This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Cambs.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A really fabulous trip, exceeded expectations

Botswana and 2 other countries between 9 May 2017 and 28 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wow, it was just wonderful everything went seamlessly. All we wanted to see, we saw - painted dogs, leopards, lions, cheetahs; the whole lot and more. Venues were superb and staff and guides brilliant at all the camps. If we did the same trip again we might stay an extra night at Lagoon, and sacrifice one night at Little Kwara, just because it was so good. Thanks Tracy for all your advice and help, (also Chris for his offer to help with the BA problems - which thankfully did not affect our return.

The small plane flights were great and the hot air balloon trip outstanding."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Superb luxury venue and service to match"

4 nights Arrived 10 May 2017
"We loved every minute of our time here. The staff were always super-attentive and helpful. The food was always excellent and we could eat at any time we wished within reason. The rooms were well laid out and luxurious, in some areas however it was starting to look just tiny little bit tired around the reception lounge sofas and rugs. We left feedback to this effect. Nevertheless it was a fabulous venue and experience. A surprising amount of game seen on our drives, even though it was a desert location. Wonderful place to see!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Convenient, only 5 mins walk from terminal"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2017
"Easy to find with your instructions. A bit disappointed with the noise levels as double gazing probably not really up to current standards for an on-airport hotel. Perhaps the Intercontinental may be better in future? The menu was not extensive when we only wanted a snack, when it arrived - it was cold. As we only had a one-night stopover here, it was not not a real problem. Convenient."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"Great venue in the trees, with a lovely vista"

4 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"Again a lovely venue and outlook. Food was always excellent, staff were always brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
It was a lovely experience and we loved everything about the camp and the stay. There were no downsides at all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"A wonderfull experience and location, "

5 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"Again we could not find a single fault with anything we did or had here. It was a great place to be and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were wonderfull."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"What fabulous location and service, loved it"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2017
"The staff were great, and facilities were up to the same standard as the rest of the camps we visited. This was the largest of our rooms on the trip and was a fabulous size for thatched tented accommodation. The location was once again superb and they even made a special surprise, in-room dinner - with waitress, for our wedding anniversary. We wished we had stayed another night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Thanks EA for arranging a great trip

Zimbabwe between 3 Aug 2013 and 18 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great holiday, sorry to be home."

Bulawayo Club

Bulawayo Club

"Bulawayo Club - a time capsule"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"Our pick-up from the airport was on time and efficient.

We loved this place, just one or two small points could have made it a really excellent stay.

Despite only a few guests, on one morning all the hot water was taken by the room next door so we had a cold bath.
Rooms were quite cold with no extra heating, so a hot water bottle would have been nice or an electric blanket perhaps?

Just a bit more TLC around the hotel would have made all the difference as it was a bit 'tired' in a few places - but we really loved the 'colonial' ambience and the quality of the woodwork and fixtures. Staff were good and attentive, although the breakfasts were not to the same standard as the rest on the trip, but still OK.

They also now accept VISA credit cards."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"Fantastic Amalinda"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"Everything about this stay was excellent, except we had a thieving mouse who stole the early morning flapjack biscuits and our soap!!

The guides and staff were superb, so was food and service. The location and ambience were wonderful.
Our visit to the orphanage was eye opening and game drives and rock paintings were excellent.

Electric blankets were a nice touch, as it was cold in the early morning. We were sad to leave?
This park is a bit devoid of mammal species due to the poaching activities some years ago. We were told populations were slowly re-establishing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

"Transits were just a bit too long."

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"Just one or two small points regarding transfers.

Whilst accepting that the camp is around 50 miles from the nearest hard road, we thought that a 9.5 hr transfer was a little too long for comfort (nevertheless it was an enjoyable experience). We were however given a packed lunch which was very nice.

On the transfer to Vic Falls we had a 6am start which, in an open vehicle, was a little cold (this part took 3hrs), we were however met by another 'closed' vehicle and this part took 2 hrs.

All other aspects of the trip were outstanding. What a super location, right under the tree line and with the waterhole and hide it was spectacular. One other good aspect was that we could use a red spotlight to look for game on our way back in the evenings. This proved very successful as we were able to locate and watch a leopard.

Food was excellent, as were staff. Again, we didn't want to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Excellent location and really good service."

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"We couldn't fault this hotel, everything about it was excellent or good.

The location suited us well. Food and service were excellent. Staff were always more than helpful. The manager always checked with us if everything was OK morning and evening. They have free Internet and wifi connections for use by guests. The on-site activities booking office was very efficient with our trips and also our flight confirmations.

This hotel now accepts both VISA and MasterCard credit cards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team