This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

38% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs W
GLOS

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2022
"Beautiful hotel.
Staff very helpful and welcoming.
Fabulous breakfast buffet.
Great swimming pool.
We tried the exclusive dining experience which was fun. Fortunately the men had trousers and shirts and I had a dress so we were allowed in!
Very comfortable rooms.
Falls themselves were stunning.
We very much enjoyed the helicopter ride over the Falls.
My younger son and I went zip wiring which was fun and particularly well run and my older son and my husband went white water rafting which they thoroughly enjoyed." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Brockham

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"Same as previously noted." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs G
Brockham

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"Wonderful hotel that encapsulates a century of history, but with all mod cons.

Delightful grounds and pool.

Services overall first class." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B.
Florida

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Very nice facilities but only fair value for your money.

Service was excellent and the location and scenery were beautiful." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mrs J
Somerset

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"Great place to start a safari trip, fabulous location with a view of the water vapour from the falls from the gardens. As expected, this is a grand old colonial style hotel, really interesting, great food and service but maybe a little tired around the edges.
We really enjoyed staying here , ate at both the Jungle Junction ( excellent) and did the full Livingstone room dinner ( had to get dispensation not to wear jackets and ties) but it was a super evening. Well worth dragging a pair of heels across Africa for!
Loved the warthogs on the lawns, less enamoured by the baboons …." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A.
Wells

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"We found the Hotel offered an excellent level of service and quality in both amenities, food and drink.
The colonial look and feel of the hotel in the most amazing location with 5 star treatment was definitely one of the highlights of our trip, not to be missed." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Steve & Joan
Crowboro

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"A lovely grand hotel.

Our room was excellent, as were the restaurants and the service." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"We stayed at the hotel for one night whilst transiting between the Okavango Delta and Little Makalolo in Hwange National Park in Zimbabwe. We didn't arrive until after 3pm and were picked up at 6.45am so we had very little time there. However, we did fit in a visit to the Falls.

At the suggestion of the Wilderness Safaris representative in the hotel we used a guide for the visit to the Falls. It seemed a bit steep (USD114 for 2 of which USD60 is for the park entry fees) but it was well worth it and we were glad we did. We have previously seen the Falls from the Zamibian side but they are even more impressive from the Zim side.

The hotel presents itself as a 5 star luxury hotel but is really trading on its history, charm and location. It's not a 5 star luxury hotel by the standards of a Four Seasons Hotel or the Cape Grace in Cape Town for example. That said, it was perfectly comfortable with a spacious well equipped room and the location is exceptional.

You can't help wondering what it was like in its heyday." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Room 212 poor outlook, brick wall not what I expect for a deluxe room!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2022
"The new stable wing has very good rooms but no view except the lawn. They are currently renovating the old rooms." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 153
94%
153 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
111
38
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (247 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


95% (25 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (7 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (2 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa