This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

146 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

33% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 146
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"We stayed at the hotel for one night whilst transiting between the Okavango Delta and Little Makalolo in Hwange National Park in Zimbabwe. We didn't arrive until after 3pm and were picked up at 6.45am so we had very little time there. However, we did fit in a visit to the Falls.

At the suggestion of the Wilderness Safaris representative in the hotel we used a guide for the visit to the Falls. It seemed a bit steep (USD114 for 2 of which USD60 is for the park entry fees) but it was well worth it and we were glad we did. We have previously seen the Falls from the Zamibian side but they are even more impressive from the Zim side.

The hotel presents itself as a 5 star luxury hotel but is really trading on its history, charm and location. It's not a 5 star luxury hotel by the standards of a Four Seasons Hotel or the Cape Grace in Cape Town for example. That said, it was perfectly comfortable with a spacious well equipped room and the location is exceptional.

You can't help wondering what it was like in its heyday." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Room 212 poor outlook, brick wall not what I expect for a deluxe room!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2022
"The new stable wing has very good rooms but no view except the lawn. They are currently renovating the old rooms." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"We really enjoyed our stay here, where the staff were friendly and attentive.

The hotel has a colonial atmosphere, and the public rooms are full of interesting pictures from that era. The bedroom was enormous, with a separate spacious sitting area and the most enormous bathroom, with a huge walk-in shower. All beautifully clean and well maintained.

The gardens were pretty and had wonderful views of the Falls. Resident warthogs and many monkeys provided amusement. We did not eat in the main restaurant, but at Jungle Junction, a more informal restaurant a short walk through the grounds. Breakfast was also served there. We didn't use the outdoor pool, but it looked lovely and well maintained.

We were able to walk to the Falls easily from there and also into the town. Paying by credit card was the norm, and easy.

We would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mrs and Mrs C.
London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2022
"A charming and very interesting hotel - like stepping back in time - with a great view of the spray from Victoria Falls.

For some reason we were given a honeymoon suite which was was very comfortable and caused some amusing conversations with the staff whenever we gave our room number! Unfortunately they have had to close the gate in the grounds which leads directly to the Falls but it was still easy to walk there by road.

We enjoyed dinner in the Livingstone Room which is very atmospheric. We are very glad we added this to the end of our safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
MRM
Edinburgh

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"The hotel is a little old fashioned and still retains the Colonial feel.

The staff were wonderful to deal with and the onsite restaurants were really good especially the nightly show." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr H.
By Lairg

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"Fabulous setting. Olde world. Good choice of food.

Pleasant and helpful staff.

A visit to Zambia to see the white rhinos was another highlight from the hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2022
"The Victoria Falls Hotel is iconic set in beautiful gardens overlooking the spray from the falls. It is still recovering from the economic impact of Covid and we were made most welcome by the staff. Inevitably there were some shortages but this did not impact on the enjoyment of our stay. The falls in full flood were a sight to behold and we definitely needed our waterproofs." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2022
"Mediocre rooms in a dated hotel for a very high price. View and grounds were fantastic.

Formal dining room was beautiful but food was cooked poorly. Patio dining was very nice." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2021
"We had a great time at the Victoria Falls Hotel. We stayed there a couple of days to acclimate ourselves to the time difference between the USA west coast and Africa. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room in the Stables wing was excellent with a nice private balcony to sit on. The food was great for every meal. The staff arranged for us to get our Covid tests at the hotel so we could continue our trip into Botswana.

We did two activities while we were there, the bridge tour and a sunset cruise. The bridge tour is quite interesting as you get to walk on the catwalks underneath the bridge with a very knowledgeable guide.

We had a great sundowner cruise on the Pure Africa Zambezi Explorer on the Signature deck. The canapés were excellent and we saw several elephants playing in the river. We were met back on the dock by more elephants eating their way around the neighborhood.

It is an easy walk from the hotel to the falls and we spent a couple of hours touring the falls by ourselves. The water was quite low this time of year but still well worth seeing." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 146
94%
146 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
105
37
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (240 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


96% (24 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (19 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa