This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bulawayo Club
Bulawayo Club

Reviews of Bulawayo Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bulawayo Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Cold Ash

"A Strange Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"We were warned in advance, so no complaints. But this is strange place. After the very warm welcome we received everywhere else, the laid back staff and funereal atmosphere came as a surprise. Food service was incredibly slow, particularly given the small number of people staying. But it was interesting to get some feel of 'Colonial Rhodesia' and see all the memorabilia.

The shower was dangerous (no control on water temperature, no bath mat, no non-slip mat in bath etc.).

No mosquito nets provided (the only place we visited where that was so) and we got badly bitten on our last night." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr K
New York

"Bulawayo Club review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"I did not actually stay at the Bulawayo Club. I had a room booked but it became apparent very shortly before I left, that the booking had been "mislaid". They had a big function that evening and presumably needed the room. I was warned that the Club was unreliable. I did visit during the day - it seemed nice. Bit disappointed.

I did stay instead at the Banff Lodge, which was good. It was a little noisy (Rugby World Cup Scotland vs. South Africa) and the rooms are close to the bar.

Kudos to Nick at Expert Africa - he arranged a change of accommodation at short notice and a driver for the day.

Bulawayo is very interesting. Railway museum is excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"A step back in history"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"The Club conjured up so many images of a different time and was delightful. The staff were very helpful and very apologetic about the noise from an evening celebration the night we were staying.

We weren't troubled by the noise, nor by the lack of electricity the following morning when our Full English was imaginatively cooked without electricity.

Bulawayo was an interesting town to visit, but the amount of litter lining the street and public places was a deterrent to the enjoyment. However, it was good to see local colour in absolute safety." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P
Bucks

"Charming old building and friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"An excellent place to stay when viewing old Bulawayo where the Natural History museum and the Railway museum were both very good.

The Art Gallery did not have much to offer, other than the only political satire I saw in Zimbabwe (two paintings, one of a Mugabe postered vehicle with a flat tyre and a Changiri vehicle where the wheel had come off)

Everything in the Club was charming apart from the shower facilities which were not as good as Hwange or Amalinda" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Bulawayo Club - a time capsule"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"Our pick-up from the airport was on time and efficient.

We loved this place, just one or two small points could have made it a really excellent stay.

Despite only a few guests, on one morning all the hot water was taken by the room next door so we had a cold bath.
Rooms were quite cold with no extra heating, so a hot water bottle would have been nice or an electric blanket perhaps?

Just a bit more TLC around the hotel would have made all the difference as it was a bit 'tired' in a few places - but we really loved the 'colonial' ambience and the quality of the woodwork and fixtures. Staff were good and attentive, although the breakfasts were not to the same standard as the rest on the trip, but still OK.

They also now accept VISA credit cards." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Manchester

"Bulawayo Club review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"The Bulawayo Club is an interesting and unique experience, well situated for seeing Bulawayo. It tries hard to meet guests' needs but is hampered by not being a hotel, but a (men's) club. Eg, the only women's toilet in the downstairs area is for staff, not signed and not particularly clean. However, short of returning to your room upstairs, there is no choice but to use it. Freshening it up and cleaning it would not cost money as we appreciate that might be an issue. The men's toilet is huge - women seem to be an afterthought.

The tea-making facilities are not in the room but in a guest lounge. This is not a problem except they didn't refill the supplies or cups, or take away the used teabags etc. We were there for 3 days and eventually had to ask for teabags and cups

Shorts are not permitted in the bar as my husband found out, and we did not feel that women were particularly welcome there. However, as it was so cold, we rarely used it, preferring to sit by the log fire in the entrance hall.

The staff were very friendly and helpful but the club isn't geared up to modern tourist needs. The bar seems to close quite early in the evening without warning. There was no indication of whether we could get lunch and were only asked whether we wanted any after we had gone out to find somewhere else to eat.

It was unusually cold in Bulawayo, and the rooms were freezing. However the log fire in the reception area became the venue for dining and drinking.

These are nit picking comments really as we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay there again. We had an excellent guide in Paul Hudson." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Essex

"Retro experience at Bulawayo Club"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2012
"Relies heavily in its history and character. Ideally situated for a short visit to Bulawayo.

Our transfer/courtesy driver looked after us extremely well throughout the stay which enabled us to visit St Johns Cathedral, the Railway Museum (a must for children of all ages) and the very well presented Natural History Museum.

We were recommended not to take any street photographs which was a shame." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Another time, another place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2012
"It was an amazing experience, staying in this old colonial club, now sitting at the heart of a new, emerging Zimbabwe. Well done to the Amalinda Group for saving it from extinction.

We rated the overall facilities good rather than excellent but that is not to underestimate the work that the management have done in upgrading them. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is fine. The service can be slow but the staff were lovely.

The Club has the longest bar we've seen and is now letting women in every night (at last!). The snooker room was deserted (until we played a very amateurish game there) and the dusty side rooms echoed with history. The clientele, however, reflected modern Zimbabwe and an interesting mix of tourists.

We were accompanied by Paul Hubbard, our guide from Camp Amalinda, and he took us to the Railway Museum which was a fantastic experience, seeing Cecil Rhodes private coach, alongside the Garratt engines. He also took us on a pub crawl and architectural walk around the city centre. The next day we drove out to the Khami Ruins, a World Heritage Site second only to Great Zimbabwe. A great way to finish our trip before flying from out from Bulawayo Airport (quite an experience!) and home via Jo'burg." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"Bulawayo Club review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2012
"Wonderful old building and nice staff. The room was a bit noisy at night so ask for one that faces away from the streets.

Good food, and we enjoyed a couple of special cultural events in Bulawayo. Nice town!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Malawi; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"A lot done. A lot more to do."

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"Wonderful historic place. Great photos. It will take a long time and a lot of investment to make it into what it could be. First room had a noisy fan and a dirty duvet. Second room was bright and airy but again an unclean duvet which had to be replaced. Both bathrooms did not have a shower curtain!

Paul Murray in the Bradt Guide says that it has recently been restored inside and out. Really? Must have been bad before. Well the stairs could do with a good cleaning and the removal of tattered and frayed carpet for a start!

Again Murry says "excellent food served in truly elegant dining room". Diningroom is interesting without being elegant. And as for food. Breakfast was again mainly full English with a few other bits. Dinner was set menu and not very appealing with the result we found other places to dine for the two nights we were there.

Could be great with the right investment and management." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 11
76%
11 reviews of Bulawayo Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
6
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Bulawayo

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Banff Lodge

Banff Lodge

Banff Lodge offers mid-range accommodation in the suburbs of Bulawayo, expect good food, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa