This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

25% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Dr Rox
Cairns city

"Glorious grand old hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2019
"Gracious old building with wonderful old photos and evocative items from its history.

Great view from neat and attractive gardens. Excellent service from staff and well furnished rooms decorated in Art Deco.

Really enjoyed staying here and wished we had more time here to relax and absorb the restful atmosphere" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs K.
Dakabin

"Victoria falls hotel"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"This hotel does not have the capabilities of dealing with people with mobility problems, and only one member of staff had compassion.

The first room I was given was delightful until I entered he bathroom, the bath was an old fashioned one which was lovely, but it had very high sides, and the shower was in the bath, for me it would have been impossible to get in. I went to reception where a RUDE manager informed me the only other rooms that had a separate shower had a small step to get into the room, but I would have to go the long way round, and she wasn't kidding, to avoid a staircase. Then there were two large steps to get into the room. Both she and the man who moved my suitcases had a very bad attitude.

On another occasion I was feeling particularly sore and the nice receptionist (either Rebecca, or Melissa) got a wheelchair and a porter to take me back to my room, well he didn't want to go the long way, he stopped at the staircases and told me to get out and go down the stairs, and he carried the wheelchair down and told me to sit down again. I had no option as my walking frame was in reception.

The restaurant was a long way from all the rooms as well as the staff being sullen until contacted by Expert Africa, then their whole demeanour changed.

The attitude of the staff and the layout of the hotel spoilt Victoria falls for me." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs J.
Basingstoke

"beautuful VFH"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2018
"This iconic hotel never disappoints and will always have a special place in our hearts.

The Cocktail Run on the steam train is not to be missed. One of the highlights of the trip with exceptional food and service.

Dinner cruise on Zambezi also wonderful with exceptional food and service." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr M
Calgary

"Olde Worlde Luxury"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"Beautiful old hotel with excellent service & in a prime location.

Easy access to the Falls & to other activities. Saw a large herd of swimming elephants & of hippos on the evening cruise on the river." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mrs J
uk

"Victoria Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2018
"Our short stop in the Victoria Falls Hotel was a great start to our holiday, the hotel was just the tonic to get over our long flight out to Africa, with comfort, excellent food and service. The hotel was in an ideal situation just a short walk from the falls. The sunset dinner cruise on the Zambezi which we booked before we went was great.
Please be advised that you cannot withdraw any cash from cash points or banks etc in Zimbabwe, so make sure that you have plenty on dollars prior to arrival." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Nostalgia at Vic Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"Great hospitality in an old English setting. All staff were so friendly. They really know what guest experience is all about.

Great help organising the helicopter flight over the falls and some other questions we had.

Special thanks for the surprise for our anniversary (free cocktail and massage)!" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A.
Pulborough

"Victoria Falls Hotel and experience"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"This was a stunning venue, with lovely helpful staff, especially on the booking in and tours desks, where our needs were fully and carefully considered, proving an excellent guided tour etc.

The room was very good, high standard, a bit noisy as at the back near the staff and work area of the hotel. Tea making really appreciated.
We enjoyed the up close and personal wild life in the grounds.

Swimming pool very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Lovely old hotel"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"We stayed here for two nights in a superior room during our trip. We were fortunate to stay in the building overlooking the gardens, towards the bridge. We could see the smoke from the falls from our room. This is an old hotel, so don’t expect a modern room but it is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very old too, but clean and adequate, with a bath and over shower. The air con was excellent and kept the room nice and cool.

We had both lunch and dinner at Stanley’s Terrace and enjoyed both. Breakfast was served at the Jungle Junction, which was very good too. The buffet has lots of variety and also has a chef to cook things to order. There is even champagne on the buffet! The staff were very attentive and pleasant. Cecelia at customer services was particularly helpful and pleasant and she helped to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel also arranged the helicopter flight over the falls on the morning we were leaving, which we really enjoyed.

The only negative thing we could say about the hotel was the staff in Stanley’s Bar were not very attentive and we ended up having to go up to the bar to order our drinks. They then expected a tip when they brought them! That said we ordered some drinks in the Bulawayo Lounge (residents only) and the service was excellent.

The hotel is ideally situated as it is tucked away so its nice and quiet and the gardens are lovely to sit in. It is an easy walk to the falls but the direct path from the hotel has been closed since a lady was badly injured by an elephant. The pool is unheated but a nice area to sit and read a book. You can also get food there.

This was the largest accommodation we stayed in and we found it a bit of a shock to the system after being in smaller places prior to staying here. That said we were pleased we stayed here. It was very interesting looking at the old photos when there was nothing else around the hotel. There are some nice pictures of the Queen at the hotel from when she was a girl.

This hotel is not cheap but if we were to visit Victoria Falls again we would opt to stay here again." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"This was our second night at the hotel. [Ed: See below for their stay here earlier in their holiday.]

On arriving room we were given was better than the first with a view of the gardens, which was a nice touch.

We didn’t eat our evening meal there but breakfast was perfect the next morning." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J.
London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"We enjoyed the Victoria Falls Hotel which was not run down at all as I had read.

It is situation in a handy location for the activities. However, we were told we needed a taxi to see the Falls but they are only about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. From the hotel you can see the spray but not the Falls.

We took the River Boat sunset cruise and the Steam Train evening, both were excellent. I also went in Devil's Pool which was in Zambia so necessitated crossing the boarder, but worth it.

The only downside to the Hotel is the helicopters constantly whirling overhead but this would apply whichever hotel one stayed in." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 136
94%
136 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
34
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa