This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

163 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

41% success

Buffalo

5% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 163
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H
London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2024
"Really enjoyed our stay.

Old style character and comfort, with friendly staff and very good quality and range of food options on the terrace. Grounds beautifully maintained.

Although you can't see the Falls, you can see the mist rising and hear the sound of the water." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

C&A
Munich

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2024
"The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful and there's much to explore in the hallways of the hotel when it comes to its history.

We have stayed in a room with a lovely view of the garden and the bridge at the falls - great. Breakfast was also very nice. As to the food in restaurant on the terrace this was absolutely okay, but not outstanding. Some of the furniture in the lounges is a little dated, for example some sofas should be renewed.

The staff was very friendly and always happy to help." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A.
Ongar

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2023
"What can one add about this hotel that has not been said before?

It is very comfortable and we received a very warm welcome. The rooms are super , although a little lacking in storage space.

We also found the shower was a little slippery and felt that either a non slip surface , or some grab rails might be a good idea .

We were staying on a B and B basis and were pleasantly surprised at the cost of lunch , dinner and drinks in the hotel. The quality of food was great and the view over the gorge to the bridge just fabulous.

We did buy some bits from the locals and found some of them rather too insistent and aggressive. We decided to get around the town by taxi rather than walk around and be continually approached ." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
SoCalCouple
Calif.

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2023
"The hotel is beautiful and the staff were warm and inviting.

Breakfast was great and we enjoyed high tea there as well." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms AW
SW London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2023
"This hotel is iconic and history abound. The facilities are beautiful.

Given the number of tourists that can appear all at once, they handle it efficiently . Concierge and customer service superb. The room was a little tired. We were in the stable area I believe and the gardens outside in the courtyard a bit tatty. But overall the premises were beautiful.

Lovely Indoor and outdoor bar area. Breakfast was nice and we had a lunch BBQ which was good. Had problems with the internet in the room. But it was quickly solved.

I wished I had added on a few more days in Victoria Falls as there is a lot to do. We visited the falls unguided. Taxis are USD 6 each way to most places you may wish to go." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J.
Northallerton

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2023
"Lovely old majestic hotel full of history and character, in a fabulous location. Disappointed with the fine dining in the Livingston room, we expecting so much more. Probably the worst diner we had on our whole trip.

Helicopter over the falls was a wonderful end to this superb holiday." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Chained Bear
Asia

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2023
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Siôn
Surrey

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2023
"The stay would have been excellent but I arrived suffering from a stomach problem and was unable to enjoy the best of the facilities." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Meryl
USA

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2023
"Hotel is beautiful and well situated with regard to the falls. Service was good but not excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
David and Sammy
SF

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2023
"Great location. Grand hotel. Beautiful grounds.

Excellent jungle show with traditional dancing and singing.

Very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 163
94%
163 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
119
40
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (261 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


96% (28 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (9 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel offers a high-quality stay in a picturesque location on the banks of the Zambezi, with excellent food and a shuttle to the Victoria Falls.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located a five-minute drive from the buzz of Victoria Falls town, the mid-size Pioneers offers a relaxing stay in one of Zimbabwe's most iconic destinations.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls is a charming, owner-run, boutique B&B in a leafy suburb of Victoria Falls town, offering an oasis of calm in an often-busy location.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa