This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

25% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"The Victoria Falls Hotel does take you back to a bygone era of colonial times. The essence of history has been skilfully maintained with the artefacts, paintings and photographs of royal visits adding to the ambiance of the hotel.

You can see upgrades are being made and married to the historic building.

Service was excellent from check in, dinner on the terrace and breakfast in the morning. The grounds are impeccably kept with banded mongoose, baboons and warthogs roaming the lawns. For some reason the gate to the falls was closed which was disappointing as this meant a walk to the falls via the town.

Rooms were clean and well maintained for an historic building, air conditioning was efficient, hotel provided a very good WiFi service." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family A
Scarborough

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Just like my old Officers Mess in Hong Kong. Fabulous views.

We really enjoyed dinner in the Livingstone Room.

Excellent swimming pool.

Good job I am deaf because the roar of the constant helicopter traffic is a pain.

I did a fishing trip for a morning. Absolutely dreadful. The kit provided was poor and we effectively ran out of traces and pretty much had to stop. This was not cheap as I had to pay for the whole boat and i felt seriously ripped off." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
New York

"Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"A timeless classic and a great starting place before heading off for the main safari camps. The hotel was comfortable, the service and staff were very good. Breakfast in particular was very good with a lovely setting and plenty of variety to choose from. Hotel has undergone a slight renovation a few years ago but for many it might be considered to be in need of a little more work to polish it up. Our view might be slighted tainted by having a poor room location, being just off the main thoroughfare (Bulawayo Room) in the hotel." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A bit of luxury ..."

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay and were upgraded to a fine suite...

The only shortcoming was the restaurants... one has a dress code and the other one a buffet (which we do not like) and the only other option was the terrace which served a rather limited menu.

We ate there once and chose to eat at the Ilala the other night." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Relaxing final night "

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"As noted earlier

[Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Victoria falls hotel review "

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"A colonial hotel from an earlier era but with all mod cons.

The gardens are lovely and we enjoyed the warthog who is probably the most photographed animal in Vic Falls.

Good dinner at Jungle Junction." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Cold Ash

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Excellent hotel but poor plumbing." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Comfortable stay at old colonial hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2018
"Comfortable hotel and helpful staff. Close to the Falls.

Good atmosphere at the Terrace bar and food was of high quality.

Good place to stay at start and end of trip" See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sue
Cape Town

"Elegance and history"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Whatever one may think of the colonials, they certainly knew how to live comfortably in the tropics. The VFH retains all the grace I remember from my childhood, with a few improvements, like a vibrant multicultural clientele.

It was a peaceful place to begin the trip, and I liked particularly the retention of history in the Bulawayo Room, and the paintings displayed in art gallery and elsewhere. I'd perhaps like to have stayed a day or two longer. It was a bit of a rush fitting in a brief trip to the Zambian side, and there were many things we didn't go to see, like the Big Tree.

The individual staff members at the hotel were very friendly and interesting to talk to. Lindani, the guard on the path to the Falls; a young waiter, whose name escapes me (Ashton?); and many others - all extremely helpful, not intrusive, and excellent conversationalists.

The hotel was also very accommodating when we needed food and drink for the overnight train to Bulawayo - the lovely packed lunch lasted us through two meals." See all these reviews: 16n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
North Vancouver

"great stay - really special "

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"loved this hotel - reminded me of the Norfolk in Nairobi.

Wont forget the sight of baboons swarming the building early in the morning before the security guards could get organized and chase them off. Good food and fine South African wines - great staff and great service - an amazing breakfast buffet the like of which I have never seen anywhere else." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 136
94%
136 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
34
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa