This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

25% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
S.
Germany

"Victoria Falls Hotel [Simbabwe 11-2019]"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious setting.

Facilities: This hotel is a special place and every detail breathes history. While other places try to get themselves an artificial "vintage"-like Feeling, this Hotel is proud of its authenic history. It was originally built as a stop-over place on the Cape-to-Cairo railway and later upgraded to a luxury accomodation. Many details (carpets, curtains, windows, lamps…) enrich the overall experience of emerging into a forgotten area, where you might meet some members of the old british nobility around each corner.

Service: Overall excellent Service at breakfast/Dining area. Part of our luggage arrived one day later and the staff took excellent care of it communicating with the airport and delivering the luggage to use.

Experience: The Hotel itself has a nice garden area to take a short walk around, get a distant view on the mist from Victoria falls or relax at the pool area. High tea as well as dinner in the Livingston room is highly recommended. Great breakfast buffet, one of the best I experienced on my travels throughout africa. You can directly take the short walk to the Falls from the Hotel or you will be picked up for booked activities.

Overall: Due to excellent connections of Vic Falls airport, a visit to Victoria Falls is a great part of trips in the area. Victoria Falls hotel is highly recommended for those travellers looking for a unique, history-rich luxury experience.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Chained Bear
Asia

"Timeless"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2019
"My stay at the Falls was very brief. I went down to the waterfall. I have never seen it like that before: 100% dry from Livingstone Island all the way east. Horseshoe Falls, Rainbow Falls, The Armchair, and the whole Eastern Cataract utterly dry. It in a way it was quite fascinating for me as have so many, many hours with that waterfall, but I did feel sorry for those who might have been seeing it for the first time like that.

I had a terrific dinner at The Three Monkeys - it was doing roaring business as usual and the food was excellent. I’d like to say a special thank you to the Activities Desk Manager at the Hotel for all her help." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Hotel is as I remember it from over 15 years ago. Great service and staff. A dated but charming building in a colonial style.

Unfortunately what had changed was that each day from around 8.30 am and pretty much all day the peace was disturbed by the constant sound of circling helicopters. A great shame.

The spa and gym facilities are basic" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs JD
W London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"On arrival, we decided to upgrade to a better room----they were almost full to bursting, but the Operations Manager on duty, worked his socks off to accommodate our request--which he managed to do and the room was great" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"Frayed Victorian Grandeur"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"The Victoria Falls Hotel is a classic Victorian Colonial Hotel in a park like setting. The public areas are grand but the furniture looks tired and the rooms need a refurbishing. Air-conditioning was marginal and loud. In our digital age there are limited plugs and no USB charging outlets in the room, bedside lamps with charging outlets and USB ports would be a wonderful addition.

The staff were excellent, in particular the head bellman with his pith helmet and white uniform covered in pins from locations around the world! There is still an air of Victorian splendor and formality at the hotel.

There is a formal dining room but we did dine, as there is a formal dress code, people on safari only have a duffle bag with 20 lbs. which leaves no room for formal wear! The hotel should relax the dress code two or three nights a week to accommodate those guests. Fortunately there is an outdoor dining room overlooking the river valley was the highlight but watch out for the cheeky monkeys that try to steal table scraps!

Contrary to the information on their website the hotel does not have a view of the falls, one only sees the mist rising, and there is no direct access to the park associated with the falls. The only animals seen on the hotel grounds were the monkeys and tame warthogs.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr D
Salisbury

"Colonial era luxury at Vic Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Great stay in a wonderful, colonial era hotel; like straying into an Agatha Christie thriller 'Death at Victoria Falls'. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Donna & Steve
USA

"From another era"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Victoria Falls Hotel appeals to many people but it wasn't necessarily my style, which I realized when the desk clerk told us about the formal dress code for one of the restaurants!

The location had a very nice view of the bridge, although we were disappointed that the walking path to the bridge was closed. The veranda restaurant is where we generally ate. The desk clerk was marginally helpful but the activities desk clerk was fabulous. Each evening we were inundated with smoke and I'm not sure where it came from but it made it hard for me to breathe even with the A/C on and a towel covering the gap under the door.

Also, we weren't picked up for our safari transfer until 11:20 and we weren't allowed to have a late check out. So it was not the greatest having to hang around the lobby for almost 1 1/2 hours waiting. If I went back to Vic Falls, I'd stay in a small, boutique lodge.

It was very fun to watch the baboons, mongoose and warthogs playing on the grass." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
TheOldGeezer
Stafford

"Victoria Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Talk about a step back into a Bygone Era.!!!

Staff were great, very attentive & helpful but not in your face.

Rooms perhaps a wee bit dated to say the least, but the location overlooking Vic Falls Bridge breath taking to say the least.

Food was variable, we thought the Stanley Terrace Restaurant was good but not so impressed with Jungle Junction where we thought the Buffet was average & over priced; we didn't frequent the "Fancy Restaurant" - The Livingstone Room but I dont think we were alone there.

Entering & Leaving Zimbabwe was a night mare due to the various Customs Officers on duty who seemed to take a pleasure in Refusing Kaza Visas at will.!!!!!

Our son did the Micro light flight in Zambia / Bungee Jump from the Bridge & Devils Pool Trip. Fantastic Experience although perhaps more background to Livingstone Island would have been good.

Water Levels very low so spectacle diminished slightly.

A visit to the Micro Brewery - - The River Brewing Company a must do if you like your Ales.

Victoria Falls in general shabby & frequented everywhere by guys selling "Tat" unfortunately." See all these reviews: 4n in Mozambique; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Great stay at the Vic Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"After 2 weeks driving around Namibia it was wonderful to relax at the Vic Falls Hotel and wash the dust out of our ears.

Wonderful stay at the grand old dame which really does take one back in time.

Cannot fault it except for the cost which is pretty eye watering having come from from Namibia which was was extremely good value." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
Libertyville

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"The service at this hotel was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the evening show the hotel puts on every night with the buffet dinner. Many activities are on offer in the area, and we booked a sunset dinner cruise and helicopter ride ourselves. The only negative was the 15-20 minute walk to the Falls by road/path via the town. The shorter direct route was closed. The walk offered little or no shade, and the street vendors were plentiful and persistent. Safety here was always a concern for us.

Although the view of the Falls is more extensive from the Zimbabwean side, we were surprised by how little time it took to see all the viewpoints. We spent longer on the Zambian side of the Falls and enjoyed it more. Crossing the bridge by foot is very tricky with 2 immigration stops in each direction. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 136
94%
136 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
34
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa