has a lovely restaurant and bar area which looks over the waterhole. There is a good shuttle bus into town. All in all a good place to start your trip to Zimbabwe."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Eyeball to eyeball with elephants"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"A new camp set up by top Zim guide Dave Carson. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with the tented rooms and open dining area set around the waterhole.

It's described as simple but we found it really comfortable with lovely airy rooms well kitted out. It felt refreshingly different to some of the bigger camps we'd been to. The managers were away when we stayed but Tony Marsh, Washington and Gareth and all the staff did a great job in making everyone feel at home. We were there in the hottest month (October) and so there was plenty of game at our waterhole and we were eyeball to eyeball with elephants as we sat behind the boma made of branches and dead trees and they came to drink.

Our guide Tony, took us walking and on game drives and was a great source of information. The only drawback at Hwange is that at this time of year the only game is around the pans and driving between can take quite a while. We've never seen so many elephants in one place. Other game was more limited although we did see lion at a distance and also sable and roan. Three nights felt just right."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"A truly professional camp!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"The Hide is a well-established camp that pays great attention to detail. A very high standard of guiding and a good range of game, including at its own waterhole. The rooms are well-laid out thatched and tented. Ours was one of the honeymoon suites (must have been at least our third honeymoon!) with indoor shower, two outdoor showers and an outdoor bath.

It's a very comfortable camp but doesn't feel in any way 'over the top'. You can do as much or as little as you want. We had the same guide (Dafi) throughout our stay (we were paired with one other couple) and he was licensed to take us walking as well as driving. We came across buffalo, elephants and kudu while on foot and saw lion who had killed two elephant, wildebeest and giraffes and ostrich from the vehicle. The number of elephants was astounding - we must have seem at least 100 at one waterhole. One of the highlights was an amazing electric storm which chased us back to camp after the evening drive. 24mm of rain fell in about an hour and the power went out - but the kitchen still delivered dinner promptly at 8 o'clock! We were pleased we had chosen to spend 3 nights here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"A cave with a view"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"We booked 4 nights because we thought there it would provide a wide range of experiences. We weren't wrong! The camp is set in an amazing location in the Matopos Hills. Most of the rooms are folded into the granite rocks. We had one of the honeymoon suites (again!). We had to squeeze through a crack in the rocks which opened out to the pathway to our large cave house that had a veranda and a swinging walkway to a gazebo looking out over the hills. It was just the best place to relax, remember our place in the grand scheme of things, and learn something about the culture of Zimbabwe.

The camp staff were great - very kind and efficient - and we were lucky to have Paul Hubbard as our guide during the stay who is a real expert not just on Matopos but on archaeology and the history of the area generally. He took us into the Matopos National Park to look at some amazing cave paintings; to see Rhodes grave; and to visit a rural school and children's home and was a generous and friendly companion. We didn't go on game drives here but the white rhino are nearby.

The camp was a great place just to hang. It has a good library, a lovely natural swimming pool, and an interesting mix of guests. We'd really recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bulawayo Club

Bulawayo Club

"Another time, another place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2012
"It was an amazing experience, staying in this old colonial club, now sitting at the heart of a new, emerging Zimbabwe. Well done to the Amalinda Group for saving it from extinction.

We rated the overall facilities good rather than excellent but that is not to underestimate the work that the management have done in upgrading them. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is fine. The service can be slow but the staff were lovely.

The Club has the longest bar we've seen and is now letting women in every night (at last!). The snooker room was deserted (until we played a very amateurish game there) and the dusty side rooms echoed with history. The clientele, however, reflected modern Zimbabwe and an interesting mix of tourists.

We were accompanied by Paul Hubbard, our guide from Camp Amalinda, and he took us to the Railway Museum which was a fantastic experience, seeing Cecil Rhodes private coach, alongside the Garratt engines. He also took us on a pub crawl and architectural walk around the city centre. The next day we drove out to the Khami Ruins, a World Heritage Site second only to Great Zimbabwe. A great way to finish our trip before flying from out from Bulawayo Airport (quite an experience!) and home via Jo'burg."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

4 rivers and a few assorted islands

Namibia and 2 other countries between 26 May 2011 and 8 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip! We were on 4 rivers: the Kavango, the Okovango, the Kwando and the Zambezi and stayed in a number of island lodges (as well as Okonjima and Windhoek). The variety was remarkable. Some of the road journeys were long but by and large the travel was good and we'd recommend self-drive because you have so much more contact with people. The border posts were a world unto themselves - lovely but leave plenty of time.

Given that we were passing through three countries, and had quite precise pickup times, it would have been helpful to have been told about the time changes. We worked out the ones between countries but were caught out by the fact that the eastern end of the Caprivi Strip is not on Namibian time!

The pick up at Kasane (n Botwswana) was not straightforward. We'd been told we would be picked up by our last lodge, Islands of Siankaba. But they don't pick up outside Zambia. A firm called Bushtracks does all the pick ups (and does not have a board with your name on it). It was quite by chance that we managed to find them. That said, the water crossing (at the crossroads of Zimbabwe/Botwswana/Zambia/Nambiia) was wild!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Another great trip with Expert Africa. So thank you once again!
It would have been good to know about 'Caprivi time' and to have been given the name of the company doing the pick up at Kasane.

Thank you very much!!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2011
"This was a really good place to stay before setting off on our adventures. The staff were welcoming. It was in a quiet residential area with great views. The rooms were really original.

A little bit of style over substance in that the two washbasins and shower looked great but didn't function entirely successfully.

Lovely breakfast but the dinner tried a bit too hard. That said, we would definitely stay here again - and it was 100% nicer than any hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2011
"Fascinating to come back here after 16 years and see how it has developed in both facilities and strategy. Okonjima is not your regular lodge and tracking cats via radio collars in very large enclosures is a different experience - but a fantastic one!

We stayed in Bush Camp, which has lovely, comfortable, open rooms, well spread out. The bird food was a nice touch and attracted a flock of great sightings. Our guide Albert was a top man who really went the distance for us. We tracked leopard, cheetah and scrambled up a bushy escarpment on foot to find hyena.

It was really interesting to visit Africat and see its work in action and hear about the increased focus on education."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2011
"This was a nice surprise. We'd gone just for a stopover before hitting the Caprivi Strip - but this was a great little lodge. They had been badly hit by the floods this year - closed for a couple of months. We were shown the tide marks! They had worked so hard to get everything up and running again and the staff were charming and dedicated.

The rooms are pretty simple but everything is there and it works. We were promised the 'best steak in Namibia' and I think we got it! The location on the Kavango River is truly amazing - great sunsets and a chance to look across to Angola, with women washing clothes in the river on that side and working the fish traps next to the lodge here Namibia.

We wished we had been able to stay longer and explore the river and Rundu, which looks a pretty funky frontier town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2011
"An amazing little hideaway in the Botswana pan handle. The drive from Namibia to the lodge was interesting and easy. Just leave time for border crossings and remember that Botswana is on different time to Namibia sometimes!

The water was high; the papyrus and reeds were thick. At this time of year (May), it was a place for hypnotic boat trips, some tiger fishing and an incredible array of birds. We also did the awesome (and bumpy) day trip to the Tsodilo Hills - a spiritual place with 3000 year old bushmen paintings. We'd highly recommend this.

The lodge itself has been family owned and run for many years and has a unique style and character. However, it has been struggling in recent times and new management has come in with what sound like reasonable plans for re-marketing and updating up it. We hope they keep the same special character and wish them well. The staff are part of the family and our guide, Socks, was excellent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Susuwe Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2011
"This Lodge is a class act. Great management, great individual style - and great elephants!

You need to know that Susuwe and the whole of this part of the Caprivi Strip is on South African (not Windhoek) time. We kept our pick up waiting for an hour because we weren't aware of this!

The Lodge has wonderful staff. The rooms are comfortable and full of individual details. We were lucky to have the manager, Peter, as our guide. He is from Zimbabwe and has truly deep knowledge and a calmness that is rare and valuable. We saw literally hundreds of elephants and wide; range of antelope and birds. And of course there is the river! The food was very good; the peacefulness of the tree house viewing platform was good and the staff enabled guests to go at their own individual pace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Islands of Siankaba review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2011
"We had been concerned about coming into Victoria Falls and finding ourselves in a more touristy environment. Well, we shouldn't have worried. Siankaba is very individual and 30 km away from the falls, so feels exceptionally peaceful.

The level of comfort might feel out of place in the bush but closer to Livingstone it felt fine and we appreciated the luxurious touches, such as the electric blanket! The staff are very well trained but delightfully warm. This is a water place. The sunset river cruise and the tour of Victoria Falls were great.

We were particularly interested in seeing the next door village, where many of the staff come from, and which has benefitted from the support of the Lodge and the guests. The new pre-school is impressive and it felt as if the village community were co-owners of the project, which made the village walk feel comfortable rather than voyeuristic.

This was a great place to end a trip. To sleep listening to the mighty Zambezi flooding past and to return to the UK with the spray from the Victoria Falls in your hair and clothes (yes, you will get a bit wet) was terrific."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Elephants!

Tanzania between 30 Jun 2008 and 11 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We'd done a big trip to Tanzania with you 5 years ago. This one to new corners of Ruaha and Selous was just as good!

Your recommendation on the order of the camps - starting with Mdonya and working up to Beho Beho - was spot on. Trips to Tanzania (especially if you include Beho Beho) are not cheap, but well worth it. The logistics worked well, with Kearsley and Coastal doing there bit. We've rarely been back to the same camp twice but we did it with Mwagusi - and it remains our favourite of the 3 we visited this time.

We had been a bit worried about the new information about the Health Desks at Dar and the need to show your Yellow Fever certificate. You gave us some helpful info on your own experiences. And - after all that - we were never asked for the certificates! I think it would have been different if we were going to Zanzibar or coming from Kenya.

Many thanks - and look forward to travelling with you again."

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"Fantastic location alongside the dry river bed. Great staff and good leadership from Manager, Nick. Good food. We thought some of the previous comments on this camp were unfair. It is clearly described (and priced) as a simple camp with tented accommodation. Its simplicity is refreshing and its strength.

Animals (particularly elephants) really DO come into camp. This puts the guests in their proper place. You have to drive a long way to see a big variety of game. The guiding is enthusiastic but there is not the training infrastructure that you find in other camps. We preferred the shorter local drives and spending time in camp itself where things come to you. The tetse flies are a problem here - although thankfully not in the camp itself."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"One of the few camps we've been to twice. It didn't disappoint. Wonderful attention to detail which runs from the food, through the service and kindness of staff, to the excellent guiding. The camp has evolved over the past 5 years while retaining its distinctive architecture of thatched bandas with very good bathrooms. Each room has a big and comfortable seating area looking over the dry river bed.

Best night time animal noises! And an amazing variety of game on the drives. Guides are very well trained and really work hard for you - thank you Samson! And many of the staff have been with the camp for many years which says a lot for the owner, Chris Fox's, commitment to the local community. We'd go back a third time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2008
"An expensive and distinctive camp - a real treat at the end of a trip. Great attention to detail both in the accommodation and the smooth running of the place. More like staying in someone's African retreat than a regular camp. But this is simple, not gold-plated, luxury. The stone and thatch bandas have amazing open terraces with a cinemascope view over the hills and a welcome breeze.

The food is great and the managers are adept at engaging their guests and bringing them together.

The walking is good here, especially out to the First World War battlefield of Beho Beho where Selous was killed. The guiding has a very good reputation, although we were surprised that a number of guides had only completed their training relatively recently.

Vehicles have a single guide who is also the driver - not common practice elsewhere. That said the game is good, particularly lion and elephant. The trip to Lake Tagalala and the Hot Springs makes a great day out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"A useful and comfortable international hotel about 25 minutes from the airport.

Fine for an overnight before the early morning flight to London."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team