This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Mrs S from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2019 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 30 Sep 2019 and 1 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall the trip exceeded my expectations. Victoria Falls was good but the helicopter noise ruined it for me.
The safari camps were brilliant and although one was much richer in terms of game viewings, overall the experience was superb.

We met some lovely people as well as part of the journey...

The only negatives were the crossing from Zimbabwe to Botswana was a mix up as there was not guide there to meet us. The itinerary was not in line with local travel staff. Fortunately a local person, who was not part f the company bailed us out and took us to meet the driver who was waiting somewhere else.

There was also a problem with the itinerary when we tried to get off at Omsdorf airstrip for Duba Explorers, as stated. The pilot was insistent that we needed to get off at Vumbara instead. The was ratified by two people getting onto the plane. So we stayed on the plane and in fact they, and not the itinerary from Expert Africa, were correct."

Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Hotel is as I remember it from over 15 years ago. Great service and staff. A dated but charming building in a colonial style.

Unfortunately what had changed was that each day from around 8.30 am and pretty much all day the peace was disturbed by the constant sound of circling helicopters. A great shame.

The spa and gym facilities are basic"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

2 Oct 2019 • All-day excursion

Enjoyable. As requested this was a smaller boat than some of the large tourist steamers. Peaceful sunset cruise.
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Amazing! We were so lucky. We saw in 3 days what the guides say occurs quite rarely.

Lots of lions, leopards, cheetahs, and all the rest....

The camp was excellent, and appeared to be well run, with a lot of very happy staff.

Our guide Luckym was superb. Viewings were paced to suit us and we liked to watch and observe over many minutes rather than snap and move on. No negatives. Everything was perfect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

"Duba Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"It didn't start well. The vehicle that came to pick us from the airstrip had a problem. The guide said he had radioed for another vehicle, but after over 2 hours and no contact or vehicle we were getting worried. It was also not long till dark.

However he eventually got through and another vehicle was sent. There is a zone near the airport where the radio has no connection. This needs to be addressed either technically or by avoiding that area in future as obviously mobiles dont work either!

the camp itself was lovely and so were the staff. Animal sightings were scarcer here. We did see some leopard, cheetah, hyena etc but we also had some fairly fruitless game drives.

What stopped the review being average or less was the camp itself but also we probably saw/ videoed/ photoed the most iconic leopard photo of the whole trip here!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

"Cape Grace review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Superb hotel. Stylish and at the same time the right balance between formality and informal friendliness. A difficult thing to achieve but they were spot on.

Staff hospitality and helpfulness was unbeatable. They helped with tours and restaurant bookings and were first class.

The restaurant is also one of the best."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

superb honeymoon with some amazing memories

Tanzania between 27 Jun 2016 and 7 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, just what we wanted. It would have been nice to see more of the big 5 but my wife saw lots of giraffes and they are her favourite so its ok!

If you are looking to guarantee seeing all the big 5 (especially lions and rhino) then I guess there are better places to go. But if like us, you are looking for the whole authentic experience without hardly seeing another vehicle then this could be for you. Some very magical moments along the way.

The tree house whole experience was very special. Seeing so many animals together by the shores of Lake Manzi, seeing hippos run, meeting two by our path on the way to bed, turning the engine off and just watching troupes of baboons etc play, and so on. The giraffes in huge numbers. Too many things to mention.

Brilliant."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"The hotel was ok but a long journey (2 hrs) just to spend a night in a hotel and then go back to the airport the following morning. Is there not a nearer airport hotel?

Also it stank, and I mean stank, of paint. It had just been painted they informed us, but we both had difficulty going to sleep and felt sick when we woke up. Imagine repainting your bedroom and not airing it at all and then trying to go to sleep like that and you will get the picture.

Service was fine"
Average
Location
Terrible
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2016
"Wonderful place that lived up to expectations in all but one way.

Superb location, food, staff, guides and everything. The night in the tree house was magical and just seeing animals (hippo, hyena, and waterbuck) around the camp was great.

Great game drives with knowledgeable and empathetic guides .

The only disappointment was that in 5 days there we never saw Lions, Leopards, Wild dogs or Rhino. Not through lack of trying by the guides but lack of animals I suspect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"Beautiful resort with helpful and very friendly staff.

Magical. Great rooms and tranquility.

I didnt expect to see so much wildlife here (huge monitor lizards, monkeys, up to 20 mongooses in a pack, bush babies, hilarious ghost crabs etc) so this was a real bonus.

The lagoon is excellent for a kayak trip or two.

Wonderful beach walks at low tide.

The 10 min trip flight to Ras is worth it. It is all part of the great experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team