This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

152 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

35% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 152
Duration
Arrival date
FunOnly
Calgary

"Frayed Victorian Grandeur"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"The Victoria Falls Hotel is a classic Victorian Colonial Hotel in a park like setting. The public areas are grand but the furniture looks tired and the rooms need a refurbishing. Air-conditioning was marginal and loud. In our digital age there are limited plugs and no USB charging outlets in the room, bedside lamps with charging outlets and USB ports would be a wonderful addition.

The staff were excellent, in particular the head bellman with his pith helmet and white uniform covered in pins from locations around the world! There is still an air of Victorian splendor and formality at the hotel.

There is a formal dining room but we did dine, as there is a formal dress code, people on safari only have a duffle bag with 20 lbs. which leaves no room for formal wear! The hotel should relax the dress code two or three nights a week to accommodate those guests. Fortunately there is an outdoor dining room overlooking the river valley was the highlight but watch out for the cheeky monkeys that try to steal table scraps!

Contrary to the information on their website the hotel does not have a view of the falls, one only sees the mist rising, and there is no direct access to the park associated with the falls. The only animals seen on the hotel grounds were the monkeys and tame warthogs." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr D
Salisbury

"Colonial era luxury at Vic Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Great stay in a wonderful, colonial era hotel; like straying into an Agatha Christie thriller 'Death at Victoria Falls'." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Donna & Steve
USA

"From another era"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Victoria Falls Hotel appeals to many people but it wasn't necessarily my style, which I realized when the desk clerk told us about the formal dress code for one of the restaurants!

The location had a very nice view of the bridge, although we were disappointed that the walking path to the bridge was closed. The veranda restaurant is where we generally ate. The desk clerk was marginally helpful but the activities desk clerk was fabulous. Each evening we were inundated with smoke and I'm not sure where it came from but it made it hard for me to breathe even with the A/C on and a towel covering the gap under the door.

Also, we weren't picked up for our safari transfer until 11:20 and we weren't allowed to have a late check out. So it was not the greatest having to hang around the lobby for almost 1 1/2 hours waiting. If I went back to Vic Falls, I'd stay in a small, boutique lodge.

It was very fun to watch the baboons, mongoose and warthogs playing on the grass." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
TheOldGeezer
Stafford

"Victoria Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Talk about a step back into a Bygone Era.!!!

Staff were great, very attentive & helpful but not in your face.

Rooms perhaps a wee bit dated to say the least, but the location overlooking Vic Falls Bridge breath taking to say the least.

Food was variable, we thought the Stanley Terrace Restaurant was good but not so impressed with Jungle Junction where we thought the Buffet was average & over priced; we didn't frequent the "Fancy Restaurant" - The Livingstone Room but I dont think we were alone there.

Entering & Leaving Zimbabwe was a night mare due to the various Customs Officers on duty who seemed to take a pleasure in Refusing Kaza Visas at will.!!!!!

Our son did the Micro light flight in Zambia / Bungee Jump from the Bridge & Devils Pool Trip. Fantastic Experience although perhaps more background to Livingstone Island would have been good.

Water Levels very low so spectacle diminished slightly.

A visit to the Micro Brewery - - The River Brewing Company a must do if you like your Ales.

Victoria Falls in general shabby & frequented everywhere by guys selling "Tat" unfortunately." See all these reviews: 4n in Mozambique; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Great stay at the Vic Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"After 2 weeks driving around Namibia it was wonderful to relax at the Vic Falls Hotel and wash the dust out of our ears.

Wonderful stay at the grand old dame which really does take one back in time.

Cannot fault it except for the cost which is pretty eye watering having come from from Namibia which was was extremely good value." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
Libertyville

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"The service at this hotel was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the evening show the hotel puts on every night with the buffet dinner. Many activities are on offer in the area, and we booked a sunset dinner cruise and helicopter ride ourselves. The only negative was the 15-20 minute walk to the Falls by road/path via the town. The shorter direct route was closed. The walk offered little or no shade, and the street vendors were plentiful and persistent. Safety here was always a concern for us.

Although the view of the Falls is more extensive from the Zimbabwean side, we were surprised by how little time it took to see all the viewpoints. We spent longer on the Zambian side of the Falls and enjoyed it more. Crossing the bridge by foot is very tricky with 2 immigration stops in each direction." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Mrs S.
Worthing

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, wonderful time" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Colonial style but bedrooms were dated"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"A very impressive hotel built in the Colonial style, the public rooms look amazing with a wealth of historical information and photographs, but the bedrooms are rather dated.

Great view down to the bridge over the Zambezi. Food was good with plenty of choice.

We were there for only one night before an early morning departure, the hotel seems to cater for the masses and is not a place we would have wanted to stay for longer" See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Oregon

"Victoria Falls Hotel Review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2019
"The location of the hotel is primo! After all, the falls is the main reason folks go.

Walking to the gate entrance is a bit tricky now that they have closed the beginning access from the hotel property. I suspect this is because of wild animals. Nonetheless, you will encounter them on the walk from the hotel even if you walk on the streets the entire way (about a 12 minute walk). One of the paths, just off the busy street that accommodates pedestrians, has a sign to warn of wild animals but this is AFTER you go through some woods where the elephants are just off the path, well camouflaged and as we found out, will come out onto it! This little encounter scared the sh-- out of us as it was not expected as well as generated calls from the locals to "RUN", which we did. On the way back we stayed on the street only. It didn't matter as one elephant came right across the street and did a head bob and shake to warn us to keep away. So, stay alert. There are no elephants once inside the gate to worry about. These guys were not there the last time we were their in 1987, when you could walk the entire way from the hotel.

The hotel location is great but the place is showing a bit of a need for upgrade in the rooms in the older section and common areas. The grounds are magnificent as always. The food menu for lunch and dinner is the same and it was getting boring until we asked about the "venison". For us Yanks (and Brits) that is deer but not true for Zimbabwe people, at least according to the waiter. This term can be any of several animal meats and none of them were deer. So we had, over several meals, kudu, gemsbok and springbok steaks as well as crocodile tail. All excellent and not with the expected "gamy" taste. I would suggest a little asterisk be placed next to "venison" to enlighten the tourists of the opportunity to partake of these dishes as they read the menu. It won't be boring.

Lastly, the area has lots to do and see since were last there. Going across the bridge back into Zambia is tricky, especially for jet lagged guests. But Sharon, at guest services, was an expert at arranging for this to be done without the usual hassles and confusion that occurs in "no man's land", between the countries, while traversing multiple, small buildings, in either direction. She also took the time to find out about details in the helicopter flights over the falls i.e. how many people in the cabin, can the windows be opened for photography and the like. It was obvious to us that most folks don't really care about such things but Sharon took the time to find out every last detail we inquired about. Kudos (not Kudus) to her." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 152
94%
152 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
110
38
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (245 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


95% (25 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (7 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa