This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp


19°4’10.6"S 27°15’2.5"E

Reviews of Little Makalolo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Makalolo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Makalolo Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mssrs RMN/AT
London

"A superb camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"This was an exceptionally well run place in every respect, despite the heat and drought. The standards are high and the quality of the place shone through.

We had a really excellent guide, Leo(!) and all the camp staff were most charming and helpful. The highlight, once again for us, was a visit at breakfast time of a small pack of wild dogs, three adults and six pups, to feed on a dead elephant who had died overnight just in front of camp.

We watched them for 90 minutes and were delighted to observe them at such close quarters. We had some excellent game drives and saw leopard, bush baby, genet and, finally , eland to add to our tally overall." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 7n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

7 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

9 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
Oxon

"Excellent Safari & Service at Little Makalolo"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"First class service and food.

Excellent guiding and sightings

Friendly camp atmosphere

Visit to the local village was insightful and rewarding" See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Oxforshire

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Again very knowledgeable guide, making our game drive interesting. Guides keep in touch with each other radioing when something interesting to be seen. eg Lions.

Visit to local village was an eye opener, lovely people we felt very welcome. Happy smiling children pleased to see us, asking lots of questions. Danced and sang for us brilliant performance." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Luxury camp in Hwange"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"Little Mak is a very comfortable camp with just six tented chalets set in a semi-circle around a watering hole which is frequented regularly by a variety of wildlife especially elephants. Each of the tents are well laid out with indoor and outdoor showers facilities. The hot water is generated by solar panels and is extremely effective although it does take some considerable time for the hot water to appear at the taps.

The detailed report on the EA website is very comprehensive and accurately covers all aspects of the layout of the accommodation and the camp itself.

Dickson, our guide for the duration of our stay, was extremely knowledgeable and managed to find lions plus cubs on our first day in camp who were fantastic to watch. Hwange is noted for its large elephant population and we often felt that they were all at Little Mak. We spent part of an evening game drive sitting in the log pile in front of the watering hole totally surrounded by at least five or six family groups totalling well over 60, including a number of very young calves. The interaction of the young as they tried to emulate their older siblings was fascinating.

Sundowners at another watering hole, again surrounded by elephants was another highlight, especially as they walked right past us, totally disinterested in our vehicle or us, in order to get to the water.

Dickson also managed to find a cheetah on a hunt during our transfer to Camp Hwange by road, as well as annoying a hippo who seemed to take an instant dislike to our vehicle and decided to charge!!. Hippos run quite fast it would seem!!

There are a couple of points we would make regarding the camp. EA states that dining style is group meals, however that appears to no longer be the case as we were seated at separate tables for our entire stay, and as the camp was far from full, this made for a somewhat isolated experience. All the camps we have visited over the years have used communal dining and this is an aspect that we always enjoyed. I don’t know if this a recent departure for Wilderness Safaris however we were disappointed by this aspect of the camp. Something they might want to reconsider.

The other point we would make is that due to the camps location you have to spend approximately 20 mins driving through dense mopane forest before reaching any of the more open areas where wildlife can be easily seen and tracked. It’s not a major issue but an aspect that needs to be taken into consideration during game drives

All in all a great camp in a fantastic location." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Switzerland

"Little Makalolo"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2016
"An absolut wonderfull Camp, quite upmarket. The Staff and especially the guiding of Charles were absolutely brilliant. Definately one of the best Guides I've had so far.

All activities have been on a vehicle. Sightings were absolutely thrilling, wouldn't have expected that much in terms of quantity and quality of Game sights. Lions everywhere, Cheetah, Elephants, Zebras, Giraffes. Birding was great, i was able to tick down 100 species in this trip. Great luxurious Camp.

Highly appreciated their luxury Safari vehicles, 2 single seats in a row and in the middle a box to take care of my photographic equipment.

Loved that place!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Canterbury

"Little Mak - never to be forgotten"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2015
"Another well run Wilderness camp - this time our visit was made by our guide, Eustace. We would rate him as among the top 5 guides we have encountered over very many safaris in southern Africa. He is charming, very knowledgeable, has such a keen sense of the bush that he knows before it happens that something wonderful is about to occur (even if we did spot the wild dog before him!).

The game viewing at Hwange was superb." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AL
France

"Little Makalolo - Simply the best"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"We drove to Little Makalolo from Vic Falls and were met at Hwange Main Camp by our guide, Eustace, who set the stage for the most enjoyable stay at this wonderful camp. All of the staff were friendly, efficient and obviously very happy to be part of the team and they made us feel like family. The smiles, the humour, the knowledge and the desire to make our stay as good for themselves as it was for us was just brilliant. The food quality, service and the clean rooms completed the perfect stay.

Eustace proved to be a superb guide and we were able to quickly establish a wonderful personal rapport which enhanced our shared experiences of the flora and fauna.

Elephant viewing was just amazing and we had great sightings of lion, eland, sable and many other animals both large and small as well as lots of birds.
Pumped waterholes create great wildlife viewing, especially Elephant, but it will be interesting to see how the vast overpopulation of these gentle giants can be controlled to preserve Hwange." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
C
Boston

"Amazing Atmosphere in Little Makalolo"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2015
"Loved everything about the camp. The entire staff was so friendly starting the moment we arrived at the airstrip - cool towel, cooler of beverages and animal spotting before we even arrived at camp. Once we got there, a warm towel, a welcome cocktail and 5 or 6 gentlemen greeting us, taking our bags, getting us settled and getting us out to see wildlife. Our guide, Mike (or Miiiiiiiike as we all called him) was AMAZING, not just knowledgeable which is obviously a requirement for the job, but charismatic, fun and flexible, always trying to accommodate what we wanted to do/see.

The rooms were wonderful, including the charming loo with a view and the outdoor shower. The only downside was that warm and cold water in the sink came from 2 different taps, so getting "warm" water was a challenge. But I loved the "water babies" that were put on our beds every night to keep us warm (and also in the jeeps in the morning).

When there were questions/issues with our departure time from the camp they were great about trying to work it all out, never getting frustrated and always keeping us informed.

The log house by the watering hole was an amazing experience, the food was delicious and the conversation around the firepit after dinner was great. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a great safari experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Oxon

"Happy Little Makalolo"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2015
"Really friendly classic camp with great guides and service." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Little Makalolo review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"Has the advantage of being a small camp which enables staff to give good levels of personal attention." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 18
99%
18 reviews of Little Makalolo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa