This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by SoCalCouple from Calif.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

2

My Oct 2023 trip

Zimbabwe and 2 other countries between 2 Oct 2023 and 19 Oct 2023

Trip rating: Excellent
"Maruska did a great job planning our trip and was great when it came to answering all of our questions!"

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

"Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2023
"Staff wonderful and friendly, breakfast good and fabulous room!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Private Cape Town Tour

"Private Cape Town Tour review"

7 Oct 2023 • All-day excursion

It was a beautiful ride.
Excellent
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

"Chobe Game Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2023
"Our experince there was not good. The food was generally terrible, and we wound up with food poisoning. The effects of the food poisoning effected us for the entirelty of our trip.

Our server was very unaccomodating and rude at times. About 1/2 the meals were served buffet style with staff never refilling the dishes. The food quality was very poor. I skipped at least 2 meals because of the quality and offerings. It was only the last night when the chef came to speak with us and apologized for not paying attention to our dietary requests.

Other than our guide, and a couple others, the staff was not warm or inviting.

Our guide Maggie was the highlight of our experince. She tried extra hard to find a variety of animals to give us a great safari adventure. She did a great job, and we were lucky to have her as our guide."
Poor
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location
Excellent
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2023
"The hotel is beautiful and the staff were warm and inviting.

Breakfast was great and we enjoyed high tea there as well."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Elephant Encounter

Elephant Encounter

"Elephant Encounter review"

12 Oct 2023 • All-day excursion

While the staff was very nice, it was not as expected.

I expected to learn more about the elephants and their care, as well as interact with them.

We had a photo op with the elephants, fed them a snack and then the staff marketed photos and videos of our experience.
Average
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2023
"Our experience at Little Makalolo Camp was very special.

The staff were extremely warm and inviting and did everything to make our experience wonderful. The food was gourmet quality, creatively prepared and served beautifully. Our guide Leo was beyond amazing! He is a great tracker and has a sixth sense about the animals surrounding the camp. We saw things we never imagined.

The camp has a water hole adjacent to camp and a pool at the camp that brought a parade of animals, all throughout the day. We were often 2-3 feet from Elephants, Lions (and cubs), Cheetahs, Buffalo and even Hyenas. Leo even made my dream of seeing Wild Dogs come true (not a small feat)!

We are so grateful for Leo and all the staff at Liitle Mak!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

The Peech

"The Peech review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2023
"This hotel is very special. The staff is amazing!

They are committed to each and every guest. They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

They were also quite helpful helping us sort out a few travel issues and provided us a generous late check out due to our delayed flight.

The hotel grounds are lovely and the food is exceptional. The chef even prepared a special soup for us that was delicious.

A very special hotel which is a short walk or uber to the Melrose Arch shopping district."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team